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Background:  The Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Program is located within the Professional Licensing 
and Certification Unit, Health Care Quality Section, Division for Regulatory Services.  The program’s purpose is to 
protect and promote public health, safety, and welfare through the effective regulation of medical radiologic 
technologists.  Services provided through the program include the evaluation of credentials, the issuance of licenses and 
registrations, and the intake and investigation of consumer complaints against license holders.  Services are provided 
directly to license holders and consumers by central office staff.  The program collects licensing fees to cover its cost, 
and is funded through a general revenue appropriation to the Health Care Professionals Strategy and through federal 
block grant funds. 
 
 
Summary:  The overall purpose of the rule amendments is to ensure the rules reflect current operational, legal, and 
policy considerations, thereby improving the regulation of medical radiologic technologists.  Proposed changes to the 
rules were made following a four-year rule review as required by §2001.039 of the Government Code.  The proposal 
consolidates the rules into 25 TAC, Chapter 140 (Health Professions Regulation), along with other professional 
licensing rules, through the repeal of 25 TAC, Chapter 143, and the adoption of new 25 TAC, Chapter 140, Subchapter 
J.  Existing rule text is being transferred and updated in the new rules.  Additionally, new language is added in several 
sections that are intended to clarify terms and procedures. 
 
One change in response to stakeholder input is that the proposal would require registered non-certified technicians 
(NCTs) to complete 6 hours of continuing education hours, which may include verifiable independent self-study of 
reading materials, audio materials, audiovisual materials, programs online, attendance and participation in instructor-
directed activities, or a combination thereof.  The current rules do not require non-certified technicians to complete 
continuing education in order to renew the registration, although other categories of certification are required to 
complete continuing education.  The purpose of requiring continuing education for this group of registrants is to 
maintain and improve the technician’s knowledge, skills, and abilities as a means to improve the quality of services 
provided to consumers. 

 
 
Summary of Input from Stakeholder Groups:  The rules were reviewed and discussed by the Medical Radiologic 
Technologist Advisory Committee on August 30, 2007.  The committee recommended that the rules be forwarded to 
the State Health Services Council for review and recommendation to publish as proposed rules.  The rules were sent to 
stakeholder associations (Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists, DSHS Radiation Control Program, and Texas 
Board of Nursing) for input on December 4, 2007.  No unfavorable comments have been received.   
 
The Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee voted to recommend the rules be published for a 30-day 
comment period and specifically indicated support for the entire proposal.  At the meeting, stakeholders (which were 
both individual license holders and representatives of the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists) suggested that 
continuing education should be required for non-certified technicians.  The committee agreed and supports the proposed 
requirement of continuing education for NCTs as a means to maintain and improve knowledge for this group of 
registrants. 
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The Texas Society of Radiologic Technologists reviewed early drafts of the rule proposal and made minor suggestions 
for modifications, which were incorporated into the proposed rules.  The Society was also present at the meeting of the 
Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee and participated in discussion on the proposed rules. 
 
Representatives of the Texas Board of Nursing (TBN) reviewed the initial draft of the proposed rules and recommended 
modifications, some of which were incorporated into the proposed rules.  The representatives met with program staff to 
review the final draft and stated their support of the proposal.  The TBN representatives focused on the portions of the 
rules that directly relate to registered nurses; specifically, the section relating to Dangerous and Hazardous Procedures. 
 
Staff from the DSHS Radiation Control Program also attended the meeting of the Medical Radiologic Technologist 
Advisory Committee at which the rules were discussed, participated in the discussion, and stated their support of the 
rule proposal. 
 

Proposed Motion:  Motion to recommend HHSC approval for publication of rules contained in agenda item #4c. 

Approved by Assistant Commissioner/Director: Kathryn C. Perkins Date: March 17, 2008 

Presenter: Pam Kaderka Program: Professional Licensing & Certification Unit Phone: (512) 834-6634 

Approved by CCEA: Rosamaria Murillo Date: March 17, 2008 
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Title 25. HEALTH SERVICES 
Part 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
Chapter 143. Medical Radiologic Technologists 
Repeals §§143.1-143.20 
Chapter 140. Health Professions Regulation 
Subchapter J. Medical Radiologic Technologists 
New §§140.501-140.522 
 
 

Proposed Preamble 
 
The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, on behalf of the 
Department of State Health Services (department), proposes the repeal of §§143.1-143.20 and 
new §§140.501-140.522, concerning the regulation and certification of medical radiologic 
technologists.  
 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 
 
Government Code, §2001.039, requires that each state agency review and consider for 
readoption each rule adopted by that agency pursuant to the Government Code, Chapter 2001 
(Administrative Procedure Act).  Sections 143.1 - 143.20 have been reviewed and the department 
has determined that reasons for adopting the sections continue to exist because rules on this 
subject are needed; however, the department is proposing to repeal the existing sections and 
adopt the rules in 25 Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 140, Health Professions 
Regulation.  The proposed repeals and new rules are necessary to consolidate existing 
Professional Licensing and Certification Unit program rules in 25 TAC, Chapter 140, Health 
Professions Regulation.  
 
The new rules transfer and update existing language.  Many sections were transferred with no 
modification.  New language is added in some sections in order to clarify the rules for medical 
radiologic technologists, health care practitioners and professionals, and consumers.  
Additionally, the rules require continuing education for non-certified technicians. 
 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 
 
The repeal of §§143.1-143.20 is necessary to combine the Professional Licensing and 
Certification Unit rules in one chapter, 25 TAC Chapter 140, Health Professions Regulation. 
 
New §140.501 sets out purpose and scope of the rules.  New §140.502 defines terms used in the 
subchapter and adds a new definition of mobile stationary x-ray equipment to clarify that such 
equipment is not portable x-ray equipment.  New 140.503 covers the membership and operations 
of the Medical Radiologic Technologists Advisory Committee.  New §140.504 sets out the fees 
required for application, registration, upgrade, renewal, and issuance of a duplicate certificate.  
New §140.505 covers exemptions from certification as a medical radiologic technologist, 
including the definition of a student.  New §140.506 describes the procedures and criteria for 
approval or disapproval of an application by the department. New §140.507 explains the types of 
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certificates and temporary permits and applicant eligibility for certification.  New §140.508 sets 
out the procedures for examination eligibility for medical radiologic technologists. New 
§140.509 provides standards for the approval of curricula and instructors.  New §140.510 
provides timelines for the processing of renewal and late renewal applications, and sets out the 
requirements for inactive status and certificate renewal for voluntary charity care and military 
status certificate holders.  New §140.511 sets out continuing education requirements and requires 
non-certified technicians to complete 6 hours of continuing education hours, which may be 
obtained through self-directed study, in order to renew the non-certified technician registration.   
 
New §140.512 covers procedures for changes of name and address.  New §140.513 sets out 
procedures for certifying or permitting persons with criminal backgrounds.  New §140.514 sets 
out violations and prohibited actions, procedures concerning complaints, and disciplinary actions 
the department may take against a person when violations have occurred.  New §140.515 
establishes rules relating to advertising and competitive bidding by a medical radiologic 
technologist.  New §140.516 sets out dangerous and hazardous radiologic procedures and the 
restrictions on who may perform those procedures.  The section clarifies that positron emission 
tomography is included within nuclear medicine studies.  New §140.517 contains provisions 
regarding registered nurses and physician assistants who perform radiologic procedures.  The 
provisions of this section are not new requirements and are also contained within §140.516; 
however, the new §140.517 is proposed for clarity and ease of use.  New §140.518 provides 
guidelines for mandatory training programs for non-certified technicians.  New §140.519 
establishes procedures for the registry of non-certified technicians. New §140.520 establishes 
procedures regarding hardship exemptions, including clarification of documentation required 
when an applicant is unable to attract or retain a certificate holder. New §140.521 sets out 
training requirements for person who perform bone densitometry training and who are not 
licensed, certified, or registered.  New §140.522 sets outs requirements for alternate training. 
 
FISCAL NOTE  
 
Cindy Bourland, Manager, Professional Licensing and Certification Unit, has determined that for 
each year of the first five-year period that the sections are in effect, there will be no fiscal 
implications to state or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the sections 
as proposed.  
 
SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALYSIS  
 
Ms. Bourland has also determined that there will be no effect on small businesses or micro-
businesses required to comply with the sections as proposed.  This was determined by 
interpretation of the rules that small businesses and micro-businesses will not be required to alter 
their business practices in order to comply with the sections.  Individual certificate holders and 
registrants are required to comply with the sections.   
 
There may be impact to individuals who are required to comply with the sections as proposed.  If 
an individual is a registered non-certified technician, the person will be required to complete six 
hours of continuing education every two years in order to renew the registration.  It is estimated 
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that the cost to each non-certified technician will be $150 biennially.  There is no anticipated 
negative impact on local employment.   
 
PUBLIC BENEFIT  
 
In addition, Ms. Bourland has also determined that for each year of the first five years the 
sections are in effect, the public will benefit from the adoption of the sections.  The public 
benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing or administering the sections is to continue to ensure 
public health and safety through the certification and regulation of medical radiologic 
technologists.   
 
REGULATORY ANALYSIS  
 
The department has determined that this proposal is not a "major environmental rule" as defined 
by Government Code, §2001.0225.  "Major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the 
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risk to human health from 
environmental exposure and that may adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector 
of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the pubic health and safety 
of a state or a sector of the state.  This proposal is not specifically intended to protect the 
environment or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure. 
 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT  
 
The department has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to his 
or her property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, therefore, 
does not constitute a taking under Government Code, §2007.043.  
 
PUBLIC COMMENT  
 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Pam K. Kaderka, Program Director, Medical 
Radiologic Technologists Certification Program, Professional Licensing and Certification Unit, 
Division for Regulatory Services, Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, 
Austin, Texas 78756, (512) 834-6617 or by email to mrt@dshs.state.tx.us.  When emailing 
comments, please indicate “Comments on Proposed Rules” in the e-mail subject line.  Comments 
will be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas Register. 
 
LEGAL CERTIFICATION   
 
The Department of State Health Services General Counsel, Lisa Hernandez, certifies that the 
proposed rules have been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within the state agencies' 
authority to adopt. 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY  
 
The proposed repeals and new sections are authorized by Occupations Code, §604.052 and 
§604.053, which authorizes the adoption of rules for the regulation of medical radiologic 
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technologists; and Government Code, §531.0055, and Health and Safety Code, §1001.075, 
which authorize the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission to 
adopt rules and policies necessary for the operation and provision of health and human services 
by the department and for the administration of Health and Safety Code, Chapter 1001. Review 
of these rules implements Government Code, §2001.039. 
 
The proposed repeals and new sections affect the Occupations Code, Chapter 604; Government 
Code, Chapter 531; and Health and Safety Code, Chapter 1001.  
 
Sections for repeal. 
 
§143.1.  Purpose and Scope. 
§143.2.  Definitions. 
§143.3.  Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee. 
§143.4.  Fees. 
§143.5.  Applicability of Chapter; Exemptions. 
§143.6.  Application Requirements and Procedures For Examination and Certification. 
§143.7.  Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility. 
§143.8.  Examinations. 
§143.9.  Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors. 
§143.10. Certificate Issuance, Renewals, and Late Renewals 
§143.11.  Continuing Education Requirements. 
§143.12. Changes of Name and Address. 
§143.13. Certifying Persons with Criminal Backgrounds. 
§143.14. Disciplinary Actions. 
§143.15. Advertising or Competitive Bidding. 
§143.16.  Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures. 
§143.17.  Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified Technicians. 
§143.18.  Registry of Non-Certified Technicians. 
§143.19.  Hardship Exemptions. 
§143.20.  Alternate Training Requirements. 
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Legend: Proposed New Rules 
Regular Print = Proposed new language. 
 
§140.501.  Purpose and Scope. 
 
 (a) Purpose. These sections are intended to implement the provisions of the Medical 
Radiologic Technologist Certification Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 601.  
 
 (b) Scope. These sections cover definitions; the Medical Radiologic Technologist 
Advisory Committee; fees; applicability of subchapter; exemptions; application requirements 
and procedures for examination and certification; types of certificates and eligibility; 
examinations; standards for curricula and instructor approval; certificate renewal; continuing 
education requirements; changes of name and address; certifying persons with criminal 
backgrounds to be medical radiologic technologists; disciplinary actions; alternate eligibility 
requirements; dangerous or hazardous procedures; mandatory training programs for non-certified 
technicians; registry of non-certified technicians; hardship exemptions; and alternate training 
requirements. 
 
§140.502.  Definitions. 
 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  

 
  (1) Act – The Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act, Texas 

Occupations Code, Chapter 601.  
 
  (2) Applicant – A person who applies to the Department of State Health Services 

for a certificate or temporary certificate, general or limited or a provisional certificate.  
 
  (3) ARRT – The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists and its 

predecessor or successor organizations.  
 
  (4) Cardiovascular (CV) – Limited to radiologic procedures involving the use of 

contrast media and or ionizing radiation for the purposes of diagnosing or treating a disease or 
condition of the cardiovascular system.  

 
  (5) Certificate – A medical radiologic technologist certificate, general, limited or 

provisional, unless the wording specifically refers to one or the other, issued by the Department 
of State Health Services.  

 
  (6) Chiropractor – A person licensed by the Texas Board of Chiropractic 

Examiners to practice chiropractic.  
 
  (7) Commissioner – The Commissioner of the Department of State Health 

Services.  
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  (8) Committee – The Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee.  
 
  (9) Dentist – A person licensed by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners to 

practice dentistry.  
 
  (10) Department – The Department of State Health Services. 
 
  (11) Direct supervision – A practitioner must be physically present and 

immediately available.  
 
  (12) Federally qualified health center (FQHC) – A health center as defined by 42 

United States Code, §1396d(2)(B).  
 
  (13) Fluoroscopy – The practice of examining tissues using a fluorescent screen, 

including digital and conventional methods.  
 
  (14) Fluorography – Hard copy of a fluoroscopic image; also known as spot films.  
 
  (15) General certification – An authorization to perform radiologic procedures.  
 
  (16) Instructor – An individual approved by the department to provide instruction 

and training in the discipline of medical radiologic technology in an educational setting.  
 
  (17) Limited certification – An authorization to perform radiologic procedures 

that are limited to specific parts of the human body.  
 
  (18) Limited medical radiologic technologist (LMRT) – A person who holds a 

limited certificate issued under the Act, and who under the direction of a practitioner, 
intentionally administers radiation to specific parts of the bodies of other persons for medical 
reasons. The limited categories are the skull, chest, spine, extremities, podiatric, chiropractic and 
cardiovascular.  

 
  (19) Medical radiologic technologist (MRT) – A person who holds a general 

certificate issued under the Act, and who, under the direction of a practitioner, intentionally 
administers radiation to other persons for medical reasons. 

 
  (20) Mobile service operation – The provision of radiation machines and 

personnel at temporary sites for limited time periods. The radiation machines may be fixed inside 
a motorized vehicle or may be a portable radiation machine that may be removed from the 
vehicle and taken into a facility for use.  

 
  (21) NMTCB – Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board and its 

successor organizations.  
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  (22) Non – Certified Technician (NCT) - A person who has completed a training 
program and who is listed in the registry. An NCT may not perform a radiologic procedure 
which has been identified as dangerous or hazardous.  

 
  (23) Pediatric – A person within the age range of fetus to age 18 or otherwise 

required by Texas law, when the growth and developmental processes are generally complete. 
These rules do not prohibit a practitioner taking into account the individual circumstances of 
each patient and determining if the upper age limit requires variation by not more than two years.  

 
  (24) Physician – A person licensed by the Texas Medical Board to practice 

medicine.  
 
  (25) Physician assistant – A person licensed as a physician assistant by the Texas 

State Board of Physician Assistant Examiners.  
 
  (26) Podiatrist – A person licensed by the Texas State Board of Medical Podiatric 

Examiners to practice podiatry.  
 
  (27) Practitioner – A doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, dentistry, or 

chiropractic who is licensed under the laws of this state and who prescribes radiologic 
procedures for other persons for medical reasons.  

 
  (28) Provisional medical radiologic technologist (PMRT) – An authorization to 

perform radiologic procedures not to exceed 180 days for individuals currently licensed or 
certified in another jurisdiction.  

 
  (29) Radiation – Ionizing radiation in addition to beyond normal background 

levels from sources such as medical and dental radiologic procedures.  
 
  (30) Radiologic procedure – Any procedure or article intended for use in the 

diagnosis of disease or other medical or dental conditions in humans (including diagnostic x-rays 
or nuclear medicine procedures) or the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in 
humans that achieves its intended purpose through the emission of ionizing radiation.  

 
  (31) Registered nurse – A person licensed by the Texas Board of Nursing to 

practice professional nursing.  
 
  (32) Registry – A list of names and other identifying information of non-certified 

technicians.  
 
  (33) Sponsoring institution – A hospital, educational, or other facility, or a 

division thereof, that offers or intends to offer a course of study in medical radiologic 
technology.  
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  (34) Supervision – Responsibility for and control of quality, radiation safety and 
protection, and technical aspects of the application of ionizing radiation to human beings for 
diagnostic and/or therapeutic purposes.  

 
  (35) Temporary certification, general or limited – An authorization to perform 

radiologic procedures for a limited period, not to exceed one year.  
 
  (36) TRCR – Texas Regulations for Control of Radiation, 25 Texas 

Administrative Code, Chapter 289. The regulations are available from Radiation Control, 
Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756-3189, phone 
1-512-834-6688 or at www.dshs.state.tx.us/radiation.  

 
  (37) X-ray equipment – An x-ray system, subsystem, or component thereof. For 

the purposes of this rule, types of x-ray equipment are as follows:  
 
  (A) portable x-ray equipment – x-ray equipment mounted on a permanent 

base with wheels and/or casters for moving while completely assembled. Portable x-ray 
equipment may also include equipment designed to be hand-carried;  

 
  (B) stationary x-ray equipment – x-ray equipment that is installed in a 

fixed location; or 
 
  (C) mobile stationary x-ray equipment – x-ray equipment that is 

permanently affixed to a motor vehicle or trailer with appropriate shielding. 
 
§140.503.  Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee. 
 
 (a) The committee. An advisory committee shall be appointed under and governed by this 
section.  

 
  (1) The name of the committee shall be the Medical Radiologic Technologist 

Advisory Committee.  
 
  (2) The committee is established under Government Code, §531.012, which 

allows the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission to appoint 
advisory committees as needed.  
 
 (b) Applicable law. The committee is subject to the Government Code, Chapter 2110, 
concerning state agency advisory committees.  
 
 (c) Purpose. The purpose of the committee is to recommend rules and examinations for 
the approval of the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.  
 
 (d) Tasks.  

 



 

Proposed - 5 

  (1) The committee shall advise the Executive Commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission concerning rules to implement standards adopted under the Act 
relating to the regulation of persons performing radiologic procedures.  

 
  (2) The committee shall carry out any other tasks given to the committee by the 

Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.  
 
 (e) Review and duration. By November 1, 2012, the Executive Commissioner of the 
Health and Human Services Commission will initiate and complete a review of the committee to 
determine whether the committee should be continued, consolidated with another committee, or 
abolished. If the committee is not continued or consolidated, the committee shall be abolished on 
that date.  
 
 (f) Composition. The committee shall be composed of eleven members appointed by the 
Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission. The composition of 
the committee shall include:  

 
  (1) four consumers;  
 
  (2) one licensed physician who is a radiologist;  
 
  (3) one licensed medical physicist or a hospital administrator;  
 
  (4) one certified medical radiologic technologist whose primary practice is in 

diagnostic radiography;  
 
  (5) one certified medical radiologic technologist whose primary practice is in 

nuclear medicine technology;  
 
  (6) one certified medical radiologic technologist whose primary practice is in 

radiation therapy;  
 
  (7) one licensed physician who has experience in radiologic procedures and who 

practices in a rural community or at a site serving a medically underserved population in Texas 
as defined in the Medical Practice Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 152; and  

 
  (8) one registered nurse or certified physician assistant who has experience in 

radiologic procedures and who practices in a rural community or at a site serving a medically 
underserved population in Texas as defined in the Medical Practice Act, Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 152.  
 
 (g) Terms of office. The term of office of each member shall be six years. Members shall 
serve after expiration of their term until a replacement is appointed.  

 
  (1) Members shall be appointed for staggered terms so that the terms of three 

members will expire on January 1 of each odd-numbered year.  
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  (2) If a vacancy occurs, a person shall be appointed to serve the unexpired portion 

of that term.  
 
 (h) Officers. The committee shall select from its members the presiding officer and an 
assistant presiding officer to begin serving on November 1 of each odd-numbered year.  

 
  (1) Each officer shall serve until October 31 of each odd-numbered year. Each 

officer may holdover until his or her replacement is elected.  
 
  (2) The presiding officer shall preside at all committee meetings at which he or 

she is in attendance, call meetings in accordance with this section, appoint subcommittees of the 
committee as necessary, and cause proper reports to be made to the Executive Commissioner of 
the Health and Human Services Commission. The presiding officer may serve as an ex-officio 
member of any subcommittee of the committee.  

 
  (3) The assistant presiding officer shall perform the duties of the presiding officer 

in case of the absence or disability of the presiding officer. In case the office of presiding officer 
becomes vacant, the assistant presiding officer will complete the unexpired portion of the term of 
the office of presiding officer.  

 
  (4) If the office of assistant presiding officer becomes vacant, it may be filled by 

vote of the committee.  
 
  (5) A member shall serve no more than two consecutive terms as presiding officer 

and/or assistant presiding officer.  
 
  (6) The committee may reference its officers by other terms, such as chairperson 

and vice-chairperson.  
 
 (i) Meetings. The committee shall meet only as necessary to conduct committee business.  

 
  (1) A meeting may be called by agreement of department staff and either the 

presiding officer or at least three members of the committee.  
 
  (2) Meeting arrangements shall be made by department staff. Department staff 

shall contact committee members to determine availability of a meeting date and place.  
 
  (3) The committee is not a "governmental body" as defined in the Open Meetings 

Act. However, in order to promote public participation, each meeting of the committee shall be 
announced and conducted in accordance with the Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 551, with the exception that the provisions allowing executive sessions shall not apply.  

 
  (4) Each member of the committee shall be informed of a committee meeting at 

least five working days before the meeting.  
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  (5) A simple majority of the members of the committee shall constitute a quorum 
for the purpose of transacting official business.  

 
  (6) The committee is authorized to transact official business only when in a 

legally constituted meeting with quorum present.  
 
  (7) The agenda for each committee meeting shall include an item entitled public 

comment under which any person will be allowed to address the committee on matters relating to 
committee business. The presiding officer may establish procedures for public comment, 
including a time limit on each comment.  
 
 (j) Attendance. Members shall attend committee meetings as scheduled. Members shall 
attend meetings of subcommittees to which the member is assigned.  

 
  (1) A member shall notify the presiding officer or appropriate department staff if 

he or she is unable to attend a scheduled meeting.  
 
  (2) It is grounds for removal from the committee if a member cannot discharge 

the member's duties for a substantial part of the term for which the member is appointed because 
of illness or disability, is absent from more than half of the committee and subcommittee 
meetings during a calendar year, or is absent from at least three consecutive committee meetings.  

 
  (3) The validity of an action of the committee is not affected by the fact that it is 

taken when a ground for removal of a member exists.  
 
  (4) The attendance records of the members shall be reported to the Executive 

Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission. The report shall include 
attendance at committee and subcommittee meetings.  
 
 (k) Staff. Staff support for the committee shall be provided by the department.  
 
 (l) Procedures. Roberts Rules of Order, Newly Revised, shall be the basis of 
parliamentary decisions except where otherwise provided by law or rule.  

 
  (1) Any action taken by the committee must be approved by a majority vote of the 

members present once quorum is established.  
 
  (2) Each member shall have one vote.  
 
  (3) A member may not authorize another individual to represent the member by 

proxy.  
 
  (4) The committee shall make decisions in the discharge of its duties without 

discrimination based on any person's race, creed, gender, religion, national origin, age, physical 
condition, or economic status.  
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  (5) Minutes of each committee meeting shall be taken by department staff.  Upon 
approval by the committee, the minutes shall be signed by the presiding officer.  

 
 (m) Subcommittees. The committee may establish subcommittees as necessary to assist 
the committee in carrying out its duties.  

 
  (1) The presiding officer shall appoint members of the committee to serve on 

subcommittees and to act as subcommittee chairpersons. The presiding officer may also appoint 
nonmembers of the committee to serve on subcommittees.  

 
  (2) Subcommittees shall meet when called by the subcommittee chairperson or 

when so directed by the committee's presiding officer.  
 
  (3) A subcommittee chairperson shall make regular reports to the advisory 

committee at each committee meeting or in interim written reports as needed. The reports shall 
include an executive summary or minutes of each subcommittee meeting.  
 
 (n) Statements by members.  

 
  (1) The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, 

department, and the committee shall not be bound in any way by any statement or action on the 
part of any committee member except when a statement or action is in pursuit of specific 
instructions from the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, 
department, or the committee.  

 
  (2) The committee and its members may not participate in legislative activity in 

the name of the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, the 
department or the committee except with approval by the department. Committee members are 
not prohibited from representing themselves or other entities in the legislative process.  

 
  (3) A committee member should not accept or solicit any benefit that might 

reasonably tend to influence the member in the discharge of the member's official duties.  
 
  (4) A committee member should not disclose confidential information acquired 

through his or her committee membership.  
 
  (5) A committee member should not knowingly solicit, accept, or agree to accept 

any benefit for having exercised the member's official powers or duties in favor of another 
person.  

 
  (6) A committee member who has a personal or private interest in a matter 

pending before the committee shall publicly disclose the fact in a committee meeting and may 
not vote or otherwise participate in the matter. The phrase "personal or private interest" means 
the committee member has a direct pecuniary interest in the matter but does not include the 
committee member's engagement in a profession, trade, or occupation when the member's 
interest is the same as all others similarly engaged in the profession, trade, or occupation.  
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 (o) Reimbursement for expenses. In accordance with the requirements set forth in the 
Government Code, Chapter 2110, a committee member may receive reimbursement for the 
member's expenses incurred for each day the member engages in official committee business if 
authorized by the General Appropriations Act or budget execution process.  

 
  (1) No compensatory per diem shall be paid to committee members unless 

required by law.  
 
  (2) A committee member who is an employee of a state agency, other than the 

department, may not receive reimbursement for expenses from the department.  
 
  (3) A nonmember of the committee who is appointed to serve on a subcommittee 

may not receive reimbursement for expenses from the department.  
 
  (4) Each member who is to be reimbursed for expenses shall submit to staff the 

member's receipts for expenses and any required official forms no later than 14 days after each 
committee meeting.  

 
  (5) Requests for reimbursement of expenses shall be made on official state travel 

vouchers prepared by department staff. 
 

§140.504.  Fees. 
 
 (a) Unless otherwise specified, the fees established in this section must be paid to the 
department before a certificate is issued. All fees shall be submitted in the form required by the 
department. All fees are nonrefundable.  
 
 (b) The schedule of fees is as follows:  

 
  (1) application and initial certification fee – $75;  
 
  (2) biennial certificate renewal fee – $60;  
 
  (3) one to 90-day late renewal fee – one and one half of the normally required 

renewal fee;  
 
  (4) 91-day to one year late renewal fee – two times the normally required renewal 

fee;  
 
  (5) certificate and/or identification card replacement or duplicate fee – $20;  
 
  (6) temporary certificate fee – $25;  
 
  (7) general examination fee – the fee for the examination as set by contract with 

the examining body;  
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  (8) chiropractic examination fee – the fee for the examination as set by contract 

with the examining board;  
 
  (9) skull, chest, spine, extremities or podiatric examination fee – the fee for the 

examination as set by contract with the examining board;  
 
  (10) upgrade of a temporary certificate to a renewable certificate, limited or 

general – $25;  
 
  (11) limited instructor approval fee – $50;  
 
  (12) limited curriculum application fee – $900 two-year term per course of study;  
 
  (13) site visit fee – a fee equal to the round trip travel expenses including meals 

and lodging of the inspection committee members, not to exceed $1,000;  
 
  (14) training program application fee – $350 (the application fee for training 

programs accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board shall be waived);  
 
  (15) training program amendment fee – $40 (the amendment fee for training - 

programs accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board shall be waived);  
 
  (16) training program biennial renewal fee – $300 (the renewal fee for training 

programs accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board shall be waived);  
 
  (17) limited curriculum amendment fee – $40;  
 
  (18) biennial limited curriculum approval fee for general certificate programs – 

$450:  
 
  (19) non-certified technician application fee – $50;  
 
  (20) non-certified technician renewal fee – $50;  
 
  (21) non-certified technician late renewal fee – $50;  
 
  (22) hardship exemption application fee – $25;  
 
  (23) provisional certificate fee – $75;  
 
  (24) returned check fee – $50; and  
 
  (25) retired medical radiologic technologist biennial renewal fee – $25.  
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 (c) For all applications and renewal applications, the department is authorized to collect 
subscription and convenience fees, in amounts determined by the Texas Online Authority, to 
recover costs associated with application and renewal application processing through Texas 
Online. 
 
 (d) For all applications and renewal application, the department is authorized to collect 
fees to fund the Office of Patient Protection, Health Professions Council, as mandated by law.  
 
 (e) An applicant whose check for the application and initial certification fee is returned 
due to insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall be allowed to reinstate the 
application by remitting to the department a money order or check for guaranteed funds in the 
amount of the application and initial certification fee plus the returned check fee within 30 days 
of the date of receipt of the department's notice. An application will be considered incomplete 
until the fee has been received and cleared through the appropriate financial institution.  
 
 (f) An approved applicant whose check for the temporary or certificate fee is returned 
marked insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall remit to the department a 
money order or check for guaranteed funds in the amount of the temporary or certificate fee plus 
the returned check fee within 30 days of the date of receipt of the department's notice. Otherwise, 
the application and the approval shall be invalid.  
 
 (g) A certificate holder whose check for the renewal fee is returned due to insufficient 
funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall remit to the department a money order or check 
for guaranteed funds in the amount of the renewal fee plus the returned check fee within 30 days 
of the date of receipt of the department's notice. Otherwise, the certificate shall not be renewed. 
If a renewal certificate has already been issued, it shall be invalid.  
 
 (h) If the department's notice, as set out in subsections (e) - (g) of this section, is returned 
unclaimed, the department shall mail the notice to the applicant or certificate holder by certified 
mail. If a money order or check for guaranteed funds is not received by the department's cashier 
within 30 days of the postmarked date on the second mailing, the approval or certificate issued 
shall be invalid.  
 
 (i) The department shall make periodic reviews of the fee schedule and recommend any 
adjustments necessary to provide sufficient funds to meet the expenses of the medical radiologic 
technologist certification program without creating an unnecessary surplus. Such adjustments 
shall be made through rule amendments.  
 
 (j) The department may notify the applicant's or the certificate holder's employer that the 
person has failed to comply with this section and that any approval granted or certificate issued is 
no longer valid. 
 
§140.505.  Applicability of Subchapter; Exemptions. 
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 (a) Except as specifically exempted by subsections (b) and (c) of this section, the 
provisions of the Act and this subchapter apply to any person representing that he or she 
performs radiologic procedures.  
 
 (b) This subchapter does not prohibit the performance of a radiologic procedure by the 
following:  

 
  (1) a person who is a practitioner and performs the procedure in the course and 

scope of the profession for which that person holds the license; or  
 
  (2) a person who performs a radiologic procedure involving a dental x-ray 

machine, including panarex or other equipment designed and manufactured only for use in dental 
radiography and under the instruction or direction of a dentist, if the person and the dentist are in 
compliance with rules adopted under the Act, §601.251 and §601.252 by the Texas State Board 
of Dental Examiners.  
 
 (c) This subchapter does not prohibit the performance of a radiologic procedure which 
has not been identified as dangerous or hazardous under §140.516 of this title (relating to 
Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures) by the following:  

 
  (1) a person who has successfully completed a training program for non-certified 

technicians (NCT), in accordance with §140.518 of this title (relating to Mandatory Training 
Programs for Non-Certified Technicians), §140.521 of this title (relating to Bone Densitometry 
Training) and who performs the procedure under the instruction or direction of a practitioner if 
the person and the practitioner are in compliance with rules adopted under the Act, §§601.251 - 
601.253, by the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Medical Board, Texas Board of 
Nursing or Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners;  

 
  (2) a person who has successfully completed a training program for NCTs, in 

accordance with §140.518 of this title and who performs the procedure in a hospital that 
participates in the federal Medicare program or is accredited by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations;  

 
  (3) students of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic when 

under instruction or direction of a practitioner and if the student and the practitioner are in 
compliance with paragraph (1) of this subsection;  

 
  (4) a person who performs only in-vitro clinical or laboratory testing procedures 

as described in the Texas Regulations for the Control of Radiation;  
 
  (5) a student enrolled in a radiologic technology program which meets the 

requirements of §140.509 of this title (relating to Standards for the Approval of Curricula and 
Instructors) or §140.518 of this title, who is performing radiologic procedures in an academic or 
clinical setting as part of the program; or  
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  (6) a person who performs radiologic procedures for a period of not more than ten 
days, while enrolled in and as a part of continuing education activities which meet the minimum 
standards set out in §140.511 of this title (relating to Continuing Education Requirements) and 
who is licensed or otherwise registered as a medical radiologic technologist in or by another 
state, District of Columbia, a territory of the United States, the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT), the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB), the 
Board of Registry of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists, the Canadian Association of 
Medical Radiologic Technologists, the British Society of Radiographers, the Australian Institute 
of Radiography, or the Society of Radiographers of South Africa; or  

 
  (7) a person who performs the procedure in a hospital, federally qualified health 

center (FQHC), or for a practitioner, if a hardship exemption was granted to the hospital, FQHC 
or practitioner by the department during the previous 12-month period under §140.520 of this 
title (relating to Hardship Exemptions). 
 
§140.506.  Application Requirements and Procedures For Examination and Certification. 
 
 (a) General.  

 
  (1) Unless otherwise indicated, an applicant must submit all required information 

and documentation of credentials on official department forms.  
 
  (2) The department shall not consider an application as officially submitted until 

the applicant pays the correct fee in accordance with §140.504 of this title, (relating to Fees). The 
correct fee must accompany the application form.  

 
  (3) The department shall send a notice listing the additional materials required to 

an applicant whose application is incomplete. An application not completed within 30 calendar 
days after the date of notice shall be invalid unless the applicant has advised the department of a 
valid reason for the delay.  

