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This Texas Health Steps (THSteps) 
presentation will cover: 

 Background 

 THSteps Medical 
 Scheduling 
 Checkup Components 
 Laboratory 
 Special Circumstances 
 Documentation and Billing 

 THSteps Dental 

 Related Programs and Resources
 



 

What is Texas Health Steps?
 

Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 

Federal Law in 1989 - Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act (OBRA)
 

Social Security Act (SSA)
 

Comprehensive Care Program (CCP)
 



 

 

   
 

 

Statutory Requirements
 

 Communicable Disease Reporting 

 Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) referrals 

 Parental Accompaniment 

 Newborn Blood Screen 

 Newborn Hearing Screen 

 Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD) Screen 

 Blood Lead Level Screen 

 Abuse and Neglect Reporting 

Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual (TMPPM) 
Children’s Services Handbook 

5.1.2: THSteps Statutory State Requirements 

http://www.tmhp.com/Pages/Medicaid/Medicaid_Publications_Provider_manual.aspx


  
 

 
 

 

  

 

Compliance with Federal Legislation
 

 HHSC complies with Health & Human Services (HHS) 
regulations that protect against discrimination. 

 All contractors must agree to comply with the 
following: 

 Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Public Law 
 88-352), Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
 (Public Law 93-112), The Americans with Disabilities 
 Act of 1990 (Public Law 101-336), Title 40, Chapter 7 
 of the TAC. 

 Health and Safety Code 85.113 as described in “Model 
Workplace Guidelines for Businesses, State Agencies, and 
State Contractors” on page G-2. 



  

  

Scope of THSteps Services
 

 Periodic Medical Checkups 

Dental Checkups and Treatment 

Services 

Diagnosis of Medical Conditions 

Medically Necessary Treatment and 

Services 



Texas Health Steps 

Medical Checkup
 



  
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

THSteps Checkup Scheduling
 

Selecting a provider
 

Checkups - In fee-for-service (FFS) Medicaid, 
clients have freedom of choice when choosing 
a THSteps checkup provider. In managed 
care, a client needs to contact their health 
plan to determine how to access THSteps 
checkups. 

Treatment (If non PCP) - Referral may be 
required through PCP for evaluation and/or 
management of conditions identified during a 
THSteps medical checkup. 



  
 

  
  

 
 

THSteps Checkup Scheduling
 

New Medicaid Clients: 

For FFS - Should receive a THSteps checkup within 
90 days of receiving their Medicaid eligibility. 

For Managed Care - Should receive a THSteps 
checkup within 90 days of enrollment in Managed 
Care Organization (MCO). 

Allowance to 90-day requirement can be made if the 
provider has documentation of a previous checkup 
and child is current/not due for a checkup. 



 

 

THSteps Checkup Scheduling
 

Checkups should be scheduled based on 
the ages indicated on the THSteps 
Medical Checkup Periodicity Schedule. 
[Publication E03-13634] 

Families should be encouraged to 
schedule as soon as the child becomes 
due for a checkup. 



 

 
  

 

 

 

 

THSteps Checkup Scheduling
 

Number of 
Age Range Allowed Checkups 

Birth through 11 months 6 
(Does not include the newborn or 12 months) 

1 through 4 years of age 7 

5 through 11 years of age 7 

12 through 17 years of age 6 

18 through 20 years of age 3 



 
 

   

  
 

THSteps Checkup Scheduling
 

This allows: 

 More flexibility in scheduling THSteps 
checkups. 

 Scheduling more than one child for a checkup 
at the same time. 

 Avoiding a checkup during flu season. 

 Scheduling a checkup prior to or after 
returning to their home communities for 
children of migrant workers. 



  

     

 
  

   
 

  

 
 

Checkup Timeliness for Managed Care 

New Members-

Newborns within 14 days of enrollment. 

No later than within 90 days of enrollment for all other eligible 
children. 

Existing Members-

For children under age 36 months, a checkup is defined as timely 
if received within 60 days beyond the periodic due date based on 
their birth date. 

For children 36 months and older, a checkup is defined as timely if 
it occurs within 364 calendar days after the child’s birthday in a 
non-leap year or 365 calendar days after the child’s birthday in a 
leap year. 

Checkups received before the periodic due date are not reportable 
as timely medical checkups. 



  

  

 

  
 

THSteps Checkup Timeliness
 

Children less than 12 months of age-

Checkups in this age group occur within two 
weeks of due date based on child's date of birth. 

Children 12 months of age or older-

 Should have a yearly checkup as soon as 

they become due. 


 May be completed anytime after their 

birthday (timely). 


 Will not be considered late unless the child 
does not have the checkup prior to their next 
birthday. 



 
 

 

 

Medical Home
 

HHSC and THSteps encourage the provision of the 
THSteps medical checkup as part of a medical home. 
Texas Medicaid defines a medical home as a model 
of delivering care that is: 

 Accessible 

 Continuous 

 Comprehensive 

 Coordinated 

 Compassionate 

 Culturally Competent 

 Family-Centered 



THSteps Checkup 
Required Components 



 

 

  

Medical Checkup Requirements
 

Federally Mandated Components-

 Comprehensive Health and Developmental 
History 

 Comprehensive Unclothed Physical 
Examination 

 Immunizations 

 Laboratory Screening 

 Health Education/Anticipatory Guidance 

State Requirement-

Dental referral every 6 months until a dental 
home is established. 
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Complete THSteps Checkup
 

Complete only if it includes: 
All required components, or 
documentation of why a particular 
component could not be completed. 

