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The Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program (TYTAP) is responsible for ensuring that
Texas youth are able to complete a tobacco awareness course as mandated by the 75th Texas
Legislature through the Texas Health & Safety Code, Sec.161.253. TYTAP uses the Texas
Adolescent Tobacco Use and Cessation curriculum. The ongoing growth of this program and
long-term evaluation is the result of collaboration between the Texas Department of State
Health Services (DSHS) and Texas A&M School of Public Health.

The TYTAP instructor Initial Certification Workshop is offered three times yearly in the
Austin area for those wanting to become certified to offer the Texas Youth Tobacco
Awareness course. Current cost of the certification workshop is $250 per person. This
document includes an application form as well as a description of the requirements for
becoming a TYTAP instructor. Payment for certification workshops is made after being
accepted into a workshop — do not send money with your application. All applicants are
required to submit a Texas Department of Public Safety criminal background check, which is
obtained by the applicant at his or her own expense.

Workshop selection criteria:

® Non-tobacco user or tobacco-free for a minimum of two years prior to application,

e Professional experience, training, education and/or licensure in the fields of
education, counseling, health education, psychology, social work, criminal or juvenile
justice,

¢ Training and experience in adolescent education or counseling,

¢ Demonstrated verbal communication skills by having done group presentations,
lectures, etc.,

e [f credentials, such as LSW, LPC, or LCDC are part of the applicant’s resume, proof
of current licensure is required to obtain and maintain certification.

For the TYTAP instructor certification workshops, application packets MUST include:

Signed application form,

Current resume or vitae,

Signed and notarized affidavit,

Copies of certificates, licenses including proof of current status, college transcripts

and verification of other items listed on the application,

¢ ORIGINAL documents confirming the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
criminal background check obtained by the applicant at his/her own expense. The
background check can be obtained at:
https://records.txdps.state.tx.us/dps web/Portal/index.aspx and requires a credit card
for payment.
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INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED. If a question is not
applicable to you indicate by entering N/A. Do not leave blanks on the application. All
correspondence will be sent to the address indicated as “Home mailing address” at the top of
the application. Certification as an instructor for another DSHS Offender Education
program does not guarantee acceptance into this certification program.

If approved for the instructor certification workshop, you will be notified of the exact time
and location of the workshop and how to submit the registration fee. Currently the cost is
$250 per person and is nonrefundable and nontransferable. If payment is not received by the
indicated deadline, you will not be allowed to take the training workshop. No payments will
be accepted at the training sites. All payments must be received at least five (5) business
days prior to the first day of the workshop, or by the deadline indicated in the acceptance
packet you will receive. Participants are responsible for all fees, travel costs, meals and other
expenses. We strongly suggest not making non-refundable travel arrangements in case
the workshop or inservice is cancelled due to low enrollment. Those who successfully
complete the Initial Certification Workshop and are approved by DSHS will receive a
certification to conduct TYTAP classes and will have the contact information they provide in
the application listed on the DSHS, Worth It?, and Texas Tobacco Law websites.

Workshops will begin at 9am on the first day, 8am on the second and third days, and will
conclude by Spm on the last day. Participants must be on time and attend all sessions in
their entirety. Failure to do so will result in denial of certification. Additionally, a passing
grade must be achieved on the exam at the end of the certification workshop in order for
certification to be granted.

After you receive your initial certification you will be REQUIRED to attend a one-day
Continuing Education Inservice conducted by DSHS and the Texas A&M School of Public
Health during each two-year certification period. These inservices will be at an additional
cost (currently $125 per person) to the instructor. Failure to attend an inservice during each
two-year certification period will result in failure to renew your certification. It is the
responsibility of the instructor to assure compliance with the inservice requirement.

