• DSHS HIV/STD Program

    Post Office Box 149347, MC 1873
    Austin, Texas 78714

    Phone: 737-255-4300

    Email the HIV/STD Program

    Email HIV, STD, Hepatitis C, and TB data requests to the Program - This email can be used to request data and statistics on HIV, STDs, Hepatitis C, and TB in Texas. It cannot be used to get treatment or infection history for individuals, or to request information on programs and services. Please do not include any personal, identifying health information in your email such as HIV status, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, etc.

    For treatment/testing history, please contact your local health department.

    For information on HIV testing and services available to persons living with HIV, please contact your local HIV services organization.

MAC Meeting Minutes June 17, 2016

Texas HIV Medication Advisory Committee Meeting
June 17, 2016

The June 17, 2016 meeting of the Texas HIV Medication Advisory Committee (MAC) was held at 4110 Guadalupe Street in the main conference room of Building 626 in Austin, Texas.

MAC Members in Attendance: Philip Keiser, M.D., Chair, Natalie Vanek, M.D., Vice-Chair, Demetra Tennison, Yolanda Rodriguez-Escobar, David Huse, Frank Rosas, Bruce Turner

DSHS Staff in Attendance: Janna Zumbrun, Felipe Rocha, Shelley Lucas, Lisa Cornelius, M.D., Rachel Sanor, John Allen, Heather Nagy, Juliet Garcia, Greg Beets, Lester Mattson, R.Ph.

Registered Guests: Jack McClure, Gary Walker, Ray Moore, Tyler Hunter, Sumil Arishati, Rahm Maganti, Ana Sanseros, Tony Duran, Jesse Lewis, Roger Grotzinger, Suzanne Erickson, Doug Wood, Gary L. Long, Ruben Herrera, Chaka Lat, Deepthi Jolukute, Victoria Ford, Emma Sinnott, Holly Turner, Brandon Ross, Eyluto Moreno, Mark Vane, Scott Banks, Karen Malamud, Anand Yapaula

Action and Discussion Items Covered:

  1. The meeting was called to order by Dr. Keiser at 12:45 pm. 

  2. The committee reviewed and unanimously approved the November 20, 2015 meeting minutes. 

  3. Janna Zumbrun provided an update on the Division for Disease Control and Prevention and the ongoing redistribution of programs and services within the Health and Human Service Commission agencies as directed per Sunset Committee Legislation.  Ms. Zumbrun also detailed the agency’s recent efforts to reduce transmission of the Zika virus in Texas.  While discussing the upcoming HRSA site visit for HIV services in Texas, it was requested by the Committee that a call be arranged for the members to participate and provide input during the HRSA visit in Austin on June 28, 2016.

  4. Felipe Rocha, Manager of the TB/HIV/STD/Viral Hepatitis Unit, presented an update on the THMP Budget and a snapshot of current ADAP expenditures and rebate projections. 

  5. Rachel Sanor provided an explanation for current efforts to update the wording in the Texas SPAP Rules under Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 98, Subchapter A of the Texas Administrative Code.  She explained that an Office of Pharmacy Affairs draft guidance specifies drug rebates could only be collected by the program if premium payments were also being covered for the individual.  The language of the existing rule is being updated to specify coverage for Medicare Part D premium payments, and any comments regarding the proposed rule change should be sent to Juanita Salinas within the TB/HIV/Viral Hepatitis Unit by June 30, 2016.

    Ms. Sanor also presented ADAP/SPAP/TIAP update reports detailing clients served per month and program, clients served by month and over the past four quarters, percentage of clients served by EMA over the past two quarters, the top ten drugs dispensed per number of orders through ADAP over the past two quarters, a breakdown of ADAP clients by gender and race/ethnicity, the percentage changes for specific drugs dispensed through ADAP over the past four quarters, and utilization to date of recently approved drugs. 

  6. As a follow-up to the last Committee meeting, Rachel Sanor presented information on the proposed pilot program for Hepatitis C Virus (HCV) coinfections that would add coverage for specific HCV direct-acting antiviral medications to the ADAP formulary. A draft copy of the proposed Medical Certification Form and eligibility guidelines were presented for discussion.  The Committee affirmed unanimously that such a pilot program would be useful, and they approved the recommendation that the drugs Zepatier, Technivie, the Viekira Pac and ribavirin be added to the formulary for the HCV pilot project.

  7. Lisa Cornelius, M.D. led a discussion of the potential addition of other medications used to treat opportunistic infections.  The Committee unanimously approved the recommendation to add the drugs isoniazid, rifampin, clindamyicin, sulfadiazine, voriconazole, famciclovir, prednisone, primaquine and clotrimazole troches, miconazole buccal tablets, topical butoconazole/tioconazole/terconazole and nystatin suspension to the THMP formulary, with specific formulations and medical criteria to be determined by the THMP upon further review. 

  8. Rachel Sanor updated the committee on the ongoing findings for THMP third-party health insurance verification conducted through the agreement with HMS (Health Management Systems).  Ms. Sanor explained that as of June 1, 2016 a total of 4,389 THMP recipients have been flagged for review as a result of the HMS matching process.  Of that total, 187 clients have been transitioned over to insurance assistance on the TIAP program.  From the patients initially flagged, 24% have eventually been reinstated, with 95% of the clients reinstated due to them reapplying for assistance once their insurance coverage had been proven to now be terminated.

  9. The next MAC meeting was tentatively scheduled for Friday, September 23, 2016.

  10. There were no public comments.

  11. The meeting was adjourned by Dr. Keiser at 3:00 pm.

Approved by:
Phillip H. Keiser, M.D. – Chairman, Texas HIV Medication Advisory Committee

Last updated June 11, 2020