Previous results may be used to meet 
the checkup requirements if completed 
within: 
 Preceding 30 days for children who are 

two years of age and younger. 
 Preceding 90 days for children who are 

three years of age and older. 



 

Comprehensive Health History
 

o	 Nutritional Screening 

o	 Developmental Surveillance and 
Screening 

o	 Mental Health Screening 

o	 Tuberculin Skin Test (TST)  



 

 

Nutritional Screening
 

 Review of Measurements/BMI and 
Laboratory Screening 

 Infants: Feeding Schedules 

 Children and Adolescents: Dietary 
Practices 

 Special Diets/Food Allergies 

 Restaurant/Fast Food 



 

Developmental Surveillance 


Review of Milestones 

Subjective review of milestones by parent 
report and observation. 

Screening 

• Objective  screening using a standardized 
screening tool (CPT code 96110). 

• Standardized autism screening (CPT code 
96110 U6). 

• Required at specific checkups. 



  
 

  

 

Developmental Screening 
Required Screening Tools 

Screening Developmental Tool Autism Tool 
Age 

9 months Ages and Stages Questionnaire 
(ASQ) or Parent's Evaluation of 
Developmental Status (PEDS) 

18 months ASQ or PEDS Modified Checklist for Autism 
in Toddlers 
(M-CHAT or M-CHAT-R/F) 

24 months ASQ or PEDS Modified Checklist for Autism 
in Toddlers 
(M-CHAT or M-CHAT-R/F) 

3 years ASQ or ASQ:SE, or PEDS 

4 years ASQ or ASQ:SE, or PEDS 



 

  

  
 

  
 

Developmental Screening 


The provider must complete a standardized 
developmental or autism screening: 

 If missed at an earlier checkup and still age 
appropriate. 

 For new patients 6 months through 6 years 
of age if no record of previous age-
appropriate screening. 

 If there are provider or parental concerns at 
any visit through 6 years of age. 



 
 

 
 
   

 

   
  

  

Developmental Screening
 

Referrals - If delay or suspected delay is 
identified: 

 Birth through 35 months: The provider must 
refer to Early Childhood Intervention (ECI), as 
soon as possible, but no longer than seven 
days after identified, even if also referring to 
an appropriate specialist. 

 Ages 3 years and older: The provider is 
encouraged to refer to the appropriate school 
district program, even if also referring to an 
appropriate specialist. 



Mental Health Screening
 

Mental Health Screening for
 
o Behavioral, 
o Social, and 
o Emotional Development. 

Required at each visit. 



 

 

 
 

  

 
 

Mental Health Screening
 
Adolescent Requirement
 

Required once per lifetime between the ages of 
12 through 18 years using one of the five 
validated and standardized mental health 
screening tools. - (Use procedure code 96160 or 
96161) 

•	 96160: Screening tool completed by the 
adolescent. 

•	 96161: Screening tool completed by the 
parent or caregiver on behalf of the 
adolescent. 



 

 

 

  

 

Mental Health Screening
 
Adolescent Requirement
 

• Pediatric Symptom Checklist (PSC-17) 

• Pediatric Symptom Checklist (PSC-35) 

• Pediatric Symptom Checklist for Youth (Y-PSC)
 
• Personal Health Questionnaire (PHQ-9) 

• Car, Relax, Alone, Friends, Forget, Trouble 
(CRAFFT) 

Download forms at brightfutures.aap.org. 

https://brightfutures.aap.org/materials-and-tools/tool-and-resource-kit/Pages/Developmental-Behavioral-Psychosocial-Screening-and-Assessment-Forms.aspx


 

 
 

 
 

TB Screening
 

Administer  the THSteps TB Questionnaire 
annually beginning at 12 months of age. 

The questionnaire is available at: 
www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/forms.shtm
 

Administer a Tuberculin Skin Test (TST) 

(CPT code 86580) if risk for possible exposure 

is identified. 


A follow-up visit (CPT code 99211) is required 

to read all TSTs. 


http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/forms.shtm


TB Screening
 

Positive TST: 
 Further evaluation is required to 

diagnose either latent TB infection or 
active TB disease. 

 Report a diagnosis of latent TB 
infection or suspected TB disease to 
your local or regional health 
department. 

Contact the TB Services Branch at 
512-533-3000 for more information. 



 

 

  

Physical Examination
 

oComprehensive  Completed by: 

 Physician oMust be unclothed 

 PA (Physician Assistant) 

 CNS (Clinical Nurse Specialist) 

 NP (Nurse Practitioner) 

 CNM (Certified Nurse-Midwife) 

 RN (Registered Nurse) 

 Under direct supervision of physician 

 Completion of online education modules  

 May not provide checkups at an FQHC 
or RHC 

http://www.txhealthsteps.com/cms/?q=courses-by-topic


Physical Examination
 

 Height or Length 

 Weight 

 BMI 

 Fronto-occipital circumference 

 Blood pressure 

Use age-appropriate growth graph to 
identify significant deviations. 



 

  

Physical Examination
 

Sensory Screening 

VISION-

o	 Visual acuity screening according to the 
THSteps Medical Checkup Periodicity Schedule. 

o Subjective screening at all other checkups. 

HEARING-

o	 Audiometric screening according to the 
THSteps Medical Checkup Periodicity Schedule. 

o	 Subjective screening at all other checkups. 



    

   

 
  

  

 
   

 

Dental Referral
 

An oral health exam and dental referral is a key part of 
the THSteps checkup. 

A referral depends on the result of the oral exam: 

 Routine dental referral - Beginning at 6 months 
of age until a dental home has been established. 

 Referral for dental care - At any age if the oral 
exam identifies a possible concern. 

