Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors - FAQs

My license has expired how do I get it back? 
If your license has been expired for over one year you will be required to reapply under current rules. There is no exception to this rule.

How do I change my mailing address?
You can fax it, e-mail it or send regular mail to our office to change your mailing address.

I want to inactivate my license? 
To go inactive you will need to submit a $50.00 2 year inactive fee with a written request to go inactive. Your license must be current and in good standing to go inactive.

I am an LPC Intern; can I place my license on inactive status?
No, LPC Interns cannot go on inactive status.

If I was on active duty what are my options? 
Before your license expires you will need to submit a copy of your official orders. We will then waive the ce until your return.

What are the requirements to take the exam? 
You must have a master’s degree in counseling or related field with 48 hours of graduate course work including the 10 core areas listed in board rules.

How can I schedule the exam?
Contact the National Board of Certified Counselors. Their web address is

How often can I take the exam? 
The NBCC requires that if you fail the first exam you must wait 90 days to retest. If you fail three times you must wait two years or take nine graduate hours in your weakest areas based on board rules.

What is required to renew my counselor license besides submitting my renewal?
You must have 24 hours of CE including 4 in ethics which includes the Jurisprudence exam. If you are an approved supervisor you must also have 6 hours in supervision. For the most complete listing of continuing education requirements please visit the board’s continuing education rules at TAC §168.141.

How do I come back from inactive status?
You must have 24 hours of CE including 4 in ethics which includes the Jurisprudence exam and pay the 2 year renewal fee of $106.00.

Can I use other providers other than the approved ones on the website?
Yes, as long as the course is counseling related.

How long do I keep track of my CEUs?
At least 4 years.

How long do I keep my clients records?
5 years past the last counseling session.

How do I file a complaint against a licensee?
You can find the complaint on our website under

Am I required to take the jurisprudence every two years?
Yes, the Jurisprudence exam is required with each renewal.

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
Submit a $10.00 fee to the board with a written request for a duplicate license.

Which exams are accepted?
Only the National Counselor Exam (NCE) is approved for licensure in Texas.

I’m keeping the same supervisor but adding a new location what do I do?
Anytime the site and or supervisor are changed you must submit a new supervisor agreement form into the board for approval before the supervision begins.

How do I become an approved supervisor?
Be licensed as an LPC for 5 years and take a 40 hour supervision course. Once that is done submit the application with the $100.00 2 year supervisor fee.

My license has expired what do I do?
If it has been over one year you must apply for a new license under current rules. If it has been less than one year you can pay the late renewal and penalty fee along with your regular renewal fee plus the 24 hours of CE. 

Does Texas reciprocate with any other states?
We do not have full reciprocity; you still need to meet this states requirement for licensure.

Can an LPC-Intern be in private practice?
No, an intern cannot have their own private practice.

Back to Top


Last updated October 14, 2019