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TO APPLY FOR A LICENSE / REGISTRATION 
 
Before completing forms, please read 22 T.A.C., Chapter 741 (Board Rules) and the law, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
401. 
 
All applicants should carefully review: 

Subchapter D, §741.41 relating to the Professional Responsibilities of License Holders 
Subchapter D, §741.43 relating to Recordkeeping and Billing 
Subchapter D, §741.44 relating to Requirements, Duties, and Responsibilities of Supervisors 

 
License:  Read the following Board Rules to determine which type of license/registration you qualify for. Be sure to read board 
rules for the specific documentation required. Your application cannot be processed and approved until all required 
documentation is received. 
 
§741.61   Requirements for a Speech-Language Pathology License 
§741.81   Requirements for an Audiology License 
(Note:  If you are licensed as an intern, mark this box to apply  
for full license) 
 
§741.62   Requirements for an Intern in Speech-Language Pathology License 
§741.82   Requirements for an Intern in Audiology License 
(Note: If you completed a master's degree in communicative sciences and disorders, mark this box to apply for the intern license. 
Refer to Intern License-Application Process for detailed information) 
 
§741.63   Waiver of Licensure for Speech-Language Pathologists 
§741.83   Waiver of Licensure for Audiologists 
(Note:  If you hold the ASHA CCC, mark this box to apply by ASHA Waiver) 
 
§741.64   Requirements for an Assistant in SLP License 
§741.84   Requirements for an Assistant Audiology License 
(Note:  If you possess a baccalaureate degree, you may qualify for the assistant license) 
 
§741.65   Requirements for a Temporary Certificate of Registration in Speech-Language Pathology 
§741.85   Requirements for a Temporary Certificate of Registration in Audiology. 
(Note:  If you possess a master's degree in communicative sciences and disorders and completed the post graduate experience 
but have not passed the Educational Testing Services Praxis Examination, you must apply for this registration) 
 
FEE/DOCUMENTATION:  Applications will not be processed without the submission of the appropriate fee and forms as 
defined in the Board Rules. Photocopies will not be accepted. 
 
MAILING: 
To expedite processing, mail to: 

Please send all correspondence that contains money/payment to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program, Mail Code: MC2003 
PO Box 149347 

Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 

Please send all correspondence that does not contains money/payment to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program, Mail Code: MC1982 
PO Box 149347 

Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 
This goes directly to the Comptroller, who will cash your check. The application is then forwarded to the board office for approval 
and processing. After the application is received in the board office, processing and approval takes fifteen (15) working days. 
 
Certificates and Cards:  After approval of your application, you will receive a licensing approval letter. Certificates and cards are 
specially printed and will be mailed about 10 days to 2 weeks after your approval letter. 
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The Board does not print a college/university degree or any title on a license/registration/certificate. A degree earned in another 
profession, used in conjunction with a licensee's practice as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, may be misleading to 
the public. Refer to Board Rules §741.41 relating to the Code of Ethics. Therefore, if the degree now held is not in one of the 
areas of communicative sciences and disorders, we shall not recognize that degree. 
 
Only the name of the licensee shall be printed on the license/ registration/certificate, however, a licensee who currently has a 
college/university title printed on his or her license and certificate may continue to have that degree or title printed. If an applicant 
holds or previously held a license and the degree now held in one of the areas of communicative sciences and disorders is 
different from what the Board Office has on record, the applicant may submit an original transcript showing the degree conferred 
and we shall include this degree on your record; however, we shall not change the degree currently being printed on the 
license/registration/ certificate. If you wish to have the degree being printed removed, submit your request in writing - be sure to 
sign the request; however, the degree on record shall not be removed. 
 
To Change Your Name:  If you hold or have held a license/registration with this Board and your current name is not the same as 
that on record, submit proof to change the name - Board Rules state:  "A request to change the name currently on record must 
be submitted, in writing, with a copy of a divorce decree, marriage license, or social security card showing the new name." 
 
If you wish to order a new certificate and new cards in your new name, there is an additional fee. 
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE):  All licensees must earn approved continuing education within the appropriate renewal period 
in order to renew a license. Approved sponsors are listed on the Board's Internet site.  
 

2 Clock Hours – Ethics Continuing Education Requirement 
 
§741.162(c) Twenty clock hours (two CEUs) shall be required to renew a license issued for a two-year term. The holder of dual 
licenses, meaning both a speech-language pathology license and an audiology license, shall be required to earn 30 clock hours 
(three CEUs) to renew a license issued for a two-year term. Effective for renewals in May 2009 and after, a licensee must have 
had a minimum of two clock hours in ethics per renewal period. 
 

Texas Jurisprudence Examination 
Effective January 1, 2010, The Texas Jurisprudence Examination is required when applying for 
licensure or renewing a license.  
 
§741.122 Jurisprudence Examination 
(d) After December 31, 2009, all applicants for licensure must submit proof of successful completion of the jurisprudence 
examination at the time of application. The jurisprudence examination must be completed no more than six months prior to the 
date of licensure application. 
 
§741.161 Renewal Process 
(u) For all licenses renewing after December 31, 2009, the jurisprudence examination must be completed in order to renew the 
license. Licensees shall be required to complete the jurisprudence examination for only one renewal period.  
(v) Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination must be submitted to the board at the time of renewal. 
§741.162 Requirements for Continuing Professional Education 
(n) Completion of the jurisprudence examination shall count as one hour of the continuing education requirement for professional 
ethics, as referenced in subsection (c) of this section per renewal period. 
 


