
 
            

              
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 

 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
 

DAVID L. LAKEY, M.D. P.O. Box 149347 
COMMISSIONER Austin, Texas 78714-9347

     1-888-963-7111 
TTY: 1-800-735-2989 

www.dshs.state.tx.us 

How to Become a Licensed 

Abortion Facility 


Attached is an application packet for an Initial or Change of Ownership (CHOW) License for an 
Abortion Facility. The application, fees, and other documents shall be submitted as required by 
25 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 139, Abortion Facility Reporting and Licensing Rules, 
§139.13 Application Procedures and Issuance of Licenses. Information regarding licensure for 
health care facilities, including contact information for the zone office for your location is 
located on the department’s website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp. 

The following documents, fees, and actions shall be completed and approved before a license 
will be issued: 

Initial Application 

	 A license application form submitted no earlier than 90 calendar days prior to the 
projected opening date of the facility. 

 A license fee of $5,000.00 shall be submitted. License fees are not refundable. 
 The applicant or the applicant’s representative shall attend a presurvey conference at the 

zone office designated by the department. Please contact the designated zone office to 
schedule the presurvey conference (www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm). 

Change of Ownership (CHOW) Application 

	 A license application form to be submitted at least 60 calendar days before the date of the 
change of ownership. 

 A license fee of $5,000.00 shall be submitted. License fees are not refundable. 
 The applicant or the applicant’s representative shall attend a presurvey conference at the 

zone office designated by the department. The designated zone office may waive the 
presurvey conference requirement for a Change of Ownership. Please contact the 
designated zone office to schedule the presurvey conference or to request a wavier 
(www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm). 

	 The applicant shall include evidence (Bill of Sale, lease agreement, or legal court 
document) of the Change of Ownership. This document can be submitted separately from 
the license application. 

www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm
http:5,000.00
www.dshs.state.tx.us/hfp/contact.shtm
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The Facility Licensing Group is dedicated to assist you through this process and is available to 
answer your questions. If you have any questions, please contact the Facility Licensing Group: 
phone (512) 834-6646, fax (512) 834-4514, email gina.smith@dshs.state.tx.us or 
melanie.moore@dshs.state.tx.us. 

Mailing address for applications with fees: 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
REGULATORY LICENSING UNIT - FACILITY LICENSING GROUP 
MAIL CODE 2003 
P.O. BOX 149347 
AUSTIN, TEXAS 78714-9347 

Overnight mailing address for applications with fees; 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
FACILITY LICENSING GROUP 
MAIL CODE 2003 
1100 WEST 49TH STREET 
AUSTIN, TEXAS 78756 

Revised 11/22/13 
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DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 170 

Application for a License to Operate an 
Abortion Facility 

Initial  
Projected Date Facility Will Open: ___________________ 

Change of Ownership 
Effective Date: _________________________ Current License #: _____________________ 

1. Facility Information: 

a. Name the facility will be doing business as (d/b/a): 

b. 	Street Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Number 

 _________________________________________________________________________________ 
City/State/Zip County 

c. 	Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 (If different) Street or P.O. Box Number 

City/State/Zip 

d. 	Telephone Number (include area code) Fax Number (include area code) 

( ) _________________________________ (  ) ________________________________ 
Leave blank if number is unknown at this time. 	 Leave blank if number is unknown at this time. 

2. Ownership Information: 

Name of Owner (entity legally responsible for the operation of the facility, whether by lease or ownership) 

Mailing Address      City/State/Zip 

Tax ID Number or SS# Telephone Number E-Mail Address 

Status: Profit  Non-Profit 

Type of Ownership:  Sole Proprietor  County  Limited Liability Company LTD 
 Corporation City  Limited Liability Partnership LP
 Partnership  City-County  Hospital District/Authority  Other: ____________________ 
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Name of Facility: ________________________________________________ 	 DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 170 

3. 	 Ownership and Control Interest Disclosure: 

a. 	 The owner must disclose the following data for the two-year period preceding the application date. Check yes or no to the 
following questions.  If yes is checked, you must provide details, including ownership and facility information, circumstances, 
dates and final action, on a separate sheet with this application. 

