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Indoor waterparks may operate up to 75% of the total listed occupancy of the indoor waterpark facility and 
outdoor waterparks may operate up to 75% of the normal operating limits as determined by the waterpark 
operator.  All employees and customers must wear a face covering (over the nose and mouth) wherever it 
is not feasible to maintain six feet of social distancing from another individual not in the same household, 
except face coverings are not required while in a swimming pool, lake, or similar body of water.     
The following are the minimum recommended health protocols for all waterparks choosing to operate in 
Texas.  Waterparks may adopt additional protocols consistent with their specific needs and circumstances to 
help protect the health and safety of all employees, contractors, and customers. 
The virus that causes COVID-19 can be spread to others by infected persons who have few or no symptoms.  
Even if an infected person is only mildly ill, the people they spread it to may become seriously ill or even die, 
especially if that person is 65 or older with pre-existing health conditions that place them at higher risk.  
Because of the hidden nature of this threat, everyone should rigorously follow the practices specified in these 
protocols, all of which facilitate a safe and measured reopening of Texas.  The virus that causes COVID-19 is 
still circulating in our communities.  We should continue to observe practices that protect everyone, including 
those who are most vulnerable. 
Please note, public health guidance cannot anticipate every unique situation.  Operators of waterparks 
should stay informed and take actions based on common sense and wise judgment that will protect health 
and support economic revitalization.  Operators of waterparks should also be mindful of federal and state 
employment and disability laws, workplace safety standards, and accessibility standards to address the 
needs of both workers and customers. 

Health protocols for your employees and contractors: 

 Train all employees on appropriate cleaning and disinfection, hand hygiene, and respiratory etiquette. 

 Screen employees and contractors before coming into the waterpark:   

 Send home any employee or contractor who has any of the following new or worsening signs or 
symptoms of possible COVID-19: 
- Cough
- Shortness of breath or difficulty

breathing
- Chills
- Repeated shaking with chills
- Muscle pain
- Headache

- Sore throat
- Loss of taste or smell
- Diarrhea
- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature

greater than or equal to 100.0 degrees Fahrenheit
- Known close contact with a person who is lab

confirmed to have COVID-19

 Do not allow employees or contractors with new or worsening signs or symptoms listed above 
to return to work until: 

In the case of an employee or contractor who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual 
may return to work when all three of the following criteria are met:  at least 3 days (72 
hours) have passed since recovery (resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing 
medications); and the individual has improvement in symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of 
breath); and at least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared; or 
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- In the case of an employee or contractor who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and does

not get evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual is assumed to
have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual has completed the
same three-step criteria listed above; or

- If the employee or contractor has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to
work before completing the above self-isolation period, the individual must obtain a medical
professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis.

 Do not allow an employee or contractor with known close contact to a person who is lab-confirmed 
to have COVID-19 to return to work until the end of the 14-day self-quarantine period from the last 
date of exposure (with an exception granted for healthcare workers and critical infrastructure 
workers). 

 Have employees and contractors wash or sanitize their hands upon entering the premises and between 
interactions with visitors. 

 Have employees and contractors maintain at least 6 feet of separation from other individuals.  If such 
distancing is not feasible, other measures such as hand hygiene, cough etiquette, cleanliness, and 
sanitation should be rigorously practiced.  

 If the waterpark provides a meal for employees and/or contractors, the waterpark is recommended to 
have the meal individually packed for each individual. 

Health protocols for your facilities: 

 If 6 feet of separation is not available between employees, contractors, and/or customers inside the 
facility, consider the use of engineering controls, such as dividers between individuals, to minimize the 
chances of transmission of COVID-19. 

 Regularly and frequently clean and disinfect any regularly touched surfaces, such as doorknobs, tables, 
chairs, and restrooms. 

 Disinfect any items that come into contact with visitors. 

 Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available to 
employees, contractors, and customers. 

 Consider placing readily visible signage at the business to remind everyone of best hygiene practices. 

 Consider having an individual wholly or partially dedicated to ensuring the health protocols adopted 
by the waterpark are being successfully implemented and followed.

If you serve food and/or beverages: 

 Groups maintain at least 6 feet of distance from other groups at all times, including while waiting to be 
seated in the food area.   

 Make a hand sanitizing station available upon entry to the food area. 
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 No tables of more than 10 people. 

 Contactless payment is encouraged.  Where not available, contact should be minimized.  Both parties 
should wash or sanitize hands after the payment process. 

 For waiter-provided food service: 

 Do not leave condiments, silverware, flatware, glassware, or other traditional table top items on 
an unoccupied table. 

 Provide condiments only upon request, and in single use (non-reusable) portions or in reusable 
containers that are cleaned and disinfected after each use. 

 Clean and disinfect the area used for dining (table, etc.) after each group of customers depart the 
theater. 

 Use disposable menus (new for each patron), or clean and disinfect reusable menus after each 
use.  

 If you allow customers to write down their food orders, provide take-home pencils and notepads 
that cannot be used by other customers. 

 Have wait staff sanitize or wash hands between interactions with customers. 

 For counter food service: 

 Provide condiments or flatware only in single use, individually-wrapped items, and provide 
condiments only upon request. 

 Have employees and contractors follow proper food-handling protocols. 

 Disinfect any items that come into contact with customers. 

 Clean and disinfect the area used for dining (table, etc.) after each group of customers depart, 
including the disinfecting of tables, chairs, stalls, and countertops. 

If you have video game equipment or other interactive amusements: 

 Assign at least one employee or contractor full time to disinfect the video games and other interactive 
amusements.  Continuous disinfecting is needed to protect customers. 

 Disinfect all gaming equipment before and after customer use. 
 Provide equipment disinfecting products throughout facility for use on equipment. 
 Ensure only one player can play a game at a time. 
 Provide for at least 6 feet of separation between games. 
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