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* Directed DSHS to “study the most
effective way to bill private insurers

GENERAL APPROPRIATIONS ACT

for newborn screening kits”

Eighty-fifth Texas Legislature
Re

gul

« Study should include:

» Feasibility of requiring DSHS to
bill private insurers for the cost of
newborn screening

 Ability for DSHS to require private
insurers to update payments rates
for newborn screening
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Newborn Screening (%)
COSts vs' Revenue Te;asDepartmentofState

== Health Services

Costs for NBS testing

=zl Private Pay Medicaid CHIP Perinate Al el Total
Year Management

FY2017 $16 348 103 $20 749 681 $8 936 $5,106,551 $42,213,271

Revenue/Funding for NBS testing

EEliEEr Medicaid Reimbursements - Total
Public Health Service Fees CHIP Perinatal - Fund 0524
FY2017 $14,817,090 $15,440,648 $8,936 $1,769,333 | $1,632,861 $1,851,253 | $35,520,121




Newborn Screening Kits

« Medicaid/CHIP/Charity

* Provider must assure that kits will
only be used on babies presumed
to be covered by Medicaid or CHIP
or for those unable to pay

 No charge to provider

- Private Pay/Self Insurance

o JEXAS « Submitter is invoiced $55.24 per
kit within 1 month of receipt

« Payment is due no later than 90
days from date of invoice

Texas Department of State
Health Services



Current Newborn
Screening Billing Process

Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
Health Services

Monthly
Invoice

NBS kits
sent to

Submitter
orders paid

Submitter

pays

sent to : :
iInvoice

submitter

NBS kits submitter

Day Up to 30 |
1-2 days after Payme_nt_|s
order is due within
processed 9Q days of

invoice

Payment received within 4 months for “Paid” Kkits.
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Objectives

e | ¢ Study current requirements and processes
to establish and update NBS payment rates

« Gain understanding of potential NBS billing
barriers faced by TX healthcare providers

« Acquire information on other NBS
Programs’ experience in direct insurance
billing

« Identify approaches to automatically

update private insurers’ payment rates for
NBS




Outline

« Stakeholder survey — Private Insurer
« Stakeholder survey - Healthcare Provider

« Information from NBS Programs that
currently bill private insurers directly

» Discuss approaches to update private
insurers’ payment rates for NBS




Stakeholder Survey

Private Insureyx

Health and Human Services
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Stakeholder Survey —
Private Insurer

« Request sent on Jan 25, 2018
« TX Department of Insurance
« TX Association of Health Plans
« TX Association of Community Health
Plans
A total of 13 questions
« Payment rates for newborn screening
 Billing process

e Survey closed on Feb 18, 2018
 Three responses received



Payment Rates for
Newborn Screening

What are the current newborn screening
payment rates for providers in and out of

network?

« VVaries based on CPT codes
« S$3620

« 53620 82016 82128 82261 82776 83020 83498
83520 84437

« All valid CPT codes
e Varies based on contract

« Based on usual and customary (U&C)
rates for non-contracted providers




Payment Rates for
Newborn Screening

How do you determine and update payment

rates?
 Derived from various sources -

« CMS, Medicaid, other provider fee
schedules, the complete Resource Based
Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), and
consult with the Medical Directors or use
analog codes when not found on CMS
pricing

« Based on contract or Usual and
customary (U&C) rates for non-
contracted providers.




Payment Rates for
Newborn Screening

When do you usually update the newborn
screening payment rates?

« Contract renewal or renegotiation with
providers, usually annually

- Updating of relative value units (RVU)
« Updating of U&C base rates




Payment Rates for
Newborn Screening

DSHS updates published newborn screening
fee periodically to reflect the cost of testing
performed. Do you update your rates
accordingly? If not, what can DSHS do to
require/ensure automatic updates?

« We feel that Medicare is the most objective
measure to base all of our schedules.

 We use contractual arrangements to drive
compensation for this screen.

« Only if providers are contracted under the
DSHS rate or if the DSHS rate uses the
U&C rate for non-contracted providers.



Billing Process

|

« Require separate contracts with each private
insurer

« Multiple contracts
« Require a “bricks and mortar” presence

« Contracts can be evergreen with renegotiation
upon request

« Follow standard CMS 1500 form guidelines for
claim requirements

« Take 1-10 days to release payments after
claims are finalized

« Payments are made in Electronic Funds
Transfer, paper check, and virtual credit card

« Unaware of any claim processing limitations
specifically related to NBS




Stakeholder Survey

Healthcare Providers
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Stakeholder Survey —
Healthcare Providers

« Request sent on April 5, 2018
 NBS ListServ
» Professional organization representatives
« NBSAC

« A total of 22 questions
« General information

 NBS claim processes and reimbursement
payments from private insurers

« Impacts and challenges
« Survey closed on April 15, 2018
« 151 responses received



Stakeholder Survey

Healthcare Providers

e General Information

Health and Human Services
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Do Your Collect Newborn Screens
in Your Facility?
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Type of NBS Kits Ordered

Health and Human Services
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Type of NBS Specimens
Collected
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Number of NBS Specimens
Collected per Month
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Stakeholder Survey

Healthcare Providers

« Claim Process and Reimbursement

Health and Human Services
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File Insurance Claims?
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File insurance claims for
NBS kits?
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Do You File Insurance Claims
for NBS Kits?