Questions regarding your application or certification should be directed to Texas Department
of State Health Services at:

Offender Education Group

Division for Regulatory Services

Texas Department of State Health Services
Phone: 512-834-6628, x2129

Email: tytap @dshs.state.tx.us

REMINDER
Do NOT include payment with the application, or the
processing of your application will be delayed.
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Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program
Instructor Certification Workshop Training Application — Fiscal Year 2016

---PLEASE DO NOT SEND MONEY WITH THIS APPLICATION---

Applicant Information
All information is required m Do not leave questions blank, use N/A if not applicable
Please Print Clearly or Type

Mr. Ms. (please circle) Name:

Home Mailing Address:

City: [ ZIP: | County:
Home Phone: () Work Phone: ()

Fax: () Social Security Number:
Cell Phone: ( ) Drivers License Number:
Email address: Date of Birth:

Name of Agency under which TYTAP will be taught (if applicable):

Current Employment Information
Current Employer (Agency/Organization):

Title:

Position Description:

Licenses (Check all that apply)

Counselor Intern (LCDC or LPC)-circle [ lYes[ INo Licensed Psychiatrist/Physician [ IYes[ INo
Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor [ JYes [ INo  Probation or Parole Officer [ ] Yes[ INo
Licensed Social Worker [ IYes[ INo  Adult or Child Protective Services Worker [ |Yes [ INo
Licensed Professional Counselor [ IYes[ INo Licensed Vocational Nurse [ IYes [ INo
Licensed Psychologist [ lYes[ INo Registered Nurse [ JYes [ INo
Certified Teacher [ IYes[ INo

DSHS — DWI Education (DWIE) Instructor [ ] Yes [ INo

DSHS - Drug Offender Education Program (DOEP) Instructor [ |Yes [ INo

DSHS - DWI Intervention (DWII) Instructor [ ]Yes [ INo

DSHS — Alcohol Education Program for Minors (AEPM) Instructor [ |Yes [ INo

Other Certifications/Licenses—please list:

Specify Type of Clinical Counseling or | Number of Years Specify Type of Teaching
Case Management Experience Experience

Case Management/Clinical Counseling/Teaching Experience

Number of Years

Name of College/University Type Degree Major Minor
Awarded

Educational Background

Dates Attended

mental health: (Include agency names & dates)

Describe, in detail, your case management/clinical counseling/educational experience relating to tobacco, substance abuse or

(93]




List all physical locations where courses will be held — must be an appropriate classroom facility and
shall not be at a personal residence. Courses may only be conducted at locations approved in advance
by DSHS. (if additional space is heeded, please attach additional pages)

This information for locations will be published on the websites for offenders to contact you for a class.

Physical Address City Zip County Phone
«C )
C )
C )
C )

Indicate at which address your course records will be kept:

All correspondence will be sent to the address indicated as “home mailing address” at the top of the application.

Please check the preferred 3-day certification workshop date:

O Austin October 7-9, 2015
O Austin February 10-12, 2016
O Austin August 10-12, 2016

| certify that all information contained in this application and attachments is true and correct.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

Return the completed application, current resume, proof of credentials (diplomas/transcripts, licenses,
certifications, etc), DPS background check, and sighed and notarized affidavit to:

Texas Department of State Health Services
PLCU - Offender Education
PO Box 149347, Mail Code 1982
Austin, TX 78714-9347

Incomplete applications or applications without appropriate attachments will not be processed.

---- DO NOT SEND MONEY WITH THIS APPLICATION ----

For office use only Reviewed by: Date:
Approved: []Yes [] No If not, why?
Rev 8-25-2015



AFFIDAVIT

, acknowledge the following:

I do not use tobacco and have not used tobacco for a minimum of two years prior to
the date of this application,

I am willing to participate in drug screening if requested,

I will participate in the program evaluation sampling process and return student
workbooks and other course materials to Texas A&M if requested,

I agree to abide by the Texas Youth Tobacco Awareness Program (TYTAP) protocols
as outlined by the Texas Department of State Health Services and as written in the
TYTAP instructor manual,

I understand that violating the TYTAP protocols may result in the suspension or
revocation of my certification to conduct courses,

I understand certification as a TYTAP instructor requires a Texas Department of
Public Safety criminal background check and I am willing to provide the results with
my instructor application,

I read and understand the conditions listed in the instructor application and agree to
abide by them should I be accepted.

KNOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT WILL RESULT IN THE DENIAL
OR REVOCATION OF YOUR CERTIFICATION.

Applicant Name (please print):

Signature

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me, this day of , 20

Notary Public in and for the State of Texas.

My commission expires:




