• DSHS HIV/STD Program

    Post Office Box 149347, MC 1873
    Austin, Texas 78714

    Phone: 737-255-4300

    Email the HIV/STD Program

    Email HIV, STD, Hepatitis C, and TB data requests to the Program - This email can be used to request data and statistics on HIV, STDs, Hepatitis C, and TB in Texas. It cannot be used to get treatment or infection history for individuals, or to request information on programs and services. Please do not include any personal, identifying health information in your email such as HIV status, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, etc.

    For treatment/testing history, please contact your local health department.

    For information on HIV testing and services available to persons living with HIV, please contact your local HIV services organization.

MAC Meeting Minutes January 18, 2013

Texas HIV Medication Advisory Committee Meeting
January 18, 2013

The January 18, 2013 meeting of the Texas HIV Medication Advisory Committee (MAC) was called to order at 12:15 PM at 4100 Guadalupe, in the Conference Room of Building 626 in Austin, Texas.

MAC Members in Attendance: Philip Keiser, M.D., chair, Nancy Miertschin, vice chair, Mary Paul, M.D., Fernando Garcia, M.D., Raul Castaneda, R.Ph., Bruce Turner, Demetra Tennison and Frank Rosas.

DSHS Staff in Attendance: Ann Robbins, John Allen, Mary Richards, Kurt Wolf, Lisa Cornelius, M.D. and Dan Warr.

Registered Guests: Tyler Hunter, Roger Grotzinger, Januari Leo, JayDee Fredricksen, Jesse Jones, Michelle Bloom, Michael Kaiser, Sunnye Simmons, Suzanne Erickson, Holly Turner,Mark Vane, Abdul Hameed, James Dafi, and Masa Masters.

Action and Discussion Items Covered:

  1. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes – The meeting minutes for September 14, 2012 were unanimously approved by the Committee.

  2. Introduction of New Committee Member – Raul Castaneda, R.Ph. was introduced by Ann Robbins and Dr. Keiser as the latest addition to the MAC, filling the position held for a pharmacist.

  3. Introduction of New Medical Advisor – Lisa Cornelius, M.D. was introduced as the new medical advisor for the TB/HIV/STD/Viral Hepatitis Unit, assuming the roles and responsibilities that Dr. Nick Curry held prior to his recent retirement. Dr. Cornelius previously held the position of Regional Medical Director for DSHS Public Health Region 7, based out of Temple.

  4. ADAP/SPAP Utilization report and Budget Update – Ann Robbins presented a series of slides covering utilization during Fiscal Year 2012, as well as an environmental scan covering demographics of new case diagnoses, statistics on linkage to care and unmet need estimates. Ms. Robbins also discussed recent issues involving sequestration, the Ryan White reauthorization, the Affordable Care Act, and legislative concerns. Ms. Robbins explained to the Committee members that no exceptional items had been requested by the agency as part of the Legislative Appropriations Request (LAR), and no cuts to funding for HIV care and services had been requested by the agency as part of the upcoming budget.

  5. Next Meeting Scheduled – The next Committee meeting was tentatively set for Friday, April 5, 2013.

  6. Public Comments:

    • Holly Turner with Merck Pharmaceuticals inquired as to what the fiscal impact would be now that the ADAP was preparing to phase out the dispensation of medications to the two remaining county jail facilities (Harris County and Travis County). Ms. Robbins responded that a savings of $700,000 to $800,000 annually would be realized once services to those facilities ceased to be provided through the Texas ADAP. Dr. Keiser explained to the MAC that HRSA does not want the state ADAPs to provide care to institutionalized or incarcerated clients; Ms. Robbins stated that a proposed policy regarding such facilities would be posted sometime in February 2013 and public comments would be solicited at that time.

    • Januari Leo with Legacy Community Health Services wanted those in attendance to know that an organized day of advocacy would take place at the State Capitol on March 4, 2013.

  7. The meeting was adjourned by Dr. Keiser at 1:27 PM.

Approved by:
Phillip H. Keiser, M.D. – Chairman, Texas HIV Medication Advisory Committee

Last updated June 11, 2020