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The following Chapter 117 ESRD Rule Clarifications apply to the rules effective July 6, 2010, 
which remain in full effect. These clarifications will assist surveyors and facilities with 
interpreting and understanding the intent and application of the rules during the state survey 
process. 

 
1) History & Physical: 

 
Section 117.45(a)(7) The facility shall monitor the plan of care at least monthly to recognize and 
address any deviations from the plan of care as follows: 

(A) implement changes in interventions due to the lack of progress toward the goals of the 
plan of care; 

(B) document as to the reasons why the patient was unable to achieve the goals; and 
(C) implement changes to address the revised plan of care. 

 
Clarification 
The facility will need to ensure that the physicians complete the history and physical as outlined 
in the facility’s policies and procedures. 
The social worker and the patient’s plan of care: 

 
The social worker has goals and tasks to accomplish to ensure that their interventions were 
appropriate, and to ensure, based on their expertise, that the patient is stable regarding their 
psychosocial status.  Per the Federal regulation, a patient is unstable if there is a change in their 
psychosocial status. Therefore the social worker needs to ensure that the patient is stable 
regarding their psychosocial status. 

 
The individual dialysis facility determines how this is accomplished.  The complete chart is 
considered the plan of care.  The surveyor will review progress notes, physician’s orders, etc., to 
ensure that the plan of care is monitored at least monthly. 

 
2) Charge  nurse qualifications: 

 
Section 117.46 (c) (1) Each person licensed as a nurse shall have a current Texas license to 
practice nursing in accordance with the statutes and rules of the Texas Board of Nursing. 
(2) Each registered nurse assigned charge nurse responsibilities shall have at least 12 months of 
clinical experience and have six months experience in hemodialysis subsequent to completion of 
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the facility's training program. The hemodialysis experience shall be within the last 24 months. A 
registered nurse who holds a current certification from a nationally recognized board in 
nephrology nursing or hemodialysis may substitute the certification for the six months 
experience in dialysis obtained within the last 24 months. 

 
Clarification 
To be charge nurse in a licensed Texas dialysis facility, the RN must be currently licensed in 
Texas and have at least one year of clinical experience and six months of dialysis experience. For 
a newly licensed RN, the last six months of clinical experience may run concurrently with the six 
months of dialysis experience. 

 
3) Clinical sink: 

 
Section 117.102(d)(11)(B) 
(B) An additional clinical sink or equivalent flushing rim sink with hands-free operable controls 
shall be provided.  The clinical sink or equivalent flushing rim sink and the hand washing sink 
shall have a minimum separation of 6 feet. 

 
Clarification 
In lieu of a clinical sink or equivalent flushing rim sink, a deep sink may be substituted.  The 
deep sink shall be a minimum of 12 inches deep.  These sinks are classified as the dirty sink and 
shall be located in isolation rooms, treatment areas/rooms, and peritoneal dialysis training 
rooms. This clarification of the clinical sink applies to all references of a clinical sink in the 
rules. 

 
4) Water: 

 
Section 117.32(b)(8)(C)(iv) - A sample port shall also be installed following the second bed for 
use in the event of free chlorine or chloramine breaking through the first bed.  Water from this 
port(s) shall be tested for chlorine/chloramine levels at the beginning of each treatment day prior 
to  patients  initiating  treatment,  prior  to  reprocessing  of  dialyzers,  and  again  prior  to  the 
beginning of each patient shift. If there are no set patient shifts, testing should be performed 
every four hours during hours of operation. 

 
Clarification 
Water from a sample port following the first bed shall be tested for chlorine/chloramine levels at 
the beginning of each treatment day prior to patients initiating treatment, prior to reprocessing of 
dialyzers, and again prior to the beginning of each patient shift. If there are no set patient shifts, 
testing should be performed every four hours during hours of operation. 

 
5) Definitions: 

 
Section 117.2 (50) (50) Modality--Different treatment options and settings for patients with end 
stage renal disease, for example, in-center dialysis, home hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, self- 
care dialysis, nocturnal dialysis, and transplantation. 
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Clarification: 
Modality--Different treatment options for patients with end stage renal disease, hemodialysis, 
and peritoneal dialysis. 

 
6) Incident Reports - please see reporting clarifications on the attachment. 



