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COVID-19: Guidance for First Responders and Local Jurisdictions 

This document is intended to provide general guidance and is not a 

substitute for specific legal advice based on circumstances. You are advised 
to seek advice from your own legal counsel. 

1. What information about an individual under monitoring or under 

a control measure order can be dispatched to first responders? 

A local health department shall provide the address of the person under 
monitoring. [Texas Health and Safety Code §81.046(c-1)] During a 

public health disaster declaration, additional information may be 
provided but only the minimum amount of information needed to advise 

first responders of a possible exposure to a person with a communicable 

disease is authorized by statute. In the case of COVID-19, that may be 
as little as the address of the individual. §81.046(f). 

2. How should first responders treat an encounter if it is not known 

whether an individual has COVID-19? 

Now that we have community spread of COVID-19 in most areas of 
Texas, first responders should treat every encounter as one that might 

expose them to COVID-19. 

3. What information about a person under monitoring or under a 

control measure order can be shared with law enforcement? 

During a public health disaster, information related to cases or suspected 

cases of COVID-19 can be shared with law enforcement to the extent 
that information is necessary to protect the health or life of law 

enforcement personnel. Commissioner Hellerstedt issued a public health 
disaster declaration on March 19, 2020. That declaration lasts 30 days 

and is renewable for an additional 30 days. [Texas Health and Safety 

Code §81.046(f)] For general information, county or city case counts, 
addresses of individuals under monitoring or who are confirmed by 

testing may be all that is appropriate. However, if an officer experiences 
a high-risk exposure, such as being bitten, being spat in the face, etc., 

the local health department is authorized to release whether the person 
in question is known to them to have tested positive for COVID-19 and 

whether the person is likely still able to transmit the virus. The actual 
data shared is determined by the local health department. 
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4. What information can be shared with county judges in Texas, 
many of whom are responsible for the health and safety of their 

community? 

Reports, records, and information relating to cases or suspected cases of 

diseases or health conditions are not public information; however, 
certain identifiable information can be shared with county or district 

courts to comply with communicable disease statues and rules related to 
the control and treatment of those individuals. The level of information 

shared should only be to the extent necessary for the judge to make 
informed decisions on how to keep their community safe. This 

information is typically provided by the local health department. [Texas 
Health and Safety Code §81.046(f)] To determine the extent of disease 

in the jurisdiction, a local health department may provide suspected and 
known positives within the county and even at the city level, as well as 

de-identified information such as: sex, age range, hospitalized or not, 

and number of fatalities. Of course, if a court order is being sought to 
control the movement of an individual or group, the specific 

circumstances and fully identified information would be required for the 
judge to determine whether or not to issue a court order to control or 

confine. The actual data shared is determined by the local health 
department. 

5. Who should I consult for advice related to public health and 

privacy in my community? 

DSHS encourages local officials to work through the local health 
department for advice on public health issues and through their city 

and/or county attorneys in their jurisdiction to answer specific legal 
questions about public health and privacy requirements in their 

community. 

Because the novel coronavirus (the virus that causes COVID-19) 

response is rapidly changing, this is interim guidance. 

Reliable Information Sources 

Find up-to-date novel coronavirus information at dshs.texas.gov/coronavirus, 

and on DSHS’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @TexasDSHS. Also visit 
the CDC’s website at cdc.gov/coronavirus. 
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