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Senate Bill 1107 (Davis) 
 

Senate Bill 1107 (Davis):  Life-Saving Protection for College Students 
 

The Immunization Partnership fully supports the passage of Senate Bill 1107, which would require 
first-time students at public and private or independent colleges to show proof of a recent 
bacterial meningitis vaccination or booster within five years of school entry.   This is a bill that will 
save lives at a minimal cost and will make Texas the first state in the nation to codify the most 
recent recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), protecting 
thousands of college students from a devastating disease.   

 
College students are at higher risk for contracting meningococcal disease. 

 College students are at increased risk of meningitis due to them living in close quarters and their 
exposure to high risk behaviors (alcohol consumption, cigarette smoke, sharing drinks, and kissing). 

 
Experts now recommend two doses of meningococcal vaccination to ensure full protection. 

 In 2010, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices (ACIP) updated its meningococcal vaccination recommendations to include a booster dose 
at age 16 years, in addition to a primary dose at ages 11-12 years.  (The 2005 recommendation 
included a primary dose at ages 11-12 years and a booster dose for college students living in dorms). 
 

 The goal of the booster dose is to protect individuals when disease rates peak (at ages 16-21).  
Economic analyses conclude that a booster dose, as compared to a single dose, is estimated to 
prevent twice the number of cases and deaths of meningococcal disease.  
 

 The booster dose also ensures full protection against the disease.  CDC research indicates that those 
immunized at 11 or 12 years might have decreased immunity by ages 16-21, when the risk for 
meningococcal disease is greatest. 
 

SB 1107 expands the current statute to ensure all college students are protected against the disease. 

 Under the current statute, only students who reside in on-campus housing must show proof of 
vaccination against bacterial meningitis, leaving thousands of students susceptible to disease. 
 

 This bill expands the current statute to ensure that students enrolled are vaccinated in accordance 
with CDC and ACIP revised recommendations, which call for 2 doses of the vaccine.  CDC also 
recommends the following for states (like Texas) that have vaccination policies for educational 
institutions: (1) require that persons aged 21 years or younger show proof of vaccination not more 
than 5 years before enrollment, (2) if the primary dose was administered before the 16th birthday, a 
booster dose should be administered before enrollment in college, and (3) the booster dose can be 
administered anytime after the 16th birthday to ensure that the booster is provided. 