Health and Human Services
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Do You File Insurance Claims
for NBS Kits?
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Health Services

R — » Yes

(1) ™ No
Q70 —
=
= 60 ———
3]
] J—
© 40
:ﬁ 50
Ezo — 0 16
21 —_—
0] q
Less than 30 30-150 More than 150
Number of NBS Specimens Collected per Month
|



CPT Codes

Which CPT codes do you use to file insurance claims
for the cost of newborn screening kits?

AL
Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
Health Services

36416 - Collection of capillary blood specimen (eg,
finger, heel, ear stick

q

82016 - Acylcarnitines, qualitative

82128 - Amino acids, multiple, qualitative

spectrometry

3

5
83789 - Mass spectrometry and tandem mass |-

8

84030 - Phenylalanine (PKU), blood

$3620 - Newborn metabolic screening panel, |—

includes test kit, postage and the laboratory tests... | | | | | |
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[ Number of Facilities
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Reimbursement Rates and
Payments

« 36 facilities use a single CPT code (53620 or 84030)

« 5 facilities: 90-100% reimbursement rate and
g(l)l%)OO% >$55.24, payments ranging $34-

. 19 faC|I|t|es 5-100% reimbursement rate and
0-95% 855 .24, payments ranging $0-$85
(most $10-$40)"
« 2 birthing centers received 0% reimbursement
« 10 facilities unsure or don’t know

« 8 facilities use multiple CPT codes

« 5 facilities: 90-100% reimbursement rate and
3(7)5100% >$55.24, payments ranging $50-

1 facility: payment ranging $6.33-$40
« 2 facilities received 0% reimbursement
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Reimbursement Rates
Update

DSHS updates the published newborn
screening fee periodically to reflect the cost
of testing performed. How do you _
update/negotiate payment rates accordingly?
How long does the process take?

Insurance companies take FOREVER to recognize a
cost chan%e and update their fees. Then théy don't
pay the difference retroactively.

Cannot update payment for this until the contract is
renegotiated which is about every 5 yrs.

It is impossible to negotiate. They claim that it is a
state specified price, and often claim old prices.

You can't, they will only do market fee schedule.

}Ne do not update since the reimbursement rate is so
oW.

We no longer work with insurance companies - Bill
parents



Reimbursement Rates
Update (cont.)

DSHS updates the published newborn
screening fee periodically to reflect the
cost of tésting performed. How do you
update/negotiate payment rates
?cli:o_gdlngly? How long does the process
ake-

 On average 3 months. Most will make the
payment retroactive.

 The process can take several months for the
insurance carriers to update their fee schedules.
Negotiations are done either directly with the
insurance representative or through a physician
contracting group

« This is only negotiated at the time of a contract,
every 1-2 years. The insurance companies are
notified when the new rates are published by
DSHS. They make the increases usually within 2
to 6 months of the time the increase is made.




Stakeholder Survey

Healthcare Providers

« Impacts and Challenges
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Do You Refer Patients for NBS
Collection?
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Do You Refer Patients for NBS
Collection?
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Have you stopped or considered
stopping collection of NBS?
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Have You Stopped or Considered
Stopping Collection of NBS?
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Reasons Stopped or Considering
Stopping NBS Collection

Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
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Second screen is not needed

There is no one in my facility who can
collect the newborn screen specimen.

Local hospital performs and saves my
office staff time.

Insurance reimbursement process is too
difficult or takes too long.

Insurance doesn’t reimburse enough.

Cost of kits is a financial burden on my
practice

||J

0O 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40 45 50
Number of Facilities




Additional Reasons

« Financially difficult to prepay and problematic if
they expire.

« Insurance does not pay anything.

» This is a public health function that should be
provided by the State of Texas. This cost
should not be dumped onto the pediatrician.

« Lots of insurance companies now apply this
charge to patient's yearly deductible. Should
be covered 100% same as the well visits.

 Most insurance denies the specimen collection
fee also.

» Clients frequently decline the test




If DSHS bills insurance directly for newborn
screening (instead of billing healthcare
providers), would it change the way you handle
newborn screening in your practice?

Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
Health Services

Change if DSHS bills
insurance directly?

Yes No
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How Would the Providers
Change?

