State Child Fatality Review Team (SCFRT) Committee

Friday, August 9, 2024

10:00 a.m.
APPROVED Meeting Minutes
Virtual: Teams Meeting Platform

In Person Meeting Site: Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Robert D. Moreton Building, Room M-100, First Floor
1100 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756

Agenda Item 1: Call to Order, Roll Call, and Welcoming Remarks

Dr. Kenton Murthy, Chair, called the SCFRT Committee meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Dr. Murthy welcomed committee members, staff, and members of the public in attendance.

Francesca Kupper, Advisory Committee Coordination Office, Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), read the logistical announcements and stated the meeting was being conducted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. Ms. Kupper provided logistical announcements, conducted the member roll call, and announced the presence of quorum.

Table 1: SCFRT Committee member attendance at the August 9, 2024, meeting.

Member name	Attended	Member name	Attended
Dr. Simi Abraham	Y	Dr. Natalie Kissoon	Υ
Ms. Lindsey Anzaldua	Y	Ms. Letty Martinez	N
Chief Michael Baldwin	Y	Ms. LaViza Matthews	Υ
Judge Shane Brassell	N	Dr. Kenton Murthy, Chair	Υ
Dr. Tara Das	N	Ms. Angelica Powers	N
Ms. Madelyn "Maddie" Fletcher	Y	Dr. Jennifer Ross	Υ

Member name	Attended	Member name	Attended
Sheriff Christopher Forbis	N	Ms. Kathryn Sibley	Y
Ms. Lori Gabbert Charney	N	Ms. Amy Smith	Υ
Dr. Sanjuanita Garza-Cox	N	Dr. Lawrence Thompson, Jr.	Υ
Ms. Katia Gonzalez	Υ	Dr. Davlyn Tilman	Υ
Chief Michael Hayes, Vice Chair	Y	Dr. Jeannine Von Stultz	N
Sergeant Ryan Howard	Y	The Honorable State Representative Gene Wu	Y
Ms. Kerrie Judice	N		

Agenda Item 2: Consideration of May 10, 2024, Draft Meeting Minutes

Dr. Murthy referred members to the draft minutes emailed by the program liaison and called for any edits. Hearing none, Dr. Murthy called for a motion to approve the minutes of the May 10, 2024, meeting.

Motion: Dr. Lawrence Thompson, Jr. moved to approve the minutes as presented from the May 10, 2024, meeting. Kathryn Sibley seconded the motion. Following a roll call vote, the motion passed by a majority vote with 10 yeas (Abraham, Anzaldua, Hayes, Matthews, Murthy, Ross, Sibley, Smith, Thompson, Wu), 0 nays and six abstentions (Baldwin, Fletcher, Gonzalez, Howard, Kissoon, Tilman).

Agenda Item 3: Consideration of Open SCFRT Position

Dr. Murthy announced this agenda item is to provide the six permanent SCFRT members the opportunity to consider and vote on the open SCFRT Committee position – Justice of the Peace. Ms. Francesca Kupper provided process and bylaw items. Ms. Sarah Blezinger, Injury Prevention Coordinator, Injury Prevention Unit, DSHS, introduced each justice of the peace applicant: Honorable B.J. Teer and Honorable Joanne Garcia Flores.

Ms. Kupper called on each of the six permanent members to record their individual vote for the justice of the peace member position:

Dr. Tara Das voted by proxy through Ms. Kathryn Sibley for Judge Garcia Flores.

Ms. Madelyn Fletcher voted to abstain.

Ms. Lori Gabbert Charney was recorded as absent.

Ms. Letty Martinez was recorded as absent.

Ms. Kathryn Sibley voted for Judge Garcia Flores.

The Honorable State Representative Gene Wu voted to abstain.

Ms. Kupper noted two votes approving the selection of Judge. Garcia Flores to the open SCFRT justice of the peace member position (T. Das, K. Sibley), two abstentions (M. Fletcher, Wu), and two absences (L. Martinez, L. Gabbert Charney) and announced Judge Garcia Flores was selected to fill the open justice of the peace member position.

Agenda Item 4: Presentation: Mental Health First Aid

Dr. Murthy introduced Ms. Jondell LaFont-Garcia, MA, LPC, Mental Health First Aid Coordinator, HHSC, who provided a PowerPoint presentation, "Mental Health First Aid." Key points included:

- What Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) is.
- Texas Health and Human Services (HHS) and MHFA Legislative Initiative.
- Why MHFA is important.
- Why Youth MHFA is important.
- MHFA delivery options in-person, blended, and virtual.
- MHFA courses adult, youth, and teen.
- How MHFA is different.
- MHFA Employee Initiative.

MAP?%3Aembed=y&%3Aiid=1&%3AisGuestRedirectFromVizportal=y

Dr. Murthy thanked Ms. LaFont-Garcia for her presentation.

Agenda Item 5: Proposed Changes to the SCFRT

Dr. Murthy introduced Ms. Sarah Blezinger, SCFRT Coordinator, who provided a PowerPoint presentation, "SCFRT Proposed Changes". Key points included:

- SCFRT background and legislative charge.
- Additional legislative requirements.
- DFPS Child Safety Review Committee.
- Needed process changes DFPS will be discontinuing their child safety review committee.

- SCFRT subcommittee proposal.
- Child safety review subcommittee parameters.
- Subcommittee member expectations.

SCFRT members discussed. Ms. Sibley recommended adding additional reports to the subcommittee review. Ms. Blezinger answered SCFRT Committee member questions. Dr. Murthy thanked Ms. Blezinger for the presentation.

Agenda Item 6: DSHS Updates and Announcements

Dr. Murthy introduced Ms. Sarah Blezinger again to provide updates:

SCFRT legislative report recommendation activities.

Dr. Murthy thanked Ms. Blezinger for the update.

Agenda Item 6: Public comment

No public comment was received.

Agenda Item 7: Comments, Adjournment, and Thank You

- Kathryn Sibley announced she will be moving to HHSC as of 9/1/2024.
- Ms. Blezinger provided open SCFRT member position titles.
- Dr. Murthy noted the next SCFRT meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. November 8, 2024. Dr. Murthy adjourned the meeting at 10:58 a.m.

Below is the link to the archived video recording of the August 9, 2024, SCFRT Committee meeting to view and listen for approximately, two years from date meeting is posted in accordance with the HHSC records retention schedule.

State Child Fatality Review Team Committee Meeting