

# Texas Department of State Health Services

## **AGENDA**

# Governor's EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Strategic Planning Retreat

Monday, March 6, 2023 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM DoubleTree by Hilton Austin, Dovers Room 6505 N Interstate 35 Austin, TX 78752

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Microsoft Teams.

Virtual meeting links are posted to the GETAC webpage at <a href="https://www.dshs.texas.gov/dshs-ems-trauma-systems/governors-ems-trauma-advisory-council">https://www.dshs.texas.gov/dshs-ems-trauma-systems/governors-ems-trauma-advisory-council</a>.

- 1. Call to Order Alan Tyroch, MD, FACS, FCCM, Chair
- 2. Welcome and attendance

Vision: A unified, comprehensive, and effective Emergency Healthcare System

Mission: To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patientcentered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System

- 3. GETAC travel reimbursement
- 4. Standard Operating Procedures
  - a. Executive Committee Process for defining this committee
  - b. Unprofessional behavior during a GETAC or GETAC Committee meeting
  - c. Open discussion of Standard Operating Procedures
- 5. Liaisons to Committees
- 6. Recess for Lunch
- 7. Strategic Plan Review Assignments
  - a. Introduction Alan Tyroch, MD, FACS, FCCM, Chair

b. Emergency Healthcare Overview – Ryan Matthews, LP, Vice Chair; Brian Eastridge, MD; Jeff Barnhart

#### c. Clinical Elements

- i. Prevention Cassie Potvin, RN; Peter Morocco; Ruben Martinez; Lucille Maes, LP
- ii. Clinical Care Brian Eastridge, MD; Gerad Troutman, MD; Taylor Ratcliff, MD; Della Johnson, RN; Kate Remick, MD; Ryan Matthews, LP
- iii. EMS Medical Direction Ryan Matthews, LP; Gerad Troutman, MD; Taylor Ratcliff, MD; Sharon Malone, MD; Shawn Salter, RN; Chief Billy Lail, EMT-P; Chief Mike Clements, EMT-P
- iv. System Integration Brian Eastridge, MD; Judge Mike Deloach; Mike Clements, EMT-P; Jeff Barnhart; Kate Remick, MD; Shawn Salter, RN; Cassie Potvin, RN; Gerad Troutman, MD; Taylor Ratcliff, MD; Chief Danny Ramirez, EMT-P
- v. Emergency Preparedness Sharon Malone, MD; Brian Eastridge, MD; Shawn Salter, RN; Jeff Barnhart; Ryan Matthews, LP; Pete Morocco; Chief Danny Ramirez, EMT-P; Kate Remick, MD; Gerad Troutman, MD; Chief Billy Lail, EMT-P
- vi. Performance Improvement Brian Eastridge, MD; Kate Remick, MD; Jeff Barnhart; Shawn Salter, RN; Cassie Potvin, RN; Della Johnson, RN; Lucille Maes, LP; Alan Tyroch, MD

### d. Infrastructure

- Communication Systems Taylor Ratcliff, MD; Gerad Troutman, MD; Chief Danny Ramirez, EMT-P; Chief Mike Clements, EMT-P; Sharon Malone, MD; Chief Billy Lail, EMT-P; Pete Morocco
- ii. Information Systems Ryan Matthews, LP; Sharon Malone, MD; Jeff Barnhart; Brian Eastridge, MD; Chief Mike Clements, EMT-P; Cassie Potvin, RN; Della Johnson, RN

## e. System Support

- i. Public Education Pete Marocco; Karen Pickard, RN, LP; Judge Mike Deloach; Kate Remick, MD; Ruben Martinez; Lucille Maes, LP
- ii. System Legislation and Regulations Brian Eastridge, MD; Jeff Barnhart; Kate Remick, MD; Ryan Matthews, LP; Taylor Ratcliff, MD; Gerad Troutman, MD; Sharon Malone, MD; Shawn Salter, RN; Chief Mike Clements, EMT-P
- iii. System Funding All
- f. Summary Alan Tyroch, MD, Chair

- 8. Texas Performance Improvement Plan
- 9. Update on meeting with the Governor's Office
- 10. Committee Priorities
  - a. Air Medical
  - b. Cardiac
  - c. Disaster
  - d. EMS
  - e. EMS Educators
  - f. EMS Medical Directors
  - g. Injury Prevention
  - h. Pediatric
  - i. Stroke
  - j. Trauma Systems
- 11. RAC Contractor Update
- 12. Open Discussion
- 13. General Public Comment Comment time may be limited at Chair's discretion.
- 14. Action Items
- 15. Adjourn Alan Tyroch, MD, Chair

**Public Comment:** The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comments to DSHS by emailing <a href="mailto:Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov">Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</a> no later than 5:00 PM, March 1, 2023. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible pdf format that will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members and state staff and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5" by 11", one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS no later than 5:00 PM, March 1, 2023, and include the name of the person who will be commenting.

## Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

**Contact:** Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, at 512-535-8538 or Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov.

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Jorie Klein at 512-535-8538 or <a href="mailto:Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov">Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</a> at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.