

Texas Department of State Health Services
Audiovisual Library

P.O. Box 149347, MC 1975

Austin, TX 78714-9347

Toll-Free Phone: 1-888-963-7111 ext. 7260

Phone: 512-776-7260 Fax: 512-776-7474

Website: www.dshs.texas.gov/audiovisual-library

STATEMENT OF RESPONSIBILITY

Materials in the Texas Department of State Health Services Audiovisual Library collection are state property. Texas residents 18 years and older are eligible to borrow audiovisual library materials. The person signing the Statement of Responsibility form is responsible for borrowed media. Borrower responsibility includes:

- 1. **Prompt return of materials by the scheduled date**. The borrower is responsible for return shipping costs. Any borrower with three late returns will have Audiovisual Library privileges suspended. No more orders will be shipped to borrowers with materials more than two weeks late. Failure to return borrowed media upon request will be viewed as theft of state property in violation of Section 31.03, Texas Penal Code, the conviction of which could, depending on the value, result in a fine not to exceed \$500 (Class C Misdemeanor), to confinement up to 10 years and a fine up to \$10,000 (Third Degree Felony). Please return materials by U.S. Mail, UPS, FedEx, or other insured carrier.
- 2. **Prompt pickup of scheduled materials by borrowers**. Scheduled materials not picked up on the pickup date will be returned to the Library on that date and will be charged the same as a late return.
- 3. **Replacement of lost or damaged materials**. Audiovisual Library staff check all materials for damage after each use. Materials returned by mail should be insured. Unless otherwise specified, insure each DVD for \$200; each model for \$100; and each book or audio-CD for \$50. Shipments valued at over \$400 should be returned by UPS or similar courier service. *Borrowers will be liable for returned uninsured shipments lost in transit*. In the event of loss or damage beyond repair, the Audiovisual Library will invoice the borrower for the full replacement value of the materials or the cost of the repair expense. All materials that come in the shipment must be returned, including study guides and video or audio cases or borrowers will be billed for their replacement. A packing slip or card is enclosed with each shipment. This should be completed with the number of showings and viewers for each audiovisual item borrowed.
- 4. **Copyright compliance**. Borrowed materials cannot be duplicated or televised without prior written permission from the copyright owner. Audiovisuals cannot be shown for commercial purposes, nor can an attendance fee be charged for their showing. Violations of federal copyright law will result in the immediate suspension of Audiovisual Library borrowing privileges and prosecution by the copyright owner can result in financial penalties and/or jail.

- 5. **Preview prior to showing**. Borrowers are responsible for selecting media appropriate for their audiences. Media should be previewed prior to showing.
- 6. **Privacy notification**. With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you. You are entitled to receive and review the information upon request. You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information that is determined to be incorrect. Go to www.dshs.texas.gov/notice-privacy-practices for more information about privacy notification. (Reference: Government Code, Section 552.021, 552.023, 559.003, and 559.004)

I acknowledge financial responsibility to the State of Texas should items borrowed be lost, stolen, or damaged from the date I receive the items until the materials have been received in the Library. I have read and agree to the terms in the Statement of Responsibility above.

Please complete the information below, print, sign, and send to the Audiovisual Library.					
Your Printed Name				Your Phone Number	
Organization			Business Phone Number	Fax Number	
Address	City		County	Zip Code	
Address	City		County	Zip Code	
Your Signature is Required	1	Email		Date	
SIGN HERE					
Please check any/all that apply to you or your organization					
Early Childhood Intervention DSHS Library					
Rehabilitation Services		Pı	ıblic School		
ECI: Family Pr			Private School		
			Other Educational Group Church or Religious Organization		
			Community or Civic Group		
Child Care Provider Ds			SHS Employee		
Early Head Start Local Health Department Hospital					
			ursing Home		
Other Agency	Mental Health/Substance Abuse Organization				
	<pre> Other Medical/EMS/Physician/Dentist/Etc Prison/Detention Center</pre>				
	Law Enforcement Agency				
	Fi	<pre> Fire Department Other State Agency (non-DSHS)</pre>			
	0i	Other State Agency (11011-05115) Federal Government			
	Co	County Government/Other Regional Agencies			
		City Government Private Business or Industry			
		Individual			