 
  (4) Applications will be accepted for a temporary certificate from students not 

more than 28 calendar days prior to the date of graduation from an approved medical radiologic 
technologist education program.  

 
  (5) A certificate may be reinstated only in accordance with §140.510(e) of this 

title (relating to Certificate Issuance, Renewals, and Late Renewals).  
 
 (b) Required application materials.  

 
  (1) The application form shall contain the following items:  

 
  (A) specific information regarding personal data, social security number, 

birth date, current and previous places of employment, other state licenses and certificates held, 
misdemeanor and felony convictions, and educational and training background;  
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  (B) a statement that the applicant has read the Texas Medical Radiologic 
Technologist Certification Act (the Act) and this chapter and agrees to abide by them;  

 
  (C) the applicant's permission to the department to seek any information or 

references which are material in determining the applicant's qualifications;  
 
  (D) a statement that the applicant, if issued a certificate, shall return the 

certificate and identification card(s) to the department upon the expiration, revocation, surrender 
or suspension of the certificate;  

 
  (E) a statement that the applicant understands that the fees submitted are 

nonrefundable unless the processing time is exceeded without good cause as set out in subsection 
(e)(1) of this section;  

 
  (F) a statement that the applicant understands that the materials submitted 

become the property of the department and are nonreturnable (unless prior arrangements have 
been made);  

 
  (G) a statement that the information in the application is truthful and that 

the applicant understands that providing false or misleading information which is material in 
determining the applicant's qualifications may result in the voiding of the application and failure 
to be granted any certificate or the revocation of any certificate issued; and  

 
  (H) a statement that the applicant shall advise the department of his or her 

current mailing address within 30 working days of any change of address;  
 
  (2) Applicants for a certificate who do not qualify under the provisions of 

§140.507(b) of this title (relating to Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility) must submit 
the following additional documents:  

 
  (A) if the applicant is not a graduate of or expected to graduate within 28 

calendar days from a general certificate program in accordance with §140.509(a) of this title 
(relating to Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors), a photocopy which has 
been notarized as a true and exact copy of an unaltered official diploma or official transcript 
indicating graduation from high school; a certificate of high school equivalency issued by the 
appropriate educational agency; or an official transcript from an accredited college or university 
indicating that the applicant received a high school diploma or the equivalency or was awarded 
an associate, baccalaureate, or post-baccalaureate degree; and  

 
  (B) at least one of the items set out as follows:  

 
   (i) a photocopy of an unaltered certificate of completion from an 

approved medical radiologic technologist educational program in accordance with §140.509 of 
this title. The certificate must contain the following items: name of the program; name of the 
graduate; the exact day and month applicant is recognized as a program graduate; and the 
signature of the program director or his designate;  
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   (ii) a photocopy of original letter or other notification from either 

the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Nuclear Medicine 
Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) that the applicant is considered examination eligible; 
or  

 
   (iii) if applying prior to graduation, from an approved medical 

radiologic program in accordance with §140.509 of this title, an expected graduation statement 
signed by the program director or registrar. Within 30 working days of the completion date noted 
in the graduation statement, the department must receive:  

 
   (I) a photocopy of the certificate of completion or letter on 

letterhead indicating graduation, containing the items set out in clause (i) of this subparagraph; or  
 
   (II) a statement signed by the program director or registrar 

indicating that the applicant officially completed the program.  
 

  (3) Persons applying under the provisions of §140.507(d)(5) of this title must 
submit to the department a properly completed other license/registration documentation report 
form which has been completed and signed by an authorized representative of the governmental 
agency which issued the license or other form of registration. A photocopy of the license or other 
form of registration in medical radiologic technology issued by the government of another state, 
District of Columbia, or territory of the United States shall be submitted by the applicant.  
 
 (c) Application approval.  

 
  (1) The department shall be responsible for reviewing all applications.  
 
  (2) The department shall approve any application which is in compliance with this 

chapter and which properly documents applicant eligibility, unless the application is disapproved 
under the provisions of subsection (d) of this section.  
 
 (d) Disapprove applications.  

 
  (1) The department may disapprove the application if the applicant:  

 
  (A) has not met the eligibility and application requirements set out in this 

section and §140.507 of this title;  
 
  (B) has failed to pass the examination prescribed in §140.508 of this title 

(relating to Examinations);   
 
  (C) has failed to remit any required fees;  
 
  (D) has failed or refused to properly complete or submit any application 

form(s) or endorsement(s) or has knowingly presented false or misleading information on the 
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application form, or any other form or documentation required by the department to verify the 
applicant's qualifications for certification;  

 
  (E) has obtained or attempted to obtain a certificate issued under the Act 

by bribery or fraud;  
 
  (F) has made or filed a false report or record made in the person's capacity 

as a medical radiologic technologist;  
 
  (G) has intentionally or negligently failed to file a report or record 

required by law;  
 
  (H) has intentionally obstructed or induced another to intentionally 

obstruct the filing of a report or record required by law;  
 
  (I) has engaged in unprofessional conduct, including the violation of the 

standards of practice of radiologic technology established by the board in §140.514 of this title, 
(relating to Disciplinary Actions);  

 
  (J) has developed an incapacity that prevents the practice of radiologic 

technology with reasonable skill, competence, and safety to the public as the result of:  
 
   (i) an illness;  
 
   (ii) drug or alcohol dependency; or  
 
   (iii) another physical or mental condition or illness;  

 
  (K) has failed to report to the department the violation of the Act or this 

subchapter by another person;  
 
  (L) has employed, for the purpose of applying ionizing radiation to a 

person, a person who is not certified under or in compliance with the Act;  
 
  (M) has violated a provision of the Act, a rule adopted under the Act, an 

order of the department previously entered in a disciplinary proceeding, or an order to comply 
with a subpoena issued by the department;  

 
  (N) has had a certificate revoked, suspended, or otherwise subjected to 

adverse action or been denied a certificate by another certification authority in another state, 
territory, or country;   

 
  (O) has been convicted of, pled nolo contendere to, or received deferred 

adjudication for a crime which directly relates to the practice of radiologic technology; or 
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  (P) has been initially convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude, or whose probation imposed pursuant to such conviction has been revoked by 
the court. 

 
 (2) If the department determines that the application should not be approved, the 

department shall give the applicant written notice of the reason for the disapproval and of the 
opportunity for a formal hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. Within 
ten days after receipt of the written notice, the applicant shall give written notice to the 
department to waive or request the hearing. If the applicant fails to respond within ten days after 
receipt of the notice of opportunity or if the applicant notifies the department that the hearing be 
waived, the department shall disapprove the application.  

 
  (3) An applicant whose application has been disapproved under paragraph (1)(A) 

- (P) of this subsection shall be permitted to reapply after a period of not less than one year from 
the date of the disapproval and shall submit a current application, the certification fee and proof, 
satisfactory to the department, of compliance with the then current requirements of this chapter 
and the provisions of the Act.  
 
 (e) Application processing.  

 
  (1) The department shall comply with the following procedures in processing 

applications for a certificate.  
 
  (A) The following periods of time shall apply from the date of receipt of 

an application until the date of issuance of a written notice that the application is complete and 
accepted for filing or that the application is deficient and additional specific information is 
required. A written notice stating that the application has been approved may be sent in lieu of 
the notice of acceptance of a complete application. The time periods are as follows:  

 
   (i) letter of acceptance of application for certification – 21 working 

days. The notice of acceptance may include a statement that an application for temporary 
certificate received more than 28 calendar days from the date of the applicant's graduation will 
be held pending until the applicant is within 28 calendar days of graduation; and  

 
   (ii) letter of application deficiency – 21 working days.  

 
  (B) The following periods of time shall apply from the receipt of the last 

item necessary to complete the application until the date of issuance of written notice approving 
or denying the application. The time periods for denial include notification of the proposed 
decision and of the opportunity, if required, to show compliance with the law and of the 
opportunity for a formal hearing. The time periods are as follows:  

 
   (i) letter of approval – 42 working days; and  
 
   (ii) letter of denial of certificate – 90 working days.  
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  (2) The department shall comply with the following procedures in processing 
refunds of fees paid to the department.  

 
  (A) In the event an application is not processed in the time periods stated 

in paragraph (1) of this subsection, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all 
fees paid in that particular application process. Application for reimbursement shall be made to 
the department. If the department does not agree that the time period has been violated or finds 
that good cause existed for exceeding the time period, the request will be denied.  

 
  (B) Good cause for exceeding the time period is considered to exist if the 

number of applications for certification or renewal exceeds by 15% or more the number of 
applications processed in the same calendar quarter the preceding year; another public or private 
entity relied upon by the department in the application process caused the delay; or any other 
condition exists that gives the department good cause for exceeding the time period.  

 
  (3) The time periods for contested cases related to the denial of certification or 

renewal are not included with the time periods stated in paragraph (1) of this subsection. The 
time period for conducting a contested case hearing runs from the date the department receives a 
written request for a hearing and ends when the decision of the department is final and 
appealable. 
 
§140.507.  Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility. 
 
 (a) General.  
 

  (1) The department shall issue general certificates, limited certificates, temporary 
certificates (general or limited) or provisional certificates.  

 
  (2) Certificates and identification cards shall bear the signature of the 

commissioner of the department.  
 
  (3) Any certificate or identification card(s) issued by the department remains the 

property of the department and shall be surrendered to the department on demand.  
 
  (4) A person certified as an MRT, LMRT, NCT or PMRT shall carry or display 

the original certificate or current identification card at the place of employment. Photocopies 
shall not be carried or displayed.  

 
  (5) A person certified as an MRT, LMRT, NCT or PMRT shall only allow his or 

her certificate to be copied for the purpose of verification by employers, licensing boards, 
professional organizations and third party payors for credentialing and reimbursement purposes. 
Other persons and/or agencies may contact the board's office in writing or by phone to verify 
certification.  

 
  (6) No one shall display, present, or carry a certificate or an identification card 

which has been altered, photocopied, or otherwise reproduced.  
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  (7) No one shall make any alteration on any certificate or identification card 

issued by the department.  
 
 (b) Special provisions for persons who are nationally certified. Upon payment of the 
application fee, submission of the application forms and approval by the department, the 
department shall issue a general certificate to a person who is currently registered by the 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) as a radiographer, is currently 
registered by the ARRT as a radiation therapist, or is currently registered by the ARRT or is 
currently certified by the Nuclear Medicine Technologist Certification Board (NMTCB) as a 
nuclear medicine technologist.  
 
 (c) Minimum eligibility requirements for certification. The following requirements apply 
to all individuals applying for certification who do not meet the requirements of subsection (b) of 
this section:  

 
  (1) graduation from high school or its equivalent as determined by the Texas 

Education Agency;  
 
  (2) attainment of 18 years of age;  
 
  (3) freedom from physical or mental impairment which interferes with the 

performance of duties or otherwise constitutes a hazard to the health or safety of patients;  
 
  (4) submission of a satisfactory completed application on a form supplied by the 

department;  
 
  (5) payment of the required fees; and  
 
  (6) eligibility for the specific certificate requested as set out in subsections (d), 

(e), (f), (g), (h) or (i), of this section.  
 
 (d) Medical radiologic technologist. To qualify for a general certificate an applicant shall 
meet at least one of the following requirements:  

 
  (1) possess current national certification as a registered technologist by the 

ARRT;  
 
  (2) have successfully completed the ARRT's examination in radiography, 

radiation therapy, or nuclear medicine technology;  
 
  (3) possess current national certification as a certified nuclear medicine 

technologist by the NMTCB;  
 
  (4) have successfully completed the NMTCB's examination in nuclear medicine 

technology; or  
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  (5) be currently licensed or otherwise registered as a medical radiologic 

technologist in another state, the District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States whose 
requirements are more stringent than or are substantially equivalent to the requirements for 
Texas certification; and 

 
  (6)  any other documentation acceptable to the department. 

 
 (e) Limited medical radiologic technologist. To qualify for a limited certificate, an 
applicant shall meet the requirements in paragraph (4) of this subsection and subsection (c) of 
this section.  

 
  (1) The limited categories shall be as follows: skull; chest; spine; extremities; 

chiropractic; podiatry; and cardiovascular.  
 
  (2) Holding a limited certificate in all categories shall not be construed to mean 

that the holder of the limited certificate has the rights, duties, and privileges of a general 
certificate holder.  

 
  (3) Persons holding a limited certificate in one or more categories may not 

perform radiologic procedures involving the use of contrast media, utilization of fluoroscopic 
equipment, mammography, tomography, portable radiography, nuclear medicine, and/or 
radiation therapy procedures. However, a person holding a limited certificate in the 
cardiovascular category may perform radiologic procedures involving the use of contrast media 
and/or ionizing radiation for the purposes of diagnosing or treating a disease or condition of the 
cardiovascular system.  

 
  (4) To qualify for a certificate as an LMRT an applicant must provide satisfactory 

documentary evidence to the department of the following:  
 
  (A) the successful completion of a limited course of study as set out in 

§140.509 of this title, (relating to Standards for the Approval of  Curricula and Instructors) and 
the successful completion of the appropriate limited examination in accordance with §140.508 of 
this title (relating to Examinations);  

 
  (B) current licensure or registration as an LMRT in another state, the 

District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States of America whose requirements are more 
stringent than or substantially equivalent to the requirements for the Texas limited certificate at 
the time of application to the department; or  

 
  (C) current general certification as an MRT issued by the department. The 

MRT must surrender the general certificate and submit a written request for a limited certificate 
indicating the limited categories requested. The request shall be postmarked on or before the 
certificate expiration date and shall be accompanied by the general certificate and the certificate 
and/or identification card replacement fee; and 
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  (D)  any other documentation acceptable to the department. 
 
 (f) Temporary general medical radiologic technologist. To qualify as a temporary general 
medical radiologic technologist, an applicant shall meet at least one of the following 
requirements. These are in addition to those listed in subsection (c) of this section. For the 
general temporary certificate, an applicant must:  

 
  (1) have successfully completed or be within 28 calendar days of successful 

completion of a course of study in radiography, radiation therapy, or nuclear medicine 
technology which is accredited by the United States Department of Education including but not 
limited to the Joint Committee on Education in Nuclear Medicine Technology (JRCNMT) or the 
Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT);  

 
  (2) be approved by the ARRT as examination eligible;  
 
  (3) be approved by the NMTCB as examination eligible;  
 
  (4) be currently licensed or otherwise registered as an MRT in another state, the 

District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States whose requirements are more stringent 
than or substantially equivalent to the Texas requirements for certification at the time of 
application to the department; or  

 
  (5) have completed education, training and clinical experience which is equivalent 

to that of an accredited educational program in radiography as listed in paragraph (1) of this 
subsection. An applicant who meets this requirement is eligible to be examined for state 
certification purposes only.  
 
 (g) Temporary limited medical radiologic technologist. The applicant shall meet at least 
one of the following requirements. These are in addition to those listed in subsection (c) of this 
section. The applicant must:  

 
  (1) have successfully completed or be within 28 calendar days of successful 

completion of a limited certificate program in the categories of skull, chest, spine, abdomen or 
extremities, which is approved in accordance with §140.509(b) of this title. 

 
  (2) be currently enrolled in a course of study in a general certificate program 

approved in accordance with §140.509(a) of this title and have been issued a certificate of 
completion by the program signifying that the person has completed classroom instruction, 
clinical instruction, evaluations and competency testing in all areas included in the limited 
curriculum, as set out in §140.509(d) of this title; or  

 
  (3) be currently licensed or otherwise registered as an LMRT in another state, the 

District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States whose requirements are more stringent 
than or substantially equivalent to the Texas requirements for certification at the time of 
application to the department.  
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 (h) Special provisions for technologists on active military duty. An MRT or LMRT 
whose certificate has expired and was not renewed under §140.510(g) of this title (relating to 
Certificate Issuance, Renewals, and Late Renewals) may file a complete application for another 
certificate of the same type as that which expired.  

 
  (1) The application shall be on official department forms and be filed with the 

application and initial certification fee.  
 
  (2) An applicant shall be entitled to a certificate of the same type as that which 

expired based upon the applicant's previously accepted qualification and no further qualifications 
or examination shall be required.  

 
  (3) The application must include a copy of the official orders or other official 

military documentation showing that the holder was on active duty during any portion of the 
period for which the applicant was last certified.  

 
  (4) An application is subject to disapproval in accordance with §140.506(d) of 

this title, (relating to Application Requirements and Procedures for Examination and 
Certification).  

 
  (5) An applicant for a different type of certificate than that which expired must 

meet the requirements of this chapter generally applicable to that type of certificate.  
 
 (i) Provisional medical radiologic technologist. A provisional certificate may be issued to 
an applicant who is currently licensed or certified in another jurisdiction and who:  

 
  (1) has been licensed or certified in good standing as a medical radiologic 

technologist for at least two years in another jurisdiction, including a foreign country, that has 
licensing or certification requirements substantially equivalent to the requirements of the Act;  

 
  (2) has passed a national or other examination recognized by the department 

relating to the practice of radiologic technology; and  
 
  (3) is sponsored by a medical radiologic technologist certified by the department 

under this Act with whom the provisional certificate holder will practice during the time the 
person holds a provisional certificate. 
 
§140.508.  Examinations. 
 
 (a) Examination eligibility.  

 
  (1) Holders of a temporary general certificate or temporary limited certificate may 

take the appropriate examination provided the person complies with the requirements of the Act 
and this chapter.  
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  (2) Persons who qualify under §140.507(b), (d), (e) or (i) of this title (relating to 
Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility) are not required to be reexamined for state 
certification.  
 
 (b) Approved examination for the general certificate. A general certificate shall be issued 
upon successful completion of the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) 
examination or the appropriate examination of the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT). The three disciplines are radiography, nuclear medicine technology, and 
radiation therapy. Determination of the appropriate examination shall be made on the basis of the 
type of educational program completed by the general temporary certificate holder.  
 
 (c) Approved examination for the limited certificate. An approval letter requesting the 
limited certification fee shall be issued upon successful completion of the appropriate 
examination, as follows:  

 
  (1) skull – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography 

(skull);  
 
  (2) chest – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography 

(chest);  
 
  (3) spine – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography 

(spine);  
 
  (4) extremities – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in 

radiography (extremities);  
 
  (5) chiropractic – the ARRT examinations for the limited scope of practice in 

radiography (spine and extremities);  
 
  (6) podiatric – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in 

radiography (podiatry); or  
 
  (7) cardiovascular – the Cardiovascular Credentialing International invasive 

registry examination.  
 
 (d) Applicants approved for the limited certification examination will be allowed three 
attempts to pass the examination. The three attempts must be made within a three-year period of 
time. When either three unsuccessful attempts have been made or three years have expired, the 
individual is no longer considered eligible under this section. To be eligible for an additional 
examination the applicant must submit documentation indicating completion of remedial 
activities. The fourth attempt must occur within the one-year period following the third 
unsuccessful attempt. Those failing the fourth attempt, or waiting longer than one year following 
the third unsuccessful attempt, shall only become eligible by re-entering and completing an 
approved limited certification program. Upon the applicant's successful completion of the 
examination, the department shall issue an approval letter for the limited certificate.  
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 (e) Examination schedules. A schedule of examinations indicating the date(s), location(s), 
fee(s) and application procedures shall be provided by the agency or organization administering 
the examination(s).  
 
 (f) Standards of acceptable performance. The scaled score to determine pass or fail 
performance shall be 75. For the cardiovascular limited certificate, the Cardiovascular 
Credentialing International examinations (Cardiovascular Science Examination and/or the 
Invasive Registry Examination as required to obtain the Registered Cardiovascular Invasive 
Specialist RCIS credential) the scaled score to determine pass or fail performance shall be 70.  
 
 (g) Completion of examination application forms. Each applicant shall be responsible for 
completing and transmitting appropriate examination application forms and paying appropriate 
examination fees by the deadlines set by the department or the agency or organization 
administering the examinations prescribed by the department.  
 
 (h) Examination Results.  

 
  (1) Notification to examinees. Results of an examination prescribed by the 

department but administered under the auspices of another agency will be communicated to the 
applicant by the department, unless the contract between the department and that agency 
provides otherwise.  

 
  (2) Score release. The applicant is responsible for submitting a signed score 

release to the examining agency or organization or otherwise arranging to have examination 
scores forwarded to the department.  

 
  (3) Deadlines. The department shall notify each examinee of the examination 

results within 14 days of the date the department receives the results.  
 
 (i) Refunds. Examination fee refunds will be in accordance with policies and procedures 
of the department or the agency or organization prescribed by the department to administer an 
examination. No refunds will be made to examination candidates who fail to appear for an 
examination. 
 
§140.509.  Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors. 
 
 (a) General certificate programs. All curricula and programs to train individuals to 
perform radiologic procedures must be accredited by the United States Department of Education 
including but not limited to the Joint Review Committee on Education in Nuclear Medicine 
Technology (JRCNMT) or the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology 
(JRCERT).  
 
 (b) Limited certificate programs. All curricula and programs to train individuals to 
perform limited radiologic procedures must:  
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  (1) be accredited by the JRCERT to offer a limited curriculum in radiologic 
technology;  

 
  (2) be accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Cardiovascular 

Technology (JRCCVT) to offer a curriculum in invasive cardiovascular technology;  
 
  (3) be accredited by JRCERT under paragraph (1) of this section; or  
 
  (4) be approved by the department and be offered within the geographic limits of 

the State of Texas. Subsections (c) - (g) of this section apply only to department-approved 
programs.  
 
 (c) Application procedures for limited certificate programs which are not accredited by 
JRCERT or JRCCVT. An application shall be submitted to the department at least ten weeks 
prior to the starting date of the program to be offered by a sponsoring institution. Official 
application forms are available from the department and must be completed and signed by the 
program director of the sponsoring institution's program. Program directors shall be responsible 
for the curriculum, the organization of classes, the maintenance and availability of facilities and 
records, and all other policies and procedures related to the program or course of study.  

 
  (1) All official application forms must be notarized and shall be accompanied by 

the application fee in accordance with §140.504 of this title (relating to Fees).  
 
  (2) An original and one copy of the entire application and supporting 

documentation must be submitted in three-ring binders with all pages clearly legible and 
consecutively numbered. Each application binder must contain a table of contents and must be 
divided with tabs identified to correspond with the items listed in this section. If any item is 
inapplicable, a page shall be included behind the tab for that item with a statement explaining the 
inapplicability.  

 
  (3) Narrative materials must be typed, double-spaced, and clearly legible. All 

signatures on the official forms and supporting documentation must be originals. Photocopied 
signatures will not be accepted.  

 
  (4) Notices will be mailed to applicants informing the applicant of the 

completeness or within 60 days of receipt of the application in the department. Applications 
which are received incomplete may cause postponement of the program starting date. The time 
of receipt of the last item necessary to complete the application to the date of issuance of written 
notice approving or denying the application is 120 days. In the event these time periods are 
exceeded, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of fees, as set out in 
§140.506(e)(2) and (3) of this title (relating to Application Requirements and Procedures for 
Examination and Certification).  

 
  (5) If the application is revised or supplemented during the review process, the 

applicant shall submit an original and four copies of a transmittal letter plus an original and three 
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copies of the revision or supplement. If a page is to be revised, the complete new page must be 
submitted with the changed item/information clearly marked on five copies.  

 
  (6) The application shall include:  

 
  (A) the anticipated dates of the program or course of study;  
 
  (B) the daily hours of the program or course of study;  
 
  (C) the location, mailing address, phone and facsimile numbers of the 

program;  
 
  (D) a list of instructors approved by the department, in accordance with 

subsection (f) of this section, and any other persons responsible for the conduct of the program 
including management and administrative personnel. The list must indicate what courses each 
will teach or instruct or the area(s) of responsibility for the non-instructional staff;  

 
  (E) a list of clinical facilities, written agreements on forms prescribed by 

the department from clinical facilities signed by the program director and the chief executive 
officer(s) of each facility, and clinical schedules, including the following items identified for 
each clinical site utilized. A clinical facility which is not listed on the application may not be 
utilized for a student's clinical practicum until the department has accepted the additional clinical 
facility in accordance with paragraph (10) of this subsection. The items are:  

 
   (i) the number and types (name brands and model numbers) of 

radiologic equipment to be utilized in the limited curriculum;  
 
   (ii) a copy of the current registration(s) for the radiologic 

equipment from the department's Radiation Control Program;  
 
   (iii) the number and location(s) of examination rooms available;  
 
   (iv) whether or not the clinical facility is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) or certified to participate in 
the federal Medicare program, and if required, is licensed by the appropriate statutory authority. 
For example, if the facility is an ambulatory surgical center, licensure by the department is 
required;  

 
   (v) an acknowledgement that students may only perform radiologic 

procedures under supervision of a practitioner, a limited medical radiologic technologist (LMRT) 
employed at the clinical facility or medical radiologic technologist (MRT) employed at the 
clinical facility;  

 
   (vi) copies of the current identification cards issued by the 

department to the LMRTs or MRTs who will supervise the students at all times while performing 
radiologic procedures;  
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   (vii) an acknowledgment that the students in a limited curriculum 

program in the categories of skull, chest, spine, abdomen, extremities, chiropractic or podiatric 
shall not perform procedures utilizing contrast media, mammography, fluoroscopy, tomography, 
nuclear medicine studies, radiation therapy or other procedures beyond the scope of the limited 
curriculum; and  

 
   (viii) an acknowledgment that the students in a limited curriculum 

program in the cardiovascular category shall not perform mammography, tomography, nuclear 
medicine studies, radiation therapy or other procedures beyond the scope of the limited 
curriculum. Such students may only perform radiologic procedures of the cardiovascular system 
which involve the use of contrast media and fluoroscopic equipment.  

 
  (F) clearly defined and written policies regarding admissions, costs, 

refunds, attendance, disciplinary actions, dismissals, re-entrance, and graduation which are 
provided to all prospective students prior to registration and by which the program director shall 
administer the program. The admission requirements shall include the minimum eligibility 
requirements for certification in accordance with §140.507(c)(1) - (2) of this title relating to 
Types of Certification and Applicant Eligibility).  

 
  (G) the name of the program director who is an approved instructor in 

accordance with subsection (f) of this section, and who has not less than three years of education 
or teaching experience in the appropriate field or practice;  

 
  (H) a letter of acknowledgement and a photocopy of the current Texas 

license from a practitioner in the appropriate field of practice who is knowledgeable in radiation 
safety and protection and who shall be known as the designated medical director. The 
practitioner shall work in consultation with the program director in developing goals and 
objectives and in implementing and assuring the quality of the program;  

 
  (I) a letter or other documentation from the Texas Workforce 

Commission, Proprietary Schools Section indicating that the proposed training program has 
complied with or has been granted exempt status under the Texas Proprietary School Act, Texas 
Education Code, Chapter 32, and 19 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 175, or verification of 
accreditation by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board; and  

 
  (J) the correct number of students to be enrolled in each cycle of the 

program, and if more than one cycle will be conducted concurrently, the maximum number of 
students to be enrolled at any one time. 

 
 (7) All applications must identify the type of curriculum according to the limited 

categories in accordance with §140.507(e) of this title. Each application must be accompanied by 
an outline of the curriculum and course content which clearly indicates that students must 
complete a structured curriculum in proper sequence according to subsection (d) of this section. 
If the curriculum differs from that set out in subsection (d) of this section, a typed comparison in 
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table format clearly indicating how the curriculum differs from the required curriculum, 
including the number of hours for each topic or unit of instruction, shall be included.  

 
  (8) In making application to the department, the program director shall agree in 

writing to:  
 
  (A) provide a ratio of not more than three students to one full-time 

certified medical radiologic technologist engaged in the supervision of the students in the clinical 
environment;  

 
  (B) provide on-site instruction and direction by a practitioner for students 

when performing radiologic procedures on human beings;  
 
  (C) prohibit students from being assigned to any situation where they 

would be required to apply radiation to a human being while not under the on-site instruction or 
direction of a practitioner;  

 
  (D) prohibit intentional exposure to human beings from any source of 

radiation except for medically prescribed diagnostic purposes;  
 
  (E) provide appropriate facilities, sufficient volume of procedures, and a 

variety of diagnostic radiologic procedures to properly conduct the course. Facilities, agencies, 
or organizations utilized in the program shall be accredited or certified and licensed by the 
appropriate agencies. Equipment and radioactive materials utilized in the program shall be used 
only in facilities registered or licensed by the department's Radiation Control Program;  

 
  (F) keep an accurate record of each student's attendance and participation, 

evaluation instruments and grades, clinical experience including radiation exposure history, and 
subjects completed for not less than five years from the last date of the student's attendance. Such 
records shall be made available to examining boards, regulatory agencies, and other appropriate 
organizations, if requested;  

 
  (G) issue to each student, upon successful completion of the program, a 

written statement in the form of a diploma or certificate of completion, which shall include the 
program's name, the student's name, the date the program began, the date of completion, the 
categories of instruction, and the signatures of the program director or independent sponsor and 
medical director/program advisor;  

 
  (H) site inspections by departmental representatives to determine 

compliance and conformity with the provision of this section will be at the discretion of the 
department;  

 
  (I) understand and recognize that the graduates' success rate on the 

prescribed examination will be monitored by the department and utilized as a criteria for 
rescinding approval. In addition to this criteria, the department may rescind approval in 
accordance with §140.514 of this title (relating to Disciplinary Actions); and  
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  (J) comply with the Texas Regulations for the Control of Radiation, 

including but not limited to, personnel monitoring devices for each student upon the 
commencement of the clinical instruction and clinical experience. 

 
 (9) A site visit may be necessary to grant approval of the program. If a site visit is 

required, a site visit fee must be paid in accordance with §140.504 of this title.  
 
  (10) Following program approval, a written request(s) for amendment(s) shall be 

submitted to and approved by the department in advance of taking the anticipated action. The 
request to add or drop an instructor, clinical site, category of instruction, program director or 
other change, shall be accompanied by the limited curriculum program amendment application 
and fee in accordance with §140.504 of this title.  
 
 (d) Curricula requirements. Each student must complete a curriculum which meets or 
exceeds the following requirements:  

 
  (1) at least 132 clock hours of basic theory or classroom instruction in the 

categories of skull, chest, extremities, spine, and chiropractic, and not less than 66 clock hours of 
basic theory instruction for podiatric is required. The required clock hours of basic 
theory/classroom instruction need not be repeated if two or more categories of curriculum are 
completed simultaneously or to add a category to a temporary limited or limited certificate. 
Pediatric instruction shall be included in the hours of training. The following subject areas and 
minimum number of hours (in parentheses) must be included in all programs and must be 
instructor directed. The recommended clock hours for each shall be:  

 
  (A) radiation protection for the patient, self, and others – 40;  
 
  (B) radiographic equipment including safety standards, operation, and 

maintenance – 15;  
 
  (C) image production and evaluation – 35;  
 
  (D) applied human anatomy and radiologic procedures – 20;  
 
  (E) patient care and management essential to radiologic procedures and 

recognition of emergency patient conditions and initiation of first aid – 10;  
 
  (F) medical terminology – 6; and 
 
  (G) medical ethics and law – 6; and  

 
  (2) a clinical practicum for each category of limited curriculum including 

pediatrics is required. The practicum must include clinical instruction and clinical experience 
under the instruction or direction of a practitioner and an MRT or LMRT in accordance with the 
following chart. 
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Figure: 25 TAC §140.509(d)(2) 
 

 
TYPE OF 
LIMITED 

CERTIFICATE 

CLINICAL 
INSTRUCTION 
(# OF CLOCK 

HOURS) 

CLINICAL EXPERIENCE 
(# OF CLOCK HOURS) 

Skull 50 100 

Chest 6 100 

Spine 25 100 

Extremities 30 100 

Chiropractic 60 100 

Podiatric 4 50 
 
  (A) The clinical instruction must be concurrent with the classroom 

instruction, as set out in paragraph (1) of this subsection.  
 
  (B) The clinical experience must commence immediately following the 

clinical instruction and be completed within 180 calendar days of the starting date of the clinical 
experience. Variances from this must be approved in advance by the department and must 
demonstrate good cause. A request for a variance must be submitted in writing to the 
administrator. For the purposes of this section, a normal pregnancy or medical disability shall 
constitute good cause.  

 
  (C) For the skull category, the 100 hours of clinical experience must 

include a minimum of 4 independently performed procedures to include the skull 
(posterior/anterior, anterior/posterior, lateral and occipital), paranasal sinuses, facial bones, and 
the mandible. At least one procedure must be the mandible. The mandible procedure may be 
completed by simulation with 90% accuracy. Only one student shall receive credit for any one 
radiologic procedure performed.  

 
  (D) The program director shall be responsible for supervising and 

directing the evaluation of the students' clinical experience and shall certify in writing that the 
student has or has not successfully completed the required clinical instruction and clinical 
experience. Such written documentation must be provided to each student within 14 working 
days of completion of the clinical experience. Students who successfully complete the required 
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clinical experience may be required to submit such documentation to the department if applying 
for a temporary limited certificate with an expected graduation statement, as set out in 
§140.506(b)(2)(B)(iii) of this title. Persons who participate in the evaluation of students' clinical 
experience must be an MRT or LMRT and have a minimum of two years of practical work 
experience performing radiologic procedures. For cardiovascular, persons who makes the final 
evaluation of students' clinical experience must be an MRT or LMRT and have a minimum of 
two years of practical work experience performing cardiovascular procedures.  
 
 (e) Limited certificate educational program approval.  

 
  (1) Provided the requirements are met, the sponsoring institution shall receive a 

letter from the department indicating approval of the educational program in accordance with 
§113.1 of this title (relating to Processing Permits for Special Health Services Professionals).  

 
  (2) A program shall be denied approval if the application is incomplete or not 

submitted as set out in this section. The applicant shall be notified in accordance with §113.1 of 
this title.  

 
  (3) If approval is proposed to be denied, the applicant shall be notified in writing 

of the proposed denial and shall be given an opportunity to request a formal hearing within 10 
days of the applicant's receipt of the written notice from the department. The formal hearing shall 
be conducted according to the department's formal hearing procedures in Chapter 1 of this title. 
If no hearing is requested, the right to a hearing is waived and the proposed action shall be taken.  
 
 (f) Instructor approval for limited certificate programs.  

