• Contact Us

    SHCC Coordinator 
    Center for Health Statistics - Mail Code 1898 
    Texas Department of State Health Services 
    P.O. Box 149347
    Austin, Texas 78714-9347 

    Phone:  512-776-6541                 
    Fax: 512-776-7344  


Elva Concha LeBlanc, Ph.D.

Elva Concha LeBlanc, PhD

Community College Representative

Galveston, Texas  

Date of Appointment: 01/08/2003, reappointed 09/13/2013

Term Expires: 08/01/2019

Elva Concha LeBlanc is president of the Northwest Campus of Tarrant County College District (TCCD). Northwest Campus is one of five campuses of TCCD, a multi-campus, single college district of over 49,000 enrollments. Northwest Campus has an enrollment well over 13,000 credit students.

Previously, as President of Galveston College, she led the transformation of that institution into a “Learning College” with a focus on student learning, assessment and outcomes. Given the limited local and state funding, Dr. LeBlanc led in the acquisition of external funding including Title V Federal Funds, TRIO programs, and Lumina Foundation’s “Achieving the Dream” Program.

Prior to serving Galveston, Dr. LeBlanc was Executive Vice President for Instructional Affairs at Austin Community College, a multi-campus, single college district with enrollments of over 30,000.

A former Tarrant County College student and alumna of University of North Texas, Dr. LeBlanc served TCCD as professor, faculty chair, director of institutional effectiveness, and dean of instruction. She also taught graduate courses at University of North Texas.

Dr. LeBlanc has Bachelor of Science, Master of Education, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees from University of North Texas. She also completed post-doctoral work at Texas A&M University.

Dr. LeBlanc serves on the Boards of Higher Education Resource Services; Community College Humanities Association; National Community College Hispanic Council; Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council;  and Arts Council of Fort Worth.

Dr. LeBlanc was elected to serve on the Board of Directors and as member of the executive council of the American Association of Community Colleges. Additionally, she was elected to serve on the Commission on Colleges, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. She served on the Executive Council of the Commission on Colleges from 2005 to 2008 and was Vice Chair of the Commission from 2007-2008.



Last updated March 5, 2021