1. Eviction involving any property used as a health care facility in any state?	 Yes ______ No ______ 
2. Federal or state (any state) tax liens? 	 Yes ______ No ______ 
3. Unsatisfied final judgments? 	 Yes ______ No ______ 
4. Federal or state (any state) criminal misdemeanor arrests or convictions? 	 Yes ______ No ______ 
5. Injunctive orders from any court?	 Yes ______ No ______ 
6. Unresolved final state or federal Medicare or Medicaid audit exceptions? 	 Yes ______ No ______ 

b.	 The owner must disclose the following data.  Check yes or no to each question.  If yes is checked, provide details on a separate 
sheet, including all ownership and facility information, circumstances, dates and final action. 

1.	 Denial, suspension, or revocation of abortion facility license or any health 
agency in any state or any other enforcement action? Yes ______ No ______ 

2.	 Denial, suspension or revocation or other enforcement action against a health care 
facility license in any state, which is or was proposed by the licensing agency and the 
status of the proposal? Yes ______ No ______ 

3.	 Surrendered a license before expiration of the license or allowing a license to expire 
in lieu of the department proceeding with enforcement action? Yes ______ No ______ 

4.	 Federal or state (any state) criminal felony arrests or convictions? Yes ______ No ______ 
5.	 Federal or state Medicaid or Medicare sanctions or penalties relating to the operation 

of a health care facility? Yes ______ No ______ 
6.	 Operating a health care facility that has been decertified with Medicare or Medicaid? Yes ______ No ______ 
7.	 Debarment, exclusion, or contract cancellation from Medicare or Medicaid in any state? Yes ______ No______ 

4. Licensing Fee: Initial 	$5,000.00 
Change of Ownership $5,000.00 

Fees paid to the Department are not refundable.  Application will not be processed without the appropriate fee. 

5. Personnel: 

Submit names, Texas Provider Identification numbers if Medicaid-enrolled, National Provider Identification numbers, 
and license numbers and expiration dates of all licensed professionals who provide services at the abortion facility. 
(Use attached page if necessary.)

 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________


 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________
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Name of Facility: ________________________________________________ DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 170 

6. Other – The following documents are required and must be attached in order to complete the application: 


Organizational structure of the staffing for the facility. 


Agreement to sale. (Change of Ownership Only.)
 

7. Administrator’s Signature: 

The administrator attests that the owner is capable of meeting the requirements of 25 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 
139, Abortion Facility Reporting and Licensing Rules.  The administrator attests that all information contained in this 
application is true and correct. The administrator attests that all copies submitted with the application are original copies 
or copies of the original documents. 

Administrator’s Name (Please Print)  Title 
Person responsible for day-to-day operations at the facility 

Administrator’s Signature      Date Signed 

Administrator’s Email Address   Administrator’s Telephone Number 

8. Contact Person: 

______________________________________________    ___________________________________ 
Name of the person completing this application Title 

_____________________________________________   ___________________________________ 
Telephone Number       Email Address 

Mailing address for applications with fees: Department of State Health Services, Facility Licensing Group, Mail Code 
2003, PO Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347 

Overnight mailing address for applications with fees: Department of State Health Services, Facility Licensing Group, 
Mail Code 2003, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756 
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Name of Facility: ________________________________________________ DEPT. ID ZZ101/FUND 170 

PERSONNEL CONTINUED… 

Provide names, Texas Provider Identification numbers if Medicaid-enrolled, National Provider Identification numbers, 
and license numbers and expiration dates of all licensed professionals who provide services at the abortion facility. (Do 
not include names of individuals already included on page 2.)

 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________


 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________


 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________


 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________


 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________


 Name: ___________________________________________________
 
Texas Provider Id #: ________________________________________
 
National Provider ID #: _____________________________________
 
License #: ________________________________________________
 
Expiration Date: ___________________________________________
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