 
  (1) All persons who plan to or who will provide instruction and training in the 

limited certificate courses of study or programs shall:  
 
  (A) submit a completed application form prescribed by the department;  
 
  (B) submit the prescribed application fee in accordance with §140.504 of 

this title;  
 
  (C) document the appropriate instructor qualifications in accordance with 

subsection (g) of this section.  
 
  (2) Guest lecturers who are not full or part-time employees of the sponsoring 

institution are not required to apply for instructor approval.  
 
  (3) Within 21 days of receipt of the application in the department, a notice will be 

mailed informing the applicant of the completeness or deficiency of the application. The time of 
receipt of the last item necessary to complete the application to the date of issuance of a written 
notice approving or denying the application is 42 working days. In the event these time periods 
are exceeded, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of fees paid as set out in 
§140.506(e)(2) and (3) of this title.  
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  (4) An applicant who is not approved by the department shall be given an 

opportunity to request a formal hearing within ten days of the applicant's receipt of the written 
notice from the department. The formal hearing shall be conducted according to the department's 
formal hearing procedures. If no hearing is requested, the right to a hearing is waived and the 
proposed action shall be taken.  
 
 (g) Instructor qualifications for limited certificate programs.  

 
  (1) An instructor(s) shall have education and not less than 6 months classroom or 

clinical experience teaching the subjects assigned, shall meet the standards required by a 
sponsoring institution, if any, and shall meet at least one or more of the following qualifications:  

 
  (A) be a currently certified MRT who is also currently credentialed as a 

radiographer by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT);  
 
  (B) be a currently certified LMRT (excluding a temporary certificate) 

whose limited certificate category(ies) matches the category(ies) of instruction and training;  
 
  (C) be a practitioner who is in good standing with all appropriate 

regulatory agencies including, but not limited to, the department, the Texas Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Medical Board, or Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical 
Examiners, the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, and the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services; or 

 
  (D) be a currently licensed medical physicist.  

 
  (2) A limited medical radiologic technologist may not teach, train, or provide 

clinical instruction in a program or course of study different from the technologist's current level 
of certification. An LMRT who holds a limited certificate in spine radiography may not teach, 
train, or provide clinical instruction in a limited course of study for chest radiography.  
 
 (h) Application procedures for limited certificate programs accredited by JRCERT or 
JRCCVT.  

 
  (1) Application shall be made by the program director on official forms available 

from the department.  
 
  (2) The application must be notarized and shall be accompanied by the following 

items: 
 

  (A) the limited curriculum application fee, in accordance with §140.504 of 
this title;  

 
  (B) a copy of the current accreditation issued to the program by the 

JRCERT or JRCCVT;  
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  (C) a description in narrative and/or table format clearly indicating that the 

applicable content of the limited certificate program curriculum be equal to the general 
certificate curriculum; and  

 
  (D) an agreement to allow the department to conduct an administrative 

audit of the program to determine compliance with this section. 
 
§140.510. Certificate Issuance, Renewals, and Late Renewals. 
 
 (a) Issuance of certificates.  

 
  (1) The department shall send each applicant whose application has been 

approved a general, limited or provisional certificate with an expiration date and a certificate 
number. An identification card shall be included with the certificate.  

 
  (2) The department shall replace a lost, damaged, or destroyed certificate or 

identification card(s) upon a written request and payment of the replacement fee. Requests shall 
include a statement detailing the loss or destruction of the original certificate and/or 
identification card(s), or be accompanied by the damaged certificate or card(s).  
 
 (b) Temporary certificates.  

 
  (1) The department shall send each applicant whose application has been 

approved for the temporary certificate (general or limited) an appropriate temporary certificate 
which shall expire one year from the date of issue. 

 
  (2) All temporary certificates are not subject to renewals or extensions for any 

reason. A person whose temporary certificate has expired is not eligible to reapply for another 
temporary certificate.  
 
 (c) Certificates. The initial general, limited certificate and NCT is valid from date of 
issuance  through the medical radiologic technologist's (MRT's), limited medical radiologic 
technologist's (LMRT's) or Non-Certified Technician (NCT’s) birth month.  
 
 (d) Certificate renewal. Each MRT, LMRT, or NCT shall renew the certificate biennially 
on or before the last day of the MRT's, LMRT's, or NCT’s birth month.  

 
  (1) Each MRT, LMRT, and NCT is responsible for renewing the certificate before 

the expiration date and shall not be excused from paying late fees. Failure to receive notification 
from the department prior to the expiration date will not excuse failure to file for renewal or late 
renewal.  

 
  (2) At least 60 days prior to the expiration of an MRT's, LMRT's, or NCT’s 

certificate, the department shall send notice to the MRT, LMRT or NCT at the address in the 
department's records at the time the notice is sent, of the expiration date of the certificate, the 
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amount of renewal fee due, and a renewal form which the MRT, LMRT or NCT must complete 
and return to the department with the required renewal fee.  

 
  (3) The renewal form shall require the provision of the MRT's, LMRT's or NCT’s 

preferred mailing address, primary employment address and phone number, information 
regarding misdemeanor and felony convictions (if any since initial certification or last renewal), 
and continuing education completed in accordance with §140.511 of this title, (relating to 
Continuing Education Requirements). 

 
  (4) The MRT, LMRT, or NCT has renewed the certificate when the renewal form 

and required renewal fee are mailed on or before the expiration date of the certificate and 
received by the department. The postmarked date shall be considered the date of mailing. The 
processing times and procedures set out in §140.506(e) of this title (relating to Application 
Requirements and Procedures for Examination and Certification) shall apply to renewals.  

 
  (5) The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, or undelivered renewal 

application forms, fees, renewal certificates, or renewal identification cards.  
 
  (6) The department shall issue renewal identification cards for the current renewal 

period to an MRT, LMRT or NCT who has met all the requirements in paragraph (4) of this 
subsection for renewal. The cards shall be sent to the preferred mailing address provided on the 
renewal application form. The renewal cards shall be issued for a two-year period.  

 
  (7) The department shall deny renewal of a certificate if required by the Education 

Code, §57.491, concerning defaults on guaranteed student loans.  
 
  (8) The department may not renew the certificate of an MRT, LMRT or NCT who 

is in violation of the Act or this chapter at the time of renewal.  
 
 (e) Renewal for retired medical radiologic technologists performing voluntary charity 
care.  

 
  (1) A "retired medical radiologic technologist" is defined as a person who:  

 
  (A) is above the age of 55;  
 
  (B) is not employed for compensation in the practice of medical radiology; 

and  
 
  (C) has notified the department in writing of his or her intention to retire 

and provide only voluntary charity care.  
 
  (2) "Voluntary charity care" for the purposes of this subsection is defined as the 

practice of medical radiology by a retired medical radiologic technologist without compensation 
or expectation of compensation.  
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  (3) A retired medical radiologic technologist providing only voluntary charity 
care may renew his or her license by submitting a renewal form; the retired medical radiologic 
technologist renewal fee required by §140.504 of this title (relating to Fees); and the continuing 
education hours required by §140.511 of this title.  
 
 (f) Late renewals.  

 
  (1) A person whose certificate has expired for not more than one year may renew 

the certificate by submitting to the department the completed renewal form, proof of the 
continuing education taken, and the late renewal fee. An active annual registration or credential 
card issued by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists does constitute supporting 
documentation. A certificate issued under this subsection shall expire two years from the date the 
previous certificate expired.  

 
  (A) If the certificate has been expired for 90 days or less, a person may 

renew the certificate by paying the one to 90-day late renewal fee.  
 
  (B) If the certificate has been expired for over 90 days but not more than 

one year, a person may renew the certificate by paying the 91-day to one-year late renewal fee.  
 
  (C) A person must comply with the continuing education requirements for 

renewal as set out in §140.511 of this title before the late renewal is effective.  
 
  (2) The late renewal is effective if it is mailed to the department or personally 

delivered by the MRT, LMRT, or NCT or his/her agent to the department not more than one year 
after certificate expiration. If mailed, the postmark date shall be considered the date of mailing. 
A postage metered date is not considered as a postmark. A certificate not renewed within one 
year after expiration cannot be renewed.  

 
  (3) A person whose certificate has expired may not administer a radiologic 

procedure during the one-year period in violation of the Act. A person may not use a title that 
implies certification while the certificate is expired.  

 
  (4) A person whose certificate has been expired for more than one year may apply 

for another certificate by meeting the then-current requirements of the Act and this chapter which 
apply to all new applicants.  
 
 (g) Active duty. If an MRT, LMRT, or NCT is called to or on active duty with the armed 
forces of the United States and so long as the MRT, LMRT, or NCT does not administer a 
radiologic procedure in a setting outside of the active duty responsibilities during the time the 
MRT, LMRT, or NCT is on active duty, the MRT, LMRT, or NCT shall not be required to 
complete any continuing education activities during the renewal period in which the MRT, 
LMRT was on active duty.  

 
  (1) Renewal of the certificate may be requested by the MRT, LMRT, or NCT a 

spouse, or an individual having power of attorney from the MRT, LMRT, or NCT. The renewal 
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form shall include a current address and telephone number for the individual requesting the 
renewal.  

 
  (2) A copy of the official orders or other official military documentation showing 

that the MRT, LMRT, or NCT was on active duty for any portion of the renewal period shall be 
filed with the department along with the renewal form.  

 
  (3) An affidavit stating that the MRT or LMRT has not administered a radiologic 

procedure in a setting outside of the MRT or LMRT's active duty responsibilities during the time 
of active duty shall be filed with the department along with the renewal form. The affidavit may 
be executed by the MRT, LMRT, or NCT a spouse, or an individual having power of attorney 
from the MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  

 
  (4) A certificate covered by this subsection may be renewed in accordance with 

subsection (e) of this section. The 60-day late fee shall be waived for a renewal under this 
subsection.  

 
  (5) An MRT, LMRT, or NCT on active duty with the United States armed forces 

serving outside the State of Texas may request renewal of the certificate at any time before or 
after the expiration of the certificate. An MRT, LMRT, or NCT on active duty serving within the 
State of Texas may request renewal before the expiration of the certificate or under subsection 
(e) of this section. An MRT, LMRT, or NCT on active duty serving within the State of Texas 
who does not renew under subsection (e) of this section may file a complete application for 
another certificate in accordance with §140.507(h) of this title (relating to Types of Certificates 
and Applicant Eligibility). 
 
§140.511. Continuing Education Requirements. 
 
 (a) General. Continuing education requirements for recertification shall be fulfilled 
during each biennial renewal period beginning on the first day of the month following each 
MRT's, LMRT's, or NCT’s birth month and ending on the last day of each MRT's, LMRT's, or 
NCT’s birth month two years thereafter.  

 
  (1) An MRT must complete 24 hours of continuing education acceptable to the 

department during each biennial renewal period.  
 
  (2) An LMRT must complete 12 hours of continuing education acceptable to the 

department during each biennial renewal period. The continuing education activities must be 
general radiation health and safety topics or related to the categories of limited certificate held.  

 
  (3) At least 3 hours of the required number of hours shall be satisfied by 

attendance and participation in instructor-directed activities.  
 
  (4) No more than 21 hours for MRTs or 9 hours for LMRTs of the required 

number of hours may be satisfied through verifiable independent self-study. These activities 
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include reading materials, audio materials, audiovisual materials, or a combination thereof which 
meet the requirements set out in subsection (d) of this section.  

 
  (5) An MRT or LMRT who also holds a current Texas 

license/registration/certification in another health profession may satisfy the continuing 
education requirement for renewal of the MRT or LMRT with hours counted toward renewal of 
the other license, registration, or certification provided the hours meet all the requirements of this 
section.  

 
  (6) An MRT or LMRT who holds a current and active annual registration or 

credential card issued by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) indicating 
that the MRT is in good standing and not on probation satisfies the continuing education 
requirement for renewal of the general or limited certificate provided the hours accepted by the 
agency or organization which issued the card were completed during the MRT's biennial renewal 
period and meet or exceed the requirements set out in paragraph (5) of this subsection and 
subsection (b) of this section. The department shall be able to verify the status of the card 
presented by the MRT or LMRT electronically or by other means acceptable to the department. 
The department may review documentation of the continuing education activities in accordance 
with subsection (e) of this section. 

 
  (7) An NCT must complete 6 hours of continuing education acceptable to the 

department during the biennial renewal period.  The continuing education activities may include 
verifiable independent self-study of reading materials, audio materials, audiovisual materials, 
programs online, attendance and participation in instructor-directed activities, or a combination 
thereof.   

 
  (8) A contact hour shall be defined as 50 minutes of attendance and participation. 

One-half contact hour shall be defined as 30 minutes of attendance and participation during a 30-
minute period.  

 
  (9) Persons who hold temporary certificates, either general or limited, are not 

subject to these continuing education requirements.  
 

 (b) Content. All continuing education activities should provide for the professional 
growth of the technologist.  

 
  (1) At least 50% of the required number of hours must be activities which are 

directly related to the use and application of ionizing forms of radiation to produce diagnostic 
images and/or administer treatment to human beings for medical purposes. For the purpose of 
this section, directly related topics include, but are not limited to: radiation safety, radiation 
biology and radiation physics; anatomical positioning; radiographic exposure technique; 
radiological exposure technique; emerging imaging modality study; patient care associated with 
a radiologic procedure; radio pharmaceutics, pharmaceutics, and contrast media application; 
computer function and application in radiology; mammography applications; nuclear medicine 
application; and radiation therapy applications.  
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  (2) No more than 50% of the required number of hours may be satisfied by 
completing or participating in learning activities which are related to the use and application of 
non-ionizing forms of radiation for medical purposes.  

 
  (3) No more than 50% of the required number of hours may be satisfied by 

completing or participating in learning activities which are indirectly related to radiologic 
technology. For the purpose of the section, indirectly related topics include, but are not limited 
to, patient care, computer science, computer literacy, introduction to computers or computer 
software, physics, human behavioral sciences, mathematics, communication skills, public 
speaking, technical writing, management, administration, accounting, ethics, adult education, 
medical sciences, and health sciences. Other courses may be accepted for credit provided there is 
a demonstrated benefit to patient care.  
 
 (c) Types of acceptable continuing education. Continuing education shall be acceptable if 
the experience or activity is at least 30 consecutive minutes in length and:  

 
  (1) is offered for semester hour or quarter hour credit by an institution accredited 

by a regional accrediting organization such as the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
and is directly or indirectly related to the disciplines of radiologic technology as specified in 
subsection (a) of this section; or  

 
  (2) is offered for continuing education credit by an institution accredited by the 

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT), Joint Review 
Committee on Education in Nuclear Medicine Technology (JRCNMT), Joint Review Committee 
on Education in Cardiovascular Technology (JTCCVT), or the Council on Chiropractic 
Education (CCE) and is directly or indirectly related to the disciplines of radiologic technology; 
or  

 
  (3) is an educational activity which meets the following criteria:  

 
  (A) the content meets the requirements set out in subsection (b) of this 

section; and  
 
  (B) is approved, recognized, accepted, or assigned continuing education 

credits by professional organizations or associations, or offered by a federal, state, or local 
governmental entity.  
 
 (d) Additional acceptable activities. The additional activities for which continuing 
education credit will be awarded are as follows:  

 
  (1) successful completion of an entry-level or advanced-level examination 

previously passed in the same discipline of radiologic technology administered by or for the 
ARRT during the renewal period. The examinations shall be topics dealing with ionizing forms 
of radiation administered to human beings for medical purposes. Such successful completion 
shall be limited to not more than one-half of the continuing education hours required;  
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  (2) successful completion or recertification in a cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
course, basic cardiac life support course, or advanced cardiac life support course during the 
continuing education period. Such successful completion or recertification shall be limited to not 
more than:  

 
  (A) three hours credit during a renewal period for a cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation course or basic cardiac life support course; or  
 
  (B) 6 hours credit during a renewal period for an advanced cardiac life 

support course;  
 
  (3) attendance and participation in tumor conferences (limited to six hours), in-

service education and training offered or sponsored by Joint Commission on Accreditation of 
Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)-accredited or Medicare certified hospitals, provided the 
education/training is properly documented and is related to the profession of radiologic 
technology;  

 
  (4) teaching in a program described in subsection (c) of this section with a limit of 

one contact hour of credit for each hour of instruction per topic item once during the continuing 
education reporting period for up to a total of 6 hours. No credit shall be given for teaching that 
is required as part of one's employment. Credit may be granted in direct, indirect or non-ionizing 
radiation based on the topic; or  

 
  (5) developing and publishing a manuscript of at least 1,000 words in length 

related to radiologic technology with a limit of six contact hours of credit during a continuing 
education period. Upon audit by the department the MRT must submit a letter from the publisher 
indicating acceptance of the manuscript for publication or a copy of the published work. The date 
of publication will determine the continuing education period for which credit will be granted. 
Credit may be granted in direct, indirect or non-ionizing radiation based on the topic.  
 
 (e) Reporting of continuing education. A technologist may request an exemption as set 
out in subsection (i) of this section or may submit a copy of the technologist's current and active 
annual registration or credential card indicating that the technologist is in good standing and not 
on probation in accordance with subsection (a)(6) of this section, with a signed statement that the 
technologist completed during the MRT's biennial renewal period at least 50% of the required 
number of hours of continuing education directly related to the performance of a procedure 
utilizing ionizing radiation for medical purposes and that no more than 21 hours for MRTs and 9 
hours for LMRTs of the required number of hours shall be verifiable independent self-study 
activities.  

 
  (1) At the time of renewal or at other times determined by the department, the 

department will select a random sample of technologists to verify compliance with the 
continuing education requirements. The technologists selected in the random sample shall submit 
at the time of renewal or within 30 days following notification from the department:  
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  (A) documentation of participation in and completion of continuing 
education acceptable to the department; and  

 
  (B) any additional information or documentation deemed necessary by the 

department to verify the technologist's compliance with the continuing education requirements.  
 
  (2) The department shall notify the technologist of the results of the verification 

process.  
 
 (f) Determination of contact hour credits. The department shall credit continuing 
education experiences and activities as follows.  

 
  (1) Semester hour or quarter hour credits as set in subsection (c)(1) of this section 

shall be credited on the basis of 15 contact hour credits for each semester hour and 10 contact 
hour credits for each quarter hour successfully completed with a grade of "C" or better, 
evidenced by an official transcript.  

 
  (2) Activities or experiences as set out in subsection (c)(2) and (3) of this section 

shall be credited on a one-for-one basis with one contact hour credit for each contact hour of 
attendance and participation. Credit will be accepted only in whole hour or half-hour increments. 
Minutes in excess of whole or half-hour increments shall not be aggregated for additional credit.  
 
 (g) Activities unacceptable as continuing education. The department shall not grant credit 
for:  

 
  (1) education incidental to the regular professional activities of an MRT, LMRT 

or NCT such as learning from experience or research;  
 
  (2) organizational activity such as serving on committees or councils or as an 

officer in a professional association, society, or other organization;  
 
  (3) any activities completed before or after the two-year continuing education 

period for which the credit is submitted;  
 
  (4) verifiable independent study activities which have no post-test or other 

measurement or evaluation instrument provided;  
 
  (5) verifiable independent study activities as set out in subsection (a)(5) of this 

section which exceed 50% of the clock hour requirements;  
 
  (6) learning activities indirectly related to radiologic technology as set out in 

subsection (b)(3) of this section which exceed 50% of the contact hour requirements;  
 
  (7) learning activities which are related to non-ionizing forms of radiation as set 

out in subsection (b)(2) of this section which exceed 50% of the contact hour requirements;  
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  (8) any activities or experiences which do not meet the criteria set out in 
subsections (a), (b), (c) or (d) of this section;  

 
  (9) activities in accordance with subsection (d)(1) and (2) of this section which 

are repeated during the renewal period;  
 
  (10) activities in accordance with subsection (d)(4) of this section in excess of the 

one-time credit per topic of instruction or in excess of a total of 6 contact hours during a 
continuing education period;  

 
  (11) activities in accordance with subsection (d)(5) of this section in excess of 6 

contact hours during a continuing education period; or 
 
  (12) activities that are an employment requirement or concerning specific 

institutional policies and procedures.  
 
 (h) Failure to complete the required continuing education. A person may renew late under 
§140.510(f) of this title (relating to Certificate Issuance, Renewals, and Late Renewals) after all 
the continuing education requirements have been met.  
 
 (i) Exemptions. The department will consider granting an exemption from the continuing 
education requirement on a case-by-case basis if:  

 
  (1) a technologist completes and forwards to the department a sworn affidavit 

indicating retirement status for the entire renewal period for which the exemption is requested. A 
technologist who has been granted this exemption and who desires to resume performing 
radiologic procedures shall be required to accrue continuing education hours. These hours shall 
be accrued immediately following the technologist's return to performing radiologic procedures 
to satisfy the continuing education requirements for renewal in accordance with subsection (a) of 
this section; 

 
  (2) a technologist completes and forwards to the department a sworn affidavit 

indicating that the technologist is employed but does not perform radiologic procedures for the 
entire renewal period. A technologist who has been granted this exemption and who desires to 
resume performing radiologic procedures shall be required to accrue continuing education hours. 
These hours shall accrue immediately following the technologist's return to performing 
radiologic procedures to satisfy the continuing education requirements for renewal in accordance 
with subsection (a) of this section;  

 
  (3) a technologist shows reasons of health, certified by a licensed physician, that 

prevent compliance with the continuing education requirement for the entire renewal period. A 
technologist must complete and forward to the department a sworn affidavit and provide 
documentation that clearly establishes the period of disability and resulting physical limitations;  

 
  (4) a technologist submits a sworn statement and shows reason which prevents 

compliance and the reason is acceptable to the department;  
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  (5) a technologist is called to or on active duty with the armed forces of the 

United States for the entire renewal period and so long as the technologist does not administer a 
radiologic procedure in a setting outside of the active duty responsibilities during the time on 
active duty. The technologist must file a copy of orders to active military duty with the 
department; or  

 
  (6) a technologist submits proof of successful completion of an advanced level 

examination or an entry level examination in another discipline of radiologic technology 
administered or approved by the ARRT during the renewal period. All examinations shall be 
topics dealing with ionizing forms of radiation administered to human beings for medical 
purposes.  
 
 (j) Partial exemption. The department may consider granting an exemption for one-half 
of the continuing education requirement if the technologist submits proof of successful 
completion during the renewal period of an examination accepted by the department in a topic 
dealing with non-ionizing radiation. The balance of the hours must be directly related to the 
performance of a radiologic procedure utilizing ionizing radiation in accordance with subsection 
(b)(1) of this section. The following are examinations accepted by the department:  

 
  (1) the registry examination offered by the American Registry of Diagnostic 

Medical Sonographers; and  
 
  (2) the advanced-level examination in non-ionizing imaging offered by the 

ARRT.  
 
 (k) Denial of request for exemption. A technologist whose request for exemption is 
denied by the department may request a hearing on the denial within 30 days after the date the 
department notified the technologist of the exemption denial. If no hearing is requested in 
writing within 30 days, the opportunity for hearing shall be waived.  
 
 (l) Record keeping. An MRT, LMRT or NCT shall be responsible for keeping, for a 
period of not less than two years, accurate and complete documentation or other records of 
continuing education reported to the department. An MRT, LMRT or NCT shall submit 
documentation of attendance and participation in continuing education activities upon written 
request by the department. 
 
§140.512. Changes of Name and Address. 
 
 (a) The certificate holder shall notify the department of changes in name, preferred 
mailing address, or place(s) of business or employment within 30 calendar days of such 
change(s).  
 
 (b) Notification of address changes shall be made in writing including the name, mailing 
address, and zip code and be mailed to the department.  
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 (c) Before any certificate and identification cards will be issued by the department, 
notification of name changes must be mailed to the department and shall include a copy of a 
marriage certificate, court decree evidencing such change, or a social security card reflecting the 
new name. The certificate holder shall submit a certified check or money order for the 
replacement fee, as set out in §140.504 of this title (relating to Fees). Upon receipt of the new 
certificate and identification cards, the MRT , LMRT, or NCT shall return the previously issued 
certificate and cards immediately to the department.  
 
§140.513. Certifying Persons with Criminal Backgrounds. 
 
 (a) This section sets out the guidelines and criteria for the eligibility of persons with 
criminal backgrounds to obtain certification as a medical radiology technologist, limited medical 
radiologic technologist or non-certified technician.   

 
  (1) The department may suspend or revoke any existing certificate, disqualify a 

person from receiving any certificate, or deny to a person the opportunity to be examined for a 
certificate if the person is convicted of, enters a plea of nolo contendere or guilty to a felony or 
misdemeanor if the crime directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of a MRT, LMRT or 
NCT.  

 
  (2) In considering whether a pleading of nolo contendere or a criminal conviction 

directly relates to the occupation of an MRT, LMRT, or NCT the department shall consider:  
 
  (A) the nature and seriousness of the crime;  
 
  (B) the relationship of the crime to the purposes for certification; 
 
  (C) the extent to which a certification might offer an opportunity to engage 

in further criminal activity of the same type as that which the person previously has been 
involved; 

 
 (3) The following felonies and misdemeanors apply to any certificate because 

these criminal offenses indicate an inability or a tendency to be unable to perform as an MRT, 
LMRT, or NCT:  

 
  (A) the misdemeanor of knowingly or intentionally acting as an MRT, 

LMRT, or NCT without a certificate under the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification 
Act (the Act);  

 
  (B) any misdemeanor and/or felony offense defined as a crime of moral 

turpitude by statute or common law; 
 
  (C) a misdemeanor or felony offense involving: 
 
   (i) forgery; 
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   (ii) tampering with a governmental record; 
 
   (iii) delivery, possession, manufacturing, or use of controlled 

substances and dangerous drugs; 
 
  (D) a misdemeanor or felony offense under various titles of the Texas 

Penal Code:  
 
  (i) Title 5 concerning offenses against the person;  
 
  (ii) Title 7 concerning offenses against property;  
 
  (iii) Title 9 concerning offenses against public order and decency;  
 
  (iv) Title 10 concerning offenses against public health, safety, and 

morals; and  
 
  (v) Title 4 concerning offenses of attempting or conspiring to 

commit any of the offenses in this subsection;  
 
  (E) the extent to which any certificate might offer an opportunity to 

engage in further criminal activity of the same type as that in which the person previously had 
been involved; and 

 
  (F) the relationship of the crime to the ability, capacity, or fitness required 

to perform the duties and discharge the responsibility of an MRT, NCT or LMRT. In making this 
determination, the department will apply the criteria outlined in Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 53, the legal authority for the provisions of this section.  

 
  (4) The misdemeanors and felonies listed in paragraph (3) of this subsection are 

not inclusive in that the department may consider other particular crimes in special cases in order 
to promote the intent of the Act and these sections.  
 
 (b) Procedures for revoking, suspending, or denying a certificate or temporary certificate 
to persons with criminal backgrounds.  

 
  (1) The administrator shall give written notice to the person that the department 

intends to deny, suspend, or revoke the certificate or temporary certificate after hearing in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, the Government Code, 
Chapter 2001, and the formal hearing procedures in §§1.21, 1.23, 1.25 and 1.27 of this title.  

 
  (2) If the department denies, suspends, or revokes a certificate or temporary 

certificate under these sections after hearing, the administrator shall give the person written 
notice:  

 
  (A) of the reasons for the decision;  
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  (B) that the person, after exhausting administrative appeals, may file an 

action in a District Court of Travis County for review of the evidence presented to the 
department and its decision; and  

 
  (C) that the person must begin the judicial review by filing a petition with 

the court within 30 days after the department's action is final and appealable. 
 
§140.514. Disciplinary Actions. 
 
 (a) The department is authorized to take the following disciplinary actions for the 
violation of any provisions of the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act (Act) or 
this chapter:  

 
  (1) suspension, revocation, or nonrenewal of a certificate;  
 
  (2) rescission of curriculum, training program, or instructor approval;  
 
  (3) denial of an application for certification or approval;  
 
  (4) assessment of a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for each 

separate violation of the Act;  
 
  (5) issuance of a reprimand; or  
 
  (6) placement of the offender's certificate on probation and requiring compliance 

with a requirement of the department, including submitting to medical or psychological 
treatment, meeting additional educational requirements, passing an examination, or working 
under the supervision of an MRT or other practitioner.  
 
 (b) The department may take disciplinary action against a person subject to the Act for:  

 
  (1) obtaining or attempting to obtain a certificate issued under the Act by bribery 

or fraud;  
 
  (2) making or filing a false report or record made in the person's capacity as an 

MRT;  
 
  (3) intentionally or negligently failing to file a report or record required by law;  
 
  (4) intentionally obstructing or inducing another to intentionally obstruct the filing 

of a report or record required by law;  
 
  (5) engaging in unprofessional conduct, including the violation of the standards of 

practice of radiologic technology established by the department;  
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  (6) developing an incapacity that prevents the practice of radiologic technology 
with reasonable skill, competence, and safety to the public as the result of:  

 
  (A) an illness;  
 
  (B) drug or alcohol dependency; or  
 
  (C) another physical or mental condition or illness;  

 
  (7) failing to report to the department the violation of the Act or any allegations of 

sexual misconduct by another person;  
 
  (8) employing, for the purpose of applying ionizing radiation to a person, a person 

who is not certified under or in compliance with the Act;  
 
  (9) violating a provision of the Act or this chapter, an order of the department 

previously entered in a disciplinary proceeding, or an order to comply with a subpoena issued by 
the department;  

 
  (10) having a certificate revoked, suspended, or otherwise subjected to adverse 

action or being denied a certificate by another certification authority in another state, territory, or 
country; or  

 
  (11) being convicted of or pleading nolo contendere to a crime directly related to 

the practice of radiologic technology.  
 
 (c) Engaging in unprofessional conduct means the following:  

 
  (1) making any misleading, deceptive, or false representations in connection with 

service rendered;  
 
  (2) engaging in conduct that is prohibited by state, federal, or local law, including 

those laws prohibiting the use, possession, or distribution of drugs or alcohol;  
 
  (3) performing a radiologic procedure on a patient or client which has not been 

authorized by a practitioner;  
 
  (4) aiding or abetting a person in violating the Act or rules adopted under the Act;  
 
  (5) any practice or omission that fails to conform to accepted principles and 

standards of the medical radiologic technology profession;  
 
  (6) performing a radiologic procedure which results in mental or physical injury 

to a patient or which creates an unreasonable risk that the patient may be mentally or physically 
harmed;  
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  (7) misappropriating medications, supplies, equipment, or personal items of the 
patient, client or employer;  

 
  (8) performing or attempting to perform radiologic procedures in which the 

person is not trained by experience or education or in which the procedure is performed without 
appropriate supervision;  

 
  (9) performing or attempting to perform any medical procedure which relates to 

or is necessary for the performance of a radiologic procedure and for which the person is not 
trained by experience or education or when the procedure is performed without appropriate 
supervision;  

 
  (10) performing a radiologic procedure which is not within the scope of an 

LMRT's certificate, as set out in §140.507(e) of this title (relating to Types of Certificates and 
Applicant Eligibility); 

 
  (11) performing a radiologic procedure which is not within the scope of an NCT's 

registration, as set out in §140.518(a) of this title (related to Mandatory Training Programs for 
Non-Certified Technicians);   

 
  (12) disclosing confidential information concerning a patient or client except 

where required or allowed by law;  
 

  (13) failing to adequately supervise a person in the performance of radiologic 
procedures;  

 
  (14) providing false or misleading information on an application for employment 

to perform radiologic procedures;  
 
  (15) providing information which is false, misleading, or deceptive regarding the 

status of certification; registration with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists, 
Cardiovascular Credentialing International, or Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification 
Board; or licensure by another country, state, territory, or the District of Columbia;  

 
  (16) discriminating on the basis of race, creed, gender, sexual orientation, 

religion, national origin, age, physical handicaps or economic status in the performance of 
radiologic procedures;  

 
  (17) impersonating or acting as a proxy for an examination candidate for any 

examination required for certification;  
 
  (18) acting as a proxy for an MRT, LMRT, or NCT at any continuing education 

required under §140.511 of this title (relating to Continuing Education Requirements);  
 
  (19) obtaining, attempting to obtain, or assisting another to obtain certification or 

placement on the registry by bribery or fraud;  
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  (20) making abusive, harassing or seductive remarks to a patient, client or co-

worker in the workplace or engaging in sexual contact with a patient or client in the workplace;  
 
  (21) misleadingly, deceptively or falsely offering to provide education or training 

relating to radiologic technology;  
 
  (22) failing to complete the continuing education requirements for renewal as set 

out in §140.511 of this title;  
 
  (23) failing to document the continuing education requirements for renewal as 

required by the department;  
 
  (24) failing to cooperate with the department by not furnishing required 

documents or responding to a request for information or a subpoena issued by the department or 
the department's authorized representative;  

 
  (25) interfering with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful 

misrepresentation of facts to the department or its authorized representative or by use of threats 
or harassment against any person;  

 
  (26) failing to follow appropriate safety standards or the Texas Regulations for the 

Control of Radiation in the operation of diagnostic or therapeutic radiologic equipment or the use 
of radioactive materials;  

 
  (27) failing to adhere to universal precautions or infection control standards as 

required by the Health and Safety Code, Chapter 85, Subchapter I;  
 
  (28) defaulting on a guaranteed student loan, as provided in the Education Code, 

§57.491;  
 
  (29) assaulting any person in connection with the practice of radiologic 

technology or in the workplace;  
 
  (30) intentionally or knowingly offering to pay or agreeing to accept any 

remuneration directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, to or from any person, 
firm, association of persons, partnership, or corporation for securing or soliciting patients or 
patronage to or from a person licensed, certified or registered by a state health care regulatory 
agency. The provisions of the Health and Safety Code, §161.091, concerning the prohibition of 
illegal remuneration apply to MRTs and LMRTs;  

 
  (31) using or permitting or allowing the use of the person's name, certificate, or 

professional credentials in a way that the person knows, or with the exercise of reasonable 
diligence should know:  
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  (A) violates the Act, this chapter or department rule relating to the 
performance of radiologic procedures; or  

 
  (B) is fraudulent, deceitful or misleading;  

 
  (32) knowingly allowing a student enrolled in an education program to perform a 

radiologic procedure without direct supervision; or  
 
  (33) knowingly concealing information relating to enforcement of the Act or this 

chapter.  
 
  (34) failing reasonably to protect the certificate from fraudulent or unlawful use.  
 
