New laws affect EMS and trauma systems

The 81st session of the Texas Legislature ended on June 1 after an eventful 140 days in
Austin. How did EMS and trauma systems fare this session? Below is a synopsis of bills of
interest to EMS that were passed this session and sent to the governor for signature. For more
detailed information on each bill, go to www.capitol.state.tx.us and enter the bill number. Click
on “Text” and “Enrolled Version.” We are still sorting through some of the legislation, so we
may add to this list later. These laws take effect on September 1, 2009, but implementation may
have to wait until some rules are written and ultimately approved by the Health and Human

Services Council.

HB 846, Martinez. This bill
adds Section 773.0415 to the Health
and Safety Code, amending the
certification/licensing renewal
language of the law. It limits the
information an EMS certification/
licensure candidate is required to
submit regarding unchanged crime
history information previously
provided and evaluated by the
department on an earlier application.
Effective September 1, 2009.

HB 963, Guillen. Preliminary
evaluation of eligibility for EMS
certification/licensing is made
possible by this bill, through
amendments to Chapter 53 of
the Occupations Code. Prior to
submitting an EMS application to
DSHS, a person planning to enroll
in an EMS training program may
request that the department issue
a criminal history evaluation letter
regarding certification/licensure
eligibility. The bill authorizes
the department to charge a fee to
cover the cost of administering this
subchapter. [Amends Occupation
Code, §53.101, §53.103, §53.105,
§53.021] Effective September 1,
2009.

HB 2585, Hartnett. This bill
authorizes digital or electronic
signatures for an advanced directive,
including Out-of-Hospital Do Not

Resuscitate (DNR) orders. The

bill allows a declarant to have the
signature acknowledged before a
notary public instead of witnesses.
DNR forms will have to be revised
to implement this new allowance

in the law. [Amends Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 166] Effective
September 1, 2009.

HB 2845, Riddle. Removes EMS
personnel from consideration under
the Occupations Code and places
language into Chapter 773 of the
Health and Safety Code, as it relates
to criminal history evaluation for
a license or a certificate. [Amends
Occupations Code §53.002, Health
and Safety Code §773.0614,
§773.0615, §773.0616 and
§773.0617] Effective September 1,
20009.

SB 2080, Uresti. This bill
establishes $2.5 million per
biennium to establish the Texas
Medical Child Abuse Resources and
Education Systems (MEDCARES),
a grant program to develop and
support regional programs targeting
child abuse and neglect. Grants
may be awarded to hospitals or
academic health centers with
expertise in pediatric health care
and a demonstrated commitment to
program development and centers of
excellence for assessment, diagnosis

and treatment of child abuse and
neglect. The bill calls for an advisory
committee to be created by the
HHSC commissioner to establish
rules and priorities for the grant
money. The committee has nine
slots, each designated for a particular
representative, and includes one
member of GETAC.

HB 1357, Isett. The Health
and Safety Code was amended by
adding Chapter 254, calling for the
regulation of freestanding emergency
medical care facilities. Freestanding
emergency medical care facility
means a facility, structurally separate
and distinct from a hospital that
receives an individual and provides
emergency care. [Adds Chapter
254 of the Health and Safety Code,
amends Insurance Code, Section
843.002] Effective September 1,
2010.

SB 1474, Nichols. Chapter 659
of Government Code was amended
to allow emergency services
personnel who are state employees
and not subject to FLSA overtime
provisions, to be allowed to take
compensatory time off during the
18 months following the end of the
week of the accrual of compensatory
time. Or, if the administrative head
of the agency chooses to, it will
alternately allow the agency to
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pay the employee for the overtime
accrued. [Amends Chapter 659

of Government Code] Effective
September 1, 2009.

HB 2808, Thompson. Amends
Occupations Code 53.021 to clarify
that a licensing authority cannot
consider a person to have been
convicted if the person pleaded nolo
contendere and the judge dismissed
the charges after the period the
person was under the court’s
supervision. The bill authorizes the
licensing authority to consider a
person to have been convicted if the
authority determines that the person
may pose a continued threat or if
employment of the person in the
licensed occupation would create
an opportunity to repeat the offense.
[Amends Occupations Code 53.021]
Effective September 1, 2009.

SB 1058, Uresti. This bill
requires health occupation regulatory
agencies to make an annual report
to the legislature that includes the
number of persons regulated (by
county and statewide), the number
who became subject to regulation
by the agency in the previous
year, a description of complaints
investigated and the final resolution
of the complaints. All health
occupation regulatory agencies
shall adopt and use a standard
format and include expenses and
unfunded needs of the agency. [Adds
Occupations Code Chapter 114]
Effective September 1, 2009.

Trauma Facility Study (Article
I, Rider 90). DSHS is directed
to conduct a study of the state’s
trauma facilities to assess the need
for additional Level I and Level 11
trauma facilities in the state.

HB 4586, Pitts. In the
supplemental appropriation bill,
all the revenue deposited to the

Regional Trauma Account 5137
(Red Light Camera Trauma Fund,
estimated to be $6,712,284) for the
state fiscal year ending August 31,
2009, is to be used to reimburse
uncompensated trauma care.

SB 1 (Article I1, Rider 31)
This provision of the Appropriations
Bill allows for reimbursement of

travel expenses for several advisory
councils, including the Governor’s
EMS and Trauma Advisory Council.
This provision applies to all council
members, not just consumer
members. Reimbursement for
GETAC members will begin with the
November 2009 meeting.

— Phil Lockwood

September 1, 2009.

Children younger than 8 and shorter than four feet, nine inches must ride in a child
passenger safety system, such as a booster seat. Photo courtesy of BoostTexas.org.

SB 61, Zaffirini. This bill requires that children younger than
eight years and shorter than four feet, nine inches ride in a child
passenger safety system. The bill also sets fines and court costs for the
offense and directs that any money collected must be sent to the Texas
Department of Transportation and used to purchase and distribute
child passenger safety seat systems to low-income families. Effective

‘ ‘ JulyAugogb.indd 27

July/August 2009 Texas EMS Magazine 27

6/17/2009 4:26:06 PM‘ ‘