« I'd offer both first and second screens to
every person.

 We might start doing newborn screening on
our private insured again.

 We would perform them in our clinic instead
of sending them out to the hospital.

- We would no longer require patient to pay
and file to their insurance for
reimbursement.

It would take off the financial burden.
It would save me the burden of negotiation.

 Much more likely to use 'paid’ tests as
opposed to 'charity' ones.



How Would the Providers
Change? (cont.)

« We still have to be reimbursed for sample
collection.

« We currently charﬁe for mailing so we
would need to look at whether we could
still do that or not.

- We would need to send you insurance
information.

« We will send patients to outside labs.

« We would no longer offer as a service in
OUR facility

« Midwives find it difficult to bill insurance for
their services, therefore, allowing the state
to bill may not be advantageous for us.



Challenges in the NBS
Billing Process?
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Common Challenges

 Reimbursement
« A failure of the ﬁayers to provide payment that

keeps up with the cost of the kits and the service.

Delayed eligibility - newborns do not have
insurance immediately.

Insurance rejection/denial or apply deductible
Cost for self pay patients - refuse to pay
Home births not covered

Difficult to renegotiate

« No billing staff, short of billing staff, or need to
hire billing company

« Don’t know the billing process or the right
codes

« Pay upfront for the kit and only bill after it is
used. There is no mechanism to return screens
that ruined for whatever reason.



Direct Private
Insurance Billing

Four States NBS Programs

 Florida
 Arizona

« Washington
« California

Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
Health Services




Florida

. E_illtr?irthing hospitals/facilities $15 per live-
ir

One-screen state - bill private insurance and

Medicaid after testing

* No set fee, based on CPT codes specific for
tests performed and associated Medicare
allowable rate

Insurance information collected on NBS kits

Internal billing services through a
clearinghouse

« Submit claims 3 times a day

« Usually receive payments within 2-3 weeks

Have contracts with some but not all insurance
companies

Do not bill families without insurance coverage




Florida Experience

|

» Challenges

* Lots of resources needed to bill and follow
up with denial or wrong insurance
information

« Unable to bill ~15% of the specimens due
to no or insufficient billing information

« Good return from Medicaid but not
private insurance.

* Need to have contracts with private
insurers to ensure decent
reimbursement rates

 Benefit
« Stable NBS funding source




Arizona

« Two-screen state using a double kit provided
free of charge
« Bill after the testing is completed
 First screen ($30) - bill hospitals/submitters
« Second screen ($65) - bill private insurance,
Medicaid, and families

« Second screen submitters send insurance
information on a separate sheet

« Use a third party biller
 Bill monthly
« Receive payment within ~1 month
 Charge ~$10 each sample



|

Arizona Experience

« Challenges:

« Unsuccessful use of S3620 and frequent
denial and resubmission - different
payment rates and different required
information

 Difficult to set up a separate contract with
each insurance company

« Requires frequent renegotiation
« Low success rate (26%) to bill families
« Midwives not recognized

 Investigating switch to bill hospitals only for
both screens



Washington

« Two-screen state, kits provided free of charge

« Bill after the testing is completed

 First screen ($92.60) - bill submitters (~96%
of births), bill insurance or Medicaid for out-
of-hospital births (~4% of births)

« Second screen ($0)

« Out-of-hospital birth — midwives send
insurance information or a check.

« Employ a financial and contracts specialist and
a third party biller
 Bill monthly
* Charge 30% collected



Washington Experience

« Challenge:

« Do not receive full reimbursement but
working with Medicaid to establish rules
requiring full reimbursement.

« Require contracting with each insurance
company to become an in-network
provider and is a very arduous process.

o If at all possible, recommend avoiding
billing insurance companies directly.

« Help midwives to make the billing happen
with minimal hassle on their part




Update Private Insurers’
Payment Rates

Ideas from surveys and other NBS
Programs:

« Standardize S3620 - Medicare allowable
rate to include specimen collection

« Contract with insurance - Specify DSHS
Laboratory Fee Schedule regardless of
deductible

 Non-contracted providers — U&C rate

« Texas Administrative Code, TDI Rule
3.3402 Newborn Children Coverage



Arkansas Code
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« § 20-15-302. Testing of newborns

(A) Medicaid shall reimburse the hospital
that performs the tests required under
subdivision (a)(1) of this section for the
cost of the tests

« § 23-79-129. Coverage of newborn infants.

(B) Coverage for tests for hypothyroidism,
phenylketonuria, galactosemia, sickle-cell
anemia, and all other genetic disorders for
which screening is performed by or for the
State of Arkansas, as well as any testing of
Pewborn infants hereafter mandated by
aw
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Outline

« Information and data associated with
newborn screening (NBS) fee

« Newborn Screening Technical assistance
and Evaluation Program (NewSTEPs)
state profiles data

« NewSTEPs Community Discussion via
APHL Collaborate platform

« Baby’s First Test web site
* Personal contact with other state
newborn screening managers

« Examples of newborn screening billing
models



53 NBS Programs in U.S.

« All 50 states

« District of Columbia
« Puerto Rico

« Guam

Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
Health Services



Do All NBS Programs
Charge a Fee?