 Emergency dental referral - If a child has 
bleeding, infection, excessive pain, or injury, refer 
directly to the dental provider. 



 

 

  
 

 
  

   
 

Immunizations
 

Each medical checkup-

 Assess immunization status. 

 Use diagnosis code Z23 to indicate immunization 
administration. 

 Administer according to the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommendations 
unless-
 Medically contraindicated, or 
 Parent’s reason of conscience (including religious 

beliefs). 

Providers must not refer children to the local health 
department or other entity for immunizations. 



 

 
 

Immunizations
 

THSteps ages birth through 18 -

 Vaccine available through TVFC. 

 Reimbursement covers administration fee.
 

THSteps ages 19 and 20 -

 Privately purchased vaccine. 

 Reimbursed by Medicaid. 

 Reimbursement covers vaccine and 
administration fee. 



 

Laboratory Services
 

G-THSTEPS (September 2016)
 
Specimen submission form for THSteps only
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lab/mrs_forms.shtm#supplies
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lab/mrs_forms.shtm#supplies


  

  

  

 

 

      

Laboratory Services
 

Newborn Screening 

 1st screen collected at 24-48 hours of age 

 2nd screen collected at 7-14 days of age 

 Up to 12 months if no record of testing 

 Special circumstances, such as adoption 

DSHS NBS Clinical Care Coordination will: 

 Open case for each out-of-range result. 

 Communicate abnormal results to the provider.
 
 Provide guidance for recommended actions. 

 Monitor case until infant is cleared or diagnosis is 
determined. 



 

  

 

 

Laboratory Services
 

Accessing Newborn Screening Results 

All results reported to the submitting facility 

via mail, fax, HL7, or web application. 

Additional copies can be accessed as follows: 

Sign up as a registered user of the Texas Newborn 
Screening Web Application and access reports online-
or 

Contact DSHS Laboratory Reporting-

Monday-Friday 

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Send a fax request to 512-776-7533 or 

Call 512-776-7578 



   

 

  

Laboratory Services
 

Texas Newborn Screening Web Application 
How to Sign up - 3 Easy Steps 

1. Download forms from: 
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lab/remotedata.shtm 

2. Fill out: 
•	 Security/Confidentiality Agreement (1 per facility) 

AND 
•	 Web User Agreements (1 for each user) 

3. Submit: 
•	 Fax: 512-776-7157, Attn: Remote Lab Support, 

L357.1 
•	 Or email: remotelabsupport@dshs.texas.gov 

For help, call 1-888-963-7111 extension 6642 or 6030
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lab/remotedata.shtm
mailto:remotelabsupport@dshs.texas.gov


 

 

  

  

Laboratory Services
 

Lead Screening and Testing 

A blood lead level is mandatory at 12 and 24 
months of age. 

Initial screening: 

o Venous or capillary specimen. 

o Send specimens to DSHS Laboratory, or 

o Provider may use point-of-care testing. 



 

Laboratory Services
 

Lead Screening and Testing 

Point-of-care testing: 

o	 Initial screening only 

o	 Clinical Laboratory Improvement 
Amendments (CLIA) 

o	 Procedure code 83655 with 
modifier QW 

o	 Separate reimbursement 



 
 

Laboratory Services
 

Lead Screening and Testing 

Follow-up 

o Blood lead level of 5/mcg/dL or greater 
o Venous specimen 
o Laboratory of provider’s choice 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lead/child.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lead/child.shtm


   

   

 
 

     

Laboratory Services 


Lead Screening and Testing 

Risk assessment may be addressed as part of anticipatory 
guidance-

o	 Using the questions on the back of the Child Health 
Record forms (optional). 

o	 Using Risk Assessment for Lead Exposure 
questionnaire, Form Pb-110 (optional). 

or 


o	 Discussion of risk factors or other methods of 

education.
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/forms.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/forms.shtm


  

 

  
  

 

Laboratory Services
 

Lead Screening and Testing 

Follow up assistance: 

Contact MAXIMUS Special Services Unit at 

1-877-847-8377 

OR 

Complete THSteps Provider Outreach Referral 
Form and Fax to 1-512-533-3867 

Attn: Special Services Unit 



Laboratory Services
 

Lead Reporting 

o	 Must submit results to Childhood 
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program 
(CLPPP) 
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lead/child.shtm 

o	 Report all results 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/lead/child.shtm


 

Laboratory Services
 

Anemia Screening 

 Mandatory according to the THSteps 
Medical Checkup Periodicity Schedule 

 Required at 12 months of age 

 DSHS Laboratory 



  
 

  
  

 

 

Laboratory Services
 

Dyslipidemia 

•	 Required once for all clients 9 through 11 years 
of age and again at 18 through 20 years of age. 

•	 Risk-based for all clients 24 months through 20 
years. 

•	 Child or specimen may be sent to laboratory of 

provider’s choice, including the DSHS Laboratory. 

Type 2 Diabetes 

•	 Risk-based test. 

•	 Child or specimen may be sent to laboratory of 

provider’s choice, including the DSHS Laboratory. 



  

  

  

Laboratory Services
 

Gonorrhea and Chlamydia Screening 
 Risk-based. 
 Amplified probe technique. 
 Specimens must be submitted to the DSHS 

Laboratory. 
 Supplies may be obtained from the DSHS 

Laboratory. 

Syphilis 
 Risk-based. 
 Child or specimen may be sent to laboratory 
of provider’s choice, including the DSHS 

Laboratory. 



  

 
 

Laboratory Services
 

HIV: 

 Required once for all clients 16 through 18 years 
of age. 

