Texas Department of State Health Services
Professional Licensing and Certification Unit
P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1982
Austin, Texas 78714-9347
(512) 834-4512
Z7103-154
Code Enforcement Officer Instructions for the Application
Read the Code Enforcement Officer Act and the rules (25 TAC, Chapter 140, Subchapter D) before filling out this application.
Complete this application and return it with the required non-refundable application fee.

INSTRUCTIONS
e Be sure to answer all questions.
o If you are applying for Code Enforcement Officer, you must complete Forms A, B, and C. You must have completed 1
year of full-time experience in the field of code enforcement.
e Ifyou are applying for Code Enforcement Officer in Training, you must complete Forms A, B, and D.
o If you are applying for Code Enforcement Officer in Training and would like to apply less than one year of experience
towards your one year of experience requirement, you must complete Forms A, B, C, and D.

FEES
e Code Enforcement Officer, Two Year License Fee: $111
e Code Enforcement Officer in Training, One Year License Fee: $57

Attach application fee to the upper left hand corner of this application. Also note that the application fee covers the initial licensing
fee. The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) will only accept guaranteed funds in the form of certified checks, cashier’s
checks, or money orders. Checks from state agencies, municipalities, counties or other political subdivisions of the state are also
acceptable.

Personal checks will not be accepted.

NOTARIZED TRANSCRIPTS

Attach a notarized copy of your G.E.D, high school diploma, college degree, or transcript. Notarized copies are exact copies of
unaltered original documents notarized by a notary public. Only notarized copies will be accepted.

TEEX TRAINING COURSE
e If you have completed the Basic Code Enforcement Officer Training offered by Texas Extension Engineering Service
(TEEX) at Texas A&M University, attach a notarized copy of your TEEX Certificate.
e If not, please be aware that you will need to send a notarized copy of your certificate once you have completed the course
before your registration will be issued.

EXAMINATION
e Once DSHS has received your completed Code Enforcement Officer Registration application, we will review your file to
determine if you are eligible to test.
e Upon approval, DSHS will then send you an examination admission letter along with detailed information on the examination
and scheduling procedures, including how to pay the $50 examination fee to Pearson VVUE.
e You must present this admission letter to the examination proctors on the day of the examination.

YOU WILL NOT BE ADMITTED TO THE EXAMINATION WITHOUT PRIOR APPROVAL FROM DSHS.

For further information on the Code Enforcement Officer Registration Program, and copies of forms, please visit our website at
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/code

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION

With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you.
You are entitled to receive and review the information upon request. Y ou aso have the right to ask the state agency to correct
any information that is determined to be incorrect. See http://www.dshs. state.tx.us/ for more information on Privacy
Notification. (Reference: Government Code, Section 552.021, 552.023, 559.003 and 559.004)
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