LR -0 0.0 0 0 0 0
F o F R AR Aok
F A F Ao ook
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Fo e F R AR Aokok
* kK

uam NBS Programs do not charge a fee



Texas
|

How do TX NBS Fees
Compare? (Initial Screen Only)




Why Are Fees Different?

« Other funding sources

» Type of services covered by the fee
« Laboratory test
« Courier services
« Follow-up and education
o IT support
« Administration

 Critical congenital heart disease, early hearing
detection and intervention services

« Medical consultants, specialty centers
« Metabolic food and formula
« Development support ......

 Number of disorders (32-64)
* Charge per baby/birth or per specimen



How Do They Charge?

Per Baby or Per Specimen

L0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 04
L0 00 0 0 0 0 0 0"¢
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[ charges




When Do They Charge?
Pre-sell Kits, After Birth, or After Testing

18 0 0 0 0 0 8 8 01
Y i i e i Sl e Yo e
1 8 0 0 0 0 0 8 8 O ¢
1 8 0. 8 0.0 8 0. 0 &
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29 NBS Programs bill after testing (T) , 17 Programs
including TX pre-sell collection kits (K), and 2 Programs bill
[ by number of births (B).




Whom Do They Bill?

R . Hospitals and Submitters — After testing
or after kit orders (36 including TX)

* No billing — payment with collection kit
purchase from submitters (12)
 Private insurance (4)
 All screens after charge by birth — FL
« Second screens only —AZ
« Out-of-hospital births only — WA and
CA

» Medicaid (6 including TX)
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14 States Screen Babies
Two Times

« Alabama  Nevada

« Alaska « New Mexico
« Arizona  Oregon

« Colorado « Texas
 Delaware « Utah

« Idaho « Washington
« Maryland « Wyoming



How Do Two Screen States
Charg e? Per Baby or Per Specimen

L0 0 0 0 00 0 0 04
KKK

11 two-screen Programs charge by baby/birth (B)
and 3 Programs charge by specimen (S).




When Do Two Screen States
Charg e? Pre-sell Kits, After Birth, or After Testing

1 2. 0 0 8 0 0 0 0 &
Yok ok

7 two-screen Programs bill after testing (T), 6
Programs pre-sell collection kits (K), and 1 Program
bills by humber of births (B).




Whom Do Two Screen
States Bill?

= | * HOSpitals and Submitters - After kit

orders or after testing (10)

* No billing — payment with collection
kit purchase from submitters (4)

 Private insurance (2)
« Second screens only —AZ
 Home births only — WA

« Medicaid (3)




Examples of Common
NBS Billing Models in
U.S.

Health and Human Services

Texas Department of State
Health Services
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Model #1

Bill first
NBS kits Specimen Laboratory screen

provided free collection and testing and submitters
of charge submission reporting only covering
all specimens

22 Programs (6 two-screen states) currently
use this model

Comments from other NBS Programs:

« Works well

« No need to track NBS kits inventory

« Do not bill 2" screens (Experience no pushback
from birthing facilities)

« Hard to bill if no first screens received

« Hard to bill midwives (WA and CA bill insurance for
out-of-hospital births)

« Birthing facilities may double bill



Model #2

Pre-sell NBS kits

(order with

payments or bill
later to first screen
submitters only)

Specimen collection Laboratory testing
and submission and reporting

« 11 Programs (4 two-screen states) currently
use this model
« Comments from other NBS Programs:

Works well

Do not bill 2" screens (Experience no pushback
from birthing facilities)

Require no billing process if order with payment
Can project NBS funding

Do need to track NBS kits inventory
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NBS kits Specimen
provided collection
free of and

charge submission

Bill
submitters
for each
specimen

Laboratory
testing and
reporting

« 7 Programs (1 two-screen state) currently
use this model

« Comments from other NBS Programs:
« No need to track NBS kits inventory
« Bill all submitters
 One-screen Programs — PCPs may be confused
about the billing process
« Two-screen Program - AZ (bill insurance for
2"d screens)
« Unsatisfactory specimens are not billed or are
billed at a lower rate



Model #4

Pre-sell NBS kits :
(order with Specimen Laboratory testing

payments or bill collection and :
later to all submission and reporting

submitters)

6 Programs (2 two-screen states) currently

use this model
« Comments from other NBS Programs:
« Require no billing process if order with payment
« Can project NBS funding
Do need to track NBS kits inventory

« This is the current model in Texas
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