 Risk-based for all clients 11 through 20 years of 
age. 

Provide information that testing for HIV is-

 Routinely available, confidential. 

 Completely anonymous by choice. 

Child or specimen may be sent to laboratory of 
provider’s choice, including the DSHS Laboratory.
	



 
 

 
  

Completing the Checkup – 
Anticipatory Guidance 

oEach checkup.
 
oChild development.
 
oBenefits of healthy lifestyles and
 
practices, accident and disease
 
prevention.
 

oMust include time period for next 
checkup. 

oWritten material may be given, but 
does not replace counseling. 



   

 

 

Oral Evaluation and Fluoride 
Varnish (OEFV) - Optional 

During THSteps medical checkup for ages 6 
through 35 months-

• Limited oral evaluation 

• Fluoride varnish application 

• Referral to dental home 

Provided by trained and certified-

• Physicians 

• Physician Assistants 

• Advanced Practice Registered Nurses 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/OEFV.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/OEFV.shtm


Exception to Periodicity
 

 Needed in addition to regularly 
scheduled checkups. 

 Must be a complete medical 
checkup. 

 Must be medically necessary. 



 
 

   

   
  

 

Exception to Periodicity
 

•		The same procedure codes, 
•		Provider type modifier, and 
•		Condition indicators (NU, ST, S2) 

Modifiers in table shown below indicate the reason 

for exception.
 

Modifier 

SC •	 Medically necessary (developmental delay or suspected 

abuse). 

•	 Environmental high-risk (sibling of child with elevated 

blood level). 

32 To meet state or federal requirements for Head Start, 
daycare, foster care, or pre-adoption. 

23 Dental services provided under general anesthesia. 



 

 

 

THSteps Follow-up Visits
 

A return visit may be required to complete 
necessary procedures-

 Reading the Tuberculin Skin Test (TST). 
 Immunizations. 
 Specimen collection for a laboratory test. 
 Completion of a component. 
 Separate reimbursement may not be available.
 

CPT code 99211 with-
THSteps provider identifier, and THSteps benefit 
code. 



  

 

  

 
   

Children in Foster Care
 

Children entering or re-entering foster care require 
the following: 

• THSteps checkup within 30 days 

• Tuberculin Skin Test (TST) 

Checkups must be performed by a medical provider 
enrolled in Medicaid and THSteps, and who is 
contracted with STAR Health. 

STAR Health member connection representatives call 
caregivers immediately once a child is enrolled in 
STAR Health to offer assistance with scheduling the 
THSteps checkup. 



THSteps Documentation
 



  

THSteps Documentation
 

All components must be documented in 
the medical record: 

Quality review activities include: 
 Random chart review, and 
 Focused studies of THSteps 

medical checkup completeness. 



 

 

 
  

THSteps Documentation
 

A component may be omitted due to: 

•	 Provider’s assessment of child’s condition 
-or-

•	 Lack of cooperation 

-or-

•	 Parent’s refusal to give consent. 

May also omit specific screening tools if a related condition 
has been identified, and child is currently receiving 
treatment. 

Documentation must include the rationale for the 
omission. 



THSteps Child Health Record Forms 


•	 Optional 
•	 Age-specific 

•	 Reflect current THSteps 

policy 

Available online at: 
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/childhealthrecords.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/childhealthrecords.shtm


 

  
 

  

 

 

THSteps Documentation 


Tuberculosis (TB) Questionnaire 

The only required form for a THSteps checkup. 

Ways to document the questionnaire: 

 Document the results of the completed tool in 
the checkup record - or -

 Retain or scan completed questionnaire in the 
record - or -

 Include and document the answers to the TB 
Questionnaire within a provider-created 
medical record. 



 

THSteps Documentation
 

Other Optional Forms: 

 Form Pb-110 Risk Assessment 
for Lead Exposure 

 Parent Hearing Checklist 



   

 

  
   

  
 

THSteps Documentation
 

For all electronic, online, or 

web-based tools: 

Consent/release of information may be 
needed for: 

 Transfer of patient data stored 
electronically in external databases, or 

 If data will be used for purposes other 
than THSteps checkups. 



 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

THSteps Documentation
 

Previous results may be used to meet the checkup 

requirements if completed within: 

 Preceding 30 days for children who are two years 
of age and younger. 

 Preceding 90 days for children who are three years 
of age and older. 

Documentation must include: 

The date(s) of service. 

Clear reference to previous visit by the same 
provider, or results obtained from another provider. 



  
 

   
   

 

THSteps Billing
 

The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes are 
available in the Texas Medicaid Provider Procedure 
Manual (TMPPM). 

Providers, including Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and 
Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) should 
contact: 

 The appropriate medical or dental managed care 

plan, or 


 TMHP for patients with fee-for-service coverage. 

RHCs and FQHCs receive an all-inclusive encounter rate.
 



 

 

 

  

THSteps Billing
 

ICD-10-CM Coding for Texas Health Steps
 

ICD-10 Descriptor 

CM Code 

Z00110 Newborn exam, birth to 7 days 

Z00111 Newborn exam, 8 days to 28 days 

Z00129 Routine child exam 

Z00121 Routine child exam, abnormal 

Z0000 General adult exam 

Z0001 General adult exam, abnormal 

http://www.tmhp.com/Pages/CodeUpdates/ICD-10.aspx
 

http://www.tmhp.com/Pages/CodeUpdates/ICD-10.aspx


     THSteps 
Quick Reference 
Guide (QRG) 

http://www.tmhp.com/Pages/Medicaid/Medicaid_THSteps_Program_Info.aspx
 

http://www.tmhp.com/Pages/Medicaid/Medicaid_THSteps_Program_Info.aspx


 

 

THSteps Quick Reference Guide
 

THSteps medical checkup CPT codes: 

•	 New Patient: 
o	 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385 

•	 Established Patient: 
o	 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395 

Follow Up visit: 99211 

Immunizations: 

•	 Diagnosis code Z00110, Z00111, Z00129, Z00121, 
Z0000, or Z0001 in addition to Z23. 