 

Date Result Date Result Date Result 
2/9 33.1 2/1 67% 2/1 4.5 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING ESRD FACILITY INCIDENT REPORT 
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES (DSHS) 

REGULATORY LICENSING UNIT - FACILITY LICENSING GROUP 
 

Use this form to notify DSHS of an incident and the actions taken by the facility. Explain how the facility will improve care as a result of 
the incident. Complete the entire form with all requested attachments so that the DSHS may review the incident without requiring 
additional information or documents. 

 
Instructions for Completing the Incident Report 
Print or type the information. Provide as much information as possible. Use the facility name and license # on your license. 

 
Reporting Information: Incident reports are required for the following: 

1. death of a patient (Do not report death related to a traffic accident, pre-scheduled elective surgery, hospitalization greater 
than 14 days, a do-not-resuscitate (DNR) directive, a hospice patient, or a patient who withdraws from dialysis); 

2. any ambulance transport from the dialysis facility to a hospital due to the patient’s emergent medical condition; this includes 
ambulance transports after a call to 911, whether or not the lights are flashing and or the siren is on as the ambulance leaves the 
dialysis facility or parking lot; do not report non-emergent transports. 

3. conversion of staff or patient to hepatitis B surface antigen (HbsAg) positive (Submit a report with lab results for all patients and 
staff in the facility, with their hepatitis status, antibody status, and vaccination status); 

4. involuntary transfer or involuntary discharge of a patient; 
5. fire in the facility (Submit the report from the fire department.). 

 
Facility Information: Include the facility license number, facility provider number, address, contact person, telephone number, email 
address, and fax number. The facility license number is on your facility license. The facility provider number is the Medicare six digit 
number. The contact person will be the person the surveyor will ask for should a follow-up telephone call be needed. 

 
Summary: Briefly state what happened, who was involved (e.g., RN, LVN, PCT, MD, other), and what action was taken at the time of 
the incident. For example: The treatment was started without incident. About 2 Y, hours after the treatment began, the PCT noted that the 
patient's blood pressure dropped from 130 systolic to 90 systolic. The nurse assessed the patient and found the patient was asymptomatic. 
The blood pressure was retaken, and it was 92 systolic. The patient was placed in Trendelenburg position, and the blood pressure was 
retaken after 15 minutes. The patient began experiencing dizziness, and the blood pressure was now 89 systolic. The nurse administered 
200 cc normal saline. After 15 minutes the blood pressure dropped to 80 systolic, and the physician was notified. 911 was called and the 
patient was transferred to the hospital for evaluation. She remained there overnight and was discharged within 48 hours. 

 
Narrative: Provide a narrative report of your investigation. Explain how you handled the incident and what actions you will take to reduce 
the potential for similar incidents in the future. For example: The investigation concluded: The patient's record was evaluated, and it was 
noted that the patient had been experiencing hypotension (down to 95 systolic) for the past 2 weeks during the dialysis treatment. The 
dietitian had identified about 3 weeks ago that the patient had gained weight following the Christmas holidays. The physician had not 
adjusted the patient's dry weight. An interdisciplinary team met to discuss the change in the patient's condition. The dry weight was 
increased by 3 kgs and a plan was discussed to assist the patient in weight loss. A representative of the interdisciplinary team met with the 
patient after her return to the clinic to discuss the change in the patient care plan. The patient agreed with the dietary plan and will meet 
with the dietitian bi-monthly to evaluate her progress. The patient's fluid status will be evaluated monthly or as required according to the 
dietitian's report. Staffing on 091010 met state requirements. The registered nurse assessed and documented the assessment at the time of 
the incident. QA discussed failure of staff to identify and report the patient's hypotension for 2 weeks. Educated staff and physicians. This 
QA indicator will be completed ongoing on a monthly basis. 

 
Treatment Information: Check the services type (HD In-Center, PD, or Home HD).  Also check the access type (graft, fistula, central 
catheter, or PD).  Please complete the charts based on the example below.  Please attach copies of the last 3 treatment sheets.  If the 
patient is deceased, also include the mortality review of the patient. 

