APPLICATION FOR A NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE BASED ON PARENTAGE

BUDGET ZZ 708-153

This form is used to ADD, REMOVE, or REPLACE information regarding the parents listed on the original birth
certificate according to an establishment of PARENTAGE or a COURT ORDER.

Child’s original birth information: Type or Print in Blue/Black Ink

Date of Birth: / / Place of Birth: . Texas
Full name of child as registered at birth month day year city

Father’s name: Mother’s full maiden name:

We/l hereby request a new birth certificate be filed as evidenced by:

PLEASE CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:
E] Attached certified copy of court decree (must send all pages of the court order) OR

EI A properly completed Acknowledgment of Paternity (form VS-159.1) (Date form was faxed to Vital Statistics Unit (VSU) or signed before a
certified entity: ) OR

EI Attached certified copy of the parents’ marriage license

E] A properly completed Rescission of Acknowledgment of Paternity (form VS-158) (Date Mailed to VSU )

INFORMATION TO BE PLACED ON NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE:

FULL NEW NAME OF CHILD (may require a court order): / /
First Middle Last
Title To Appear On Birth Record:  [_JMother [_] Father [JParent; If Mother, Full Maiden Name / /
First Middle Last
Parent’s Name: / / Date of Birth: / / Place of Birth:
First Middle Last month day year State or Foreign Country
Title To Appear On Birth Record:  [_Mother [ ]Father [JParent; If Mother, Full Maiden Name / /
First Middle Last
Parent’s Name: / / Date of Birth: / / Place of Birth:
First Middle Last month day year State or Foreign Country

WARNING: The Penalty for knowingly making a false statement in this form can be 2-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. (Texas Health
and Safety Code, Chapter 195).

Signature of PARENT or Legal Guardian swearing to this affidavit

Signature of PARENT or Legal Guardian swearing to this affidavit

Address city state zip code

( )

Daytime telephone number

Sworn to and subscribed before me, this day of

20

Address city state zip code
( )
Daytime telephone number
Sworn to and subscribed before me, this day of ,
20

Signature of Notary Public, County Clerk, or other person
authorized to administer oaths

Signature of Notary Public, County Clerk, or other person
authorized to administer oaths

Printed name and title

Printed name and title

SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS
® The fee for filing a new birth certificate is $25.00 An additional fee of $22.00 must be included for a certified copy of the new birth certificate.

Mail this completed and NOTARIZED application with either the attached evidence (certified copy of court order/ marriage license), or filed an
Acknowledgment of Paternity, and the required fee to:

TEXAS VITAL STATISTICS

PO BOX 12040

AUSTIN TX 78711-2040
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THIS FORM (with an attached court order or marriage license, or a filed Acknowledgment of Paternity in
the AOP Registry) MAY BE USED TO:

e Add a parent’s information to the birth certificate when the parent’s information is blank on the original birth
certificate. Evidence needed: a certified copy of a court order establishing the paternity of the child, OR a filed
Acknowledgment of Paternity in the AOP Registry if the biological parents are not married to each other, OR the
marriage license of the parents if they are now married to each other,

e Change the name and information of the parent listed on a child’s birth certificate to the biological father’s
name and information. This requires a certified copy of a court order OR an Acknowledgment of Paternity signed
by all three parties (the biological mother, the biological father, and the father presently listed on the birth
certificate) and filed in the Acknowledgment of Paternity Registry.

e Remove the father or mother’s information. This requires a certified copy of a court order. Please Note: A
Termination of Parental Rights will not remove a biological parent’s information from the birth certificate unless
the court order specifically states the biological parent’s name and information are to be removed.

e Substitute the Intended Parents’ names on the birth certificate based on a gestational agreement. This
requires a certified copy of a court order.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS:

¢ If amarriage license or an Acknowledgment of Paternity is being used as evidence, BOTH parents must
sign the application before a notary public.

¢ If a certified copy of a court order is being used as evidence to change the birth certificate, only one parent
is required to sign the application before a notary public.

¢ If you are the father listed and you are having your name removed, a certified copy of a court order is
required to make any change to the child’s name. You are no longer a qualified applicant to receive a copy of the
child’s new birth certificate. Please submit only the $25.00 filing fee. You will receive notification when the
change is made.

¢ A legal guardian or the father listed on the birth certificate may sign the application before a notary public
if a certified copy of a court order establishing or removing paternity is presented as evidence with this
application.

¢ If one or both parents are deceased, a court order is required to file a new birth certificate to add the
biological father’s name and information.

¢ If a birth certificate has previously been changed based on paternity or a court order, a court order is
needed to file a new birth certificate with different information.

NO CHANGES WILL BE MADE TO A BIRTH CERTIFICATE WITHOUT THE FILING FEE

The fee to file a new birth certificate based on paternity, removal of a father or mother’s information,
or a gestational agreement is $25.00. The additional fee for a certified copy of the new birth record
is $22.00. If you have any questions, please call (888) 963-7111.

VS-166 revised 03/2016
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For faster service at no extra charge, order online at www.Texas.qov

OFFICE USE ONLY OFFICE USE ONLY

x*
Cert # l* . y TFK:"\S Remit No.