•	 Appropriate immunization administration and 

vaccine codes.
 



 

 

 

 

THSteps Quick Reference Guide
 

Additional requirements: 

THSteps Benefit Code EP1 

Identify the provider completing the physical examination-
 AM-Physician 
 SA-Nurse Practitioner 
 TD-Registered Nurse 
 U7-Physician Assistant 

Condition indicators-
 NU-Not used (no referral) 
 ST-New services requested 
 S2-Under treatment 



 

 

 
     

  

 
  

 

THSteps Quick Reference Guide
 

Procedures which are a benefit may be reimbursed 
on the same day as a medical checkup-

•	 Developmental screening (CPT code 96110). 
•	 Autism screening (CPT code 96110 with U6  


modifier).
 
•	 Mental health screening in adolescents (CPT code 

96160 or 96161). 
•	 Tuberculin Skin Test (TST) (CPT code 86580). 
•	 Point-of-care lead testing (CPT code 83655 with 

QW modifier). 
•	 Immunizations administration (Individual MCOs 

may require the use of a modifier). 
•	 Oral Evaluation & Fluoride Varnish (CPT code 


99429 with U5 modifier).
 



 

Separate Identifiable Acute Care 
Evaluation & Management (E/M) Visit 

Acute or chronic condition that requires care in addition 
to the checkup: 

 May be treated at the same time of the medical 

checkup, or
 

 Child may be referred. 

Child's medical record must contain documentation of 
Medical necessity. 

A separate claim is not indicated when treatment for an 
insignificant or trivial problem/abnormality does not 
require additional work. 



 

 

Separate Identifiable Acute Care 
Evaluation & Management (E/M) Visit 

Both the checkup and E/M visit may be 
reimbursed as a NEW patient visit if 
child meets new patient requirements. 

Contact the MCO or TMHP for claims 
filing information. 
 Appropriate diagnosis code 

 Appropriate evaluation and management 
code 



Texas Health Steps 
Dental Checkup 



THSteps Dental Services
 

THSteps dental services are benefits 
of Medicaid eligible children from 
birth through 20 years of age. 

o	 Early detection and treatment of  
dental health problems. 

o	 Oral health preventive services.
 



THSteps Dental
 

THSteps dental providers may provide 
medically necessary dental services: 

o Emergency 
o Diagnostic 
o Preventive 
o Therapeutic 
o Orthodontic 



  
 

  
  

 

  

First Dental Home
 

First Dental Home (FDH) is a package of 
dental services aimed at improving the oral 
health of children, ages 6 through 35 months, 
who have Medicaid benefits. 

Goals 

• Begin preventive dental services for very 
young children to decrease the occurrence 
of Early Childhood Caries (ECC). 

• Provide simple and consistent oral health 
messages to parents and caregivers. 



 

   
 

  
 

First Dental Home
 

Children ages 6 through 35 months of age 
may be referred at 6 months of age and 
receive services at: 

•	 3-month intervals based on their 
caries risk assessment. 

•	 6-month intervals thereafter through 
3 years of age. 



First Dental Home
 

Benefits 

• Comprehensive oral examination. 
• Oral hygiene instruction with primary 
caregiver. 
• Dental prophylaxis. 
• Topical fluoride application using 
fluoride varnish. 
• Caries risk assessment. 
• Dental anticipatory guidance. 



 
 

 

   

First Dental Home
 

First Dental Home providers must complete 
training and certification from DSHS. 

Link to the online training at 
http://www.txhealthsteps.com and click on 
“Course Listing”, scroll down to Oral Health and 
then click on First Dental Home. 

For more information on First Dental Home, link 

to http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/FDH.shtm 


http://www.txhealthsteps.com/cms/
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/thsteps/FDH.shtm


 

 

 

THSteps Dental
 

Dental checkups and visits may be 
scheduled: 

•	 At 6 months of age for preventive 
care. 

•	 At more frequent intervals if in First 
Dental Home. 

•	 At any age for appropriate 
therapeutic procedures or emergency 
dental services. 



 

THSteps Dental
 

Exceptions to six-month periodicity for 

dental checkup services-

•	 Medically necessary. 
•	 Required to meet federal or state
 

requirements.
 
•	 Patient requests second opinion or 

service provider change. 



 

 
 

 

 

THSteps Dental
 

Some services may require prior 
authorization. 

Contact-

The appropriate dental managed care 
organization, or TMHP for further information. 

Emergency and Trauma services-

 Prior authorization is not required. 

 Contact the appropriate dental managed 
care organization or TMHP for further 
information. 



Caries Risk Assessment (CRA)
 

 Prevention of childhood caries is a 
fundamental part of preventative 
dental care and it is crucial to oral 
health that Texas manages caries risk 
in our child population. 

 HHSC made the decision to utilize 
Dental Quality Alliance (DQA) 
measures in 2017 so Texas would have 
nationally recognized standards for 
dental care. 



 

   
 

  
 

 

   
  

 

Caries Risk Assessment (CRA)
 

 In order to implement the DQA sealant measure 
as part of its 2017 dental P4Q program, HHSC 
Quality Assurance (QA) initiated steps to track 
documented caries risk assessments. 

