TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES

DAVID L. LAKEY, M.D. P.O. Box 149347
COMMISSIONER Austin, Texas 78714-9347
1-888-963-7111

TTY: 1-800-735-2989

www.dshs.state.tx.us

How to Become a Licensed Crisis Stabilization Unit (CSU)

Attached is an application packet for an Initial, Relocation, or Change of Ownership (CHOW) License for
a Crisis Stabilization Unit. The application, fees, and other documents shall be submitted as required by
25 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 134, Private Psychiatric Hospitals and Crisis Stabilization Units
Licensing Rules, §134.22 Application and Issuance of Initial License. Information regarding licensure for
health care facilities, including contact information for the zone office for your location is located on the
department’s website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp.

The following documents, fees, and actions shall be completed and approved before a license will be
issued:

Initial Application

e A CSU application form submitted no earlier than 90 calendar days prior to the projected opening
date of the CSU.

e Alicense fee of $200.00 per bed shall be submitted. License fees are not refundable.

e Patient Transfer Documents:

= A copy of the CSU’s Patient Transfer Policy that is in accordance with §134.43 Patient
Transfer Policy, and signed by the Chairman and Secretary of the Governing Body shall
be submitted.

= A copy of the CSU’s Memorandum of Transfer form that is in accordance with
8134.43(d)(10)(B) shall be submitted.

= Patient transfer agreements for CSUs are not required to be submitted to the department
for approval.

e A completed Fire Safety Survey Report form shall be submitted. Annual fire safety inspections
are required for continued licensure status. Please include a copy of a fire inspection report
conducted within the last 12 months indicating approval by the local fire authority.

e Approval for occupancy shall be obtained from the Department of State Health Services,
Architectural Review Group (phone (512) 834-6649, fax (512) 834-6620 or
www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/arch_review.shtm).

e The applicant or the applicant’s representative shall attend a presurvey conference at the zone
office designated by the department. Please contact the designated zone office to schedule the
presurvey conference (www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm).
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Relocation Application

e A CSU application form submitted no earlier than 90 calendar days prior to the projected opening
date of the CSU.
A license fee of $200.00 per bed shall be submitted. License fees are not refundable.
e Patient Transfer Documents:
= A copy of the CSU’s Patient Transfer Policy that is in accordance with 8134.43 Patient
Transfer Policy, and signed by the Chairman and Secretary of the Governing Body shall
be submitted.
= A copy of the CSU’s Memorandum of Transfer form that is in accordance with
8134.43(d)(10)(B) shall be submitted.
= Patient transfer agreements for CSUs are not required to be submitted to the department
for approval.

o A copy of the letter of accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations (JCAHO), the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), or Det Norske Veritas
(DNV) verifying accreditation and the effective date of accreditation.

e A completed Fire Safety Survey Report form shall be submitted. Annual fire safety inspections
are required for continued licensure status. Please include a copy of a fire inspection report
conducted within the last 12 months indicating approval by the local fire authority.

e Approval for occupancy shall be obtained from the Department of State Health Services,
Architectural Review Group (phone (512) 834-6649, fax (512) 834-6620 or
www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/arch_review.shtm).

Change of Ownership (CHOW) Application

e A CSU application form submitted prior to the date of the change of ownership or not later than
10 calendar days following the date of the change of ownership.

e Alicense fee of $200.00 per bed shall be submitted. License fees are not refundable.

e Patient Transfer Documents:

= A copy of the CSU’s Patient Transfer Policy that is in accordance with §134.43 Patient
Transfer Policy, and signed by the Chairman and Secretary of the Governing Body shall
be submitted.

= A copy of the CSU’s Memorandum of Transfer form that is in accordance with
8134.43(d)(10)(B) shall be submitted.

= Patient transfer agreements for CSUs are not required to be submitted to the department
for approval.

e A copy of the letter of accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations (JCAHO), the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), or Det Norske Veritas
(DNV) verifying accreditation and the effective date of accreditation.

o A copy of two completed Fire Safety Survey Report forms shall be submitted. Annual fire safety
inspections are required for continued licensure status. Please include a copy of a fire inspection
report conducted within the last 12 months and a second report conducted within the last 13 to 24
months indicating approval by the local fire authority.

e The applicant or the applicant’s representative shall attend a presurvey conference at the zone
office designated by the department. The designated zone office may waive the presurvey
conference requirement for a Change of Ownership. Please contact the designated zone office to
schedule the presurvey conference or to request a waiver.
(www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm).

e The applicant shall include evidence (Bill of Sale, lease agreement, or legal court document) of
the Change of Ownership. This document can be submitted separately from the license
application.
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Additional Information:

Medicare certification information may be obtained from the zone office for your location
(www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm). The Social Security Act directs the Secretary of the Department
of Health and Human Services to use the help of State health agencies or other appropriate agencies to
determine if health care entities meet Federal standards. This task is one of the Department of State
Health Services’ responsibilities. For information on gaining provider certification, please contact zone
office staff.

