
 
www.dshs.state.tx.us/elp 
In Texas Only:  (800) 572-5548 
Local (512) 834-6600 
Fax:  512-834-6614 

FOR DSHS USE ONLY 
BUDGET/FUND:  ZZ112-085 

Remit #:    

Remit Date:   

Lead Risk Assessor Initial/Renewal Certification Application 
I am a (check one if applicable):   Military Member      Veteran      Military 

Spouse 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS BOX – FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 

Rcvd Date:   Init.   

Post Mark Date:   

Rvw Date:   Init   

Aprv Date:   Init.   

Amt Rcvd:$  FY:   

Expiration Date:   Init   

Print Date:   Init   

Mail Date:   Init   

PLEASE COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING (please print legibly): 
If renewing:  Enter your current certification number:     Expiration Date:    

  
Applicant Name (First, Middle Initial, Last) Social Security # (mandatory under Family Code, Chapter 231.302(c)(1)) 

 ( )  
Date of Birth (month/day/year)  Telephone Number (including area code) 

  
Applicant’s Address (include apartment #) City State Zip Code 

  
License Mailing Address (include apartment #) City State Zip Code 

 ( )  
Employer Name (if applicable) Telephone Number (including area code) 

  
Employer Address City State Zip Code 

CERTIFICATION:  I certify that I have read and understand the applicable rules and agree to comply with them.  I understand 
that it is a violation of DSHS rules and the Texas Penal Code §37.10 to submit any false or fraudulent information or documents 
in order to obtain a certification.  I also understand that disclosure of my social security number is mandatory under Family 
Code Chapter 231.302(c)(1), and will be used for identification and reporting purposes required by law.  All information I have 
provided on this application is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge.  

    
Signature of Applicant Date 
 

Mailing address for applications containing money: 

Department of State Health Services - MC 2003 
Environmental & Sanitation Licensing Group 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas  78714-9347 

Mailing address for all other mail: 

Department of State Health Services – MC2835 
Environmental & Sanitation Licensing Group 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas  78714-9347

 1 Revised October 27, 2014 



IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

➢ Visit our webpage to pay for your license application fees online.  
➢ To avoid late fees a complete application and all required documentation must be postmarked prior to expiration of the 

license.  

The appropriate fee and the following documentation are required for certification in 
accordance with §295.207 of the Texas Environmental Lead Reduction Rules: 

Certification fees: (Two-year term) 
 

 Initial/Renewal:  $610.00 
 Expired for 90 days or less:  $910.00 
 Expired for more than 90 days but less than one year:  $1210.00 

 
Requirements for an initial certification: 
 

 A copy of applicant’s training course completion certificate from a Department-accredited training provider for the initial 24-
hour Lead Inspector training course AND the 16-hour Lead Risk Assessor training course 

 A copy of your examination results showing proof of passing the department’s Lead Risk Assessor examination with at 
least a 70% passing grade within 6 months of completing the initial 24-hour Lead Inspector course AND 16-hour Lead Risk 
Assessor course 

Also, at least one of the following criteria must be met and verification documentation provided:  
 Bachelor’s degree and one year of experience in a related field (e.g. lead, asbestos, public health, environmental 

remediation work, or building construction trades) §295.207(b)(3)(A) 
 An associate’s degree and two years of experience in a related field (e.g. lead, asbestos, public health, environmental 

remediation work, or building construction trades) §295.207(b)(3)(B)] 
 A high school diploma (or equivalent), plus at least three years of experience in a related field (e.g. lead, asbestos, public 

health, environmental remediation work, or building construction trades) §295.207(b)(3)(C) 
 Certification as an industrial hygienist, an engineer, a public health nurse, a professional registered sanitarian, a certified 

safety professional, a registered architect or an environmental scientist §295.207(b)(1)(C)(iv) 
 
Requirements for renewing a certification: 
 

 A copy of applicant’s training certificate from a Department- accredited training provider for the 8-hour Lead Inspector 
refresher training course and the 8-hour Lead Risk assessor training course completed no sooner than 180 days prior to 
the expiration date of the certification 

Military designation: 
Branch:____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Provide documentation of military, veteran, or military spouse status 

 Provide detailed documentation concerning military experience and training to be considered towards the issuance of the 
license   

 Military spouses must provide proof of current licensure in another jurisdiction that has licensing requirements that are 
substantially equivalent to Texas 

Suggested Format for Documenting Work Experience 
Dates (from – to) 
Employer 
Location 

Job Title 
Field of Work 
Duties Performed 

Name of supervisor, title, & phone 
number of individual that can verify 
experience  

   

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION/NOTIFICACIÓN SOBRE PRIVACIDAD 
With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you.  You are entitled to receive and review the 
information upon request.  You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information that is determined to be incorrect.  See http://www.dshs.state.tx.us for more 
information on Privacy Notification. (Reference: Governor Code, Section 552.021, 552.023, 559,003 and 559.004) 

Tan solo por unas cuantas excepciones, usted tiene el derecho de solicitor y de ser informado sobre la información que el Estado de Texas reúne sobre usted.  A usted se le debe 
conceder el derecho de recibir y reviser la información al requerirla.  Usted también tiene el derecho de pedir que la agencia estatal corrija cualquier informació que se ha 
determinado sea incorrecta.  Dirijase a http://www.dshs.state.tx.us  para más información sobre la Notificación sobre privacidad.  (Referencia:  Government Code, sección 552.021, 
552.023, 559.003 y 559.004.) 
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