 In order to track caries risk assessment results, 
providers append the CRA code to the oral 
evaluation on their claim form. 

 The American Dental Association and the 
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry support 
DQA measures and utilizing them would help 
Texas policy align with best practices and 
standards of care. 



  
  
   

 
  

  
  

    
     

 

 
 

Caries Risk Assessment (CRA) 

THSteps requires caries risk assessment and documentation to 
be included in all dental exams. Reimbursement for dental exams 
will be denied by Medicaid unless a caries risk assessment has 
properly been conducted, documented, and coded. 

HHS offers training with step-by-step guidance about conducting and 
documenting caries risk assessment for patients ages 6 months through 
20 years. Take the First Dental Home (FDH) training module for children 
6 through 35 months old; and, the Promoting Oral Health through Caries 
Risk Assessment and Dental Anticipatory Guidance (OHCRA) for children 
3 through 20 years old. Both trainings provide links to all caries 
risk assessment forms and include documentation and billing 
information. 

To access the training modules, link to 
http://www.txhealthsteps.com/cms, select Find a Course>>, then scroll 
down to Oral Health. 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/Caries-Risk-Assessment.shtm
http://www.txhealthsteps.com/cms


Related Programs
 



Texas Vaccine for Children (TVFC)
 

THSteps providers are strongly encouraged 
to enroll in TVFC. 

Vaccines available at no cost to providers. 

To enroll, or for more provider information, 
go to 
www.dshs.texas.gov/immunize/tvfc/default.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/immunize/tvfc/default.shtm


    

 

 

   

 

Texas Vaccine for Children (TVFC)
 

Children birth through 18 years of age, who meet 

at least one of the following criteria, are eligible 

to receive TVFC vaccine from any TVFC-enrolled 

provider. 

• Medicaid eligible 

• Uninsured 

• American Indian or Alaskan Native 

• Underinsured 

• Enrolled in CHIP 



  

 

  
  

 
 

Texas Vaccine for Children (TVFC)
 

UNDERINSURED 

A child who has commercial (private) health 
insurance, but: 

•	 Coverage does not include vaccines; 

•	 Insurance covers only selected vaccines 
(TVFC-eligible for non-covered vaccines 
only); or, 

•	 Insurance caps vaccine coverage at a 
certain amount. (TVFC-eligible after 
amount reached) 



 

 

ImmTrac Texas Immunization Registry
 

•	 State law requires that all providers must 
report. 

•	 Child’s immunization information is 
stored electronically. 

•	 Free Service. 

One centralized system-
Consent is during birth registration 
process. 
or 
Completion of consent form. 



 

 

 

Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

Services 

• Assist eligible clients in gaining access to 
medically necessary medical, social, 
educational and other services. 

• Provides health related case management 
services to Medicaid eligible children and 
pregnant women. 

• A Medicaid benefit and a component of 
THSteps services. 



 

    
 

 

 
  

   
 

 

Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

Eligibility 

To be eligible for case management services, the client 
must: 

 Be Medicaid-eligible in Texas. 

 Be a child with a health condition/health risk or a 
pregnant woman with a high-risk condition 
(pregnant at time of enrollment). 

 Need assistance in gaining access to the necessary 
medical, social, educational, and other services 
related to their health condition/health risk or high-
risk condition. 

 Desire case management services. 



 

Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

Who are Case Management 
Providers? 
• Registered Nurses 
• Licensed Social Workers 

Where do they work? 
• Nonprofit Agencies/Organizations 
• Individual Owners 
• Healthcare Clinics 
• Schools & School Districts 
• Rehabilitation Centers 



 

  

  

   
 

 

  

Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

What Are Case Management Services? 

 Identifying needs of clients and their family; develop 
plan to address needs; follow-up with client and 
family to ensure needs have been addressed or 
resolved. 

 Identifying strengths and challenges. 

 Assisting with accessing, advocating for, and 
coordinating needed services. 

 Empowering clients to find and access services they 
need. 

 Delivering services in a culturally sensitive manner. 



 

 
 

Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

Identifying Strengths and Challenges-

 Encourage families to identify their own 
strengths. 

 Identify barriers to addressing client needs.
 

Empowering clients-

 Encourage clients and families to become 
active participants. 

 Educate clients so they are able to access 
services in the future. 



Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

Assist with Accessing, Advocating 
for, and Coordinating -

 Durable medical equipment and 
supplies. 

 Referral to developmental and mental 
health services. 

 Education/school services. 



 

  

   

 

Case Management for Children 

and Pregnant Women
 

How does it differ from other CM 

programs/Care Coordination? 

•	 Home Visits are usually conducted. 

•	 Visits are Face-to-Face. 

•	 Case Manager may attend school meetings with parent 

to advocate for client. 

•	 The whole family is assessed, not just the client. 

•	 Services are provided only if client currently has needs 

related to their health condition or health risk. 



Making a Referral
 



  

Making a Referral
 

Call THSteps at 1-877-847-8377 or 
Fax CM Referral form to 512-533-3867 



Case Management Referral Pad
 

•	 Designed for providers to make referrals for Case 

Management 

•	 Order publication number 05-13916 at 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/THStepsCatalog.shtm 

•	 Two-sided pad with 50 referral forms 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/THStepsCatalog.shtm


 

Personal Care Services (PCS)
 

PCS is a Medicaid benefit that assists 

eligible clients who require assistance 

with activities of daily living (ADLs) 

and 

instrumental activities of daily living 

(IADLs) because of a physical, 

cognitive or behavioral limitation 

related to their disability or chronic 

health condition. 