CLIA information is located on the department’s website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp. For more
information, please contact the zone office for your location.

The Facility Licensing Group is dedicated to assist you through this process and is available to answer
your questions. If you have any questions, please contact the Hospital Licensing Section: phone (512)
834-6648, fax (512) 834-4514, email angela.arthur@dshs.state.tx.us or pamela.adams@dshs.state.tx.us.

Mailing address for applications with fees:

DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES

REGULATORY LICENSING UNIT - FACILITY LICENSING GROUP
MAIL CODE 2003

P.O. BOX 149347

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78714-9347

Overnight mailing address for applications with fees;
DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
FACILITY LICENSING GROUP

MAIL CODE 2003

1100 WEST 49™ STREET

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78756

Revised 11/19/13
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DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 150

Application for a License to Operate a
Crisis Stabilization Unit (CSU)

[] Initial

Projected date CSU will open: Architectural Project or Application #:

] Change of Ownership
Effective Date: (Signed Bill of Sale is required)
Current License #:

[] Relocation
Projected date CSU will open: Architectural Project or Application #:
Current License #:

1. CSU INFORMATION:

a. Name the CSU will be doing business as (d/b/a):

b. Street Address:

Street Number

City/State/Zip County

¢. Mailing Address:

Street or P.O. Box Number

City/State/Zip

d. Telephone Number (include area code) Fax Number (include area code)

¢ ) (

Leave blank if number is unknown at this time. Leave blank if number is unknown at this time.

2. OWNERSHIP INFORMATION:

Name of Owner (entity legally responsible for the operation of the hospital, whether by lease or ownership)

Mailing Address City/State/Zip

Tax ID # or SS# Telephone Number E-Mail Address

Status: [ ] Profit [ ] Non-Profit

Type of Ownership:  [] Sole Proprietor ] County ] Limited Liability Company
] Corporation ] City [] Hospital District
] Partnership ] City-County [] Hospital Authority
LJLTD [P [] Other:
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Name of CSU: DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 150

3. CSU SERVICES:

[ ] CRISIS STABILIZATION UNIT (CSU) - The term “crisis stabilization unit” means a mental health facility
operated by a community center or other entity designated by the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental
Retardation in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code, §534.054, that provides treatment to individuals
who are the subject of a protective custody order issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code,
8574.022.

Services: (Please check all services offered)

[] Psychiatric
[] Chemical Dependency

] Emergency Treatment Room (Required)

4. LICENSED BEDS:

How many total licensed beds are at this location?
* A change in the bed design capacity requires prior Department approval and possible fees.

How many emergency treatment room beds are at this location?
* This count is not included in the licensed bed count above and will not affect fees. A minimum of one bed is required.

5. FEES: (Fees paid to the department are not refundable)
Total number of licensed beds:

Total fee due is $200.00 per bed with a minimum total due of $6,000.00. Amount paid: $

6. MEDICARE CERTIFICATION (CHOWS and RELOCATIONS ONLY)

Is the CSU currently certified to participate in the Title XVIIlI Medicare Program? [1Yes [INo
If YES, please provide the hospital’s Medicare Provider Number:

7. ACCREDITATION (CHOWS and RELOCATIONS ONLY)
Please check the category(ies) that apply. If applicable, attach a copy of the most recent accreditation letter.
] Joint Commission (JC)
[] American Osteopathic Association (AOA)

[] Det Norske Veritas (DNV)

[ ] Not accredited.
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Name of CSU: DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 150

8. MEDICAL AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF:

Provide the name of the physician in charge of the care and treatment of the patients.

Name of Physician (please print) Title

License Number Expiration Date

Provide the numbers of all professional staff below. On a separate sheet include an explanation of the duties and
qualifications of the professional staff.

Licensed Counselors MDs

Registered Nurses Recreational Therapists
Master Social Workers Occupational Therapists
Licensed Vocational Nurses Activity Therapists
PhDs Psychiatric Technicians
Other:

9. EQUIPMENT AND FACILITIES:
[ ] Attach a description of any major medical equipment and facilities used by the CSU.
[ ] Attach a plan (campus map) of the premises that describes the buildings and grounds and the manner in which

the various parts of the premises are intended to be used. The plan should also include the names of the
buildings, the licenses held by each building, and the number of beds in each building.

