TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES

1100 West 49th Street e Austin, Texas 78756

P.O. Box 149347 e Austin, Texas 78714-9347

DAVID L. LAKEY, M.D. 1-888-963-7111 e www.dshs.state.tx.us
COMMISSIONER TDD: 1-800-735-2989

August 31, 2007

Dear Licensed Massage School Owner or Community College Massage Therapy Program:

Our office received 16 written responses to the draft of the 500 hour curriculum implementing HB 2644. We
appreciate the willingness of these school owners to review the draft curriculum and submit input on such a short
timeline. All comments submitted that relate to rulemaking will be considered. We look forward to working with
you this fall on revisions to the rules.

We hope that the attached Notice to Licensed Massage Schools on Implementation of HB 2644 will answer many of
your questions and assist you in implementing the changes required by the statute. The Notice covers:

e Concerns about Implementation and Timeline

Comments on the 500 Hour Curriculum

September 1, 2008 Deadline for Completion of all 300 Hour Courses
Submissions Required Before Offering the 500 Hour Curriculum

Changes to Examination Required for Licensure

Changes Related to Exemptions From Licensure as a Massage Establishment
Independent Massage Therapy Instructors

Feel free to contact me by e-mail at massage@dshs.state.tx.us or at the Massage Therapy Licensing Program phone
number 512-834-6616 if you have questions.

Sincerely,

Yvonne Feinleib, Program Director
Massage Therapy Licensing Program
Professional Licensing and Certification Unit

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer and Provider
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Notice to Massage Schools on Implementation of HB 2644

Concerns about Implementation and Timeline

The DSHS Professional Licensing and Certification Unit received several comments related to the HB 2644
implementation timeline and the need for DSHS to provide additional and timely public and stakeholder
information.

Here is the current timeline:

March 6, 2007 HB 2644 filed with an effective date of January 1, 2008

May 27, 2007 HB 2644 modified by conference committee to establish an effective date of
September 1, 2007

June 15, 2007 HB 2644 signed by the Governor

June 2007 Stakeholder group offered to provide draft curriculum

August 1, 2007 Final version of stakeholders' draft curriculum submitted to DSHS

August 14, 2007 DSHS sent modified draft curriculum to all massage therapy educational programs

September 1, 2007 500 hour curriculum required for all students enrolling in massage school

September 2007 Draft rule revisions will be posted on DSHS website, and stakeholders submit input

October 2007 Stakeholder meeting to provide input on rules (date to be announced)

November 2007 Proposed rule revisions will be finalized; begin internal DSHS legal review process

December 2007 First students may complete 500 hour courses and apply for licensure

January 2008 DSHS Council will consider proposed rules implementing HB 2644 requirements

March 2008 Proposed rules will be published in the Texas Register for formal public comment

July 2008 Effective date for adoption of final rules

September 1, 2008  Proposed date for all students to have completed 300 hour courses

August 31, 2009 Proposed date to discontinue the Texas state written exam for students completing 300 hour
course

Comments on the 500 Hour Curriculum

Many of those who commented expressed concern about DSHS limiting the length of approved courses to the
minimum 500 hours required for initial licensure, and in particular, containing to limit the internship to a maximum
of 50 hours. They requested that no limits be established except through rulemaking. Note: the 50 hour maximum
for the internship was not increased by HB 2644 and is already established by rule:

Title 25 TAC 8141.34(j) The department does not approve more than 50 internship hours.
Individuals who have completed the required 300-hour supervised course of instruction, including
the 50-hour internship are eligible for examination and licensure and are no longer considered to
be students. For the purposes of Texas Occupations Code 8455.053(7), 50 hours is the maximum
number of hours a student can accumulate in an internship before the student is required to be
licensed.

Although we must increase the classroom hours from 300 to 500 to meet the changes required by HB 2644 effective
September 1, 2007, HB 2644 does not invalidate the current rule relating to a maximum internship of 50 hours.

Draft rules will be posted on the Massage Therapy program's website in September, with the intent of presenting
them as proposed rules to the DSHS Advisory Council in January 2008. We intend to conduct a stakeholder
meeting to receive input on rule revisions in early October. If the rule amendments do extend the length of the
internship and/or allow for approval of courses that exceed the minimum 500 hours required for licensure, then the
curriculum will be modified to coincide with the effective date of the new rules.

At this time, the only change we are making to the curriculum (based on input received from three stakeholders) is
to amend the language on training on the AED as follows: Unit 3, Section 7, Competency 9.a.vi. on page 21, "Use
of an AED" has been changed to: "Overview of use of an AED if available".

The final version of the 500 hour curriculum is posted on the website at: http://www.dhs.state.tx.us/massage



September 1, 2008 Deadline for 300 Hour Courses

All comments concerning the September 1, 2008 deadline for students to complete the 300 hour course were
supportive. This deadline for graduating students enrolled in a 300 hour curriculum prior to September 1, 2007 will
be included in the rule revisions.

What to Submit To DSHS Before Offering the 500 Hour Curriculum

Before offering a 500 hour course in accordance with the approved curriculum, each school must submit revised
course materials to our office to update our files. However, a prior onsite inspection will not be required for
currently licensed schools to expand from a 300 hour to a 500 hour course. Below are the materials each licensed
school must submit before starting the 500 hour course:

e  Copies of all updated enrollment agreement forms.

e Updated list of staff and textbooks.

e  Current materials listed on the Initial Massage Therapy School application checklist (enclosed), which you
have updated to expand from a 300 hour to a 500 hour course.