 

  

        

 
 

Personal Care Services (PCS)
 
ADLs 

 Bathing 

 Locomotion or Mobility 

 Dressing 

 Eating 

 Personal Hygiene 

 Positioning 

 Transferring 

 Toileting 

IADLs 

 Grocery/Household Shopping 
 Light Housework 
 Laundry 
 Meal Preparation 
 Medication Assistance or 

Administration 
 Escort or Assistance with 

Transportation Services 
 Money Management 
 Telephone Use or Other 

Communication 

Assistance is provided by non-skilled attendants. Nursing 
tasks are not covered under Personal Care Services. 



 

  

 
  

 

 

Personal Care Services (PCS)
 

Who can receive PCS? 

Individuals who are: 

•	 Younger than 21 years of age. 

•	 Enrolled with Texas Medicaid. 

•Fee-for-Service (FFS) 

•STAR 

•	 Have physical, cognitive, or behavioral limitations 
related to a disability, or chronic health condition 
that inhibits ability to accomplish ADLs and IADLs. 

•	 Have parental barriers that prevent the client’s 
responsible adult from assisting the client. 



   

 

  

Personal Care Services (PCS)
 

The following needs of the responsible 
adult are also considered: 

•The responsible adult’s need to sleep, work, 

attend school, meet his/her own medical 

needs.
 

•The responsible adult’s legal obligation to care 

for, support, and meet the medical, education, 
and psychosocial needs of his/her other 
dependents. 

•The responsible adult’s physical ability to 
perform the personal care services. 



 

  
   

 

 

 

Personal Care Services (PCS)
 

Client Referrals 

A client referral can be provided by anyone who 
recognizes a client need for PCS including, but not 
limited to, the following: 

 Client or family member. 
 A primary practitioner, primary care provider, or 

medical home. 

DSHS social workers process referrals, assess clients, 

and submit prior authorizations to TMHP for services.
 

PCS/CFC Referral Line: 1-888-276-0702 



 

   

 

 
   

  
  

  

 

Community First Choice (CFC)
 

Community First Choice (CFC) is a program that enables 
Texas Medicaid to provide the most cost effective 
approach to basic attendant and habilitation service 
delivery. 

CFC is a Medicaid benefit that assists eligible clients who 
require assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs) 
and 
instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs) 
because of a physical, cognitive or behavioral limitation 
related to their disability or chronic health condition. 

It also helps with habilitation - teaching a person how to 
do everyday tasks without help. 



     
   

 
 

   
 

  
  

 

 
 

 
 

Community First Choice (CFC) 

Services 

oPersonal assistance services is assistance with activities of 
daily living (ADLs), instrumental activities of daily living 
(IADLs), and health-related tasks through hands-on 
assistance, supervision or cueing. 

oHabilitation services is the acquisition, maintenance and 
enhancement of skills-training to accomplish ADLs, IADLs, 
and health-related tasks. 

oSupport Management provides voluntary training for 
individuals who want to choose to select, manage and 
dismiss their own attendants. 

oEmergency Response System is a service for members who 
would otherwise require extensive routine supervision and 
who live alone, alone for significant parts of the day, or do 
not have regular caregivers for extended periods of time. 



    

 
 

 

Community First Choice (CFC)
 

ADLs 

 Bathing 

 Locomotion or Mobility 

 Dressing 

 Eating 

 Personal Hygiene 

 Positioning 

 Transferring 

 Toileting 

IADLs 

 Grocery/Household Shopping 
 Light Housework 
 Laundry 
 Meal Preparation 
 Medication Assistance or    

Administration 
 Escort or Assistance with 

Transportation Services 
 Money Management 
 Telephone Use or Other 

Communication 

Assistance is provided by non-skilled attendants. Nursing 
tasks are not covered under Community First Choice. 



 
 

 

Community First Choice (CFC)
 

•	 CFC follows the same rules for parental 
barriers as PCS for attendant care services 
only. 

•	 Parent barriers are not taken into 
consideration for habilitation services. 



 

  

 

  
 

  
 

   
  

  

Community First Choice (CFC) 

Who can receive CFC? 

Individuals who are: 

• Younger than 21 years of age. 

• Enrolled with Texas Medicaid. 

• Fee-for-Service (FFS) 

• STAR  

• Have physical, cognitive, or behavioral limitations related to 
a disability, or chronic health condition that inhibits ability 
to accomplish ADLs and IADLs. 

• Require an institutional level of care, e.g.: 
o	 A nursing facility 
o	 An institution of mental disease 
o	 An intermediate care facility for individuals with an 

intellectual disability or related condition 



  
   

   
  

  

 

Community First Choice (CFC) 

Client Referrals 

A client referral can be provided by anyone who recognizes a 
client need for CFC including, but not limited to, the following: 

 Client or family member. 
 A primary practitioner, primary care provider, or medical 

home. 

DSHS social workers process referrals, assess clients, and 
submit prior authorizations to TMHP for services. 

PCS/CFC Referral Line: 1-888-276-0702 



 

   

 
   

 
 

 

 
 

Children with Special Health Care 
Needs (CSHCN) 

Benefit Summary 

The Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) 
Program serves: 
• Children who have special health-care needs. 
• Individuals of any age who have cystic fibrosis.
 

The program helps clients with their: 
• Medical, dental and mental health care 
• Drugs 
• Special therapies 
• Case Management 
• Family Support Services 
• Travel to health care visits 
• Insurance premiums 



  

 
  

 
 

 
 

 

 
  

 

Children with Special Health Care 
Needs (CSHCN) 

Eligibility Summary 

The program is available to anyone who-
• Lives in Texas (includes undocumented residents). 
• Is under 21 years old (or any age with cystic fibrosis). 
• Has a certain level of family income. 
• Has a medical problem that-

is expected to last at least 12 months. 
will limit one or more major life activities. 

needs more health care than children 

usually need. 

has physical symptoms*. 