  (35) engaging in sexual conduct in the workplace. A MRT, LMRT, NCT or a 

temporary certificate holder shall not engage in sexual conduct with a client, patient, co-worker, 
employee, staff member, contract employee, MRT, LMRT, NCT or temporary certificate holder 
on the premises of any job establishment. For the purposes of this section, sexual conduct 
includes:  

 
  (A) any touching of any part of the genitalia or anus except as necessary 

for the performance of a radiologic procedure as defined in §140.502 of this title (relating to 
Definitions);  

 
  (B) any touching of the breasts of a female except as necessary for the 

performance of a radiologic procedure as defined in §140.502 of this title;  
 
  (C) any offer or agreement to engage in any activity described in this 

subsection;  
 
  (D) sexual contact in the work place without the consent of both persons;  
 
  (E) deviate sexual intercourse, sexual contact, sexual intercourse, indecent 

exposure, sexual assault, prostitution, and promotion of prostitution as described in the Texas 
Penal Code, Chapters 21, 22, and 43, or any offer or agreement to engage in any such activities;  

 
  (F) any behavior, gestures, or expressions which may reasonably be 

interpreted as inappropriately seductive or sexual; or  
 
  (G) inappropriate sexual comments, including making sexual comments 

about a person's body.  
 
 (d) A person subject to disciplinary action under subsection (b)(6) of this section shall, at 
reasonable intervals, be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate that the person is able to resume 
the practice of radiologic technology.  
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 (e) An instructor engages in unprofessional conduct if the instructor violates any of the 
provisions of subsection (b) or (c) of this section or if the instructor:  

 
  (1) is an MRT or LMRT who fails to renew the certificate;  
 
  (2) is a practitioner who fails to renew his or her license or who has the license 

suspended, revoked, or otherwise restricted by the appropriate regulatory agency;  
 
  (3) discriminates in decisions regarding student recruitment, selection of 

applicants, student training or instruction on the basis of race, creed, gender, religion, national 
origin, age, physical handicaps, sexual orientation, or economic status;  

 
  (4) abandons an approved course of study or a training program with currently 

enrolled students;  
 
  (5) knowingly provides false or misleading information on the application for 

instructor approval or on any student's application for certification; or  
 
  (6) fails to provide instruction on universal precautions as required by the Health 

and Safety Code, §85.203.  
 
 (f) An education program engages in unprofessional conduct if the program, including its 
employees or agents, violates any of the provisions of subsection (b) or (c) of this section or if 
the program:  

 
  (1) makes any misleading, deceptive, or false representations in connection with 

offering or obtaining approval of an education program;  
 
  (2) fails to follow appropriate safety standards or the TRCR in the operation of 

diagnostic or therapeutic radiologic equipment or the use of radioactive materials;  
 
  (3) discriminates in decisions regarding student recruitment, selection of 

applicants, student training or instruction on the basis of race, creed, gender, sexual orientation, 
age, physical handicaps, economic status, religion or national origin;  

 
  (4) aids or abets a person in violating the Act or rules adopted under the Act;  
 
  (5) abandons an approved education program with currently enrolled students; or  
 
  (6) fails to provide instruction on universal precautions as required by the Health 

and Safety Code, Section 85, Subchapter I.  
 
 (g) The department may take disciplinary action against a student for intentionally 
practicing radiologic technology without direct supervision.  
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 (h) In determining the appropriate action to be imposed in each case, the department shall 
take into consideration the following factors:  

 
  (1) the severity of the offense;  
 
  (2) the danger to the public;  
 
  (3) the number of repetitions of offenses;  
 
  (4) the length of time since the date of the violation;  
 
  (5) the number and type of previous disciplinary cases filed against the person or 

program;  
 
  (6) the length of time the person has performed radiologic procedures;  
 
  (7) the length of time the instructor or education program has been approved;  
 
  (8) the actual damage, physical or otherwise, to the patient or student, if 

applicable;  
 
  (9) the deterrent effect of the penalty imposed;  
 
  (10) the effect of the penalty upon the livelihood of the person or program;  
 
  (11) any efforts for rehabilitation; and 
 
  (12) any other mitigating or aggravating circumstances.  

 
 (i) Formal hearing requirements:  

 
  (1) Notice requirements.  

 
  (A) Notice of the hearing shall be given according to the notice 

requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act (APA).  
 
  (B) If a party fails to appear or be represented at a hearing after receiving 

notice, the Administrative Law Judge examiner may proceed with the hearing or take whatever 
action is fair and appropriate under the circumstances.  

 
  (C) All parties shall timely notify the Administrative Law Judge of any 

changes in their mailing addresses.  
 
  (2) Parties to the hearing.  
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  (A) The parties to the hearing shall be the applicant or licensee and the 
complaints subcommittee or executive director, as appropriate.  

 
  (B) A party may appear personally or be represented by counsel or both.  

 
  (3) Prehearing conferences.  

 
  (A) In a contested case, the Administrative Law Judge, on his own motion 

or the motion of a party, may direct the parties to appear at a specified time and place for a 
conference prior to the hearing for the purpose of:  

 
   (i) the formulation and simplification of issues;  
 
   (ii) the necessity or desirability of amending the pleading;  
 
   (iii) the possibility of making admissions or stipulations;  
 
   (iv) the procedure at the hearing.  
 
   (v) specifying the number of witnesses;  
 
   (vi) the mutual exchange of prepared testimony and exhibits;  
 
   (vii) the designation of parties; and  
 
   (viii) other matters which may be expedite the hearing.  

 
  (B) The Administrative Law Judge shall have the minutes of the 

conference recorded in an appropriate manner and shall issue whatever orders are necessary 
covering said matters or issues.  

 
  (C) Any action taken at the prehearing conference may be reduced to 

writing, signed by the parties, are made a part of the record.  
 
  (4) Assessing the cost of a court reporter and the record of the hearing.  

 
  (A) In the event a court reporter is utilized in the making of the record of 

the proceedings, the department shall bear the cost of the per diem or other appearance fee for 
such reporter.  

 
  (B) The department may prepare, or order the preparation of, a transcript 

(statement of facts) of the hearing upon the written request of any party. The department may 
pay the cost of the transcript or assess the cost to one or more parties.  

 
  (C) In the event a final decision of the department is appealed to the 

district court wherein the department is required to transmit to the reviewing court a copy of the 
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record of the hearing proceeding, or any part thereof, the department may be require the 
appealing party to pay all or part of the cost of preparations of the original or a certified copy of 
the record of the department proceedings that is required to be transmitted to the reviewing court.  

 
  (5) Disposition of case. Unless precluded by law, informal disposition may be 

made of any contested case by agreed settlement order or default order.  
 
  (6) Agreements in writing. No stipulation or agreement between the parties with 

regard to any matter involved in any proceeding shall be enforced unless it shall have been 
reduced to writing and signed by the parties or their authorized representatives, dictated into the 
record during the course of a hearing, or incorporated in an order bearing their written approval. 
This rule does not limit a party's ability to waive, modify, or stipulate away any right or privilege 
afforded by these sections.  

 
  (7) Final orders or decisions.  

 
  (A) The final order or decision will be rendered by the department. The 

department is not required to adopt the recommendation of the Administrative Law Judge and 
may take action as it deems appropriate and lawful.  

 
  (B) All final orders or decisions shall be in writing and shall set forth the 

findings of fact and conclusions required by law.  
 
  (C) All final orders shall be signed by the commissioner; however, interim 

orders may be issued by the Administrative Law Judge.  
 
  (D) A copy of all final orders and decisions shall be timely provided to all 

parties as required by law.  
 
  (8) Motion for rehearing. A motion for rehearing shall be governed by the APA, 

Texas Government Code, §2001.146, and shall be addressed to the department and filed with the 
administrator.  

 
  (9) Appeals. Subchapter G, Texas Government Code, all appeals from final 

department orders or decisions shall be governed by the APA and communications regarding any 
appeal shall be to the administrator.  
 
 (j) The following applies after disciplinary action has been taken.  

 
  (1) The department may not reinstate a certificate to a holder or cause a certificate 

to be issued to an applicant previously denied a certificate unless the department is satisfied that 
the holder or applicant has complied with requirements set by the department and is capable of 
engaging in the practice of radiologic technology. The person is responsible for securing and 
providing to the department such evidence, as may be required by the department. The 
administrator or the department shall investigate prior to making a determination.  
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  (2) During the time of suspension, the former certificate holder shall return the 
certificate and identification card(s) to the department.  

 
  (3) If a suspension overlaps a certificate renewal period, the former certificate 

holder shall comply with the normal renewal procedures in this chapter; however, the department 
may not renew the certificate until the administrator or the department determines that the 
reasons for suspension have been removed and that the person is capable of engaging in the 
practice of radiologic technology.  

 
  (4) If the commissioner of health revokes or does not renew the certificate, the 

former certificate holder may reapply in order to obtain a new certificate by complying with the 
requirements and procedures at the time of reapplication. The department may not issue a new 
certificate until the administrator or the department determines that the reasons for revocation or 
nonrenewal have been removed and that the person is capable of engaging in the practice of 
radiologic technology. An investigation may be required.  

 
  (5) If the commissioner rescinds the approval of an instructor or program, the 

formerly approved instructor or program may reapply for approval by complying with the 
requirements and procedures at the time of reapplication. Approval will not be issued until the 
administrator or the department determines that the reasons for revocation have been removed. 
An investigation may be required.  
 
 (k) Pursuant to the Act, §601.351, the department is authorized to assess an 
administrative penalty against a person who violates the Act or this chapter. 
 
§140.515. Advertising or Competitive Bidding. 
 
 (a) The department may not adopt rules restricting advertising or competitive bidding by 
a medical radiologic technologist except to prohibit false, misleading, or deceptive practices.  
 
 (b) A person, including a medical radiologic technologist, who is not certified under the 
Act shall not use the word "medical radiologic technologist", on any sign, display, or other form 
of advertising unless the person is expressly exempt from the certification requirement.  
 
 (c) A certificate holder shall not use advertising that is false, misleading, or deceptive or 
that is not readily subject to verification. False, misleading, or deceptive advertising or 
advertising that is not really subject to verification includes advertising that:  

 
  (1) makes a material misrepresentation of fact or omits a fact necessary to make 

the statement as a whole not materially misleading;  
 
  (2) makes a representation likely to create an unjustified expectation about the 

results of a health care service or procedure;  
 
  (3) compares a health care professional's services with another health care 

professional's services unless the comparison can be factually substantiated;  
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  (4) contains a testimonial;  
 
  (5) causes confusion or misunderstanding as to the credentials, education, or 

registration of a health care professional;  
 
  (6) advertises or represents that health care insurance deductibles or co-payments 

may be waived or are not applicable to health care services to be provided if the deductibles or 
co-payments are required;  

 
  (7) advertises or represents that the benefits of a health benefit plan will be 

accepted as full payment when deductibles or co-payments are required;  
 
  (8) makes a representation that is designed to take advantage of the fears or 

emotions of a particularly susceptible type of patient; or  
 
  (9) advertises or represents in the use of a professional name, title or professional 

identification that is expressly or commonly reserved to or used by another profession or 
professional.  
 
 (d) When an assumed name is used in a person's practice as a medical radiologic 
technologist, limited medical radiologic technologist, or non-certified technician the legal name 
or certificate number of the medical radiologic technologist, limited medical radiologic 
technologist, or non-certified technician must be listed in conjunction with the assumed name. 
An assumed name used by a medical radiologic technologist, limited medical radiologic 
technologist, or non-certified technician must not be false, misleading, or deceptive.  
 
 (e) A limited medical radiologic technology educational program or a training program 
for non-certified technicians shall not make false, misleading, or deceptive statements 
concerning the activities or programs of another limited medical radiologic technology education 
program or a training program for non-certified technicians.  
 
 (f) A limited medical radiologic technology educational program or a training program 
for non-certified technicians shall not maintain, advertise, solicit for or conduct any course of 
instruction intended to qualify a person for certification or placement on the registry without first 
obtaining approval from the department.  
 
 (g) Advertisement by an educational or training program seeking prospective students 
must clearly indicate that training is being offered, and shall not, either by actual statement, 
omission, or intimation, imply that prospective employees are being sought.  
 
 (h) Advertisements seeking prospective students must include the full and correct name 
of the educational or training program.  
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 (i) No statement or representation shall be made to prospective or enrolled students that 
employment will be guaranteed upon completion of any program or that falsely represents 
opportunities for employment.  
 
 (j) No statement shall be made by an educational or training program that it has been 
accredited unless the accreditation is that of an appropriate nationally recognized accrediting 
agency listed by the United States Office of Education.  
 
 (k) No educational or training program shall advertise an employment agency under the 
same name or a confusingly similar name or at the same location as the educational or training 
program. No representative shall solicit students for a program through an employment agency. 
 
§140.516. Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures. 
 
 (a) General. This section identifies radiologic procedures which are dangerous or 
hazardous and may only be performed by a practitioner, medical radiologic technologist (MRT) 
or limited medical radiologic technologist (LMRT). There are specific procedures identified in 
§140.517 of this title (relating to Registered Nurses and Physician Assistants Performing 
Radiologic Procedures) which may be performed by a registered nurse (RN) or a physician 
assistant trained under §140.518 of this title (relating to Mandatory Training Programs for Non-
Certified Technicians) or §140.522 of this title (relating to Alternative Training Programs). A 
person trained under §140.518 or §140.522 of this title is not an MRT, LMRT or otherwise 
certified under the Act and shall not perform a dangerous or hazardous procedure identified in 
this section unless expressly permitted by this section or by §140.517 of this title.  
 
 (b) Dangerous procedures. Except as otherwise provide in this chapter, the list of 
dangerous procedures which may only be performed by a practitioner or MRT are:  

 
  (1) nuclear medicine studies to include positron emission tomography (PET);  
 
  (2) administration of radio-pharmaceuticals; administration does not include 

preparation or dispensing except as regulated under the authority of the Texas State Board of 
Pharmacy; 

 
  (3) radiation therapy, including simulation, brachytherapy and all external 

radiation therapy beams including Grenz rays:  
 
  (4) computed tomography (CT) or any variation thereof;  
 
  (5) interventional radiographic procedures, including angiography, unless 

performed by an LMRT with a certificate issued in the cardiovascular category;  
 
  (6) fluoroscopy unless performed by an LMRT with a certificate issued in the 

cardiovascular category; and  
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  (7) cineradiography (including digital acquisition techniques), unless performed 
by an LMRT with a certificate issued in the cardiovascular category.  
 
 (c) Hazardous procedures. Unless otherwise noted, the list of hazardous procedures 
which may only be performed by a practitioner or MRT are:  

 
  (1) conventional tomography;  
 
  (2) skull radiography, excluding anterior-posterior/posterior-anterior (AP/PA), 

lateral, Townes, Caldwell, and Waters views;  
 
  (3) portable x-ray equipment;  
 
  (4) spine radiography, excluding AP/PA, lateral and lateral flexion/extension 

views;  
 
  (5) spine radiography;  
 
  (6) shoulder girdle radiographs, excluding AP and lateral shoulder views, AP 

clavicle and AP scapula;  
 
  (7) pelvic girdle radiographs, excluding AP or PA views;  
 
  (8) sternum radiographs; and  
 
  (9) radiographic procedures which utilize contrast media;  
 
  (10) pediatric radiography, excluding extremities, unless performed by an LMRT 

with the appropriate category.   Pediatric studies must be performed with radioprotection so that 
proper collimation and shielding is utilized during all exposures sequences during pediatric 
studies. If an emergency condition exists which threatens serious bodily injury, protracted loss of 
use of a bodily function or death of a pediatric patient unless the procedure is performed without 
delay, or if other extenuating circumstances deemed by the practitioner exist, a pediatric 
radiographic procedure is also excluded. The emergency condition or extenuating circumstance 
must be documented by the ordering practitioner in the patient's clinical record and the record 
must document that a regularly scheduled MRT, LMRT, RN or physician assistant is not 
reasonably available to perform the procedure.  
 
 (d) Performance of a hazardous procedure by an LMRT. An LMRT may perform a 
radiologic procedure listed in subsection (c) of this section only if the procedure is within the 
scope of the LMRT's certification, as described in §140.507(f) of this title (relating to Types of 
Certificates and Applicant Eligibility).  
 
 (e) Performance of a dangerous or hazardous procedure by a practitioner. This section 
does not authorize a practitioner to perform a radiologic procedure which is outside the scope of 
the practitioner's license.  
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 (f) Dental radiography. This section does not apply to a radiologic procedure involving a 
dental x-ray machine, including panarex or other equipment designed and manufactured only for 
use in dental radiography.  
 
 (g) Mammography. In accordance with the Health and Safety Code, §401.421 et seq, 
mammography is a radiologic procedure which may only be performed by an MRT who meets 
the qualifications set out in 25 TAC Chapter 289 of the Radiation Control Program rules relating 
to mammography. Mammography shall not be performed by an LMRT, an NCT, or any other 
person.  
 
 (h) Student performance of dangerous or hazardous procedures. The procedures 
identified in this section are not considered dangerous and hazardous for purposes of §601.056(a) 
of the Act if the person performing the procedures is a student enrolled in a program which 
meets the minimum standards adopted under §601.056 of the Act and if the person is performing 
radiologic procedures in an academic or clinical setting as part of the program. Therefore, such 
students may perform these procedures in such settings. Students may not perform procedures in 
an employment setting. 
 
§140.517. Registered Nurses and Physician Assistants Performing Radiologic Procedures. 
 
 (a) An appropriately trained registered nurse (RN) or physician assistant (PA) may 
perform the following procedures: 

 
  (1) administration of radio-pharmaceuticals, performed by an RN or physician 

assistant who is appropriately trained as authorized by the department's Radiation Control 
Program for licensure of radioactive materials and who meets the training requirements 
identified in §140.518 of this title (relating to Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified 
Technicians) or §140.522 of this title (relating to Alternate Training Requirements); 
administration does not include preparation or dispensing as regulated under the authority of the 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy. 

 
  (2) fluoroscopy by an RN or physician assistant who assists in the performance of 

the procedure under the direct supervision of a practitioner. 
 
  (3) spine radiography lumbar oblique views performed by an RN or physician 

assistant who performs the procedure under the supervision of a practitioner.  
 
  (4) shoulder girdle radiographs  – AP and lateral shoulder views, AP clavicle and 

AP scapula performed by an RN or physician assistant who performs the procedure under the 
direct supervision of a practitioner. 

 
  (5) sternum radiographs performed by an RN or physician assistant under the 

direct supervision of a practitioner; and  
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  (6) radiographic procedures which utilize contrast media, performed by an RN or 
physician assistant who assists in the performance of the procedure under the supervision of a 
practitioner.  

 
  (7) pediatric radiography performed by an RN or physician assistant who is 

appropriately trained, as set out in §140.518 or §140.522 of this title. 
 
 (b) Appropriately trained in this section means an RN or physician assistant must be 
trained under §140.518 of this title or §140.522 of this title, or have been approved to perform 
radiologic procedures under a hardship exemption granted under §140.520 of this title (relating 
to Hardship Exemptions), in addition to performing the listed procedure under the direction and 
supervision of a practitioner. Subsections (a)(2), (a)(5), and (a)(6) of this section shall not be 
construed to authorize an RN or physician assistant to independently perform fluoroscopy or 
procedures utilizing contrast media.  
  
§140.518. Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified Technicians. 
 
 (a) General. This section sets out the minimum standards for approval of mandatory 
training programs, as required by the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act (Act), 
§601.201, which are intended to train individuals to perform radiologic procedures which have 
not been identified as dangerous or hazardous. Individuals who complete an approved training 
program may not use that training toward the educational requirements for a general or limited 
certificate. Before a person performs a radiologic procedure, the person must complete all the 
hours in subsection (d)(2)(A) - (C) of this section, and at least one unit in subsection  (d)(3)(A) - 
(G) of this subsection.  
 
 (b) Instructor direction required. All hours of the training program completed for the 
purposes of this section must be live and interactive and directed by an approved instructor. No 
credit will be given for training completed by self-directed study or correspondence.  
 
 (c) Instructor qualifications.  

 
  (1) An instructor(s) shall have education in accordance with §140.509(a) of this 

title (relating to Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors) and not less than six 
months classroom or clinical experience teaching the subjects assigned, shall meet the standards 
required by a sponsoring institution, if any, and shall meet at least one or more of the following 
qualifications:  

 
  (A) be a currently certified MRT who is also currently credentialed as a 

radiographer by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists;  
 
  (B) be a currently certified LMRT (excluding a temporary certificate) 

whose limited certificate category(ies) matches the category(ies) of instruction and training; or  
 
  (C) be a practitioner who is in good standing with all appropriate 

regulatory agencies including, but not limited to, the department, the Texas Board of 
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Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Medical Board, or Texas State Board of  Podiatric Medical 
Examiners, the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services.  

 
  (2) An LMRT may not teach, train, or provide clinical instruction in a portion of a 

training program that is different from the LMRT's level of certification. An LMRT holding a 
limited certificate in the chest and extremities categories may not participate in the portion of a 
training program relating to radiologic procedures of the spine. The LMRT may participate in the 
portions of the training program which are of a general nature and those specific to the specific 
categories on the limited certificate.  

 
 (d) Training requirements. In order to successfully complete a program, each student 
must complete the following minimum training:  

 
  (1) prerequisites recommended for admission include high school graduation or 

general equivalency diploma; certified medical assistant; graduation from a medical assistant 
program; or six months full time patient care experience, otherwise determined by the 
practitioner.  

 
  (2) courses which are fundamental to diagnostic radiologic procedures:  

 
  (A) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self and others – 22 

classroom hours;  
 
  (B) image production and evaluation – 24 classroom hours; and  
 
  (C) radiographic equipment maintenance and operation – 16 classroom 

hours which includes at least 6 hours of quality control, darkroom, processing, and Texas 
Regulations for Control of Radiation; and  

 
  (3) one or more of the following units of applied human anatomy and radiologic 

procedures of the:  
 
  (A) skull (5 views: Caldwell, Townes, Waters, AP/PA, and lateral) – 10 

classroom hours;  
 
  (B) chest – 8 classroom hours;  
 
  (C) spine – 8 classroom hours;  
 
  (D) abdomen, not including any procedures utilizing contrast media – 4 

classroom hours;  
 
  (E) upper extremities – 14 classroom hours;  
 
  (F) lower extremities – 14 classroom hours; and/or  
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  (G) podiatric – 5 classroom hours.  

 
 (e) Application procedures for training programs. An application shall be submitted to the 
department at least 30 days prior to the starting date of the training program. Official application 
forms are available from the department and must be completed and signed by an approved 
instructor, who shall be designated as the training program director. The training program 
director shall be responsible for the curriculum, the instructors, and determining whether students 
have successfully completed the training program.  

 
  (1) Official application forms must be executed in the presence of a notary public 

and shall be accompanied by the application fee in accordance with §140.504 of this title 
(relating to Fees). Photocopied signatures will not be accepted.  

 
  (2) Application forms and fees shall be mailed to the address indicated on the 

application materials. The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, or undeliverable 
application forms. An application received without the application fee will be returned to the 
applicant.  
 
 (f) Application materials. The application shall include, at a minimum:  

 
  (1) the beginning date and the anticipated length of the training program;  
 
  (2) the number of programs which will be conducted concurrently and whether 

programs will be conducted consecutively;  
 
  (3) the number of students anticipated in each program;  
 
  (4) the daily hours of operation;  
 
  (5) the location, mailing address, phone and facsimile numbers of the program;  
 
  (6) the name of the training program director;  
 
  (7) a list of the names of the approved instructors and the topics each will teach, 

and a list of management and administrative personnel and any practitioners who will participate 
in conducting the program; 

  
  (8) clearly defined and written policies regarding the criteria for admission, 

discharge, readmission and completion of the program;  
 
  (9) evidence of a structured pre-planned learning experience with specific 

outcomes;  
 
  (10) a letter or other documentation from the Texas Workforce Commission, 

Proprietary Schools Section indicating that the proposed training program has complied with or 
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has been granted exempt status under the Texas Proprietary School Act, Texas Education Code, 
Chapter 32.  If approval has been granted by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, a 
letter or other documentation is not necessary; and  

 
  (11) specific written agreements to:  

 
  (A) provide the training as set out in subsection (d) of this section and 

provide not more than 75 students per instructor in the classroom;  
 
  (B) advise students that they are prohibited from performing radiologic 

procedures which have been identified as dangerous or hazardous in accordance with §140.516 
of this title (relating to Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures) unless they become an LMRT, 
MRT or a practitioner;  

 
  (C) use written and oral examinations to periodically measure student 

progress;  
 
  (D) keep an accurate record of each student's attendance and participation 

in the program, accurate evaluation instruments and grades for not less than five years. Such 
records shall be made available upon request by the department or any governmental agency 
having authority;  

 
  (E) issue to each student who successfully completes the program a 

certificate or written statement including the name of the student, name of the program, dates of 
attendance and the types of radiologic procedures covered in the program completed by the 
student;  

 
  (F) retain an accurate copy for not less than five years and submit an 

accurate copy of the document described in subparagraph (E) of this paragraph to the department 
within 30 days of the issuance of the document to the student; and  

 
  (G) permit site inspections by employees or representatives of the 

department to determine compliance with this section.  
 
 (g) Application approval.  

 
  (1) The administrator shall be responsible for reviewing all applications for 

training program approval. The administrator shall approve any application which is in 
compliance with this section. A letter of approval shall be issued for a period of one year.  

 
  (2) A program shall be denied approval if the application is incomplete or not 

submitted as set out in this section. The training program director shall be notified in accordance 
with §113.1 of this title (relating to Processing Permits for Special Health Services 
Professionals).  

 



 

Proposed - 63 

  (3) If approval is proposed to be denied, the training program director shall be 
notified in writing of the proposed denial and shall be given an opportunity to request a formal 
hearing within ten days of the training program director's receipt of the written notice from the 
department. The formal hearing shall be conducted according to the department's formal hearing 
procedures. If no hearing is requested, the right to a hearing is waived and the proposed action 
shall be taken.  
 
 (h) Application processing. The department shall use the same process as described in 
§140.506(e) of this title (relating to Application Requirements and Procedures for Examination 
and Certification), except the time periods are as follows:  

 
  (1) letter of acceptance – 30 working days;  
 
  (2) letter of application deficiency—30 working days;  
 
  (3) letter of approval – 42 working days; and  
 
  (4) letter of denial of approval – 42 working days.  

 
 (i) Renewal.  

 
  (1) The training program director shall be responsible for renewing the approval 

of the training program on or before the anniversary date of the initial application.  
 
  (2) The department shall send a renewal notice to the training program at least 60 

days prior to the anniversary date. The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, 
undeliverable or misplaced mail.  

 
  (3) The renewal is effective if the official renewal form and fee in accordance 

with §140.504 of this title are postmarked or delivered to the department on or before the 
anniversary date.  

 
  (4) Failure to submit the renewal form and renewal fee in accordance with 

§140.504 of this title by the deadline will result in the expiration of the training program's 
approval.  

 
  (5) A training program which does not renew the approval shall cease 

representing the program as an approved training program. The program director shall notify, or 
cause the notification of currently enrolled students that the training program is no longer 
approved under this section. The notification shall be in writing and must be issued within ten 
days of the expiration of the approval.  

 
  (6) The training program may reapply for approval and meet the then current 

requirements for approval under this section. 
 
§140.519. Registry of Non-Certified Technicians. 
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 (a) General. This section sets forth the rules for administering the registry of non-certified 
technicians performing radiologic procedures, established in accordance with the Act, §601.202. 
The department's registry is to provide a mechanism for consumers or employers to ascertain or 
verify that a person performing radiologic procedures has complied with the Act, §601.201,by 
successfully completing a training program in accordance with §140.518 of this title (relating to 
Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified Technicians) or §140.522 of this title (relating 
to Alternate Training Requirements).  
 
 (b) Information on the application for the registry. The application shall include the 
information as follows for each person on the registry:  

 
  (1) full name;  
 
  (2) current mailing address;  
 
  (3) place of employment, including address, city and state;  
 
  (4) date of birth;  
 
  (5) social security number;  
 
  (6) gender;  
 
  (7) a copy of the training program certificate with the name and location of the 

training program and the date of successful completion of the training program approved in 
accordance with §140.518 of this title; and 

 
  (8) the types of radiologic procedures covered in the person's training program. A 

person listed on the registry may not perform a dangerous or hazardous procedure as set out in 
§140.516 of this title (relating to Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures).  
 
 (c) Initial placement on the registry. In order to be listed on the registry for the first time, 
the information described in subsection (b) of this section shall be submitted to the department 
once the applicant has completed the training approved under §140.518 or §140.522 of this title. 
 
 (d) Renewal of registration.  

 
  (1) Each person on the registry shall be responsible for renewing his or her status 

on the registry prior to the expiration date.  Each registrant must complete continuing education 
as set out in §140.511 of this title (relating to Continuing Education Requirements) in order to 
renew the registration. 

 
  (2) The department shall send a renewal notice to each registrant at least 60 days 

before the expiration date. The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, undeliverable 
or misplaced mail.  



 

Proposed - 65 

 
  (3) The renewal is effective if the official renewal form is postmarked or 

delivered to the department on or before the expiration date of the registrant's certificate. The 
renewal form shall include, at a minimum, the person's name, current mailing address, and 
current place of employment.  

 
  (4) If an NCT fails to renew the non-certified technician registration by the 

expiration date, the NCT can renew by submitting a late renewal form and fee to the department 
within one year of the expiration date of registrant's certificate. If renewal is not complete within 
one year, the person may not renew; but must reapply and meet current requirements.  
 

  (5) If  an expired non-certified technician registration is lapsed for more than 2 
years past the expiration date, the registrant will be required to retake the training program 
§140.518 or §140.522 of this title and reapply to be listed on the non-certified technician 
registration.  

 
 (e) Changes in name, address or place of employment. A person listed on the registry is 
responsible for submitting changes in name, address or place of employment to the department, 
in writing, within 30 days of any change. 
 
 (f) Employer responsibility. If a person performing radiologic procedures is not a medical 
radiologic technologist, limited medical radiologic technologist or is not registered under this 
section, the employer shall be responsible for determining whether the person performing 
radiologic procedures is in compliance with §140.518 or §140.522 of this title. This subsection 
does not apply to a hospital, federally qualified health center, or practitioner granted a hardship 
exemption by the department within the previous 12-month period.  
 
 (g) Complaints. Complaints regarding persons on the registry may be submitted in 
writing to the Department of State Health Services, Professional Licensing and Certification 
Unit, Complaints Management and Investigation Section, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, Texas 
78756-3183. 
 
§140.520. Hardship Exemptions. 
 
 (a) General.  

 
  (1) A hospital, federally qualified health center (FQHC) or practitioner may apply 

to the department for a hardship exemption from employing an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  
 
  (2) The applicant must demonstrate a hardship as described in subsection (b)(5) of 

this section in employing an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  
 
  (3) The applicant shall not allow a person who is not an MRT, LMRT, or NCT to 

perform a radiologic procedure until the department grants a hardship exemption.  
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  (4) A hardship exemption granted by the department does not constitute licensure, 
certification, registration, or authorization to perform a dangerous or hazardous radiologic 
procedure or mammography.  
 
 (b) Required application materials.  

 
  (1) The applicant must apply for a hardship on the forms prescribed by the 

department. The date of application shall be the date the application and application fee is 
postmarked. If there is no visible postmark, or if the application is hand-delivered, the 
application date shall be the date the department receives the application.  

 
  (2) The application must be accompanied by documentation clearly indicating that 

the applicant is a licensed hospital, FQHC or licensed practitioner. A copy of the current hospital 
license, certificate of qualification issued to the FQHC, or current license of the practitioner shall 
be acceptable documentation.  

 
  (3) If the application is from a hospital or FQHC, the administrator or chief 

executive officer of the hospital or FQHC must sign the application form. If the applicant is a 
practitioner, the practitioner must sign the application form.  

 
  (4) The application must include a list of the person(s) performing radiologic 

procedures who is not an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  
 
  (5) The application shall be accompanied by one or more of the following:  

 
  (A) if the applicant is unable to attract or retain an MRT or LMRT, a 

sworn affidavit describing the reasons the applicant is unable attract and retain an MRT or 
LMRT at a comparable salary for the area, the applicant’s attempts to attract and retain an MRT 
or LMRT, evidence of recruiting efforts during the 30 day period prior to application for the 
hardship exemption, and copies of advertisements to hire an MRT or LMRT;  

 
  (B) if the applicant is located more than 200 highway miles from the 

nearest school of medical radiologic technology approved in accordance with §140.509 of this 
title relating to (Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors), a sworn affidavit 
describing in narrative form the physical address of the nearest school of medical radiologic 
technology; the physical address of the applicant hospital, FQHC, or primary practice location of 
the practitioner; and the actual distance in highway miles between the school and the applicant 
hospital, FQHC, or practitioner's primary practice. The applicant shall include a map of the area 
clearly indicating the locations of each entity;  

 
  (C) if the nearest school of medical radiologic technology approved in 

accordance with §140.509 of this title has a waiting list of school applicants due to a lack of 
faculty or space, a sworn affidavit from the applicant indicating that admissions to the school are 
pending because of a lack of faculty or space;  
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  (D) if the applicant’s need for graduates in medical radiologic technology 
exceeds the number of graduates from the nearest school of medical radiologic technology 
approved in accordance with §140.509 of this title, a sworn affidavit from the applicant 
indicating that the number of graduates from the nearest school does not meet the applicant's 
needs for radiologic technologists;  

 
  (E) if emergency conditions have occurred during the 90 days prior to 

making application for the hardship exemption, a sworn affidavit from the applicant describing 
the emergency conditions, the hardship(s) the emergency conditions have created and how long 
the hardship(s) is anticipated to continue. For the purposes of this subparagraph, emergency 
conditions may include a disaster, epidemic, or other catastrophic event;  

 
  (F) if the applicant uses only a hand-held fluoroscope with a maximum 

operating capability of 65 kilovolts and 1 milliampere, or a similar type of x-ray unit for imaging 
upper extremities only, at the location indicated on the application form and the applicant 
believes that the radiation produced by the radiographic equipment represents a minimal threat to 
the patient and the operator of the equipment, the following is required to be submitted:  

 
   (i) a copy of the current certificate of registration for radiation 

machine issued by the Department of State Health Services; and  
 
   (ii) a sworn affidavit describing the equipment used; the types of 

radiographs performed; the training completed by the operator of the equipment within the 24-
month period prior to application or reapplication for a hardship exemption; the date(s) the 
training was completed by the operator; the radiation safety measures taken for the patient, 
operator and others; the level or amount of supervision provided by an MRT or a practitioner(s) 
to the operator while performing the radiographic procedure; and the equipment manufacturer's 
specifications for the diagnostic radiographic equipment utilized at the location indicated on the 
application form, including the maximum operating capability.  

