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New laws affect 
EMS and trauma systems

The 82nd session of the Texas Legislature ended on May 31 

after 140 days in the Capitol in Austin. How did EMS and trauma 

systems fare this session? Below is a synopsis of bills relevant to 

EMS and trauma that were passed and sent to the governor for 

signature. For more detailed information on each bill, go to www.

capitol.state.tx.us and enter the bill number. Then click on “Text” 

and “Enrolled Version.” These laws take effect on September 1, 

2011, unless vetoed by the governor by June 19. 

HB 554, Howard, Rodriguez. Chapter 143 of Local Government 

Code was amended to allow civil service status for EMS 

personnel in municipalities with a population of 460,000 or 

more. It requires a petition and local election to adopt and a 

similar process to repeal that action. Civil service status may 

affect qualified employees through certain provisions relating 

to eligibility lists, examinations, promotions, appointments, 

educational incentive pay, longevity or seniority pay, assignment 

pay, salary, vacation leave and disciplinary appeals. Effective 

September 1, 2011.

HB 577, McClendon. This bill adds clarification to Health and 

Safety Code §166.102 by specifying that EMS personnel have 

no duty to review, examine, interpret or honor written directives 

other than an Out-of-Hospital Do-Not-Resuscitate order. It also 

adds new §773.016 to Chapter 773 of the Health and Safety Code, 

detailing the responsibilities of the patient’s physician, if present, 

and if not present, the responsibilities of the medical director 

or online physician as it relates to directing the termination of 

resuscitation by EMS personnel. Effective September 1, 2011.

HB 1476, Riddle. Regarding the mandate for revocation of an 

EMS personnel certification, §773.0614 was amended to add 

the previous placement on deferred adjudication or deferred 

disposition for certain egregious offenses listed in Article 42.12 

of the Code of Criminal Procedure. The word “is” was changed 

to “has been” to incorporate this change. Effective September 1, 

2011. 

HB 901, Hegar. This legislation adds a restriction prohibiting a 

grant recipient from disposing of an ambulance before the fourth 

anniversary of the grant date, unless the department has been 

given prior approval. The amendment adds subsection (a-1) to 

the Health and Safety Code, §773.122 and §780.004. Effective 

September 1, 2011. 

 – Phil Lockwood

I’m feeling a little tech-shy 

right now. When we decreased 

the number of pages in the 

magazine to help with the 

budget, my column seemed 

a natural place to cut. I was 

convinced that no one besides 

my mother read it, anyway. 

(Thanks, mom!) Now I’m about 

to step off into a brave new 

world for this column. Starting 

in July, instead of looking to my 

column each issue, you can 

find news about Texas EMS 

Conference on Twitter. Yep, 

that’s right!  I’m moving into 

the digital age – and it wasn’t 

without some hesitation. Heck, 

I had to look up exactly what 

Twitter is before I could even 

get started. But I am in now, 

and our new Twitter address 

is @TXEMSConference. You 

can also find Texas EMS 

Conference on Facebook.

Hope to see you in the 

digital world! And if you have 

questions about how to Twitter 

or Facebook, your best bet is to 

ask the nearest 16-year-old. I’ll 

still be trying to figure it out.


