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Newborn Hearing Screening
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 47

« Statute which mandates newborn hearing
screening, tracking, and intervention in Texas

« No mention of screening for the neonatal
intensive care unit (NICU) population

* Recommends that current guidelines in the
Joint Committee on Infant Hearing Position
statement be followed

Newborn Hearing Screening

Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (JCIH)
— 2007

« Separate protocols are recommended for NICU
and well-baby nurseries

« Infants with > 5 days in the NICU are to have an
auditory brainstem response (ABR) as part of the
screen to ensure neural issues are not missed

« Infants that do not pass the ABR in the NICU
should be referred directly to an audiologist

« Infants who are readmitted to the hospital in the
first month of life are recommended to have a
repeat hearing screen prior to discharge

Births in 2016

» Total occurrent births according to
Vital Records* — 407,367

* 34,634 (8.5%) infants were
transferred to NICU within the
first 24 hours of life

+ Total occurrent births reported to
TEHDI** - 396,352
+ 21,048 (5.3%) infants in the
NICU nursery

**Source of all data is the Texas Early Hearing Detection and

Intervention Management Information System unless otherwise specified a




NICU Screening Results

Of the 21,048 NICU infants,
20,494 (97.4%) were in need of
a hearing screen. This excludes
deceased babies and those never
medically cleared.

Screening Results

Total Needed Screening 20,494
Received Screening 20,154 (98.3%)
Missed 98 (0.5%)
Received Screening 20,154

Passed

18,956 (94%)

Referred

1,168 (6%)

Infants Needing

Follow-up Care

Missed + Referred

1,296 (6.3%)

Age at Screen

83.9% of the NICU babies received the
birth screen before day 30 of life.

+ Average age at first screen - 14.97
days

+ Average age at last screen — 17.14
days

The national guidelines for a well
baby is to be screened by one month
of age (30 days).

Screening Results

Infants Needing Follow-up Care

Missed + Referred

1,296 (6.3%)

Of these 1,296 babies, 204 were
referred for an outpatient screen
despite best practice guidelines to go
directly for a diagnostic evaluation with
a pediatric audiologist. 141 (69%0)
passed the outpatient screen.




Screening Results

Infants Needing Follow-up Care
Missed + Referred 1,296 (6.3%)

554 (42.7%) of the babies needing
follow-up care were seen by a pediatric
audiologist for a diagnostic evaluation.
143 were confirmed deaf or hard of
hearing.

Age at Diagnosis

Of those NICU infants needing a
diagnostic evaluation, 61.2% had the
assessment before day 90 of life.

Average age at diagnosis- 101.08 days

The national guidelines for a well baby
is to be diagnosed by three months of
age (90 days).
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Lost to follow-up/Lost to Documentation

Nationally 25.4%
Texas - all babies 52.3%

Texas - NICU 28%
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Questions?
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