 
  (6) All application materials and information are subject to verification by the 

department.  
 
  (7) The department shall send a written notice listing the additional materials 

required to an applicant whose application is incomplete. An application not completed within 30 
days after the date of the written notice shall be invalid unless the applicant has advised the 
department of a valid reason for the delay.  
 
 (c) Application approval.  

 
  (1) The department shall be responsible for reviewing all applications. The 

department shall approve any application which is in compliance with this section and which 
properly documents applicant eligibility.  

 
  (2) If granted by the department, a letter of exemption shall be issued for a period 

of one year.  
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 (d) Disapproved applications.  

 
  (1) The department shall disapprove the application if the applicant has not met 

the application requirements set out in this section or has failed or refused to complete or submit 
any form or documentation required by the department to verify the eligibility for the exemption.  

 
  (2) If the department determines that the application should not be approved, the 

department shall give the applicant written notice of the reason for the disapproval. The applicant 
may appeal the decision to the department by submitting a written request within 10 days after 
receipt of the written notice of the reason(s) for the disapproval.  

 
  (3) An applicant whose application has been disapproved under this subsection 

shall be permitted to reapply after a period of not less than one year from the date of the 
disapproval and shall submit a new application and supporting information. The applicant may 
reapply for an exemption any time the basis for the exemption application changes.  
 
 (e) Application processing. The department shall use the same process as described in 
§140.506(e) of this title (relating to Application Requirements and Procedures  For Examination 
and Certification), except the time periods are as follows:  

 
  (1) letter of acceptance—30 working days;  
 
  (2) letter of application deficiency – 30 working days;  
 
  (3) letter of approval – 42 working days; and  
 
  (4) letter of denial of exemption – 42 working days.  

 
 (f) Reapplication for hardship exemption.  

 
  (1) The hospital, FQHC, or a practitioner must reapply annually for the exemption 

and meet the then current requirements for a hardship exemption.  
 
  (2) A hospital, FQHC, or a practitioner who does not reapply for an exemption 

shall not allow a person to perform a radiologic procedure unless the person is a practitioner, 
MRT, LMRT, or NCT. 

 
§140.521. Bone Densitometry Training. 

 
(a) The provisions of this section do not apply to a person who is certified or registered 

under the Act, a practitioner, a registered nurse, a physician assistant, or other licensed or 
certified person who is authorized to operate a bone densitometry unit which utilizes x-radiation. 
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(b) A person who operates a bone densitometry unit(s) which utilizes x-radiation who is 
in compliance with this section is not required to obtain a hardship exemption as long as the 
person is not performing radiologic procedures other than bone densitometry. 

 
(c) A person who operates a bone densitometry unit(s) which utilizes x-radiation must 

have proof that the person is a certified densitometry technologist in good standing with the 
International Society for Clinical Densitometry (ISCD), or have successfully completed the 
ARRT bone density exam or has completed at least 20 hours of training as follows:  

 
 (1) 16 hours of specific training using bone densitometry equipment utilized x-

radiation, presented by a medical radiologic technologist (MRT) or an equipment applications 
specialist knowledgeable of the specific equipment to be utilized; and  

 
  (2) 4 hours of radiation safety and protection training for the patient, operator and 

others.  The training shall be presented by an MRT or a licensed medical physicist.  A person 
must complete the 4 hours of radiation safety and protection training every 2 years. 

 
 (d) Documentation of operator training must be kept on site. 
 

§140.522. Alternate Training Requirements. 
 
 (a) General. This section sets out the minimum standards for registered nurses (RNs), 
physician assistants, podiatric medical assistants (PMAs) and x-ray equipment operators in a 
physician's office.  
 
 (b) Instructor direction required. All hours of the training program completed for the 
purposes of this section must be live and interactive and directed by an instructor approved by 
the department. Distance learning activities and audiovisual teleconferencing may be utilized, 
provided these include two-way, interactive communications which are broadcast or transmitted 
at the actual time of occurrence. Appropriate on-site supervision of persons participating in the 
distance learning activities or teleconferencing shall be provided by the approved training 
program. No credit will be given for training completed by self-directed study or 
correspondence. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to the out of classroom training 
requirements for podiatric medical assistants and x-ray equipment operators in a physician's 
offices.  

 
  (1) Before an RN or physician assistant performs a radiologic procedure, the RN 

or physician assistant must complete the hours stated in subsection (d) of this section, or the 
hours stated in §140.518 of this title (relating Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified 
Technicians).  

 
  (2) Before a PMA performs a radiologic procedure, the PMA must complete the 

hours stated in subsection (e) of this section, or the hours stated in §140.518(d) of this title 
concerning podiatric radiologic procedures.  
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  (3) Individuals who complete training approved under this section may not use 
that training toward the educational requirements for a general or limited certificate as set out in 
§140.507 of this title (relating to Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility).  
 
 (c) Approved instructors.  

 
  (1) For purposes of this section, an individual is approved by the department to 

teach in a training program if the individual meets the requirements of §140.509(g)(1) - (2) of 
this title (relating to Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors). The application for 
the training program must demonstrate that the instructors meet the qualifications. No 
application for individual instructor approval is required.  

 
  (2) An LMRT may not teach, train, or provide clinical instruction in a portion of a 

training program which is different from the LMRT's level of certification. An LMRT holding a 
limited certificate in the chest and extremities categories may not participate in the portion of a 
training program relating to radiologic procedures of the spine. The LMRT may participate in the 
portions of the training program which are of a general nature and those specific to the specific 
categories on the limited certificate.  
 
 (d) Training requirements for registered nurses and physician assistants. A training 
program preparing RNs and physician assistants to perform radiologic procedures shall be 
designed to build on the health care knowledge base and skills acquired through completion of 
an educational program that qualifies the person for licensure as an RN or physician assistant. 
The training shall consist of: 
  

  (1) a minimum of 30 hours of coursework that are fundamental to diagnostic 
radiologic procedures covering all of the following items:  

 
  (A) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self, and others – 10 

hours; 
 
  (B) radio-pharmaceutical administration – radiation safety – 16 hours 
 
  (C) radiologic equipment – 10 hours;  
 
  (D) image production and evaluation – 10 hours; and  

 
  (2) one or more of the following units of  instruction in radiologic procedures:  

 
  (A) chest and abdomen (non-pediatric) – 8  hours;  
 
  (B) spine (non-pediatric) – 10 hours;  
 
  (C) skull (non-pediatric) – 8 hours;  
 
  (D) extremities (including pediatric) – 8 hours; and  
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  (3) if the RN or physician assistant will perform pediatric radiologic procedures 

other than extremities, a minimum of 2 classroom hours for each of the areas identified in 
paragraph (2)(A) - (C) of this subsection.  
 
 (e) Training requirements for podiatric medical assistants PMAs.  

 
  (1) In order to successfully complete a program, a PMA must complete the 

following training:  
 
  (A) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self, and others – 5 

classroom hours and 5 out of classroom hours;  
 
  (B) radiographic equipment used in podiatric medicine, including safety 

standards, operation, and maintenance – 1 classroom hour and 2 out of classroom hours;  
 
  (C) podiatric radiologic procedures, imaging production and evaluation – 

1  classroom hour and 4 out of classroom hours; and  
 
  (D) methods of patient care and management essential to radiologic 

procedures, excluding CPR, BCLS, ACLS and similar subjects – 1 classroom hour and 1 out of 
classroom hour.  

 
  (2) Successful completion of PMA training allows the PMA to perform radiologic 

procedures only under the instruction or direction of a podiatrist.  
 
  (3) The out of classroom training hours require successful completion of learning 

objectives approved by the department as verified by the supervising podiatrist.  
 

 (f) Application procedures for training programs. The Department of State Health 
Services (department) shall use the same process as described in §140.518(e), (f), (g), (h) and (i) 
of this title.  
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§143.1  Purpose and Scope 
 
(a) Purpose. These sections are intended to implement the provisions of the Medical Radiologic 
Technologist Certification Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 601.  
 
(b) Scope. These sections cover definitions; the Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory 
Committee; fees; applicability of chapter; exemptions; application requirements and procedures; 
types of certificates; examinations; standards for curricula and instructor approval; certificate 
renewal; continuing education requirements; changes of name or address; certifying persons with 
criminal backgrounds to be medical radiologic technologists; disciplinary actions; alternate 
eligibility requirements; dangerous or hazardous procedures; mandatory training programs for 
non-certified technicians; registry of non-certified technicians; hardship exemptions; and 
alternate training requirements. 
 
§143.2  Definitions 
 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  

 
(1) Act – The Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act Texas Occupations Code, 

Chapter 601.  
 
(2) Applicant – A person who applies to the Department of State Health Services for a 

certificate or temporary certificate, general or limited or a provisional certificate.  
 
(3) ARRT – The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists and its predecessor or 

successor organizations.  
 
(4) Cardiovascular (CV) – Limited to radiologic procedures involving the use of contrast 

media and or ionizing radiation for the purposes of diagnosing or treating a disease or condition 
of the cardiovascular system.  

 
(5) Certificate – A medical radiologic technologist certificate, general, limited or provisional, 

unless the wording specifically refers to one or the other, issued by the Department of State 
Health Services.  

 
(6) Chiropractor – A person licensed by the Texas State Board of Chiropractic Examiners to 

practice chiropractic.  
 
(7) Commissioner – The Commissioner of the Department of State Health Services.  
 
(8) Committee – The Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee.  
 
(9) Dentist – A person licensed by the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners to practice 

dentistry.  
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(10) Department – The Department of State Health Services.  
 
(11) Federally qualified health center (FQHC) – A health center as defined by 42 United 

States Code, §1396d(2)(B).  
 
(12) Fluoroscopy – The practice of examining tissues using a fluorescent screen, including 

digital and conventional methods.  
 
(13) Fluorography – Hard copy of a fluoroscopic image; also known as spot films.  
 
(14) General certification – An authorization to perform radiologic procedures.  
 
(15) Instructor – An individual approved by the department to provide instruction and 

training in the discipline of medical radiologic technology in an educational setting.  
 
(16) Limited certification – An authorization to perform radiologic procedures that are 

limited to specific parts of the human body.  
 
(17) Limited Medical Radiologic Technologist (LMRT) – A person who holds a limited 

certificate issued under the Act, and who under the direction of a practitioner, intentionally 
administers radiation to specific parts of the bodies of other persons for medical reasons. The 
limited categories are the skull, chest, spine, extremities, podiatric, chiropractic and 
cardiovascular.  

 
(18) Medical radiologic technologist (MRT) – A person who holds a general certificate 

issued under the Act, and who, under the direction of a practitioner, intentionally administers 
radiation to other persons for medical reasons.  

 
(19) Mobile service operation – The provision of radiation machines and personnel at 

temporary sites for limited time periods. The radiation machines may be fixed inside a motorized 
vehicle or may be a portable radiation machine that may be removed from the vehicle and taken 
into a facility for use.  

 
(20) NMTCB – Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board and its successor 

organizations.  
 
(21) Non-Certified Technician (NCT) – A person who has completed a training program and 

who is listed in the registry. An NCT may not perform a radiologic procedure which has been 
identified as dangerous or hazardous.  

 
(22) Pediatric – A person within the age range of fetus to age 18 or otherwise required by 

Texas law, when the growth and developmental processes are generally complete. These rules do 
not prohibit a practitioner taking into account the individual circumstances of each patient and 
determining if the upper age limit requires variation by not more than two years.  

 
(23) Physician – A person licensed by the Texas Medical Board to practice medicine.  
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(24) Physician assistant – A person licensed as a physician assistant by the Texas State Board 

of Physician Assistant Examiners.  
 
(25) Podiatrist – A person licensed by the Texas State Board of Medical Podiatric Examiners 

to practice podiatry.  
 
(26) Practitioner – A doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, dentistry, or chiropractic who 

is licensed under the laws of this state and who prescribes radiologic procedures for other 
persons for medical reasons.  

 
(27) Provisional medical radiologic technologist (PMRT) – An authorization to perform 

radiologic procedures not to exceed 180 days for individuals currently licensed or certified in 
another jurisdiction.  

 
(28) Radiation – Ionizing radiation in amounts beyond normal background levels from 

sources such as medical and dental radiologic procedures.  
 
(29) Radiologic procedure – Any procedure or article intended for use in the diagnosis of 

disease or other medical or dental conditions in humans (including diagnostic x-rays or nuclear 
medicine procedures) or the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in humans that 
achieves its intended purpose through the emission of ionizing radiation.  

 
(30) Registered nurse – A person licensed by the Board of Nurse Examiners to practice 

professional nursing.  
 
(31) Registry – A list of names and other identifying information of non-certified technicians.  
 
(32) Sponsoring institution – A hospital, educational, or other facility, or a division thereof, 

that offers or intends to offer a course of study in medical radiologic technology.  
 
(33) Supervision – Responsibility for and control of quality, radiation safety and protection, 

and technical aspects of the application of ionizing radiation to human beings for diagnostic 
and/or therapeutic purposes.  

 
(34) Temporary certification, general or limited – An authorization to perform radiologic 

procedures for a limited period, not to exceed one year.  
 
(35) TRCR – Texas Regulations for the Control of Radiation, 25 Texas Administrative Code, 

Chapter 289 of this title. The regulations are available from Radiation Control, Department of 
State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756-3189 (phone 1-512-834-
6688).  

 
(36) X-ray equipment – An x-ray system, subsystem, or component thereof. For the purposes 

of this rule, types of x-ray equipment are as follows:  
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(A) portable x-ray equipment – x-ray equipment mounted on a permanent base with 
wheels and/or casters for moving while completely assembled. Portable x-ray equipment may 
also include equipment designed to be hand-carried; or  

 
(B) stationary x-ray equipment – x-ray equipment that is installed in a fixed location. 

 
§143.3  Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory Committee 
 
(a) The committee. An advisory committee shall be appointed under and governed by this 
section.  

 
(1) The name of the committee shall be the Medical Radiologic Technologist Advisory 

Committee.  
 
(2) The committee is established under Government Code, §531.012, which allows the 

Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission to appoint advisory 
committees as needed.  
 
(b) Applicable law. The committee is subject to the Government Code, Chapter 2110, concerning 
state agency advisory committees.  
 
(c) Purpose. The purpose of the committee is to recommend rules and examinations for the 
approval of the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.  
 
(d) Tasks.  

 
(1) The committee shall advise the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human 

Services Commission concerning rules to implement standards adopted under the Act relating to 
the regulation of persons performing radiologic procedures.  

 
(2) The committee shall carry out any other tasks given to the committee by the Executive 

Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.  
 
(e) Review and duration. By November 1, 2007, the Executive Commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission will initiate and complete a review of the committee to determine 
whether the committee should be continued, consolidated with another committee, or abolished. 
If the committee is not continued or consolidated, the committee shall be abolished on that date.  
 
(f) Composition. The committee shall be composed of eleven members appointed by the 
Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission. The composition of 
the committee shall include:  

 
(1) four consumers;  
 
(2) one licensed physician who is a radiologist;  
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(3) one licensed medical physicist or a hospital administrator;  
 
(4) one certified medical radiologic technologist whose primary practice is in diagnostic 

radiography;  
 
(5) one certified medical radiologic technologist whose primary practice is in nuclear 

medicine technology;  
 
(6) one certified medical radiologic technologist whose primary practice is in radiation 

therapy;  
 
(7) one licensed physician who has experience in radiologic procedures and who practices in 

a rural community or at a site serving a medically underserved population in Texas as defined in 
the Medical Practice Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 152; and  

 
(8) one registered nurse or certified physician assistant who has experience in radiologic 

procedures and who practices in a rural community or at a site serving a medically underserved 
population in Texas as defined in the Medical Practice Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
152.  
 
(g) Terms of office. The term of office of each member shall be six years. Members shall serve 
after expiration of their term until a replacement is appointed.  

 
(1) Members shall be appointed for staggered terms so that the terms of three members will 

expire on January 1 of each odd-numbered year.  
 
(2) If a vacancy occurs, a person shall be appointed to serve the unexpired portion of that 

term.  
 
(h) Officers. The committee shall select from its members the presiding officer and an assistant 
presiding officer to begin serving on November 1 of each odd-numbered year.  

 
(1) Each officer shall serve until October 31 of each odd-numbered year. Each officer may 

holdover until his or her replacement is elected.  
 
(2) The presiding officer shall preside at all committee meetings at which he or she is in 

attendance, call meetings in accordance with this section, appoint subcommittees of the 
committee as necessary, and cause proper reports to be made to the Executive Commissioner of 
the Health and Human Services Commission. The presiding officer may serve as an ex-officio 
member of any subcommittee of the committee.  

 
(3) The assistant presiding officer shall perform the duties of the presiding officer in case of 

the absence or disability of the presiding officer. In case the office of presiding officer becomes 
vacant, the assistant presiding officer will complete the unexpired portion of the term of the 
office of presiding officer.  
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(4) If the office of assistant presiding officer becomes vacant, it may be filled by vote of the 
committee.  

 
(5) A member shall serve no more than two consecutive terms as presiding officer and/or 

assistant presiding officer.  
 
(6) The committee may reference its officers by other terms, such as chairperson and vice-

chairperson.  
 
(i) Meetings. The committee shall meet only as necessary to conduct committee business.  

(1) A meeting may be called by agreement of department staff and either the presiding 
officer or at least three members of the committee.  

 
(2) Meeting arrangements shall be made by department staff. Department staff shall contact 

committee members to determine availability of a meeting date and place.  
 
(3) The committee is not a "governmental body" as defined in the Open Meetings Act. 

However, in order to promote public participation, each meeting of the committee shall be 
announced and conducted in accordance with the Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 551, with the exception that the provisions allowing executive sessions shall not apply.  

 
(4) Each member of the committee shall be informed of a committee meeting at least five 

working days before the meeting.  
 
(5) A simple majority of the members of the committee shall constitute a quorum for the 

purpose of transacting official business.  
 
(6) The committee is authorized to transact official business only when in a legally 

constituted meeting with quorum present.  
 
(7) The agenda for each committee meeting shall include an item entitled public comment 

under which any person will be allowed to address the committee on matters relating to 
committee business. The presiding officer may establish procedures for public comment, 
including a time limit on each comment.  
 
(j) Attendance. Members shall attend committee meetings as scheduled. Members shall attend 
meetings of subcommittees to which the member is assigned.  

 
(1) A member shall notify the presiding officer or appropriate department staff if he or she is 

unable to attend a scheduled meeting.  
 
(2) It is grounds for removal from the committee if a member cannot discharge the member's 

duties for a substantial part of the term for which the member is appointed because of illness or 
disability, is absent from more than half of the committee and subcommittee meetings during a 
calendar year, or is absent from at least three consecutive committee meetings.  
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(3) The validity of an action of the committee is not affected by the fact that it is taken when 
a ground for removal of a member exists.  

 
(4) The attendance records of the members shall be reported to the Executive Commissioner 

of the Health and Human Services Commission. The report shall include attendance at 
committee and subcommittee meetings.  
 
(k) Staff. Staff support for the committee shall be provided by the department.  
 
(l) Procedures. Roberts Rules of Order, Newly Revised, shall be the basis of parliamentary 
decisions except where otherwise provided by law or rule.  

 
(1) Any action taken by the committee must be approved by a majority vote of the members 

present once quorum is established.  
 
(2) Each member shall have one vote.  
 
(3) A member may not authorize another individual to represent the member by proxy.  
 
(4) The committee shall make decisions in the discharge of its duties without discrimination 

based on any person's race, creed, gender, religion, national origin, age, physical condition, or 
economic status.  

 
(5) Minutes of each committee meeting shall be taken by department staff.  

 
(A) A summary of the meeting shall be provided to the Executive Commissioner of the 

Health and Human Services Commission and each member of the committee within 30 days of 
each meeting.  

 
(B) After approval by the committee, the minutes shall be signed by the presiding officer.  
 

(m) Subcommittees. The committee may establish subcommittees as necessary to assist the 
committee in carrying out its duties.  

 
(1) The presiding officer shall appoint members of the committee to serve on subcommittees 

and to act as subcommittee chairpersons. The presiding officer may also appoint nonmembers of 
the committee to serve on subcommittees.  

 
(2) Subcommittees shall meet when called by the subcommittee chairperson or when so 

directed by the committee's presiding officer.  
 
(3) A subcommittee chairperson shall make regular reports to the advisory committee at each 

committee meeting or in interim written reports as needed. The reports shall include an executive 
summary or minutes of each subcommittee meeting.  
 
(n) Statements by members.  
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(1) The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, 

department, and the committee shall not be bound in any way by any statement or action on the 
part of any committee member except when a statement or action is in pursuit of specific 
instructions from the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, 
department, or the committee.  

 
(2) The committee and its members may not participate in legislative activity in the name of 

the Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, the department or 
the committee except with approval by the department. Committee members are not prohibited 
from representing themselves or other entities in the legislative process.  

 
(3) A committee member should not accept or solicit any benefit that might reasonably tend 

to influence the member in the discharge of the member's official duties.  
 
(4) A committee member should not disclose confidential information acquired through his 

or her committee membership.  
 
(5) A committee member should not knowingly solicit, accept, or agree to accept any benefit 

for having exercised the member's official powers or duties in favor of another person.  
 
(6) A committee member who has a personal or private interest in a matter pending before 

the committee shall publicly disclose the fact in a committee meeting and may not vote or 
otherwise participate in the matter. The phrase "personal or private interest" means the 
committee member has a direct pecuniary interest in the matter but does not include the 
committee member's engagement in a profession, trade, or occupation when the member's 
interest is the same as all others similarly engaged in the profession, trade, or occupation.  
 
(o) Reimbursement for expenses. In accordance with the requirements set forth in the 
Government Code, Chapter 2110, a committee member may receive reimbursement for the 
member's expenses incurred for each day the member engages in official committee business if 
authorized by the General Appropriations Act or budget execution process.  

 
(1) No compensatory per diem shall be paid to committee members unless required by law.  
 
(2) A committee member who is an employee of a state agency, other than the department, 

may not receive reimbursement for expenses from the department.  
 
(3) A nonmember of the committee who is appointed to serve on a subcommittee may not 

receive reimbursement for expenses from the department.  
 
(4) Each member who is to be reimbursed for expenses shall submit to staff the member's 

receipts for expenses and any required official forms no later than 14 days after each committee 
meeting.  
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(5) Requests for reimbursement of expenses shall be made on official state travel vouchers 
prepared by department staff. 
 
§143.4  Fees 
 
(a) Unless otherwise specified, the fees established in this section must be paid to the department 
before a certificate is issued. All fees shall be submitted in the form required by the department. 
All fees are nonrefundable.  
 
(b) The schedule of fees is as follows:  

 
(1) application and initial certification fee – $75;  
 
(2) biennial certificate renewal fee – $60;  
 
(3) one to 90-day late renewal fee – one and one half of the normally required renewal fee;  
 
(4) 91-day to one year late renewal fee – two times the normally required renewal fee;  
 
(5) certificate and/or identification card replacement or duplicate fee – $20;  
 
(6) general certificate to limited certificate conversion fee – $20;  
 
(7) temporary certificate fee – $25;  
 
(8) temporary certificate and/or identification card replacement or duplicate fee – $20;  
 
(9) general examination fee – the fee for the examination as set by contract with the 

examining body;  
 
(10) chiropractic examination fee – the fee for the examination as set by contract with the 

examining board;  
 
(11) skull, chest, spine, extremities or podiatric examination fee – the fee for the examination 

as set by contract with the examining board;  
 
(12) upgrade of a temporary certificate to a renewable certificate, limited or general – $25;  
 
(13) limited instructor approval fee – $50;  
 
(14) limited curriculum application fee – $900 two-year term per course of study;  
 
(15) site visit fee – a fee equal to the round trip travel expenses including meals and lodging 

of the inspection committee members, not to exceed $1,000;  
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(16) training program application fee – $350 (the application fee for training programs 
accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board shall be waived);  

 
(17) training program amendment fee – $40 (the amendment fee for training programs 

accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board shall be waived);  
 
(18) training program biennial renewal fee – $300 (the renewal fee for training programs 

accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board shall be waived);  
 
(19) limited curriculum amendment fee – $40;  
 
(20) biennial limited curriculum approval fee for general certificate programs – $450:  
 
(21) non-certified technician application fee – $50;  
 
(22) non-certified technician renewal fee – $50;  
 
(23) non-certified technician late renewal fee – $50;  
 
(24) hardship exemption application fee – $25;  
 
(25) provisional certificate fee – $75;  
 
(26) returned check fee – $50; and  
 
(27) retired medical radiologic technologist biennial renewal fee – $25.  

 
(c) For all applications and renewal applications, the department is authorized to collect 
subscription and convenience fees, in amounts determined by the Texas Online Authority, to 
recover costs associated with application and renewal application processing through Texas 
Online.  
(d) For all applications and renewal application, the department is authorized to collect fees to 
fund the Office of Patient Protection, Health Professions Council, as mandated by law.  
 
(e) An applicant whose check for the application and initial certification fee is returned due to 
insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall be allowed to reinstate the 
application by remitting to the department a money order or check for guaranteed funds in the 
amount of the application and initial certification fee plus the returned check fee within 30 days 
of the date of receipt of the department's notice. An application will be considered incomplete 
until the fee has been received and cleared through the appropriate financial institution.  
 
(f) An approved applicant whose check for the temporary or certificate fee is returned marked 
insufficient funds, account closed, or payment stopped shall remit to the department a money 
order or check for guaranteed funds in the amount of the temporary or certificate fee plus the 
returned check fee within 30 days of the date of receipt of the department's notice. Otherwise, the 
application and the approval shall be invalid.  
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(g) A certificate holder whose check for the renewal fee is returned due to insufficient funds, 
account closed, or payment stopped shall remit to the department a money order or check for 
guaranteed funds in the amount of the renewal fee plus the returned check fee within 30 days of 
the date of receipt of the department's notice. Otherwise, the certificate shall not be renewed. If a 
renewal certificate has already been issued, it shall be invalid.  
 
(h) If the department's notice, as set out in subsections (e) - (g) of this section, is returned 
unclaimed, the department shall mail the notice to the applicant or certificate holder by certified 
mail. If a money order or check for guaranteed funds is not received by the department's cashier 
within 30 days of the postmarked date on the second mailing, the approval or certificate issued 
shall be invalid.  
 
(i) The department shall make periodic reviews of the fee schedule and recommend any 
adjustments necessary to provide sufficient funds to meet the expenses of the medical radiologic 
technologist certification program without creating an unnecessary surplus. Such adjustments 
shall be made through rule amendments.  
 
(j) The department may notify the applicant's or the certificate holder's employer that the person 
has failed to comply with this section and that any approval granted or certificate issued is no 
longer valid. 
 
§143.5  Applicability of Chapter; Exemptions 
 
(a) Except as specifically exempted by subsections (b) and (c) of this section, the provisions of 
the Act and this chapter apply to any person representing that he or she performs radiologic 
procedures.  
 
(b) This chapter does not prohibit the performance of a radiologic procedure by the following:  

 
(1) A person who is a practitioner and performs the procedure in the course and scope of the 

profession for which that person holds the license; or  
 
(2) a person who performs a radiologic procedure involving a dental x-ray machine, 

including panarex or other equipment designed and manufactured only for use in dental 
radiography and under the instruction or direction of a dentist, if the person and the dentist are in 
compliance with rules adopted under the Act, §§601.251 and 601.252 by the Texas State Board 
of Dental Examiners.  
 
(c) This chapter does not prohibit the performance of a radiologic procedure which has not been 
identified as dangerous or hazardous under §143.16 of this title (relating to Dangerous or 
Hazardous Procedures) by the following:  

 
(1) a person who has successfully completed a training program for non-certified technicians 

(NCT), in accordance with §143.17 of this title (relating to Mandatory Training Programs for 
Non-Certified Technicians) and who performs the procedure under the instruction or direction of 
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a practitioner if the person and the practitioner are in compliance with rules adopted under the 
Act, §§601.251 - 601.253, by the Texas State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Medical 
Board, Texas State Board of Nurse Examiners, or Texas State Board of Medical Podiatry 
Examiners;  

 
(2) a person who has successfully completed a training program for NCTs, in accordance 

with §143.17 of this title and who performs the procedure in a hospital that participates in the 
federal Medicare program or is accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of 
Healthcare Organizations;  

 
(3) students of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry or chiropractic when under 

instruction or direction of a practitioner and if the student and the practitioner are in compliance 
with paragraph (1) of this subsection;  

 
(4) a person who performs only in-vitro clinical or laboratory testing procedures as described 

in the Texas Regulations for the Control of Radiation;  
 
(5) a student enrolled in a radiologic technology program which meets the requirements of 

§143.9 of this title (relating to Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors) or 
§143.17 of this title who is performing radiologic procedures in an academic or clinical setting as 
part of the program; or  

 
(6) a person who performs radiologic procedures for a period of not more than ten days, 

while enrolled in and as a part of continuing education activities which meet the minimum 
standards set out in §143.11 of this title (relating to Continuing Education Requirements) and 
who is licensed or otherwise registered as a medical radiologic technologist in or by another 
state, District of Columbia, a territory of the United States, the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT), the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB), the 
Board of Registry of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists, the Canadian Association of 
Medical Radiologic Technologists, the British Society of Radiographers, the Australian Institute 
of Radiography, or the Society of Radiographers of South Africa; or  

 
(7) a person who performs the procedure in a hospital, federally qualified health center 

(FQHC), or for a practitioner, if a hardship exemption was granted to the hospital, FQHC or 
practitioner by the department during the previous 12-month period under §143.19 of this title 
(relating to Hardship Exemptions). 
 
§143.6  Application Requirements and Procedures For Examination and Certification 
 
(a) General.  

 
(1) Unless otherwise indicated, an applicant must submit all required information and 

documentation of credentials on official department forms.  
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(2) The department shall not consider an application as officially submitted until the 
applicant pays the correct fee in accordance with §143.4 of this title. The correct fee must 
accompany the application form.  

 
(3) The department shall send a notice listing the additional materials required to an applicant 

whose application is incomplete. An application not completed within 30 days after the date of 
notice shall be invalid unless the applicant has advised the department of a valid reason for the 
delay.  

 
(4) Applications will be accepted for a temporary certificate from students not more than 28 

calendar days prior to the date of graduation from an approved medical radiologic technologist 
education program.  

 
(5) A certificate may be reinstated only in accordance with §143.10(e) of this title.  

 
(b) Required application materials.  

 
(1) The application form shall contain the following items:  

 
(A) specific information regarding personal data, social security number, birth date, 

current and previous places of employment, other state licenses and certificates held, 
misdemeanor and felony convictions, and educational and training background;  

 
(B) a statement that the applicant has read the Texas Medical Radiologic Technologist 

Certification Act (the Act) and this chapter and agrees to abide by them;  
 
(C) the applicant's permission to the department to seek any information or references 

which are material in determining the applicant's qualifications;  
 
(D) a statement that the applicant, if issued a certificate, shall return the certificate and 

identification card(s) to the department upon the expiration, revocation, surrender or suspension 
of the certificate;  

 
(E) a statement that the applicant understands that the fees submitted are nonrefundable 

unless the processing time is exceeded without good cause as set out in subsection (e)(1) of this 
section;  

 
(F) a statement that the applicant understands that the materials submitted become the 

property of the department and are nonreturnable (unless prior arrangements have been made);  
 
(G) a statement that the information in the application is truthful and that the applicant 

understands that providing false or misleading information which is material in determining the 
applicant's qualifications may result in the voiding of the application and failure to be granted 
any certificate or the revocation of any certificate issued; and  
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(H) a statement that the applicant shall advise the department of his or her current mailing 
address within 30 days of any change of address;  

 
(2) Applicants for a certificate who do not qualify under the provisions of §143.7(b) of this 

title (relating to Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility) must submit the following 
additional documents:  

 
(A) if the applicant is not a graduate of or expected to graduate within 28 calendar days 

from a general certificate program in accordance with §143.9(a) of this title (relating to 
Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors), a photocopy which has been notarized 
as a true and exact copy of an unaltered official diploma or official transcript indicating 
graduation from high school; a certificate of high school equivalency issued by the appropriate 
educational agency; or an official transcript from an accredited college or university indicating 
that the applicant received a high school diploma or the equivalency or was awarded an 
associate, baccalaureate, or post-baccalaureate degree; and  

 
(B) at least one of the items set out as follows:  

 
(i) a photocopy of an unaltered certificate of completion from an approved medical 

radiologic technologist educational program in accordance with §143.9 of this title. The 
certificate must contain the following items: name of the program; name of the graduate; the 
exact day and month applicant is recognized as a program graduate; and the signature of the 
program director or his designate;  

 
(ii) an original letter or other notification from either the American Registry of 

Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board 
(NMTCB) that the applicant is considered examination eligible; or  

 
(iii) if applying prior to graduation, from an approved medical radiologic program in 

accordance with §143.9 of this title, an expected graduation statement signed by the program 
director or registrar. Within 30 days of the completion date noted in the graduation statement, the 
department must receive:  

 
(I) a photocopy of the certificate of completion or letter on letterhead indicating 

graduation, containing the items set out in clause (i) of this subparagraph; or  
 
(II) a statement signed by the program director or registrar indicating that the 

applicant officially completed the program.  
 

(3) Persons applying under the provisions of §143.7(d)(5) of this title must submit to the 
department a properly completed other license/registration documentation report form which has 
been completed and signed by an authorized representative of the governmental agency which 
issued the license or other form of registration. A photocopy of the license or other form of 
registration in medical radiologic technology issued by the government of another state, District 
of Columbia, or territory of the United States shall be submitted by the applicant.  
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(c) Application approval.  
 
(1) The department shall be responsible for reviewing all applications.  
 
(2) The department shall approve any application which is in compliance with this chapter 

and which properly documents applicant eligibility, unless the application is disapproved under 
the provisions of subsection (d) of this section.  
 
(d) Disapprove applications.  