10. FIRE SAFETY SURVEY:

A completed Fire Safety Survey Report form shall be submitted. Annual fire safety inspections are required for
continued licensure status. Please include a copy of a fire inspection report conducted within the last 12 months
indicating approval by the local fire authority. For change of ownership applications, a copy of two completed Fire
Safety Survey Report forms shall be submitted; one report dated within the last 12 months and a second report dated
within the last 13 to 24 months.

11. PATIENT TRANSFER POLICY and MEMORANDUM OF TRANSFER:

[ ] Submit a copy of the hospital’s Memorandum of Transfer form and the Patient Transfer Policy developed in
accordance with the rules governing patient transfer policies which is signed by both the chairman and secretary
of the hospital’s governing body attesting to the date of adoption of the policy and the policy’s effective date.
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Name of CSU: DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 150

12. SIGNATURE AND ATTESTATION:

| attest that the owner is capable of meeting the requirements of 25 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 134,
Private Psychiatric Hospitals and Crisis Stabilization Units Licensing Rules. | attest that all information contained
in this application is true and correct. | attest that all copies submitted with the application are original copies or
copies of the original documents.

Chief Executive Officer Signature Date Signed
Printed Name of CEO Title
Telephone Number E-mail Address

13. CSU ADMINISTRATOR:

Onsite Administrator in charge of day-to-day operations Title

Telephone Number Email Address

Mailing address for applications with fees: Department of State Health Services, Facility Licensing Group, Mail
Code 2003, PO Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347

Overnight mailing address for applications with fees: Department of State Health Services, Facility Licensing
Group, Mail Code 2003, 1100 West 49" Street, Austin, TX 78756
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Name of CSU: DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 150

OWNERSHIP ADDENDUM
Please complete if the owner is a partnership with individuals as partners, or a corporation in which an individual has an
ownership interest of at least 25% of the business entity. Attach additional pages if necessary (Social security numbers will
be kept confidential under Government Code Section 552.147).

The owner is a:

[] Partnership - List each general partner who is an individual.

Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Social Security Number: / /

[] Corporation - List any individual who has an ownership interest of 25% or more in the corporation.

Print Name: Percent Ownership %
Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Percent Ownership %
Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Percent Ownership %
Social Security Number: / /
Print Name: Percent Ownership %
Social Security Number: / /
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MEMORANDUM OF TRANSFER (sample)

SECTION A (To Be Filled Out At Transferring Hospital)

1. Name of Transferring Hospital: 7.
Address:
Phone Number: ( )
2. Patient Information (If Known)
Patient’s full name: 4 ©
Address:
Phone Number: ( )
Sex: M F Age: 9.
National origin: Race: _
Religion: Physical Handicap: 2
3. Next of Kin:(If Known)
Address: ‘0
Phone Number: ( )
Next of Kin notified? (__) Yes (__)No
4. Dateof Arrival: __ /[ Time: y 11
5. Initial contact with receiving hospital administration:
Date: _ /[ Time: 12.
Name of contact person at receiving hospital:
A\ 13
6. Receiving physician secured by transferring physician:
Date:_ / / Time:
Name of receiving physician:
PHYSICIAN CERTIFICATION: based upon the information available . ne tim
appropriate medical treatment at another medical facility outweigh the it ased r

Summary of Risks and Benefits

Transferring physician’s signature or signature of hospital staff acting
under physician’s orders:
Name of transferring physician:
Phone Number: ( )
Address:

Accepting hospital secured by transferring hospital:
Date: / / Time:
Name of receiving hospital administration person:

‘ransferring hospital administration who contacted the
aceiving hospital:
Signature:
Title:

Time:

. Type of vehicle and company used:

Equipment needed:
Personnel needed:

“acility transported to:

Al hments:

X ys MD Progress Notes

L& eports Nurses Progress Notes
H . Medication Record

Ql

" the transfer the medical benefits reasonably expected from the provision of
of the transfer to the patient and, in the case of labor, the unborn child.

PHYSICIAN’S SIGNATURE

SECTION B (To Be Filled Out At Receiving Hospital)

1. Name of Receiving Hospital:

Address:

Phone Number: ( )

2. Date of Arrival: /

/ Time:

3. Receiving Hospital Administration Signature:

| Date:

4. Receiving physician assumed responsibility for the patient:

/ / Time:
Receiving Physician’s signature:
Name:
Address:

Phone Number: ( )

5. If response to the transfer request was delayed beyond thirty (30)
minutes, document the reason(s) for the delay, including any agreed time
extensions. Use additional sheet, if necessary.

Title: Date: /

DISTRIBUTION: Original to accompany patient to receiving hospital. Copy to be retained at transferring hospital.