*This means that the program does not cover clients with 
only a mental, behavioral or emotional condition, or a delay 
in development. 



   

 

Children with Special Health Care 
Needs (CSHCN) 

Contact the CSHCN Services Program-

Mailing Address: 

Children with Special Health Care Needs 
Services Program 
Department of State Health Services, MC 1938 
P.O. Box 149347 
Austin, TX 78714-9347 

Ask questions by phone: 

CSHCN Inquiry Line toll free at 1-800-252-8023 

512-776-7355 Austin 
512-776-7565 Fax 



  
 

  
 

  
 

 

 

 

Medical Transportation Program (MTP)
 

The Medical Transportation Program (MTP), under the 
direction of HHSC, arranges transportation for all 
children eligible for Medicaid, and children in the 
Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) 
Services Program. MTP is responsible for the prior 
authorization of all MTP services. 

Clients can request transportation services by 

calling toll free: 

• Statewide 1-877-633-8747 

• Houston/Beaumont area 1-855-687-4786 

• Dallas/Ft. Worth area 1-855-687-3255 



Resources
 



  

 

  

  

 

   

 

 

THSteps Provider Outreach 

Referral Service
 

The THSteps Provider Outreach Referral Service is utilized by 

THSteps providers who request outreach and follow-up on 

behalf of a THSteps patient.  This service provides necessary 

outreach such as: 

•	 Contacting a patient to schedule a follow-up appointment. 

•	 Contacting a patient to reschedule a missed appointment.
 

•	 Contacting a patient to assist with scheduling
 
transportation to the appointment. 


•	 Contacting a patient for other outreach services. 



 

   

 

 

 

     

THSteps Provider Outreach 

Referral Service
 

A THSteps provider may submit a request for patient outreach to the 


THSteps Special Services Unit (SSU) using the THSteps Provider Outreach 


Referral Form.
 

Once received, SSU will process each referral and attempt to respond to 


it in a timely and efficient manner. 


Successfully contacted patients are:
 

•	 Assisted with scheduling or rescheduling an appointment and/or 


obtaining transportation to the appointment.
 

•	 Educated about the importance of keeping or canceling appointments 

when appropriate. 

•	 Engaged in a problem-solving process to overcome barriers 


preventing them from keeping appointments.
 



THSteps Provider Outreach 

Referral Service
 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/thsteps/POR.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/thsteps/POR.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/thsteps/POR.shtm
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/thsteps/POR.shtm


  

  
 

 
   

 

THSteps Provider Outreach 

Referral Service
 

THSteps provider may submit the referral form by 

fax to the THSteps Special Services Unit (SSU) at:
 

512-533-3867
 
THSteps providers who have questions about the 
THSteps Provider Outreach Referral Service or 
need technical assistance with completion and 
submission of the referral form should contact 
their THSteps Provider Relations Representative. 

Contact name and information can be found at: 
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/regions.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/regions.shtm


 

 

Online Provider Education (OPE)
 

OPE offers more 
than 50 FREE 
online CE courses 
on a variety of 
preventive health 
topics that 
support the 
THSteps 
program. 

http://www.txhealthsteps.com/
 

http://www.txhealthsteps.com/


 

Online Provider Education (OPE)
 

The courses are available 24/7 and offer 

education covering: 

•	 Best practices. 

•	 Case-based evaluation and diagnostic 

training. 

•	 Texas Health Steps preventive and 


screening services.
 

•	 Overall Medicaid benefits. 



 

 

Online Provider Education (OPE)
 

The site also offers mobile-friendly quick 
courses and case studies. These 5-minute 
courses provide targeted instruction and up to 
date information on timely Medicaid topics. 

Stay connected to OPE! 

Sign up for OPE updates with GovDelivery 

https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXHHSC/subscriber/new?preferences=true


   
 

 

  

 

 

  

THSteps Resource Catalog
 

THSteps offers brochures, posters and other outreach 
resources, at no cost to Medical and Dental Providers, 
Schools, Community Based Organizations (CBO's), 
Case Managers and other THSteps Partners. 

Materials cover a variety of topics, including: 

•	 Medical or Dental Checkup 

•	 Newborn Hearing Screening/TEHDI 

•	 Medical Transportation Program 

•	 Case Management for Children and Pregnant 

Women
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/THStepsCatalog.shtm
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/thsteps/THStepsCatalog.shtm


  
  

  

  
  

THSteps Resource Catalog
 

Email a request to txmailhouse@maximus.com to 
receive a log in/password to place an order, or call 
512-919-1623. 

Include the following information: 

1.Organization Name 

2.Physical Street Address (Cannot ship to PO Box) 

3.City, State, Zip Code 

4.Contact Person 

5.Telephone (With area code) 

6.Email address (Email address is required to 
receive an online account to order publications)
 

mailto:txmailhouse@maximus.com


  
  

 

Sign up for THSteps Alerts 

You can sign up for email notifications that will let you 
know when information, forms, and/or documents on 
the THSteps internet have been updated. To begin 
receiving notifications, go to the HHS internet home 
page at https://hhs.texas.gov/ and click on Subscribe. 

https://hhs.texas.gov/


QUESTIONS?
 



 

 

Contact Information:
 

Texas Health Steps (THSteps) Provider Relations
 

Name:
 

Phone:
 

Email:
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