 
(1) The department may disapprove the application if the applicant:  

 
(A) has not met the eligibility and application requirements set out in this section and 

§143.7 of this title;  
 
(B) has failed to pass the examination prescribed in §143.8 of this title (relating to 

Examinations);  
 
(C) has failed to remit any required fees;  
 
(D) has failed or refused to properly complete or submit any application form(s) or 

endorsement(s) or has knowingly presented false or misleading information on the application 
form, or any other form or documentation required by the department to verify the applicant's 
qualifications for certification;  

 
(E) has obtained or attempted to obtain a certificate issued under the Act by bribery or 

fraud;  
 
(F) has made or filed a false report or record made in the person's capacity as a medical 

radiologic technologist;  
 
(G) has intentionally or negligently failed to file a report or record required by law;  
 
(H) has intentionally obstructed or induced another to intentionally obstruct the filing of a 

report or record required by law;  
 
(I) has engaged in unprofessional conduct, including the violation of the standards of 

practice of radiologic technology established by the board in §143.14 of this title (relating to 
Violations and Subsequent Actions);  

 
(J) has developed an incapacity that prevents the practice of radiologic technology with 

reasonable skill, competence, and safety to the public as the result of:  
 
(i) an illness;  
 
(ii) drug or alcohol dependency; or  
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(iii) another physical or mental condition or illness;  

 
(K) has failed to report to the department the violation of the Act by another person;  
 
(L) has employed, for the purpose of applying ionizing radiation to a person, a person 

who is not certified under or in compliance with the Act;  
 
(M) has violated a provision of the Act, a rule adopted under the Act, an order of the 

department previously entered in a disciplinary proceeding, or an order to comply with a 
subpoena issued by the department;  

 
(N) has had a certificate revoked, suspended, or otherwise subjected to adverse action or 

been denied a certificate by another certification authority in another state, territory, or country; 
or  

 
(O) has been convicted of, pled nolo contendere to, or received deferred adjudication for 

a crime which directly relates to the practice of radiologic technology.  
 
(2) If the department determines that the application should not be approved, the department 

shall give the applicant written notice of the reason for the disapproval and of the opportunity for 
a formal hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. Within ten days after 
receipt of the written notice, the applicant shall give written notice to the department to waive or 
request the hearing. If the applicant fails to respond within ten days after receipt of the notice of 
opportunity or if the applicant notifies the department that the hearing be waived, the department 
shall disapprove the application.  

 
(3) An applicant whose application has been disapproved under paragraph (1)(D) - (O) of this 

subsection shall be permitted to reapply after a period of not less than one year from the date of 
the disapproval and shall submit a current application, the certification fee and proof, satisfactory 
to the department, of compliance with the then current requirements of this chapter and the 
provisions of the Act.  
 
(e) Application processing.  

 
(1) The department shall comply with the following procedures in processing applications for 

a certificate.  
 
(A) The following periods of time shall apply from the date of receipt of an application 

until the date of issuance of a written notice that the application is complete and accepted for 
filing or that the application is deficient and additional specific information is required. A written 
notice stating that the application has been approved may be sent in lieu of the notice of 
acceptance of a complete application. The time periods are as follows:  

 
(i) letter of acceptance of application for certification – 21 days. The notice of 

acceptance may include a statement that an application for temporary certificate received more 
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than 28 calendar days from the date of the applicant's graduation will be held pending until the 
applicant is within 28 calendar days of graduation; and  

 
(ii) letter of application deficiency – 21 days.  

 
(B) The following periods of time shall apply from the receipt of the last item necessary 

to complete the application until the date of issuance of written notice approving or denying the 
application. The time periods for denial include notification of the proposed decision and of the 
opportunity, if required, to show compliance with the law and of the opportunity for a formal 
hearing. The time periods are as follows:  

 
(i) letter of approval – 42 days; and  
 
(ii) letter of denial of certificate – 90 days.  

 
(2) The department shall comply with the following procedures in processing refunds of fees 

paid to the department.  
 
(A) In the event an application is not processed in the time periods stated in paragraph (1) 

of this subsection, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that 
particular application process. Application for reimbursement shall be made to the department. If 
the department does not agree that the time period has been violated or finds that good cause 
existed for exceeding the time period, the request will be denied.  

 
(B) Good cause for exceeding the time period is considered to exist if the number of 

applications for certification or renewal exceeds by 15% or more the number of applications 
processed in the same calendar quarter the preceding year; another public or private entity relied 
upon by the department in the application process caused the delay; or any other condition exists 
that gives the department good cause for exceeding the time period.  

 
(3) The time periods for contested cases related to the denial of certification or renewal are 

not included with the time periods stated in paragraph (1) of this subsection. The time period for 
conducting a contested case hearing runs from the date the department receives a written request 
for a hearing and ends when the decision of the department is final and appealable. 
 
§143.7  Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility 
 
(a) General.  
 

(1) The department shall issue general certificates, limited certificates, temporary certificates 
(general or limited) or provisional certificates.  

 
(2) Certificates and identification cards shall bear the signature of the commissioner of the 

department.  
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(3) Any certificate or identification card(s) issued by the department remains the property of 
the department and shall be surrendered to the department on demand.  

 
(4) A person certified as an MRT, LMRT or PMRT shall carry or display the original 

certificate or current identification card at the place of employment. Photocopies shall not be 
carried or displayed.  

 
(5) A person certified as an MRT, LMRT, or PMRT shall only allow his or her certificate to 

be copied for the purpose of verification by employers, licensing boards, professional 
organizations and third party payors for credentialing and reimbursement purposes. Other 
persons and/or agencies may contact the board's office in writing or by phone to verify 
certification.  

 
(6) No one shall display, present, or carry a certificate or an identification card which has 

been altered, photocopied, or otherwise reproduced.  
 
(7) No one shall make any alteration on any certificate or identification card issued by the 

department.  
 
(b) Special provisions for persons who are nationally certified. Upon payment of the application 
fee, submission of the application forms and approval by the department, the department shall 
issue a general certificate to a person who is currently registered by the American Registry of 
Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) as a radiographer, is currently registered by the ARRT as a 
radiation therapist, or is currently registered by the ARRT or is currently certified by the Nuclear 
Medicine Technologist Certification Board (NMTCB) as a nuclear medicine technologist.  
 
(c) Minimum eligibility requirements for certification. The following requirements apply to all 
individuals applying for certification who do not meet the requirements of subsection (b) of this 
section:  

 
(1) graduation from high school or its equivalent as determined by the Texas Education 

Agency;  
 
(2) attainment of 18 years of age;  
 
(3) freedom from physical or mental impairment which interferes with the performance of 

duties or otherwise constitutes a hazard to the health or safety of patients;  
 
(4) submission of a satisfactory completed application on a form supplied by the department;  
 
(5) payment of the required fees; and  
 
(6) eligibility for the specific certificate requested as set out in subsections (d), (e), (f), (g), 

(h) or (i), of this section.  
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(d) Medical radiologic technologist. To qualify for a general certificate an applicant shall meet at 
least one of the following requirements:  

 
(1) possess current national certification as a registered technologist by the ARRT;  
 
(2) have successfully completed the ARRT's examination in radiography, radiation therapy, 

or nuclear medicine technology;  
 
(3) possess current national certification as a certified nuclear medicine technologist by the 

NMTCB;  
 
(4) have successfully completed the NMTCB's examination in nuclear medicine technology; 

or  
 
(5) be currently licensed or otherwise registered as a medical radiologic technologist in 

another state, the District of Columbia, or a territory of the United States whose requirements are 
more stringent than or are substantially equivalent to the requirements for Texas certification.  
 
(e) Limited medical radiologic technologist. To qualify for a limited certificate, an applicant 
shall meet the requirements in paragraph (4) of this subsection and subsection (c) of this section.  

 
(1) The limited categories shall be as follows: skull; chest; spine; extremities; chiropractic; 

podiatry; and cardiovascular.  
 
(2) Holding a limited certificate in all categories shall not be construed to mean that the 

holder of the limited certificate has the rights, duties, and privileges of a general certificate 
holder.  

 
(3) Persons holding a limited certificate in one or more categories may not perform 

radiologic procedures involving the use of contrast media, utilization of fluoroscopic equipment, 
mammography, tomography, mobile radiography, nuclear medicine, and/or radiation therapy 
procedures. However, a person holding a limited certificate in the cardiovascular category may 
perform radiologic procedures involving the use of contrast media and/or ionizing radiation for 
the purposes of diagnosing or treating a disease or condition of the cardiovascular system.  

 
(4) To qualify for a certificate as an LMRT an applicant must provide satisfactory 

documentary evidence to the department of the following:  
 
(A) the successful completion of a limited course of study as set out in §143.9 of this title 

and the successful completion of the appropriate limited examination in accordance with §143.8 
of this title;  

 
(B) current licensure or registration as an LMRT in another state, the District of 

Columbia, or a territory of the United States of America whose requirements are more stringent 
than or substantially equivalent to the requirements for the Texas limited certificate at the time of 
application to the department; or  
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(C) current general certification as an MRT issued by the department. The MRT must 

surrender the general certificate and submit a written request for a limited certificate indicating 
the limited categories requested. The request shall be postmarked on or before the certificate 
expiration date and shall be accompanied by the general certificate and the certificate and/or 
identification card replacement fee.  
 
(f) Temporary general medical radiologic technologist. To qualify as a temporary general 
medical radiologic technologist, an applicant shall meet at least one of the following 
requirements. These are in addition to those listed in subsection (c) of this section. For the 
general temporary certificate, an applicant must:  

 
(1) have successfully completed or be within 28 calendar days of successful completion of a 

course of study in radiography, radiation therapy, or nuclear medicine technology which is 
accredited by the United States Department of Education including but not limited to the Joint 
Committee on Education in Nuclear Medicine Technology (JRCNMT) or the Joint Review 
Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT);  

 
(2) be approved by the ARRT as examination eligible;  
 
(3) be approved by the NMTCB as examination eligible;  
 
(4) be currently licensed or otherwise registered as an MRT in another state, the District of 

Columbia, or a territory of the United States whose requirements are more stringent than or 
substantially equivalent to the Texas requirements for certification at the time of application to 
the department or;  

 
(5) have completed education, training and clinical experience which is equivalent to that of 

a accredited educational program in radiography as listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection. An 
applicant who meets this requirement is eligible to be examined for state certification purposes 
only.  
 
(g) Temporary limited medical radiologic technologist. The applicant shall meet at least one of 
the following requirements. These are in addition to those listed in subsection (c) of this section. 
The applicant must:  

 
(1) have successfully completed or be within 28 calendar days of successful completion of a 

limited certificate program in the categories of skull, chest, spine, abdomen or extremities, which 
is approved in accordance with §143.9(b) of this title (relating to Standards for the Approval of 
Curricula and Instructors);  

 
(2) be currently enrolled in a course of study in a general certificate program approved in 

accordance with §143.9(a) of this title and have been issued a certificate of completion by the 
program signifying that the person has completed classroom instruction, clinical instruction, 
evaluations and competency testing in all areas included in the limited curriculum, as set out in 
§143.9(d) of this title; or  



 

 Repeal - 21  

 
(3) be currently licensed or otherwise registered as an LMRT in another state, the District of 

Columbia, or a territory of the United States whose requirements are more stringent than or 
substantially equivalent to the Texas requirements for certification at the time of application to 
the department.  
 
(h) Special provisions for technologists on active military duty. An MRT or LMRT whose 
certificate has expired and was not renewed under §143.10(g) of this title may file a complete 
application for another certificate of the same type as that which expired.  

 
(1) The application shall be on official department forms and be filed with the application 

and initial certification fee.  
 
(2) An applicant shall be entitled to a certificate of the same type as that which expired based 

upon the applicant's previously accepted qualification and no further qualifications or 
examination shall be required.  

 
(3) The application must include a copy of the official orders or other official military 

documentation showing that the holder was on active duty during any portion of the period for 
which the applicant was last certified.  

 
(4) An application is subject to disapproval in accordance with §143.6(d) of this title.  
 
(5) An applicant for a different type of certificate than that which expired must meet the 

requirements of this chapter generally applicable to that type of certificate.  
 
(i) Provisional medical radiologic technologist. A provisional certificate may be issued to an 
applicant who is currently licensed or certified in another jurisdiction and who:  

 
(1) has been licensed or certified in good standing as a medical radiologic technologist for at 

least two years in another jurisdiction, including a foreign country, that has licensing or 
certification requirements substantially equivalent to the requirements of the Act;  

 
(2) has passed a national or other examination recognized by the department relating to the 

practice of radiologic technology; and  
 
(3) is sponsored by a medical radiologic technologist certified by the department under this 

Act with whom the provisional certificate holder will practice during the time the person holds a 
provisional certificate. 
 
§143.8  Examinations 
 
(a) Examination eligibility.  
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(1) Holders of a temporary general certificate or temporary limited certificate may take the 
appropriate examination provided the person complies with the requirements of the Act and this 
chapter.  

 
(2) Persons who qualify under §143.7(b), (d), (e) or (i) of this title are not required to be 

reexamined for state certification.  
 
(b) Approved examination for the general certificate. A general certificate shall be issued upon 
successful completion of the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) 
examination or the appropriate examination of the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT). The three disciplines are radiography, nuclear medicine technology, and 
radiation therapy. Determination of the appropriate examination shall be made on the basis of the 
type of educational program completed by the general temporary certificate holder.  
 
(c) Approved examination for the limited certificate. An approval letter requesting the limited 
certification fee shall be issued upon successful completion of the appropriate examination, as 
follows:  

 
(1) skull – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography (skull);  
 
(2) chest – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography (chest);  
 
(3) spine – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography (spine);  
 
(4) extremities – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography 

(extremities);  
 
(5) chiropractic – the ARRT examinations for the limited scope of practice in radiography 

(spine and extremities);  
 
(6) podiatric – the ARRT examination for the limited scope of practice in radiography 

(podiatry); or  
 
(7) cardiovascular – the Cardiovascular Credentialing International invasive registry 

examination.  
 
(d) Applicants approved for the limited certification examination will be allowed three attempts 
to pass the examination. The three attempts must be made within a three-year period of time. 
When either three unsuccessful attempts have been made or three years have expired, the 
individual is no longer considered eligible under this section. To be eligible for an additional 
examination the applicant must submit documentation indicating completion of remedial 
activities. The fourth attempt must occur within the one-year period following the third 
unsuccessful attempt. Those failing the fourth attempt, or waiting longer than one year following 
the third unsuccessful attempt, shall only become eligible by re-entering and completing an 
approved limited certification program. Upon the applicant's successful completion of the 
examination, the department shall issue an approval letter for the limited certificate.  
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(e) Examination schedules. A schedule of examinations indicating the date(s), location(s), fee(s) 
and application procedures shall be provided by the agency or organization administering the 
examination(s) for the department to each person issued any temporary certificate.  
 
(f) Standards of acceptable performance. The scaled score to determine pass or fail performance 
shall be 75. For the cardiovascular limited certificate, the Cardiovascular Credentialing 
International examinations (Cardiovascular Science Examination and/or the Invasive Registry 
Examination as required to obtain the Registered Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist RCIS 
credential) the scaled score to determine pass or fail performance shall be 70.  
 
(g) Completion of examination application forms. Each applicant shall be responsible for 
completing and transmitting appropriate examination application forms and paying appropriate 
examination fees by the deadlines set by the department or the agency or organization 
administering the examinations prescribed by the department.  
 
(h) Examination Results.  

 
(1) Notification to examinees. Results of an examination prescribed by the department but 

administered under the auspices of another agency will be communicated to the applicant by the 
department, unless the contract between the department and that agency provides otherwise.  

 
(2) Score release. The applicant is responsible for submitting a signed score release to the 

examining agency or organization or otherwise arranging to have examination scores forwarded 
to the department.  

 
(3) Deadlines. The department shall notify each examinee of the examination results within 

14 days of the date the department receives the results.  
 
(i) Refunds. Examination fee refunds will be in accordance with policies and procedures of the 
department or the agency or organization prescribed by the department to administer an 
examination. No refunds will be made to examination candidates who fail to appear for an 
examination. 
 
§143.9  Standards for the Approval of Curricula and Instructors 
 
(a) General certificate programs. All curricula and programs to train individuals to perform 
radiologic procedures must be accredited by the United States Department of Education 
including but not limited to the Joint Review Committee on Education in Nuclear Medicine 
Technology (JRCNMT) or the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology 
(JRCERT).  
 
(b) Limited certificate programs. All curricula and programs to train individuals to perform 
limited radiologic procedures must:  

 
(1) be accredited by the JRCERT to offer a limited curriculum in radiologic technology;  
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(2) be accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Cardiovascular 

Technology (JRCCVT) to offer a curriculum in invasive cardiovascular technology;  
 
(3) be accredited by JRCERT under subsection (b) of this section; or  
 
(4) be approved by the department and be offered within the geographic limits of the State of 

Texas. Subsections (c) - (g) of this section apply only to department-approved programs.  
 
(c) Application procedures for limited certificate programs which are not accredited by JRCERT 
or JRCCVT. An application shall be submitted to the department at least ten weeks prior to the 
starting date of the program to be offered by a sponsoring institution. Official application forms 
are available from the department and must be completed and signed by the program director of 
the sponsoring institution's program. Program directors shall be responsible for the curriculum, 
the organization of classes, the maintenance and availability of facilities and records, and all 
other policies and procedures related to the program or course of study.  

 
(1) All official application forms must be notarized and shall be accompanied by the 

application fee in accordance with §143.4 of this title.  
 
(2) An original and one copy of the entire application and supporting documentation must be 

submitted in three-ring binders with all pages clearly legible and consecutively numbered. Each 
application binder must contain a table of contents and must be divided with tabs identified to 
correspond with the items listed in this section. If any item is inapplicable, a page shall be 
included behind the tab for that item with a statement explaining the inapplicability.  

 
(3) Narrative materials must be typed, double-spaced, and clearly legible. All signatures on 

the official forms and supporting documentation must be originals. Photocopied signatures will 
not be accepted.  

 
(4) Notices will be mailed to applicants informing the applicant of the completeness or within 

60 days of receipt of the application in the department. Applications which are received 
incomplete may cause postponement of the program starting date. The time of receipt of the last 
item necessary to complete the application to the date of issuance of written notice approving or 
denying the application is 120 days. In the event these time periods are exceeded, the applicant 
has the right to request reimbursement of fees, as set out in §143.6(e)(2) and (3) of this title.  

 
(5) If the application is revised or supplemented during the review process, the applicant 

shall submit an original and four copies of a transmittal letter plus an original and three copies of 
the revision or supplement. If a page is to be revised, the complete new page must be submitted 
with the changed item/information clearly marked on five copies.  

 
(6) The application shall include:  

 
(A) the anticipated dates of the program or course of study;  
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(B) the daily hours of the program or course of study;  
 
(C) the location, mailing address, phone and facsimile numbers of the program;  
 
(D) a list of instructors approved by the department, in accordance with subsection (f) of 

this section, and any other persons responsible for the conduct of the program including 
management and administrative personnel. The list must indicate what courses each will teach or 
instruct or the area(s) of responsibility for the non-instructional staff;  

 
(E) a list of clinical facilities, written agreements on forms prescribed by the department 

from clinical facilities signed by the program director and the chief executive officer(s) of each 
facility, and clinical schedules, including the following items identified for each clinical site 
utilized. A clinical facility which is not listed on the application may not be utilized for a 
student's clinical practicum until the department has accepted the additional clinical facility in 
accordance with paragraph (10) of this subsection. The items are:  

 
(i) the number and types (name brands and model numbers) of radiologic equipment 

to be utilized in the limited curriculum;  
 
(ii) a copy of the current registration(s) for the radiologic equipment from the 

department's Bureau of Radiation Control;  
 
(iii) the number and location(s) of examination rooms available;  
 
(iv) whether or not the clinical facility is accredited by the Joint Commission on 

Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) or certified to participate in the federal 
Medicare program, and if required, is licensed by the appropriate statutory authority. For 
example, if the facility is an ambulatory surgical center, licensure by the department is required;  

 
(v) an acknowledgement that students may only perform radiologic procedures under 

supervision of a practitioner, a limited medical radiologic technologist (LMRT) employed at the 
clinical facility or medical radiologic technologist (MRT) employed at the clinical facility;  

 
(vi) copies of the current identification cards issued by the department to the LMRTs 

or MRTs who will supervise the students at all times while performing radiologic procedures;  
 
(vii) an acknowledgment that the students in a limited curriculum program in the 

categories of skull, chest, spine, abdomen, extremities, chiropractic or podiatric shall not perform 
procedures utilizing contrast media, mammography, fluoroscopy, tomography, nuclear medicine 
studies, radiation therapy or other procedures beyond the scope of the limited curriculum; and  

 
(viii) an acknowledgment that the students in a limited curriculum program in the 

cardiovascular category shall not perform mammography, tomography, nuclear medicine studies, 
radiation therapy or other procedures beyond the scope of the limited curriculum. Such students 
may only perform radiologic procedures of the cardiovascular system which involve the use of 
contrast media and fluoroscopic equipment.  
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(F) clearly defined and written policies regarding admissions, costs, refunds, attendance, 

disciplinary actions, dismissals, re-entrance, and graduation which are provided to all prospective 
students prior to registration and by which the program director shall administer the program. 
The admission requirements shall include the minimum eligibility requirements for certification 
in accordance with §143.7(c)(1) - (2) of this title.  

 
(G) the name of the program director who is an approved instructor in accordance with 

subsection (f) of this section, and who has not less than three years of education or teaching 
experience in the appropriate field or practice;  

 
(H) a letter of acknowledgement and a photocopy of the current Texas license from a 

practitioner in the appropriate field of practice who is knowledgeable in radiation safety and 
protection and who shall be known as the designated medical director. The practitioner shall 
work in consultation with the program director in developing goals and objectives and in 
implementing and assuring the quality of the program;  

 
(I) a letter or other documentation from the Texas Workforce Commission, Proprietary 

Schools Section indicating that the proposed training program has complied with or has been 
granted exempt status under the Texas Proprietary School Act, Texas Education Code, Chapter 
32, and 19 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 175, or verification of accreditation by the Texas 
Higher Education Coordinating Board; and  

 
(J) the correct number of students to be enrolled in each cycle of the program, and if more 

than one cycle will be conducted concurrently, the maximum number of students to be enrolled 
at any one time.  

 
(7) All applications must identify the type of curriculum according to the limited categories 

in accordance with §143.7(e) of this title. Each application must be accompanied by an outline of 
the curriculum and course content which clearly indicates that students must complete a 
structured curriculum in proper sequence according to subsection (d) of this section. If the 
curriculum differs from that set out in subsection (d) of this section, a typed comparison in table 
format clearly indicating how the curriculum differs from the required curriculum, including the 
number of hours for each topic or unit of instruction, shall be included.  

 
(8) In making application to the department, the program director shall agree in writing to:  

 
(A) provide a ratio of not more than three students to one full-time certified medical 

radiologic technologist engaged in the supervision of the students in the clinical environment;  
 
(B) provide on-site instruction and direction by a practitioner for students when 

performing radiologic procedures on human beings;  
 
(C) prohibit students from being assigned to any situation where they would be required 

to apply radiation to a human being while not under the on-site instruction or direction of a 
practitioner;  
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(D) prohibit intentional exposure to human beings from any source of radiation except for 

medically prescribed diagnostic purposes;  
 
(E) provide appropriate facilities, sufficient volume of procedures, and a variety of 

diagnostic radiologic procedures to properly conduct the course. Facilities, agencies, or 
organizations utilized in the program shall be accredited or certified and licensed by the 
appropriate agencies. Equipment and radioactive materials utilized in the program shall be used 
only in facilities registered or licensed by the department's Bureau of Radiation Control;  

 
(F) keep an accurate record of each student's attendance and participation, evaluation 

instruments and grades, clinical experience including radiation exposure history, and subjects 
completed for not less than five years from the last date of the student's attendance. Such records 
shall be made available to examining boards, regulatory agencies, and other appropriate 
organizations, if requested;  

 
(G) issue to each student, upon successful completion of the program, a written statement 

in the form of a diploma or certificate of completion, which shall include the program's name, 
the student's name, the date the program began, the date of completion, the categories of 
instruction, and the signatures of the program director or independent sponsor and medical 
director/program advisor;  

 
(H) site inspections by departmental representatives to determine compliance and 

conformity with the provision of this section will be at the discretion of the department;  
 
(I) understand and recognize that the graduates' success rate on the prescribed 

examination will be monitored by the department and utilized as a criteria for rescinding 
approval. In addition to this criteria, the department may rescind approval in accordance with 
§143.14 of this title; and  

 
(J) comply with the Texas Regulations for the Control of Radiation, including but not 

limited to, personnel monitoring devices for each student upon the commencement of the clinical 
instruction and clinical experience.  

 
(9) A site visit may be necessary to grant approval of the program. If a site visit is required, a 

site visit fee must be paid in accordance with §143.4 of this title.  
 
(10) Following program approval, a written request(s) for amendment(s) shall be submitted 

to and approved by the department in advance of taking the anticipated action. The request to 
add or drop an instructor, clinical site, category of instruction, program director or other change, 
shall be accompanied by the limited curriculum program amendment application and fee in 
accordance with §143.4 of this title.  
 
(d) Curricula requirements. Each student must complete a curriculum which meets or exceeds the 
following requirements:  
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(1) at least 132 clock hours of basic theory or classroom instruction in the categories of skull, 
chest, extremities, spine, and chiropractic, and not less than 66 clock hours of basic theory 
instruction for podiatric is required. The required clock hours of basic theory/classroom 
instruction need not be repeated if two or more categories of curriculum are completed 
simultaneously or to add a category to a temporary limited or limited certificate. Pediatric 
instruction shall be included in the hours of training. The following subject areas and minimum 
number of hours (in parentheses) must be included in all programs and must be instructor 
directed. The recommended clock hours for each shall be:  

 
(A) radiation protection for the patient, self, and others (40);  
 
(B) radiographic equipment including safety standards, operation, and maintenance (15);  
 
(C) image production and evaluation (35);  
 
(D) applied human anatomy and radiologic procedures (20);  
 
(E) patient care and management essential to radiologic procedures and recognition of 

emergency patient conditions and initiation of first aid (10);  
 
(F) medical terminology (6); and 
 
(G) medical ethics and law (6); and  

 
(2) a clinical practicum for each category of limited curriculum including pediatrics is 

required. The practicum must include clinical instruction and clinical experience under the 
instruction or direction of a practitioner and an MRT or LMRT in accordance with the following 
chart. 

 
TYPE OF 
LIMITED 

CERTIFICAT
E 

CLINICAL 
INSTRUCTI

ON 
(# OF 

CLOCK 
HOURS) 

CLINICAL 
EXPERIENCE 
(# OF CLOCK 

HOURS) 

Skull 50 100 

Chest 6 100 

Spine 25 100 

Extremities 30 100 

Chiropractic 60 100 

Podiatric 4 50 
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(A) The clinical instruction must be concurrent with the classroom instruction, as set out 

in paragraph (1) of this subsection.  
 
(B) The clinical experience must commence immediately following the clinical 

instruction and be completed within 180 days of the starting date of the clinical experience. 
Variances from this must be approved in advance by the department and must demonstrate good 
cause. A request for a variance must be submitted in writing to the administrator. For the 
purposes of this section, a normal pregnancy or medical disability shall constitute good cause.  

 
(C) For the skull category, the 100 hours of clinical experience must include a minimum 

of 4 independently performed procedures to include the skull (posterior/anterior, 
anterior/posterior, lateral and occipital), paranasal sinuses, facial bones, and the mandible. At 
least one procedure must be the mandible. The mandible procedure may be completed by 
simulation with 90% accuracy. Only one student shall receive credit for any one radiologic 
procedure performed.  

 
(D) The program director shall be responsible for supervising and directing the evaluation 

of the students' clinical experience and shall certify in writing that the student has or has not 
successfully completed the required clinical instruction and clinical experience. Such written 
documentation must be provided to each student within 14 days of completion of the clinical 
experience. Students who successfully complete the required clinical experience may be required 
to submit such documentation to the department if applying for a temporary limited certificate 
with an expected graduation statement, as set out in §143.6(b)(2)(B)(iii) of this title. Persons who 
participate in the evaluation of students' clinical experience must be an MRT or LMRT and have 
a minimum of two years of practical work experience performing radiologic procedures. For 
cardiovascular, persons who makes the final evaluation of students' clinical experience must be 
an MRT or LMRT and have a minimum of two years of practical work experience performing 
cardiovascular procedures.  
 
(e) Limited certificate educational program approval.  

 
(1) Provided the requirements are met, the sponsoring institution shall receive a letter from 

the department indicating approval of the educational program in accordance with §113.1 of this 
title (relating to Processing Permits for Special Health Services Professionals).  

 
(2) A program shall be denied approval if the application is incomplete or not submitted as 

set out in this section. The applicant shall be notified in accordance with §113.1 of this title.  
 
(3) If approval is proposed to be denied, the applicant shall be notified in writing of the 

proposed denial and shall be given an opportunity to request a formal hearing within 10 days of 
the applicant's receipt of the written notice from the department. The formal hearing shall be 
conducted according to the department's formal hearing procedures in Chapter 1 of this title. If 
no hearing is requested, the right to a hearing is waived and the proposed action shall be taken.  
 
(f) Instructor approval for limited certificate programs.  
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(1) All persons who plan to or who will provide instruction and training in the limited 

certificate courses of study or programs shall:  
 
(A) submit a completed application form prescribed by the department;  
 
(B) submit the prescribed application fee in accordance with §143.4 of this title;  
 
(C) document the appropriate instructor qualifications in accordance with subsection (g) 

of this section.  
 
(2) Guest lecturers who are not full or part-time employees of the sponsoring institution are 

not required to apply for instructor approval.  
 
(3) Within 21 days of receipt of the application in the department, a notice will be mailed 

informing the applicant of the completeness or deficiency of the application. The time of receipt 
of the last item necessary to complete the application to the date of issuance of a written notice 
approving or denying the application is 42 days. In the event these time periods are exceeded, the 
applicant has the right to request reimbursement of fees paid as set out in §143.6(e)(2) and (3) of 
this title.  

 
(4) An applicant who is not approved by the department shall be given an opportunity to 

request a formal hearing within ten days of the applicant's receipt of the written notice from the 
department. The formal hearing shall be conducted according to the department's formal hearing 
procedures in Chapter 1 of this title. If no hearing is requested, the right to a hearing is waived 
and the proposed action shall be taken.  
 
(g) Instructor qualifications for limited certificate programs.  

 
(1) An instructor(s) shall have education and not less than six months classroom or clinical 

experience teaching the subjects assigned, shall meet the standards required by a sponsoring 
institution, if any, and shall meet at least one or more of the following qualifications:  

 
(A) be a currently certified MRT who is also currently credentialed as a radiographer by 

the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT);  
 
(B) be a currently certified LMRT (excluding a temporary certificate) whose limited 

certificate category(ies) matches the category(ies) of instruction and training; or  
 
(C) be a practitioner who is in good standing with all appropriate regulatory agencies 

including, but not limited to, the department, the Texas State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 
Texas State Board of Medical Examiners, or Texas State Board of Podiatry Examiners, the Texas 
Department of Human Services, and the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services.  
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(2) A limited medical radiologic technologist may not teach, train, or provide clinical 
instruction in a program or course of study different from the technologist's current level of 
certification. An LMRT who holds a limited certificate in spine radiography may not teach, train, 
or provide clinical instruction in a limited course of study for chest radiography.  
 
(h) Application procedures for limited certificate programs accredited by JRCERT or JRCCVT.  

 
(1) Application shall be made by the program director on official forms available from the 

department.  
 
(2) The application must be notarized and shall be accompanied by the following items:  

(A) the limited curriculum application fee, in accordance with §143.4 of this title;  
 
(B) a copy of the current accreditation issued to the program by the JRCERT or 

JRCCVT;  
 
(C) a description in narrative and/or table format clearly indicating that the applicable 

content of the limited certificate program curriculum be equal to the general certificate 
curriculum; and  

 
(D) an agreement to allow the department to conduct an administrative audit of the 

program to determine compliance with this section. 
 
§143.10 Certificate Issuance, Renewals, and Late Renewals 
 
(a) Issuance of certificates.  

 
(1) The department shall send each applicant whose application has been approved a general, 

limited or provisional certificate with an expiration date and a certificate number. An 
identification card shall be included with the general certificate.  

 
(2) The department shall replace a lost, damaged, or destroyed certificate or identification 

card(s) upon a written request and payment of the replacement fee. Requests shall include a 
statement detailing the loss or destruction of the original certificate and/or identification card(s), 
or be accompanied by the damaged certificate or card(s).  
 
(b) Temporary certificates.  

 
(1) The department shall send each applicant whose application has been approved for the 

temporary certificate (general or limited) an appropriate temporary certificate which shall expire 
one year from the date of issue.  

 
(2) The department shall send with the temporary certificate information regarding 

examinations and examination application deadlines.  
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(3) All temporary certificates are not subject to renewals or extensions for any reason. A 
person whose temporary certificate has expired is not eligible to reapply for another temporary 
certificate.  
 
(c) Certificates. The initial general or limited certificate is valid for two years through the 
medical radiologic technologist's (MRT's) or limited medical radiologic technologist's (LMRT's) 
birth month.  
 
(d) Certificate renewal. Each MRT or LMRT shall renew the certificate biennially on or before 
the last day of the MRT's or LMRT's birth month.  

 
(1) Each MRT is responsible for renewing the certificate before the expiration date and shall 

not be excused from paying late fees. Failure to receive notification from the department prior to 
the expiration date will not excuse failure to file for renewal or late renewal.  

 
(2) At least 60 days prior to the expiration of an MRT's or LMRT's certificate, the department 

shall send notice to the MRT or LMRT at the address in the department's records at the time the 
notice is sent, of the expiration date of the certificate, the amount of renewal fee due, and a 
renewal form which the MRT or LMRT must complete and return to the department with the 
required renewal fee.  

 
(3) The renewal form shall require the provision of the MRT's or LMRT's preferred mailing 

address, primary employment address and phone number, information regarding misdemeanor 
and felony convictions (if any since initial certification or last renewal), and continuing 
education completed in accordance with §143.11 of this title. The renewal form must be signed 
and dated by the renewal applicant.  

 
(4) The MRT or LMRT has renewed the certificate when the renewal form and required 

renewal fee are mailed on or before the expiration date of the certificate and received by the 
department. The postmarked date shall be considered the date of mailing. The processing times 
and procedures set out in §143.6(e) of this title shall apply to renewals.  

