## VISION AND HEARING SCREENING REQUIREMENTS

The Vision and Hearing Screening Program, Chapter 36 of the Health and Safety Code requires that all children enrolled for the first time in any public, private, parochial, or denominational school or in a Department of Family and Protective Services licensed child care center and child care home in Texas, or who meet certain grade criteria (specified below), must be screened or have a professional examination for possible vision and hearing problems.

The requirements for **VISION AND HEARING SCREENING** apply each year for children enrolled in any licensed child care center, child care home or school program at the ages or grades listed below:

WHO MUST BE SCREENED 4-years old by September 1 <sup>st</sup> Kindergartners Any other first time entrants (4-years* through 12 <sup>th</sup> Grade)	WHEN SCREENING MUST BE DONE Within 120 days of admission
1 <sup>st</sup> -, 3 <sup>rd</sup> -, 5 <sup>th</sup> - and 7 <sup>th</sup> -graders	Any time within the school year (preferably within 120 days)

\*Although not required by Chapter 36, Department of Family and Protective Services licensed child care centers and child care homes are encouraged to screen all children younger than 4 years of age who can reliably respond to the screening tests outlined in the Department of State Health Services' (DSHS) vision and hearing screening protocols.

To collect screening information for each child, a facility may use its own screening form or duplicate one provided by DSHS upon request (M-40 and M-60). In either case, there must be a screening record on file for each child enrolled. The following data must be recorded: **CHILD'S NAME, TYPE OF SCREENING, DATE, SCREENER, AND SCREENING RESULTS.** 

Annual reports for vision and hearing screening activities should be submitted to DSHS via the online reporting system website by June 30<sup>th</sup> of each year. <u>If you do not have children at your facility that are required to be screened, indicate it on the online reporting system website.</u>

## SCREENING PROCEDURES

For **VISION SCREENING**, a distance acuity for the right and left eyes must be recorded, e.g., 20/20, 20/30, etc. Approved charts for distance acuity testing include: (1) Sloan Letter Chart, (2) Snellen "Tumbling E" Chart, and (3) HOTV Matching-Symbol Test. Photoscreening may be used for individuals through five years of age and those with disabilities who do not respond well to other allowable screening methods. If automated screening device is used, pass/fail documentation of results should be recorded. (Muscle balance tests – Hirschberg corneal light reflex and cover-uncover tests – will be included in the certification workshops and are optional tests.)

For **HEARING SCREENING**, the results of the pure-tone audiometric Sweep-Check Screen must be recorded for both the right and left ears. A Sweep-Check Screen is to be conducted at less than or equal to 25 dB at the following frequencies: 1000, 2000, and 4000 Hertz.

## FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Mail Code 1938 Health Screening & Case Management Unit Health Screening Group Department of State Health Services 1100 West 49th Street P O Box 149347 Austin, Texas 78714-9347 (512) 776-7420

Web site http://www.dshs.texas.gov/vhs



Revised 09/2014