Department of

DOCUMENT CONTROL # State Health Services
MAIL APPLICATION FOR BIRTH

By

PLEASE PRINT. INCLUDE A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR VALID PHOTO ID AND SWORN STATEMENT WHEN SENDING THE REQUEST.
Make check or money orders payable to: DSHS - Vital Statistics All funds are deposited directly to the Texas Comptroller of Public
Accounts. For any search of the files where a record is not found, the searching fee is not refundable or transferable.

[IBirth Certificates [JDeath Certificates
Type Cost X | # of copies= |Total Type Cost X | # of copies= |Total
Certified Copy $22 0 Certified Copy (1 copy) $20 0
Heirloom-Flag. :28 2 Additional Copies $3 0
Heirloom-Bassinet . (optional) $8.00 Lone Star/FedEx OR
(optional) $8.00 Lone Star/FedEx OR $19.95 USPS Express return delivery
$19.95 USPS Express return delivery
Total 0
Total 0
| wish to make a voluntary contribution of $5.00 to promote healthy early childhood by supporting the Texas Home
j‘ Visitation Program administered by the Office of Early Childhood Coordination of Health and Human Services.
BIRTH/DEATH RECORD INFORMATION
Full Name of First Name Middle Name Last Name
Person on Record
Date of Birth/Death | "o Day vear Sex
Place of Birth/Death| — ° TO%" County State
Full Name of First Name Middle Name Maiden Name/Last Name
Parent 1
Full Name of First Name Middle Name Maiden Name/Last Name
Parent 2

REQUESTOR INFORMATION

Requestor Name Telephone # Email Address
Full Mailing Address Street Address City State Zip
Relationship to person listed above Purpose for obtaining this record:

|:| | authorize mailing to the address below. | have verified that the address below will receive my order.

Name of Person Receiving Copies, if Different from Requestor

Mailing Address for Copies, if Different from Requestor

City State Zip

WARNING: IT IS A FELONY TO FALSIFY INFORMATION ON THIS DOCUMENT. THE PENALTY FOR KNOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE
STATEMENT ON THIS FORM OR FOR SIGNING A FORM WHICH CONTAINS A FALSE STATEMENT IS 2 TO 10 YEARS IMPRISONMENT AND
A FINE OF UP TO $10,000. (HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE, CHAPTER 195, SEC. 195.003)

Your Signature Date of Application

APPLICATIONS WITHOUT SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION, PAYMENT, SWORN STATEMENT AND A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR VALID PHOTO ID TO:
Texas Vital Records
Department of State Health Services
P.O. Box 12040
Austin, TX 78711-2040

(APPLICATIONS WITHOUT PHOTO ID AND THE ATTACHED SWORN STATEMENT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED)

VS-142.3 Rev. 09/2015 Page 3 of 5


http:www.Texas.gov

This blank page is to ensure that notarized affidavit (VS-142.3(A)) does not print on the

reverse side of the application (VS-142.3).
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NOTARIZED PROOF OF IDENTIFICATION

PART I.

ENTER NAME, DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH/DEATH, AND NAMES OF PARENTS AS INFORMATION APPEARS ON
BIRTH/DEATH &(57,),&$7(

FULL NAME OF PERSON ON RECORD

DATE OF BIRTH/DEATH

PLACE OF BIRTH/DEATH (City or County)

[SEX

FULL NAME OF PARENT 1 FULL NAME OF PARENT 2

PART Il. ENTER RELATIONSHIP TO PERSON ON RECORD AND THE TYPE OF ID USED.

NAME AND RELATIONSHIP TO PERSON ON RECORD

TYPE AND NUMBER OF ID ACCEPTED WHEN NOTARIZED

AFFIDAVIT OF PERSONAL KNOWLEDGE

PART Il

. THIS SECTION MUST BE SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY PUBLIC.

STATE OF

COUNTY OF

Before me on this day appeared

QRZ UHVIGLQJ Dil BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBEBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

BBBBBBBBI?BBBB§3BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB BB
Name
BB

(Address) (City) (State)
who is related IR IKH SHUWVRQ QDPHG RQ 3DUI , DV BBBBBBBBBBI?RBel?aBtE)EErI?iE;BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB_BB DQG ZKR RQ RDIK GHSRVHV DQG
VD\V IIKDIl the contents of this affidavit are true and correct. (
Signature
Sworn to and subscribed before me, this day of , 20

Signature of Notary Public

Commission Expires

(Seal)

Typed or Printed Name

Street Address

City, State and Zip

WARNING: IT IS A FELONY TO FALSIFY INFORMATION ON THIS DOCUMENT. THE PENALTY FOR KNOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE
STATEMENT ON THIS FORM OR FOR SIGNING A FORM WHICH CONTAINS A FALSE STATEMENT IS 2 TO 10 YEARS IMPRISONMENT AND
A FINE OF UP TO $10,000. (HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE, CHAPTER 195, SEC. 195.003)

MAIL THIS SWORN STATEMENT, APPLICATION, PAYMENT, AND A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR VALID PHOTO ID TO:
Texas Vital Records
Department of State Health Services
P.O. Box 12040
Austin, TX 78711-2040

(APPLICATIONS WITHOUT THE ATTACHED SWORN STATEMENT AND PHOTO ID WILL NOT BE PROCESSED)

VS-142.3 Rev. 09/2015
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