 
(5) The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, or undelivered renewal 

application forms, fees, renewal certificates, or renewal identification cards.  
 
(6) The department shall issue renewal identification cards for the current renewal period to 

an MRT or LMRT who has met all the requirements for renewal. The cards shall be sent to the 
preferred mailing address provided on the renewal application form. The renewal cards shall be 
issued for a two-year period.  

 
(7) The department shall issue renewal identification cards to an MRT or LMRT who 

complies with paragraph (4) of this subsection.  
 
(8) The department shall deny renewal of a certificate if required by the Education Code, 

§57.491, concerning defaults on guaranteed student loans.  
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(9) The department may not renew the certificate of an MRT or LMRT who is in violation of 
the Act or this chapter at the time of renewal.  
 
(e) Renewal for retired medical radiologic technologists performing voluntary charity care.  

 
(1) A "retired medical radiologic technologist" is defined as a person who:  

 
(A) is above the age of 55;  
 
(B) is not employed for compensation in the practice of medical radiology; and  
 
(C) has notified the department in writing of his or her intention to retire and provide only 

voluntary charity care.  
 
(2) "Voluntary charity care" for the purposes of this subsection is defined as the practice of 

medical radiology by a retired medical radiologic technologist without compensation or 
expectation of compensation.  

 
(3) A retired medical radiologic technologist providing only voluntary charity care may 

renew his or her license by submitting a renewal form; the retired medical radiologic 
technologist renewal fee required by §143.4 of this title (relating to Fees); and the continuing 
education hours required by §143.11 of this title (relating to Continuing Education 
Requirements).  
 
(f) Late renewals.  

 
(1) A person whose certificate has expired for not more than one year may renew the 

certificate by submitting to the department the completed renewal form, proof of the continuing 
education taken, and the late renewal fee. An active annual registration or credential card issued 
by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists does constitute supporting 
documentation. A certificate issued under this subsection shall expire two years from the date the 
previous certificate expired.  

 
(A) If the certificate has been expired for 90 days or less, a person may renew the 

certificate by paying the one to 90-day late renewal fee.  
 
(B) If the certificate has been expired for over 90 days but not more than one year, a 

person may renew the certificate by paying the 91-day to one-year late renewal fee.  
 
(C) A person must comply with the continuing education requirements for renewal as set 

out in §143.11 of this title before the late renewal is effective.  
 
(2) The late renewal is effective if it is mailed to the department or personally delivered by 

the MRT or LMRT or his/her agent to the department not more than one year after certificate 
expiration. If mailed, the postmark date shall be considered the date of mailing. A postage 
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metered date is not considered as a postmark. A certificate not renewed within one year after 
expiration cannot be renewed.  

 
(3) A person whose certificate has expired may not administer a radiologic procedure during 

the one-year period in violation of the Act. A person may not use a title that implies certification 
while the certificate is expired.  

 
(4) A person whose certificate has been expired for more than one year may apply for 

another certificate by meeting the then-current requirements of the Act and this chapter which 
apply to all new applicants.  
 
(g) Expired certificates. The department, using the last address known, shall attempt to inform 
each MRT or LMRT who has not timely renewed a certificate, after a period of more than 10 
days after the expiration of the certificate that the certificate has automatically expired. A person 
whose certificate automatically expires is required to surrender the certificate and identification 
cards to the department.  
 
(h) Active duty. If an MRT or LMRT is called to or on active duty with the armed forces of the 
United States and so long as the MRT or LMRT does not administer a radiologic procedure in a 
setting outside of the active duty responsibilities during the time the MRT or LMRT is on active 
duty, the MRT or LMRT shall not be required to complete any continuing education activities 
during the renewal period in which the MRT or LMRT was on active duty.  

 
(1) Renewal of the certificate may be requested by the MRT or LMRT, a spouse, or an 

individual having power of attorney from the MRT or LMRT. The renewal form shall include a 
current address and telephone number for the individual requesting the renewal.  

 
(2) A copy of the official orders or other official military documentation showing that the 

MRT or LMRT was on active duty for any portion of the renewal period shall be filed with the 
department along with the renewal form.  

 
(3) An affidavit stating that the MRT or LMRT has not administered a radiologic procedure 

in a setting outside of the MRT or LMRT's active duty responsibilities during the time of active 
duty shall be filed with the department along with the renewal form. The affidavit may be 
executed by the MRT or LMRT, a spouse, or an individual having power of attorney from the 
MRT or LMRT.  

 
(4) A copy of the power of attorney from the MRT or LMRT shall be filed with the 

department along with the renewal form if the individual having power of attorney executes any 
of the documents required by this subsection.  

 
(5) A certificate covered by this subsection may be renewed in accordance with subsection 

(e) of this section. The 60-day late fee shall be waived for a renewal under this subsection.  
 
(6) An MRT or LMRT on active duty with the United States armed forces serving outside the 

State of Texas may request renewal of the certificate at any time before or after the expiration of 
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the certificate. An MRT or LMRT on active duty serving within the State of Texas may request 
renewal before the expiration of the certificate or under subsection (e) of this section. An MRT 
or LMRT on active duty serving within the State of Texas who does not renew under subsection 
(e) of this section may file a complete application for another certificate in accordance with 
§143.7(h) of this title. 
 
§143.11 Continuing Education Requirements 
 
(a) General. Continuing education requirements for recertification shall be fulfilled during each 
biennial renewal period beginning on the first day of the month following each MRT's or 
LMRT's birth month and ending on the last day of each MRT's or LMRT's birth month two years 
thereafter.  

 
(1) The initial continuing education period shall begin on the first day of the MRT's or 

LMRT's first biennial renewal period. Each subsequent period shall begin on the first day of the 
next biennial renewal period.  

 
(2) An MRT must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the 

department during each biennial renewal period.  
 
(3) An LMRT must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education acceptable to the 

department during each biennial renewal period. The continuing education activities must be 
general radiation health and safety topics or related to the categories of limited certificate held.  

 
(4) Each MRT or LMRT shall be notified of the continuing education requirements with the 

first biennial renewal certificate sent by the department.  
 
(5) At least 3 hours of the required number of hours shall be satisfied by attendance and 

participation in instructor-directed activities.  
 
(6) No more than 21 hours for MRTs or 9 hours for LMRTs of the required number of hours 

may be satisfied through verifiable independent self-study. These activities include reading 
materials, audio materials, audiovisual materials, or a combination thereof which meet the 
requirements set out in subsection (d) of this section.  

 
(7) An MRT or LMRT who also holds a current Texas license/registration/certification in 

another health profession may satisfy the continuing education requirement for renewal of the 
MRT or LMRT with hours counted toward renewal of the other license, registration, or 
certification provided the hours meet all the requirements of this section.  

 
(8) An MRT or LMRT who holds a current and active annual registration or credential card 

issued by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) indicating that the MRT 
is in good standing and not on probation satisfies the continuing education requirement for 
renewal of the general or limited certificate provided the hours accepted by the agency or 
organization which issued the card were completed during the MRT's biennial renewal period 
and meet or exceed the requirements set out in paragraph (5) of this subsection and subsection 
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(b) of this section. The department shall be able to verify the status of the card presented by the 
MRT or LMRT electronically or by other means acceptable to the department. The department 
may review documentation of the continuing education activities in accordance with subsection 
(e) of this section.  

 
(9) A contact hour shall be defined as 50 minutes of attendance and participation. One-half 

contact hour shall be defined as 30 minutes of attendance and participation during a 30-minute 
period.  

 
(10) Persons who hold temporary certificates, either general or limited, are not subject to 

these continuing education requirements.  
 

(b) Content. All continuing education activities should provide for the professional growth of the 
technologist.  

 
(1) At least 50% of the required number of hours must be activities which are directly related 

to the use and application of ionizing forms of radiation to produce diagnostic images and/or 
administer treatment to human beings for medical purposes. For the purpose of this section, 
directly related topics include, but are not limited to: radiation safety, radiation biology and 
radiation physics; anatomical positioning; radiographic exposure technique; radiological 
exposure technique; emerging imaging modality study; patient care associated with a radiologic 
procedure; radiopharmaceutics, pharmaceutics, and contrast media application; computer 
function and application in radiology; mammography applications; nuclear medicine application; 
and radiation therapy applications.  

 
(2) No more than 50% of the required number of hours may be satisfied by completing or 

participating in learning activities which are related to the use and application of non-ionizing 
forms of radiation for medical purposes.  

 
(3) No more than 50% of the required number of hours may be satisfied by completing or 

participating in learning activities which are indirectly related to radiologic technology. For the 
purpose of the section, indirectly related topics include, but are not limited to, patient care, 
computer science, computer literacy, introduction to computers or computer software, physics, 
human behavioral sciences, mathematics, communication skills, public speaking, technical 
writing, management, administration, accounting, ethics, adult education, medical sciences, and 
health sciences. Other courses may be accepted for credit provided there is a demonstrated 
benefit to patient care.  
 
(c) Types of acceptable continuing education. Continuing education shall be acceptable if the 
experience or activity is at least 30 consecutive minutes in length and:  

 
(1) is offered for semester hour or quarter hour credit by an institution accredited by a 

regional accrediting organization such as the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and 
is directly or indirectly related to the disciplines of radiologic technology as specified in 
subsection (a) of this section; or  
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(2) is offered for continuing education credit by an institution accredited by the Joint Review 
Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT), Joint Review Committee on 
Education in Nuclear Medicine Technology (JRCNMT), Joint Review Committee on Education 
in Cardiovascular Technology (JTCCVT), or the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) and 
is directly or indirectly related to the disciplines of radiologic technology; or  

 
(3) is an educational activity which meets the following criteria:  

 
(A) the content meets the requirements set out in subsection (b) of this section; and  
 
(B) is approved, recognized, accepted, or assigned continuing education credits by 

professional organizations or associations, or offered by a federal, state, or local governmental 
entity.  
 
(d) Additional acceptable activities. The additional activities for which continuing education 
credit will be awarded are as follows:  

 
(1) successful completion of an entry-level or advanced-level examination previously passed 

in the same discipline of radiologic technology administered by or for the ARRT during the 
renewal period. The examinations shall be topics dealing with ionizing forms of radiation 
administered to human beings for medical purposes. Such successful completion shall be limited 
to not more than one-half of the continuing education hours required;  

 
(2) successful completion or recertification in a cardiopulmonary resuscitation course, basic 

cardiac life support course, or advanced cardiac life support course during the continuing 
education period. Such successful completion or recertification shall be limited to not more than:  

 
(A) three hours credit during a renewal period for a cardiopulmonary resuscitation course 

or basic cardiac life support course; or  
 
(B) six hours credit during a renewal period for an advanced cardiac life support course;  

 
(3) attendance and participation in tumor conferences (limited to six hours), inservice 

education and training offered or sponsored by Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO)-accredited or Medicare certified hospitals, provided the 
education/training is properly documented and is related to the profession of radiologic 
technology;  

 
(4) teaching in a program described in subsection (c) of this section with a limit of one 

contact hour of credit for each hour of instruction per topic item once during the continuing 
education reporting period for up to a total of six hours. No credit shall be given for teaching that 
is required as part of one's employment. Credit may be granted in direct, indirect or non-ionizing 
radiation based on the topic; or  

 
(5) developing and publishing a manuscript of at least 1,000 words in length related to 

radiologic technology with a limit of six contact hours of credit during a continuing education 
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period. Upon audit by the department the MRT must submit a letter from the publisher indicating 
acceptance of the manuscript for publication or a copy of the published work. The date of 
publication will determine the continuing education period for which credit will be granted. 
Credit may be granted in direct, indirect or non-ionizing radiation based on the topic.  
 
(e) Reporting of continuing education. A technologist may request an exemption as set out in 
subsection (i) of this section or may submit a copy of the technologist's current and active annual 
registration or credential card indicating that the technologist is in good standing and not on 
probation in accordance with subsection (a)(8) of this section, with a signed statement that the 
technologist completed during the MRT's biennial renewal period at least 50% of the required 
number of hours of continuing education directly related to the performance of a procedure 
utilizing ionizing radiation for medical purposes and that no more than 21 hours for MRTs and 9 
hours for LMRTs of the required number of hours shall be verifiable independent self-study 
activities.  

 
(1) At the time of renewal or at other times determined by the department, the department 

will select a random sample of technologists to verify compliance with the continuing education 
requirements. The technologists selected in the random sample shall submit at the time of 
renewal or within 30 days following notification from the department:  

 
(A) documentation of participation in and completion of continuing education acceptable 

to the department; and  
 
(B) any additional information or documentation deemed necessary by the department to 

verify the technologist's compliance with the continuing education requirements.  
 
(2) The department shall notify the technologist of the results of the verification process.  

 
(f) Determination of contact hour credits. The department shall credit continuing education 
experiences and activities as follows.  

 
(1) Semester hour or quarter hour credits as set in subsection (c)(1) of this section shall be 

credited on the basis of 15 contact hour credits for each semester hour and 10 contact hour 
credits for each quarter hour successfully completed with a grade of "C" or better, evidenced by 
an official transcript.  

 
(2) Activities or experiences as set out in subsection (c)(2) and (3) of this section shall be 

credited on a one-for-one basis with one contact hour credit for each contact hour of attendance 
and participation. Credit will be accepted only in whole hour or half-hour increments. Minutes in 
excess of whole or half-hour increments shall not be aggregated for additional credit.  
 
(g) Activities unacceptable as continuing education. The department shall not grant credit for:  

 
(1) education incidental to the regular professional activities of an MRT or LMRT such as 

learning from experience or research;  
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(2) organizational activity such as serving on committees or councils or as an officer in a 
professional association, society, or other organization;  

 
(3) any activities completed before or after the two-year continuing education period for 

which the credit is submitted;  
 
(4) verifiable independent study activities which have no post-test or other measurement or 

evaluation instrument provided;  
 
(5) verifiable independent study activities as set out in subsection (a)(6) of this section which 

exceed 50% of the clock hour requirements;  
 
(6) learning activities indirectly related to radiologic technology as set out in subsection 

(b)(3) of this section which exceed 50% of the contact hour requirements;  
 
(7) learning activities which are related to non-ionizing forms of radiation as set out in 

subsection (b)(2) of this section which exceed 50% of the contact hour requirements;  
 
(8) any activities or experiences which do not meet the criteria set out in subsection (a), (b), 

(c) or (d) of this section;  
 
(9) activities in accordance with subsection (d)(1) and (2) of this section which are repeated 

during the renewal period;  
 
(10) activities in accordance with subsection (d)(4) of this section in excess of the one-time 

credit per topic of instruction or in excess of a total of six contact hours during a continuing 
education period;  

 
(11) activities in accordance with subsection (d)(5) of this section in excess of six contact 

hours during a continuing education period; or  
(12) activities that are an employment requirement or concerning specific institutional 

policies and procedures.  
 
(h) Failure to complete the required continuing education. A person may renew late under 
§143.10(f) of this title after all the continuing education requirements have been met.  
 
(i) Exemptions. The department will consider granting an exemption from the continuing 
education requirement on a case-by-case basis if:  

 
(1) a technologist completes and forwards to the department a sworn affidavit indicating 

retirement status for the entire renewal period for which the exemption is requested. A 
technologist who has been granted this exemption and who desires to resume performing 
radiologic procedures shall be required to accrue continuing education hours. These hours shall 
be accrued immediately following the technologist's return to performing radiologic procedures 
to satisfy the continuing education requirements for renewal in accordance with subsection (a) of 
this section; 
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(2) a technologist completes and forwards to the department a sworn affidavit indicating that 

the technologist is employed but does not perform radiologic procedures for the entire renewal 
period. A technologist who has been granted this exemption and who desires to resume 
performing radiologic procedures shall be required to accrue continuing education hours. These 
hours shall accrue immediately following the technologist's return to performing radiologic 
procedures to satisfy the continuing education requirements for renewal in accordance with 
subsection (a) of this section;  

 
(3) a technologist shows reasons of health, certified by a licensed physician, that prevent 

compliance with the continuing education requirement for the entire renewal period. A 
technologist must complete and forward to the department a sworn affidavit and provide 
documentation that clearly establishes the period of disability and resulting physical limitations;  

 
(4) a technologist submits a sworn statement and shows reason which prevents compliance 

and the reason is acceptable to the department;  
 
(5) a technologist is called to or on active duty with the armed forces of the United States for 

the entire renewal period and so long as the technologist does not administer a radiologic 
procedure in a setting outside of the active duty responsibilities during the time on active duty. 
The technologist must file a copy of orders to active military duty with the department; or  

 
(6) a technologist submits proof of successful completion of an advanced level examination 

or an entry level examination in another discipline of radiologic technology administered or 
approved by the ARRT during the renewal period. All examinations shall be topics dealing with 
ionizing forms of radiation administered to human beings for medical purposes.  
 
(j) Partial exemption. The department may consider granting an exemption for one-half of the 
continuing education requirement if the technologist submits proof of successful completion 
during the renewal period of an examination accepted by the department in a topic dealing with 
non-ionizing radiation. The balance of the hours must be directly related to the performance of a 
radiologic procedure utilizing ionizing radiation in accordance with subsection (b)(1) of this 
section. The following are examinations accepted by the department:  

 
(1) the registry examination offered by the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical 

Sonographers; and  
 
(2) the advanced-level examination in non-ionizing imaging offered by the ARRT.  

 
(k) Denial of request for exemption. A technologist whose request for exemption is denied by the 
department may request a hearing on the denial within 30 days after the date the department 
notified the technologist of the exemption denial. If no hearing is requested in writing within 30 
days, the opportunity for hearing shall be waived.  
 
(l) Record keeping. An MRT or LMRT shall be responsible for keeping, for a period of not less 
than two years, accurate and complete documentation or other records of continuing education 
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reported to the department. An MRT or LMRT shall submit documentation of attendance and 
participation in continuing education activities upon written request by the department. 
 
§143.12 Changes of Name and Address 
 
(a) The certificate holder shall notify the department of changes in name, preferred mailing 
address, or place(s) of business or employment within 30 days of such change(s).  
 
(b) Notification of address changes shall be made in writing including the name, mailing address, 
and zip code and be mailed to the department.  
 
(c) Before any certificate and identification cards will be issued by the department, notification 
of name changes must be mailed to the department and shall include a copy of a marriage 
certificate, court decree evidencing such change, or a social security card reflecting the new 
name. The certificate holder shall submit a certified check or money order for the replacement 
fee, as set out in §143.4 of this title. Upon receipt of the new certificate and identification cards, 
the MRT or LMRT shall return the previously issued certificate and cards immediately to the 
department. If those items have been lost, destroyed, or are not available to return, a statement 
detailing the loss or destruction must be signed and submitted to the department. 
 
§143.13 Certifying Persons with Criminal Backgrounds 
 
(a) Criminal convictions which directly relate to the profession of radiology.  

 
(1) The department may suspend or revoke any existing certificate, disqualify a person from 

receiving any certificate, or deny to a person the opportunity to be examined for a certificate if 
the person is convicted of, enters a plea of nolo contendere or guilty to a felony or misdemeanor 
if the crime directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of a MRT, NCT or LMRT.  

 
(2) In considering whether a pleading of nolo contendere or a criminal conviction directly 

relates to the occupation of an MRT, NCT or LMRT, the department shall consider:  
 
(A) the nature and seriousness of the crime;  
 
(B) the relationship of the crime to the purposes for certification. The following felonies 

and misdemeanors relate to any certificate because these criminal offenses indicate an inability 
or a tendency to be unable to perform as an MRT, NCT or LMRT:  

 
(i) the misdemeanor of knowingly or intentionally acting as an MRT, NCT or LMRT 

without a certificate under the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act (the Act);  
 
(ii) any misdemeanor and/or felony offense defined as a crime of moral turpitude by 

statute or common law;  
 
(iii) a misdemeanor or felony offense under various titles of the Texas Penal Code:  
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(I) offenses against the person (Title 5);  
 
(II) offenses against property (Title 7);  
 
(III) offenses against the public order and decency (Title 9);  
 
(IV) offenses against public health, safety, and morals (Title 10); and  
 
(V) offenses of attempting or conspiring to commit any of the offenses in this 

subsection;  
 
(C) the extent to which any certificate might offer an opportunity to engage in further 

criminal activity of the same type as that in which the person previously had been involved; and  
(D) the relationship of the crime to the ability, capacity, or fitness required to perform the 

duties and discharge the responsibility of an MRT, NCT or LMRT. In making this determination, 
the department will apply the criteria outlined in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 53, the legal 
authority for the provisions of this section.  

 
(3) The misdemeanors and felonies listed in paragraph (2)(B)(i) - (iii) of this subsection are 

not inclusive in that the department may consider other particular crimes in special cases in order 
to promote the intent of the Act and these sections.  
 
(b) Procedures for revoking, suspending, or denying a certificate or temporary certificate to 
persons with criminal backgrounds.  

 
(1) The administrator shall give written notice to the person that the department intends to 

deny, suspend, or revoke the certificate or temporary certificate after hearing in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, the Government Code, Chapter 2001, and 
the formal hearing procedures in §§1.21-1.34 of this title.  

 
(2) If the department denies, suspends, or revokes a certificate or temporary certificate under 

these sections after hearing, the administrator shall give the person written notice:  
 
(A) of the reasons for the decision;  
 
(B) that the person, after exhausting administrative appeals, may file an action in a 

District Court of Travis County for review of the evidence presented to the department and its 
decision; and  

 
(C) that the person must begin the judicial review by filing a petition with the court 

within 30 days after the department's action is final and appealable. 
 
§143.14 Disciplinary Actions 
 
(a) The department is authorized to take the following disciplinary actions for the violation of 
any provisions of the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act (Act) or this chapter:  
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(1) suspension, revocation, or nonrenewal of a certificate;  
 
(2) rescission of curriculum, training program, or instructor approval;  
 
(3) denial of an application for certification or approval;  
 
(4) assessment of a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for each separate 

violation of the Act;  
 
(5) issuance of a reprimand; or  
 
(6) placement of the offender's certificate on probation and requiring compliance with a 

requirement of the department, including submitting to medical or psychological treatment, 
meeting additional educational requirements, passing an examination, or working under the 
supervision of an MRT or other practitioner.  
 
(b) The department may take disciplinary action against a person subject to the Act for:  

 
(1) obtaining or attempting to obtain a certificate issued under the Act by bribery or fraud;  
 
(2) making or filing a false report or record made in the person's capacity as an MRT;  
 
(3) intentionally or negligently failing to file a report or record required by law;  
 
(4) intentionally obstructing or inducing another to intentionally obstruct the filing of a report 

or record required by law;  
 
(5) engaging in unprofessional conduct, including the violation of the standards of practice of 

radiologic technology established by the department;  
 
(6) developing an incapacity that prevents the practice of radiologic technology with 

reasonable skill, competence, and safety to the public as the result of:  
 

(A) an illness;  
 
(B) drug or alcohol dependency; or  
 
(C) another physical or mental condition or illness;  

 
(7) failing to report to the department the violation of the Act or any allegations of sexual 

misconduct by another person;  
 
(8) employing, for the purpose of applying ionizing radiation to a person, a person who is not 

certified under or in compliance with the Act;  
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(9) violating a provision of the Act or this chapter, an order of the department previously 
entered in a disciplinary proceeding, or an order to comply with a subpoena issued by the 
department;  

 
(10) having a certificate revoked, suspended, or otherwise subjected to adverse action or 

being denied a certificate by another certification authority in another state, territory, or country; 
or  

 
(11) being convicted of or pleading nolo contendere to a crime directly related to the practice 

of radiologic technology.  
 
(c) Engaging in unprofessional conduct means the following:  

 
(1) making any misleading, deceptive, or false representations in connection with service 

rendered;  
 
(2) engaging in conduct that is prohibited by state, federal, or local law, including those laws 

prohibiting the use, possession, or distribution of drugs or alcohol;  
 
(3) performing a radiologic procedure on a patient or client which has not been authorized by 

a practitioner;  
 
(4) aiding or abetting a person in violating the Act or rules adopted under the Act;  
 
(5) any practice or omission that fails to conform to accepted principles and standards of the 

medical radiologic technology profession;  
 
(6) performing a radiologic procedure which results in mental or physical injury to a patient 

or which creates an unreasonable risk that the patient may be mentally or physically harmed;  
 
(7) misappropriating medications, supplies, equipment, or personal items of the patient, client 

or employer;  
 
(8) performing or attempting to perform radiologic procedures in which the person is not 

trained by experience or education or in which the procedure is performed without appropriate 
supervision;  

 
(9) performing or attempting to perform any medical procedure which relates to or is 

necessary for the performance of a radiologic procedure and for which the person is not trained 
by experience or education or when the procedure is performed without appropriate supervision;  

 
(10) performing a radiologic procedure which is not within the scope of an LMRT's 

certificate, as set out in §143.7(e) of this title;  
 
(11) disclosing confidential information concerning a patient or client except where required 

or allowed by law;  
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(12) failing to adequately supervise a person in the performance of radiologic procedures;  
 
(13) providing false or misleading information on an application for employment to perform 

radiologic procedures;  
 
(14) providing information which is false, misleading, or deceptive regarding the status of 

certification; registration with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists, 
Cardiovascular Credentialing International, or Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification 
Board; or licensure by another country, state, territory, or the District of Columbia;  

 
(15) discriminating on the basis of race, creed, gender, sexual orientation, religion, national 

origin, age, physical handicaps or economic status in the performance of radiologic procedures;  
 
(16) impersonating or acting as a proxy for an examination candidate for any examination 

required for certification;  
 
(17) acting as a proxy for an MRT or LMRT at any continuing education required under 

§143.11 of this title;  
 
(18) obtaining, attempting to obtain, or assisting another to obtain certification or placement 

on the registry by bribery or fraud;  
 
(19) making abusive, harassing or seductive remarks to a patient, client or co-worker in the 

workplace or engaging in sexual contact with a patient or client in the workplace;  
 
(20) misleadingly, deceptively or falsely offering to provide education or training relating to 

radiologic technology;  
 
(21) failing to complete the continuing education requirements for renewal as set out in 

§143.11 of this title;  
 
(22) failing to document the continuing education requirements for renewal as required by 

the department;  
 
(23) failing to cooperate with the department by not furnishing required documents or 

responding to a request for information or a subpoena issued by the department or the 
department's authorized representative;  

 
(24) interfering with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation 

of facts to the department or its authorized representative or by use of threats or harassment 
against any person;  

 
(25) failing to follow appropriate safety standards or the Texas Regulations for the Control of 

Radiation in the operation of diagnostic or therapeutic radiologic equipment or the use of 
radioactive materials;  
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(26) failing to adhere to universal precautions or infection control standards as required by 

the Health and Safety Code, Chapter 85, Subchapter I;  
 
(27) defaulting on a guaranteed student loan, as provided in the Education Code, §57.491;  
 
(28) assaulting any person in connection with the practice of radiologic technology or in the 

workplace;  
 
(29) intentionally or knowingly offering to pay or agreeing to accept any remuneration 

directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, to or from any person, firm, 
association of persons, partnership, or corporation for securing or soliciting patients or patronage 
to or from a person licensed, certified or registered by a state health care regulatory agency. The 
provisions of the Health and Safety Code, §161.091, concerning the prohibition of illegal 
remuneration apply to MRTs and LMRTs;  

 
(30) using or permitting or allowing the use of the person's name, certificate, or professional 

credentials in a way that the person knows, or with the exercise of reasonable diligence should 
know:  

 
(A) violates the Act, this chapter or department rule relating to the performance of 

radiologic procedures; or  
 
(B) is fraudulent, deceitful or misleading;  

 
(31) knowingly allowing a student enrolled in an education program to perform a radiologic 

procedure without direct supervision; or  
 
(32) knowingly concealing information relating to enforcement of the Act or this chapter.  
 
(33) failing reasonably to protect the certificate from fraudulent or unlawful use.  
 
(34) engaging in sexual conduct in the workplace. A MRT, LMRT, NCT or a temporary 

certificate holder shall not engage in sexual conduct with a client, patient, co-worker, employee, 
staff member, contract employee, MRT, LMRT, NCT or temporary certificate holder on the 
premises of any job establishment. For the purposes of this section, sexual conduct includes:  

 
(A) any touching of any part of the genitalia or anus except as necessary for the 

performance of a radiologic procedure as defined in §143.2 of this title (relating to Definitions);  
 
(B) any touching of the breasts of a female except as necessary for the performance of a 

radiologic procedure as defined in §143.2 of this title;  
 
(C) any offer or agreement to engage in any activity described in this subsection;  
 
(D) kissing without the consent of both persons;  
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(E) deviate sexual intercourse, sexual contact, sexual intercourse, indecent exposure, 

sexual assault, prostitution, and promotion of prostitution as described in the Texas Penal Code, 
Chapters 21, 22, and 43, or any offer or agreement to engage in any such activities;  

 
(F) any behavior, gestures, or expressions which may reasonably be interpreted as 

inappropriately seductive or sexual; or  
 
(G) inappropriate sexual comments, including making sexual comments about a person's 

body.  
 
(d) A person subject to disciplinary action under subsection (b)(6) of this section shall, at 
reasonable intervals, be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate that the person is able to resume 
the practice of radiologic technology.  
 
(e) An instructor engages in unprofessional conduct if the instructor violates any of the 
provisions of subsection (b) or (c) of this section or if the instructor:  

 
(1) is an MRT or LMRT who fails to renew the certificate;  
 
(2) is a practitioner who fails to renew his or her license or who has the license suspended, 

revoked, or otherwise restricted by the appropriate regulatory agency;  
 
(3) discriminates in decisions regarding student recruitment, selection of applicants, student 

training or instruction on the basis of race, creed, gender, religion, national origin, age, physical 
handicaps, sexual orientation, or economic status;  

 
(4) abandons an approved course of study or a training program with currently enrolled 

students;  
 
(5) knowingly provides false or misleading information on the application for instructor 

approval or on any student's application for certification; or  
 
(6) fails to provide instruction on universal precautions as required by the Health and Safety 

Code, §85.203.  
 
(f) An education program engages in unprofessional conduct if the program, including its 
employees or agents, violates any of the provisions of subsection (b) or (c) of this section or if 
the program:  

 
(1) makes any misleading, deceptive, or false representations in connection with offering or 

obtaining approval of an education program;  
 
(2) fails to follow appropriate safety standards or the TRCR in the operation of diagnostic or 

therapeutic radiologic equipment or the use of radioactive materials;  
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(3) discriminates in decisions regarding student recruitment, selection of applicants, student 
training or instruction on the basis of race, creed, gender, sexual orientation, age, physical 
handicaps, economic status, religion or national origin;  

 
(4) aids or abets a person in violating the Act or rules adopted under the Act;  
 
(5) abandons an approved education program with currently enrolled students; or  
 
(6) fails to provide instruction on universal precautions as required by the Health and Safety 

Code, Section 85, Subchapter I.  
 
(g) The department may take disciplinary action against a student for intentionally practicing 
radiologic technology without direct supervision.  
 
(h) In determining the appropriate action to be imposed in each case, the department shall take 
into consideration the following factors:  

 
(1) the severity of the offense;  
 
(2) the danger to the public;  
 
(3) the number of repetitions of offenses;  
 
(4) the length of time since the date of the violation;  
 
(5) the number and type of previous disciplinary cases filed against the person or program;  
 
(6) the length of time the person has performed radiologic procedures;  
 
(7) the length of time the instructor or education program has been approved;  
 
(8) the actual damage, physical or otherwise, to the patient or student, if applicable;  
 
(9) the deterrent effect of the penalty imposed;  
 
(10) the effect of the penalty upon the livelihood of the person or program;  
 
(11) any efforts for rehabilitation; and 
 
(12) any other mitigating or aggravating circumstances.  

 
(i) Formal hearing requirements:  

 
(1) Notice requirements.  
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(A) Notice of the hearing shall be given according to the notice requirements of the 
Administrative Procedure Act (APA).  

 
(B) If a party fails to appear or be represented at a hearing after receiving notice, the 

Administrative Law Judge examiner may proceed with the hearing or take whatever action is fair 
and appropriate under the circumstances.  

 
(C) All parties shall timely notify the Administrative Law Judge of any changes in their 

mailing addresses.  
 
(2) Parties to the hearing.  

 
(A) The parties to the hearing shall be the applicant or licensee and the complaints 

subcommittee or executive director, as appropriate.  
 
(B) A party may appear personally or be represented by counsel or both.  

 
(3) Prehearing conferences.  

 
(A) In a contested case, the Administrative Law Judge, on his own motion or the motion 

of a party, may direct the parties to appear at a specified time and place for a conference prior to 
the hearing for the purpose of:  

 
(i) the formulation and simplification of issues;  
 
(ii) the necessity or desirability of amending the pleading;  
 
(iii) the possibility of making admissions or stipulations;  
 
(iv) the procedure at the hearing.  
 
(v) specifying the number of witnesses;  
 
(vi) the mutual exchange of prepared testimony and exhibits;  
 
(vii) the designation of parties; and  
 
(viii) other matters which may be expedite the hearing.  

 
(B) The Administrative Law Judge shall have the minutes of the conference recorded in 

an appropriate manner and shall issue whatever orders are necessary covering said matters or 
issues.  

 
(C) Any action taken at the prehearing conference may be reduced to writing, signed by 

the parties, are made a part of the record.  
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(4) Assessing the cost of a court reporter and the record of the hearing.  
 
(A) In the event a court reporter is utilized in the making of the record of the proceedings, 

the department shall bear the cost of the per diem or other appearance fee for such reporter.  
 
(B) The department may prepare, or order the preparation of, a transcript (statement of 

facts) of the hearing upon the written request of any party. The department may pay the cost of 
the transcript or assess the cost to one or more parties.  

 
(C) In the event a final decision of the department is appealed to the district court wherein 

the department is required to transmit to the reviewing court a copy of the record of the hearing 
proceeding, or any part thereof, the department may be require the appealing party to pay all or 
part of the cost of preparations of the original or a certified copy of the record of the department 
proceedings that is required to be transmitted to the reviewing court.  

 
(5) Disposition of case. Unless precluded by law, informal disposition may be made of any 

contested case by agreed settlement order or default order.  
 
(6) Agreements in writing. No stipulation or agreement between the parties with regard to 

any matter involved in any proceeding shall be enforced unless it shall have been reduced to 
writing and signed by the parties or their authorized representatives, dictated into the record 
during the course of a hearing, or incorporated in an order bearing their written approval. This 
rule does not limit a party's ability to waive, modify, or stipulate away any right or privilege 
afforded by these sections.  