Note: Prior approval of these updated materials is not required prior to teaching the 500 hour course. The materials
you submit will be reviewed, added to your file, and used during your next inspection.

Changes to Examination Required for Licensure

The existing Texas state written examination will continue to be available for students completing the 300 hour
curriculum through August 31, 2009. The practical examination requirement was eliminated by HB 2644 and will
no longer be offered. Current, pending applicants who have passed the written exam will be licensed without the
practical.

We are asking all massage therapy training programs to submit the names of all students enrolled prior to
September 1, 2007 so that we can plan for these exams and track applicants completing the 300 hour courses.

In accordance with legislative intent regarding national standards and license portability, all students completing the
500 hour curriculum must take and pass one of the following three national examinations to be licensed as a
massage therapist in Texas:

1. National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) - National Certification Board for
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) http://www.ncbtmb.com 1-800-296-0664

2. National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) - National Certification
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) http://www.ncbtmb.com 1-800-296-0664

3. Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEX) - Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
(FSMTB) http://www.fsmtb.org 1-888-70-FSMTB

Students will contact the appropriate organization directly to make arrangements to test. The students will then
submit applications for licensure after passing the examination.

Changes Related to Exemptions From Licensure as a Massage Establishment

HB 2644 establishes specific exemptions from licensure and does not provide the Department with rulemaking
authority to define additional exemptions. Therefore, effective September, 1, 2007, all massage schools, which offer
massage therapy to the public outside of the 50 hour internship, are required by law to hold a massage establishment
license for each location at which massage therapy services are offered (application form enclosed).

We have established a 30-day grace period to allow schools to submit the required application forms and fees to our
office. Please submit all required items prior to October 1, 2007.

Independent Massage Therapy Instructors

The licensure category for independent massage therapy school instructors (persons providing a licensed massage
therapy educational course without additional instructors) was eliminated by HB 2644 effective September 1, 2007.
The affected licensees (4) have been contacted. These types of licenses will no longer be issued.



CHECKLIST FOR MATERIALS REQUIRED FOR A NEW MASSAGE SCHOOL APPLICATION
(Some or all items may be updated when expanding from a 300 hour to a 500 hour course)

If items listed below are part of a larger publication, please list corresponding page numbers where each item may be located.

1. Table of Contents
2. Legal Name of the Training Program and Address

3. ldentifying Data
a. Catalog Volume Number
b. Date of Publication
c. Effective Dates

4. History — Accreditations/Approvals
5. Description of Available Space, Facilities and Equipment

6. Alisting of
a. Officers, Directors, Trustees
b. Individual Owner
c. Partnership

7. Listing of Faculty and Key Staff.
a. Degrees/Licenses Shown
b. Specialized Training
c. Area of Instruction

8. Fees, Tuition, and/or Special Charges
Registration Fee

Tuition Fee

Book Fee

Supplies Fee

Tool Fee

Laboratory Fee

Total Charges for the Program
Scholarship Terms
Individual Subject Fee
Other
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9. Training Program Calendar
a. Holidays to be Observed
b. Enrollment Periods
c. Beginning and Ending Dates
d. Normal Hours of Operation
(1) Training Program
(2) Office

e. Scheduled Vacation Periods

f.  Definitive Class Schedules (am, pm)
(1) Breaks
(2) Mealtime

10. Admission/Enrollment Policies
a. Admission/Enrollment Requirements
b. Specific Entrance Requirements Including Cut-off Scores, if applicable, For Each Program

11. Cancellation and Refund Policy
a. Cancellation Policy
b. Refund Policy

12. Programs
a. Title/Objective/purpose of each program



b. Complete Listing of Subjects
(1) ldentifying Number
(2) Title
Contact and Credit Hours (if applicable) per subject
Total Contact and Credit Hours (if applicable) required for Completion of the Program
Requirements for Graduation (including Progress Requirements)
Length of Time required for Completion of each Program
Additional or Special Requirements for Completion
Unregulated Program Statements where Applicable
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13. A synopsis of Each Subject Offered

Identifying Number

Title

Theory/Lab Contact Hours and Total Credit or Clock Hours for Each Subject
Prerequisites

A Complete Synopsis of the Contents of the Subject
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14. A Definitive Description of the Grading and Marking System

15. Training Program Policy Concerning Satisfactory Progress
Satisfactory Progress Defined
Grading Period Defined including Frequency of Progress Reports
Probation Policy and Terms of Probation Defined
Conditions for Termination
Conditions for Re-admittance
Policy on (if applicable):

(1) incomplete grades

(2) repeated subjects

(3) remedial work

(4) withdrawals
g. Document Awarded upon Completion
h. System for Providing Progress Reports to Students
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16. Training Program Attendance Policy
a. Attendance Requirements — Policy Relating to
(1) Absences
(2) Tardies
(3) Make-up Work
(4) Leaves of Absence ( if applicable)
b. Conditions of Probation (if applicable)
c. Conditions for Termination
d. Conditions for Re-admittance

17. Training Program Policy Regarding Student Conduct
a. Causes for Termination
b. Policy for Re-admission
18. Description of Training Program Placement Assistance Policy (if applicable)
19. Credit Granted for Previous Education or Training Experience
20. Policies and Procedures to Resolve Student Grievances or Complaints

21. Approved and Regulated Statement

22. True and Correct Statement (Catalog/Supplements/Addenda/Handbooks)