Pulse Blood Pressure Weight Hct. or Hgb. Kt/V or URR Potassium 
Date Pre Post Pre Post Pre Post 
2/14 80 74 130/74 120/65 84kg 80kg 

 
Patient Transfer: If the patient is transferred to another facility, please include the name of the facility and the date of transfer. In addition 
to the above information, please include the following: Plan of care and reassessment of the patient’s plan of care; evidence of interventions 
with the patient and/or care-giver (i.e. progress notes); coordination with Network 14; physician’s orders; copies of letters to patients; and 
copies of policies/procedures for involuntary transfer of a patient. 

 
Signature: The supervising nurse must  print name and title, sign, and date the incident report. Fax or mail the completed incident report 
to the number or address provided. Do not put any information in the box marked "DSHS Use Only." 

 
Thank you for your cooperation. For questions, please call (512) 834-6646 or your Health Facility Compliance (HFC) Zone Office The 
link to the DSHS Zone Map and HFC Zone contact information is below: 
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/default.shtm 

http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/default.shtm


 

DSHS Use Only 
Complaint Number: 

 
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 

REGULATORY LICENSING UNIT – FACILITY LICENSING GROUP 
INCIDENT REPORT 

 
 
 

Reportable Incident: 
Reporting Information 

 
Death of a Patient Hospital Transfer 
Hepatitis B Conversion – Patient Hepatitis B Conversion - Staff 
Involuntary Transfer or Discharge of a Patient Fire in the Facility 

 
Date of this report:   /  /   Date of the incident:   /  /   Time of the incident:   am/pm 

 
Date of last dialysis treatment:   /  /   

 
 
 
Facility License #: 
Name of Facility: 
Address: 
Contact Person: 
Email: 

Facility Information 
Facility Provider # 

 
City: 
Telephone: 
Fax Number: 

 
 
 
 
Zip: 

 
Summary 

Provide a brief summary of the incident (what happened, who was involved, what action was taken at the time of 
the incident) (Please attach a separate sheet if necessary.) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Narrative 
Provide a narrative report of your investigation (how was the incident handled, what actions will be taken to 
reduce the potential of similar incidents in the future) (Please attach a separate sheet if necessary.) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Action 
Action you will take as a result of this incident: (check all that apply) 

Education of staff Corrective action and monitoring 
Education of patient Revision of policy/procedure 
Education of care-giver Development of policy/procedure 
Measure, analyze, and track in QAPI (Quality Assessment and Performance Improvement) 
Information is incomplete at this time. A follow-up narrative will be sent within 30 days 
Other:    



 

Date Pre Post Pre Post Pre Post 

 

Patient Information 
If the incident involves a patient, please complete the following: 

 

Patient’s First Name:  Middle:  Last:  

DOB: / / Started dialysis: / / Admitted here: / / 
Diagnoses (all): 

 
Current Condition: (check one) 

Return to previous modality at this facility 
In Hospital 
Deceased 

 
Treatment Information 

 
 
 
(name of hospital) 

Service Type: (check one) 
HD In-Center 

Access Type: (check one) 
Graft 

 
Fistula 

PD 
Home HD 

Central Catheter PD 

 

Current Dry Weight:   Kg Total Heparin Dose:   Units Reuse #:    
 

Complete the following charts for the treatment involved, the last two treatments, and the most recent labs. 
Please attach copies of the last 3 treatment sheets.  If the patient is deceased, also include the mortality 
review of the patient. 

Pulse Blood Pressure Weight Hct. or Hgb. Kt/V or URR Potassium 
Date Result Date Result Date Result 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Patient Transfer 
Complete this section only if the patient was transferred to another facility. 
Name of Facility: Date of Transfer: 
In addition to the above information, please include the following: plan of care and reassessment of the patient’s plan of care; 
evidence of interventions with the patient and/or care-giver (i.e. progress notes); coordination with Network 14; physician’s 
orders; copies of letters to patient; and copies of policies/procedures for involuntary transfer of a patient. 

 
Signature: Date: 

 
Printed Name: Title: 

 
Forward within ten working days of incident to: 

 

Texas Department of State 
Health Services 

 
 
 
DSHS Use Only 

Regulatory Licensing Unit 
Facility Licensing Group 

Delivery Code 2835 
PO Box 149347 

Austin, TX 78714-9347 
FAX: 512-834-4514 

Reviewed by:   Date:    
___No Action required ___Action required: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Form Effective 10/03/12 