 
(7) Final orders or decisions.  

 
(A) The final order or decision will be rendered by the department. The department is not 

required to adopt the recommendation of the Administrative Law Judge and may take action as it 
deems appropriate and lawful.  

 
(B) All final orders or decisions shall be in writing and shall set forth the findings of fact 

and conclusions required by law.  
 
(C) All final orders shall be signed by the commissioner; however, interim orders maybe 

issued by the Administrative Law Judge.  
 
(D) A copy of all final orders and decisions shall be timely provided to all parties as 

required by law.  
 
(8) Motion for rehearing. A motion for rehearing shall be governed by APA, §2001.146, 

Texas Government Code, and shall be addressed to the department and filed with the 
administrator.  
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(9) Appeals. All appeals from final department orders or decisions shall be governed by 
APA, Subchapter G, Texas Government Code and communications regarding any appeal shall be 
to the administrator.  
 
(j) The following applies after disciplinary action has been taken.  

 
(1) The department may not reinstate a certificate to a holder or cause a certificate to be 

issued to an applicant previously denied a certificate unless the department is satisfied that the 
holder or applicant has complied with requirements set by the department and is capable of 
engaging in the practice of radiologic technology. The person is responsible for securing and 
providing to the department such evidence, as may be required by the department. The 
administrator or the department shall investigate prior to making a determination.  

 
(2) During the time of suspension, the former certificate holder shall return the certificate and 

identification card(s) to the department.  
 
(3) If a suspension overlaps a certificate renewal period, the former certificate holder shall 

comply with the normal renewal procedures in this chapter; however, the department may not 
renew the certificate until the administrator or the department determines that the reasons for 
suspension have been removed and that the person is capable of engaging in the practice of 
radiologic technology.  

 
(4) If the commissioner of health revokes or does not renew the certificate, the former 

certificate holder may reapply in order to obtain a new certificate by complying with the 
requirements and procedures at the time of reapplication. The department may not issue a new 
certificate until the administrator or the department determines that the reasons for revocation or 
nonrenewal have been removed and that the person is capable of engaging in the practice of 
radiologic technology. An investigation may be required.  

 
(5) If the commissioner rescinds the approval of an instructor or program, the formerly 

approved instructor or program may reapply for approval by complying with the requirements 
and procedures at the time of reapplication. Approval will not be issued until the administrator or 
the department determines that the reasons for revocation have been removed. An investigation 
may be required.  
 
(k) Pursuant to the Act, §601.351, the department is authorized to assess an administrative 
penalty against a person who violates the Act or this chapter. 
 
§143.15 Advertising or Competitive Bidding 
 
(a) The department may not adopt rules restricting advertising or competitive bidding by a 
medical radiologic technologist except to prohibit false, misleading, or deceptive practices.  
 
(b) A person, including a medical radiologic technologist, that is not certified under the Act shall 
not use the word "medical radiologic technologist", on any sign, display, or other form of 
advertising unless the person is expressly exempt from the certification requirement.  
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(c) A certificate holder shall not use advertising that is false, misleading, or deceptive or that is 
not readily subject to verification. False, misleading, or deceptive advertising or advertising that 
is not really subject to verification includes advertising that:  

 
(1) makes a material misrepresentation of fact or omits a fact necessary to make the 

statement as a whole not materially misleading;  
 
(2) makes a representation likely to create an unjustified expectation about the results of a 

health care service or procedure;  
 
(3) compares a health care professional's services with another health care professional's 

services unless the comparison can be factually substantiated;  
 
(4) contains a testimonial;  
 
(5) causes confusion or misunderstanding as to the credentials, education, or registration of a 

health care professional;  
 
(6) advertises or represents that health care insurance deductibles or copayments may be 

waived or are not applicable to health care services to be provided if the deductibles or 
copayments are required;  

 
(7) advertises or represents that the benefits of a health benefit plan will be accepted as full 

payment when deductibles or copayments are required;  
 
(8) makes a representation that is designed to take advantage of the fears or emotions of a 

particularly susceptible type of patient; or  
 
(9) advertises or represents in the use of a professional name, title or professional 

identification that is expressly or commonly reserved to or used by another profession or 
professional.  
 
(d) When an assumed name is used in a person's practice as a medical radiologic technologist, 
limited medical radiologic technologist, or non-certified technician the legal name or certificate 
number of the medical radiologic technologist, limited medical radiologic technologist, or non-
certified technician must be listed in conjunction with the assumed name. An assumed name 
used by a medical radiologic technologist, limited medical radiologic technologist, or non-
certified technician must not be false, misleading, or deceptive.  
 
(e) A limited medical radiologic technology educational program or a training program for non-
certified technicians shall not make false, misleading, or deceptive statements concerning the 
activities or programs of another limited medical radiologic technology education program or a 
training program for non-certified technicians.  
 



 

 Repeal - 53  

(f) A limited medical radiologic technology educational program or a training program for non-
certified technicians shall not maintain, advertise, solicit for or conduct any course of instruction 
intended to qualify a person for certification or placement on the registry without first obtaining 
approval from the department.  
 
(g) Advertisement by an educational or training program seeking prospective students must 
clearly indicate that training is being offered, and shall not, either by actual statement, omission, 
or intimation, imply that prospective employees are being sought.  
 
(h) Advertisements seeking prospective students must include the full and correct name of the 
educational or training program.  
 
(i) No statement or representation shall be made to prospective or enrolled students that 
employment will be guaranteed upon completion of any program or that falsely represents 
opportunities for employment.  
 
(j) No statement shall be made by an educational or training program that it has been accredited 
unless the accreditation is that of an appropriate nationally recognized accrediting agency listed 
by the United States Office of Education.  
 
(k) No educational or training program shall advertise an employment agency under the same 
name or a confusingly similar name or at the same location as the educational or training 
program. No representative shall solicit students for a program through an employment agency. 
 
§143.16 Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures 
 
(a) General. This section identifies the radiologic procedures which are dangerous or hazardous 
and may only be performed by a practitioner, medical radiologic technologist (MRT) or limited 
medical radiologic technologist (LMRT). There are specific procedures identified in subsections 
(b) and (c) of this section which may be performed by a registered nurse (RN) or a physician 
assistant trained under §143.17 of this title (relating to Mandatory Training Programs for Non-
Certified Technicians) or §143.20 of this title (relating to Alternative Training Programs). A 
person trained under §143.17 or §143.20 of this title and placed on a registry under §143.18 of 
this title (relating to Registry of Non-Certified Technicians) is not an MRT, LMRT or otherwise 
certified under the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act (Act) and shall not 
perform a dangerous or hazardous procedure identified in this section unless expressly permitted 
under this section.  
 
(b) Dangerous procedures. Unless otherwise noted, the list of dangerous procedures which may 
only be performed by a practitioner or MRT are:  

 
(1) nuclear medicine studies;  
 
(2) administration of radio-pharmaceuticals, unless performed by an RN or physician 

assistant who is appropriately trained as authorized by the department's Bureau of Radiation 
Control for licensure of radioactive materials;  
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(3) radiation therapy, including simulation, brachytherapy and all external radiation therapy 

beams including Grenz rays:  
 
(4) computed tomography (CT) or any variation thereof;  
 
(5) interventional radiographic procedures, including angiography, unless performed by an 

LMRT with a certificate issued in the cardiovascular category;  
 
(6) fluoroscopy and/or fluorography, unless performed by an LMRT with a certificate issued 

in the cardiovascular category, or by an RN or physician assistant who assists in the performance 
of the procedure under the supervision of a practitioner; and  

 
(7) cineradiography (including digital acquisition techniques), unless performed by an LMRT 

with a certificate issued in the cardiovascular category.  
 
(c) Hazardous procedures. Unless otherwise noted, the list of hazardous procedures which may 
only be performed by a practitioner or MRT are:  

 
(1) conventional tomography;  
 
(2) skull radiography, excluding anterior-posterior/posterior-anterior (AP/PA), lateral, 

Townes, Caldwell, and Waters views;  
 
(3) portable x-ray equipment;  
 
(4) spine radiography, excluding AP/PA, lateral and lateral flexion/extension views;  
 
(5) spine radiography, excluding lumbar oblique views performed by an RN or physician 

assistant who performs the procedure under the supervision of a practitioner;  
 
(6) shoulder girdle radiographs, excluding AP and lateral shoulder views, AP clavicle and AP 

scapula, unless performed by an RN or physician assistant who performs the procedure under the 
direction and supervision of a practitioner;  

 
(7) pelvic girdle radiographs, excluding AP or PA views;  
 
(8) sternum radiographs, unless performed by an RN or physician assistant who performs the 

procedure under the direction and supervision of a practitioner; and  
 
(9) radiographic procedures which utilize contrast media, unless performed by an RN or 

physician assistant who assists in the performance of the procedure under the supervision of a 
practitioner.  

 
(10) pediatric radiography, excluding extremities, unless performed by an RN or physician 

assistant who is appropriately trained, as set out in §143.17 or §143.20 of this title or an LMRT 
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with the appropriate category. If an emergency condition exists which threatens serious bodily 
injury, protracted loss of use of a bodily function or death of a pediatric patient unless the 
procedure is performed without delay, or if other extenuating circumstances deemed by the 
practitioner exist, a pediatric radiographic procedure is also excluded. The emergency condition 
or extenuating circumstance must be documented by the ordering practitioner in the patient's 
clinical record and the record must document that a regularly scheduled MRT, LMRT, RN or 
physician assistant is not reasonably available to perform the procedure.  
 
(d) Performance of a hazardous procedure by an LMRT. An LMRT may perform a radiologic 
procedure listed in subsection (c) of this section only if the procedure is within the scope of the 
LMRT's certification, as described in §143.7(f) of this title (relating to Types of Certificates and 
Applicant Eligibility).  
 
(e) Performance of a dangerous or hazardous procedure by a practitioner. This section does not 
authorize a practitioner to perform a radiologic procedure which is outside the scope of the 
practitioner's license.  
 
(f) Dental radiography. This section does not apply to a radiologic procedure involving a dental 
x-ray machine, including panarex or other equipment designed and manufactured only for use in 
dental radiography.  
 
(g) Mammography. In accordance with the Health and Safety Code, §401.421 et seq, 
mammography is a radiologic procedure which may only be performed by an MRT who meets 
the qualifications set out in Chapter 289 of the Radiation Control rules relating to 
mammography. Mammography shall not be performed by an LMRT, an NCT, or any other 
person.  
 
(h) Prohibited act. A person who performs a dangerous or hazardous procedure in violation of 
the Act, §601.402(b) commits a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail or a 
fine up to $2,000, or both.  
 
(i) An RN or physician assistant must be trained under §143.17 of this title or §143.20 of this 
title, or have been approved to perform radiologic procedures under a hardship exemption 
granted under §143.19 of this title (relating to Hardship Exemptions), in addition to performing 
the listed procedure under the direction and supervision of a practitioner. Subsections (b)(6), 
(c)(8), and (c)(9) of this section shall not be construed to authorize an RN or physician assistant 
to independently perform fluoroscopy, fluorography or procedures utilizing contrast media.  
 
(j) Student performance of dangerous or hazardous procedures. The procedures identified in this 
section are not considered dangerous and hazardous for purposes of §601.056(a) of the Act if the 
person performing the procedures is a student enrolled in a program which meets the minimum 
standards adopted under §601.056 of the Act and if the person is performing radiologic 
procedures in an academic or clinical setting as part of the program. Therefore, such students 
may perform these procedures in such settings. Students may not perform procedures in an 
employment setting. 
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§143.17 Mandatory Training Programs for Non-Certified Technicians 
 
(a) General. This section sets out the minimum standards for approval of mandatory training 
programs, as required by the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification Act (Act), §601.201, 
which are intended to train individuals to perform radiologic procedures which have not been 
identified as dangerous or hazardous. Individuals who complete an approved training program 
may not use that training toward the educational requirements for a general or limited certificate 
as set out in §143.7 of this title (relating to Types of Certificates and Applicant Eligibility). 
Before a person performs a radiologic procedure, the person must complete all the hours in 
subsection (d)(2)(A) - (C) of this section, and at least one unit in subsection (d)(3)(A) - (G) or 
(d)(4) of this section.  
 
(b) Instructor direction required. All hours of the training program completed for the purposes of 
this section must be live and interactive and directed by an approved instructor. No credit will be 
given for training completed by self-directed study or correspondence.  
 
(c) Instructor qualifications.  

 
(1) An instructor(s) shall have education and not less than six months classroom or clinical 

experience teaching the subjects assigned, shall meet the standards required by a sponsoring 
institution, if any, and shall meet at least one or more of the following qualifications:  

 
(A) be a currently certified MRT who is also currently credentialed as a radiographer by 

the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists;  
 
(B) be a currently certified LMRT (excluding a temporary certificate) whose limited 

certificate category(ies) matches the category(ies) of instruction and training; or  
 
(C) be a practitioner who is in good standing with all appropriate regulatory agencies 

including, but not limited to, the department, the Texas State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 
Texas State Board of Medical Examiners, or Texas State Board of Podiatry Examiners, the Texas 
Health and Human Services Commission, the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services.  

 
(2) An LMRT may not teach, train, or provide clinical instruction in a portion of a training 

program which is different from the LMRT's level of certification. An LMRT holding a limited 
certificate in the chest and extremities categories may not participate in the portion of a training 
program relating to radiologic procedures of the spine. The LMRT may participate in the 
portions of the training program which are of a general nature and those specific to the specific 
categories on the limited certificate.  

 
(d) Training requirements. In order to successfully complete a program, each student must 
complete the following minimum training:  
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(1) prerequisites recommended for admission include high school graduation or general 
equivalency diploma; certified medical assistant; graduation from a medical assistant program; 
or six months full time patient care experience, otherwise determined by the practitioner.  

 
(2) courses which are fundamental to diagnostic radiologic procedures:  

 
(A) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self and others – 22 classroom hours;  
 
(B) image production and evaluation – 24 classroom hours; and  
 
(C) radiographic equipment maintenance and operation – 16 classroom hours which 

includes at least six hours of quality control, darkroom, processing, and Texas Control of 
Radiation Regulations; and  

 
(3) one or more of the following units of applied human anatomy and radiologic procedures 

of the:  
 
(A) skull (five views: Caldwell, Townes, Waters, AP/PA, and lateral) – 10 classroom 

hours;  
 
(B) chest – eight classroom hours;  
 
(C) spine – eight classroom hours;  
 
(D) abdomen, not including any procedures utilizing contrast media – four classroom 

hours;  
 
(E) upper extremities-14 classroom hours;  
 
(F) lower extremities – 14 classroom hours; and/or  
 
(G) podiatric – five classroom hours.  

 
(e) Application procedures for training programs. An application shall be submitted to the 
department at least 30 days prior to the starting date of the training program. Official application 
forms are available from the department and must be completed and signed by an approved 
instructor, who shall be designated as the training program director. The training program 
director shall be responsible for the curriculum, the instructors, and determining whether students 
have successfully completed the training program.  

 
(1) Official application forms must be executed in the presence of a notary public and shall 

be accompanied by the application fee in accordance with §143.4 of this title. Photocopied 
signatures will not be accepted.  
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(2) Application forms and fees shall be mailed to the address indicated on the application 
materials. The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, or undeliverable application 
forms. An application received without the application fee will be returned to the applicant.  
 
(f) Application materials. The application shall include, at a minimum:  

 
(1) the beginning date and the anticipated length of the training program;  
 
(2) the number of programs which will be conducted concurrently and whether programs will 

be conducted consecutively;  
 
(3) the number of students anticipated in each program;  
 
(4) the daily hours of operation;  
 
(5) the location, mailing address, phone and facsimile numbers of the program;  
 
(6) the name of the training program director;  
 
(7) a list of the names of the approved instructors and the topics each will teach, and a list of 

management and administrative personnel and any practitioners who will participate in 
conducting the program; 

  
(8) clearly defined and written policies regarding the criteria for admission, discharge, 

readmission and completion of the program;  
 
(9) evidence of a structured pre-planned learning experience with specific outcomes;  
 
(10) a letter or other documentation from the Texas Workforce Commission, Proprietary 

Schools Section indicating that the proposed training program has complied with or has been 
granted exempt status under the Texas Proprietary School Act, Texas Education Code, Chapter 
32 and 19 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 175. If approval has been granted by the Texas 
Higher Education Coordinating Board, a letter or other documentation from the Texas 
Workforce Commission, Proprietary Schools Section is not necessary; and  

 
(11) specific written agreements to:  

 
(A) provide the training as set out in subsection (d) of this section and provide not more 

than 75 students per instructor in the classroom;  
 
(B) advise students that they are prohibited from performing radiologic procedures which 

have been identified as dangerous or hazardous in accordance with §143.16 of this title (relating 
to Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures) unless they become an LMRT, MRT or a practitioner;  

 
(C) use written and oral examinations to periodically measure student progress;  
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(D) keep an accurate record of each student's attendance and participation in the program, 
accurate evaluation instruments and grades for not less than five years. Such records shall be 
made available upon request by the department or any governmental agency having authority;  

 
(E) issue to each student who successfully completes the program a certificate or written 

statement including the name of the student, name of the program, dates of attendance and the 
types of radiologic procedures covered in the program completed by the student;  

 
(F) retain an accurate copy for not less than five years and submit an accurate copy of the 

document described in subparagraph (E) of this paragraph to the department within 30 days of 
the issuance of the document to the student; and  

 
(G) permit site inspections by employees or representatives of the department to 

determine compliance with this section.  
 
(g) Application approval.  

 
(1) The administrator shall be responsible for reviewing all applications for training program 

approval. The administrator shall approve any application which is in compliance with this 
section. A letter of approval shall be issued for a period of one year.  

 
(2) A program shall be denied approval if the application is incomplete or not submitted as 

set out in this section. The training program director shall be notified in accordance with §113.1 
of this title (relating to Processing Permits for Special Health Services Professionals).  

 
(3) If approval is proposed to be denied, the training program director shall be notified in 

writing of the proposed denial and shall be given an opportunity to request a formal hearing 
within ten days of the training program director's receipt of the written notice from the 
department. The formal hearing shall be conducted according to the department's formal hearing 
procedures in Chapter 1 of this title (relating to Texas Board of Health). If no hearing is 
requested, the right to a hearing is waived and the proposed action shall be taken.  
 
(h) Application processing. The department shall use the same process as described in §143.6(e) 
of this title, except the time periods are as follows:  

 
(1) letter of acceptance – 30 days;  
 
(2) letter of application deficiency – 30 days;  
 
(3) letter of approval – 42 days; and  
 
(4) letter of denial of approval – 42 days.  

 
(i) Renewal.  

 



 

 Repeal - 60  

(1) The training program director shall be responsible for renewing the approval of the 
training program on or before the anniversary date of the initial application.  

 
(2) The department shall send a renewal notice to the training program at least 60 days prior 

to the anniversary date. The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, undeliverable or 
misplaced mail.  

 
(3) The renewal is effective if the official renewal form and fee in accordance with §143.4 of 

this title are postmarked or delivered to the department on or before the anniversary date.  
 
(4) Failure to submit the renewal form and renewal fee in accordance with §143.4 of this title 

by the deadline will result in the expiration of the training program's approval.  
 
(5) A training program which does not renew the approval shall cease representing the 

program as an approved training program. The program director shall notify, or cause the 
notification of currently enrolled students that the training program is no longer approved under 
this section. The notification shall be in writing and must be issued within ten days of the 
expiration of the approval.  

 
(6) The training program may reapply for approval and meet the then current requirements 

for approval under this section. 
 
§143.18 Registry of Non-Certified Technicians 
 
(a) General. This section sets forth the rules for administering the registry of non-certified 
technicians performing radiologic procedures, established in accordance with the Act, §601.202. 
The department's registry is to provide a mechanism for consumers or employers to ascertain or 
verify that a person performing radiologic procedures has complied with the Act, §601.201 by 
successfully completing a training program in accordance with §143.17 of this title or §143.20 of 
this title (relating to Alternate Training Requirements).  
 
(b) Information on the registry. The registry, at a minimum, shall include the information as 
follows for each person on the registry:  

 
(1) full name;  
 
(2) current mailing address;  
 
(3) place of employment, including address, city and state;  
 
(4) date of birth;  
 
(5) social security number;  
 
(6) gender;  
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(7) the name and location of the training program approved in accordance with §143.17 of 
this title which the person successfully completed;  

 
(8) the date of successful completion of the training program; and  
 
(9) the types of radiologic procedures covered in the person's training program. A person 

listed on the registry may not perform a dangerous or hazardous procedure as set out in §143.16 
of this title (relating to Dangerous or Hazardous Procedures).  
 
(c) Initial placement on the registry. In order to be listed on the registry for the first time, the 
information described in subsection (b) of this section shall be reported to the department by the 
training program approved under §143.17 or §143.20 of this title after the person's successful 
completion of the training. A person who has completed all the training program through 
previously completed courses in accordance with §143.17(d) of this title may apply directly to 
the department within two years of completion of the course to be placed on the registry upon 
receipt of an application and required fee.  
 
(d) Renewal of registration.  

 
(1) Each person on the registry shall be responsible for renewing his or her status on the 

registry prior to the expiration date.  
 
(2) The department shall send a renewal notice to each registrant at least 60 days before the 

expiration date. The department is not responsible for lost, misdirected, undeliverable or 
misplaced mail.  

 
(3) The renewal is effective if the official renewal form is postmarked or delivered to the 

department on or before the expiration date of the registrant's certificate. The renewal form shall 
include, at a minimum, the person's name, current mailing address, and current place of 
employment.  

 
(4) Failure to submit the renewal form by the expiration date will result in the removal of the 

person's name from the registry.  
 
(5) A person whose name is removed from the registry due to failure to renew may be 

relisted on the registry by submitting a late renewal form and fee to the department within one 
year of the expiration date of registrant's certificate. If renewal is not complete within one year, 
the person may not renew; but must reapply and meet current requirements.  
 
(e) Changes in name, address or place of employment. A person listed on the registry is 
responsible for submitting changes in name, address or place of employment to the department, 
in writing, within 30 days of any change. Name changes must be accompanied by a copy of the 
person's social security card indicating the new name. The copy must be notarized as a copy of 
the unaltered original social security card.  
 



 

 Repeal - 62  

(f) Inquiries regarding registration status. Inquiries regarding a person's registration status may 
be made in writing or by telephone. The department will issue a non-transferable registration 
certificate or other document indicating that the person is registered by the department.  
 
(g) Employer responsibility. If a person performing radiologic procedures is not a medical 
radiologic technologist, limited medical radiologic technologist or is not registered under this 
section, the employer shall be responsible for determining whether the person performing 
radiologic procedures is in compliance with §143.17 or §143.20 of this title. This subsection 
does not apply to a hospital, federally qualified health center, or practitioner granted a hardship 
exemption by the department within the previous 12-month period.  
 
(h) Complaints. Complaints regarding persons on the registry may be submitted in writing to the 
Texas Department of Health, Professional Licensing and Certification Division, Complaints 
Management and Investigation Section, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, Texas 78756-3183, or by 
calling 1-800-942-5540. 
 
§143.19 Hardship Exemptions 
 
(a) General.  

 
(1) A hospital, federally qualified health center (FQHC) or practitioner may apply to the 

department for an exemption from employing an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  
 
(2) The applicant must demonstrate a hardship as described in subsection (b)(5) of this 

section in employing an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  
 
(3) The applicant shall not allow a person who is not an MRT, LMRT, or NCT to perform a 

radiologic procedure until the department grants a hardship exemption.  
 
(4) A hardship exemption granted by the department does not constitute licensure, 

certification, registration, or authorization to perform a dangerous or hazardous radiologic 
procedure or mammography.  
 
(b) Required application materials.  

 
(1) The applicant must apply for a hardship on the forms prescribed by the department. The 

date of application shall be the date the application and application fee is postmarked. If there is 
no visible postmark, or if the application is hand-delivered, the application date shall be the date 
the administrator received the application.  

 
(2) The application must be accompanied by documentation clearly indicating that the 

applicant is a licensed hospital, FQHC or licensed practitioner. A copy of the current hospital 
license, certificate of qualification issued to the FQHC, or current license of the practitioner shall 
be acceptable documentation.  

 



 

 Repeal - 63  

(3) If the application is from a hospital or FQHC, the administrator or chief executive officer 
of the hospital or FQHC must sign the application form. If the applicant is a practitioner, the 
practitioner must sign the application form.  

 
(4) The application must include a list of the person(s) performing radiologic procedures who 

is not an MRT, LMRT, or NCT.  
 
(5) The application shall be accompanied by one or more of the following:  

 
(A) if the applicant is unable to attract or retain an MRT or LMRT, a sworn affidavit 

describing in narrative form the applicant's attempts to attract and retain an MRT or LMRT at a 
comparable salary for the area;  

 
(B) if the applicant is located more than 50 highway miles from the nearest school of 

medical radiologic technology approved in accordance with §143.9 of this title, a sworn affidavit 
describing in narrative form the physical address of the nearest school of medical radiologic 
technology; the physical address of the applicant hospital, FQHC, or primary practice location of 
the practitioner; and the actual distance in highway miles between the school and the applicant 
hospital, FQHC, or practitioner's primary practice. The applicant shall include a map of the area 
clearly indicating the locations of each entity;  

 
(C) if the nearest school of medical radiologic technology approved in accordance with 

§143.9 of this title has a waiting list of school applicants due to a lack of faculty or space, a 
sworn affidavit from the applicant indicating that admissions to the school are pending because 
of a lack of faculty or space;  

 
(D) if the need for graduates in medical radiologic technology of the applicant exceeds 

the number of graduates from the nearest school of medical radiologic technology approved in 
accordance with §143.9 of this title, a sworn affidavit from the applicant indicating that the 
number of graduates from the nearest school does not meet the applicant's needs for radiologic 
technologists;  

 
(E) if emergency conditions have occurred during the 90 days prior to making application 

for the hardship exemption, a sworn affidavit from the applicant describing the emergency 
conditions, the hardship(s) the emergency conditions have created and how long the hardship(s) 
is anticipated to continue. For the purposes of this subparagraph, emergency conditions may 
include a disaster, epidemic, or other catastrophic event;  

 
(F) documentation that the United States government has declared a state of war;  
 
(G) if the equipment operated is a bone densitometry unit(s) which utilizes x-radiation, a 

sworn affidavit from the applicant indicating the name of the person operating the equipment and 
proof that the person is a certified densitometry technologist in good standing with the 
International Society for Clinical Densitometry (ISCD) or has completed at least 20 hours of 
training as follows:  
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(i) specific bone densitometry equipment utilizing x-radiation to be used by the 
operator – 16 hours presented by a medical radiologic technologist (MRT) or an equipment 
applications specialist knowledgeable of the specific equipment to be utilized; and  

 
(ii) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self and others – four hours 

presented by an MRT or a licensed medical physicist within the 24-month period prior to 
application or reapplication for a hardship exemption;  

 
(H) if the applicant uses only a hand-held fluoroscope with a maximum operating 

capability of 65 kilovolts and 1 milliampere, or a similar type of x-ray unit for imaging upper 
extremities only, at the location indicated on the application form and the applicant believes that 
the radiation produced by the radiographic equipment represents a minimal threat to the patient 
and the operator of the equipment, the following is required to be submitted:  

 
(i) a copy of the current certificate of registration issued by the Bureau of Radiation 

Control; and  
 
(ii) a sworn affidavit describing the equipment used; the types of radiographs 

performed; the training completed by the operator of the equipment within the 24-month period 
prior to application or reapplication for a hardship exemption; the date(s) the training was 
completed by the operator; the radiation safety measures taken for the patient, operator and 
others; the level or amount of supervision provided by an MRT or a practitioner(s) to the 
operator while performing the radiographic procedure; and the equipment manufacturer's 
specifications for the diagnostic radiographic equipment utilized at the location indicated on the 
application form, including the maximum operating capability.  

 
(6) All application materials and information are subject to verification by the department.  
 
(7) The department shall send a written notice listing the additional materials required to an 

applicant whose application is incomplete. An application not completed within 30 days after the 
date of the written notice shall be invalid unless the applicant has advised the department of a 
valid reason for the delay.  
 
(c) Application approval.  

 
(1) The department shall be responsible for reviewing all applications. The department shall 

approve any application which is in compliance with this section and which properly documents 
applicant eligibility.  

 
(2) If granted by the department, a letter of exemption shall be issued for a period of one 

year.  
 
(d) Disapproved applications.  
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(1) The department shall disapprove the application if the applicant has not met the 
application requirements set out in this section or has failed or refused to complete or submit any 
form or documentation required by the department to verify the eligibility for the exemption.  

 
(2) If the department determines that the application should not be approved, the department 

shall give the applicant written notice of the reason for the disapproval. The applicant may 
appeal the decision to the department by submitting a written request within ten days after 
receipt of the written notice of the reason(s) for the disapproval.  

 
(3) Based upon the application and any additional information submitted by the applicant, the 

department shall approve or disapprove the application.  
 
(4) An applicant whose application has been disapproved under this subsection shall be 

permitted to reapply after a period of not less than one year from the date of the disapproval and 
shall submit a new application and supporting information. The applicant may reapply for an 
exemption any time the basis for the exemption application changes.  
 
(e) Application processing. The department shall use the same process as described in §143.6(e) 
of this title, except the time periods are as follows:  

 
(1) letter of acceptance – 30 days;  
 
(2) letter of application deficiency – 30 days;  
 
(3) letter of approval – 42 days; and  
 
(4) letter of denial of exemption – 42 days.  

 
(f) Reapplication for hardship exemption.  

 
(1) The hospital, FQHC, or a practitioner must reapply annually for the exemption and meet 

the then current requirements for a hardship exemption.  
 
(2) A hospital, FQHC, or a practitioner who does not reapply for an exemption shall not 

allow a person to perform a radiologic procedure unless the person is a practitioner, MRT, 
LMRT, or NCT. 
 
§143.20 Alternate Training Requirements 
 
(a) General. This section sets out the minimum standards for registered nurses (RNs), physician 
assistants, podiatric medical assistants (PMAs) and x-ray equipment operators in a physician's 
office.  
 
(b) Instructor direction required. All hours of the training program completed for the purposes of 
this section must be live and interactive and directed by an instructor approved by the 
department. Distance learning activities and audiovisual teleconferencing may be utilized, 
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provided these include two-way, interactive communications which are broadcast or transmitted 
at the actual time of occurrence. Appropriate on-site supervision of persons participating in the 
distance learning activities or teleconferencing shall be provided by the approved training 
program. No credit will be given for training completed by self-directed study or 
correspondence. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to the out of classroom training 
requirements for podiatric medical assistants and x-ray equipment operators in a physician's 
offices.  

 
(1) Before an RN or physician assistant performs a radiologic procedure, the RN or physician 

assistant must complete the hours stated in subsection (d) of this section, or the hours stated in 
§143.17 of this title.  

 
(2) Before a PMA performs a radiologic procedure, the PMA must complete the hours stated 

in subsection (e) of this section, or the hours stated in §143.17(d) of this title concerning 
podiatric radiologic procedures.  

 
(3) Individuals who complete training approved under this section may not use that training 

toward the educational requirements for a general or limited certificate as set out in §143.7 of 
this title.  
 
(c) Approved instructors.  

 
(1) For purposes of this section, an individual is approved by the department to teach in a 

training program if the individual meets the requirements of §143.9(g)(1) - (2) of this title. The 
application for the training program must demonstrate that the instructors meet the qualifications. 
No application for individual instructor approval is required.  

 
(2) An LMRT may not teach, train, or provide clinical instruction in a portion of a training 

program which is different from the LMRT's level of certification. An LMRT holding a limited 
certificate in the chest and extremities categories may not participate in the portion of a training 
program relating to radiologic procedures of the spine. The LMRT may participate in the 
portions of the training program which are of a general nature and those specific to the specific 
categories on the limited certificate.  
 
(d) Training requirements for registered nurses and physician assistants. A training program 
preparing RNs and physician assistants to perform radiologic procedures shall be designed to 
build on the health care knowledge base and skills acquired through completion of an 
educational program that qualifies the person for licensure as an RN or physician assistant. The 
training shall consist of:  

(1) a minimum of 30 classroom hours of coursework that are fundamental to diagnostic 
radiologic procedures covering all of the following items:  

 
(A) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self, and others – ten classroom hours;  
 
(B) radiologic equipment – ten classroom hours;  
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(C) image production and evaluation – ten classroom hours; and  
 
(2) one or more of the following units of classroom instruction in radiologic procedures:  

 
(A) chest and abdomen (non-pediatric) – eight classroom hours;  
 
(B) spine (non-pediatric) – ten classroom hours;  
 
(C) skull (non-pediatric) – eight classroom hours;  
 
(D) extremities (including pediatric) – eight classroom hours; and  

 
(3) if the RN or physician assistant will perform pediatric radiologic procedures other than 

extremities, a minimum of two classroom hours for each of the areas identified in paragraph 
(2)(A) - (C) of this subsection.  
 
(e) Training requirements for podiatric medical assistants PMAs.  

 
(1) In order to successfully complete a program, a PMA must complete the following 

training:  
 
(A) radiation safety and protection for the patient, self, and others – five classroom hours 

and five out of classroom hours;  
 
(B) radiographic equipment used in podiatric medicine, including safety standards, 

operation, and maintenance – one classroom hour and two out of classroom hours;  
 
(C) podiatric radiologic procedures, imaging production and evaluation – one classroom 

hour and four out of classroom hours; and  
 
(D) methods of patient care and management essential to radiologic procedures, 

excluding CPR, BCLS, ACLS and similar subjects – one classroom hour and one out of 
classroom hour.  

 
(2) Successful completion of PMA training allows the PMA to perform radiologic procedures 

only under the instruction or direction of a podiatrist.  
 
(3) The out of classroom training hours require successful completion of learning objectives 

approved by the department as verified by the supervising podiatrist.  
 

(f) Application procedures for training programs. The Department of State Health Services 
(department) shall use the same process as described in §143.17(e) of this title.  
 
(g) Application materials. The department shall require the same materials as described in 
§143.17(f) of this title.  
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(h) Application approval. The department shall use the same process as described in §143.17(g) 
of this title.  
 
(i) Application processing. The department shall use the same process as described in §143.17(h) 
of this title.  
 
(j) Renewal. The department shall use the same process as described in §143.17(i) of this title. 
 
 


