
Texas Electronic Registrar:  A Success Story
Since the implementation of the death ap-
plication for the Texas Electronic Registrar 
system, the results the system has produced 
have been rather extraordinary. Following the 
passage of HB 1739 in 2007, the Health and 
Safety Code was amended to require the use 
of an electronic system in the death registration 
process. Since the implementation of the Texas 
Electronic Registrar system (TER), the steady 
increase in the number of records being filed 
totally electroni-
cally has directly 
co r responded 
with a significant 
decrease in the 
amount of time 
it takes to file a 
death record.

As the chart be-
low illustrates, 
since 2007 the 
number of death 
records filed in the state of Texas has remained 
fairly constant, however the time it takes to file 
a death record with the State has been reduced 

from just over 40 days in 2007 to just over 12 
days in 2010. This drop directly correlates with 
an increase in the percentage of records being 
filed totally electronically. In 2007, only 5,719 
or 3.5% of all death records were filed totally 
electronically. In 2008 that number increased 
to 31,273 or 18.5% of all death records filed, 
and in 2009, most likely a result of the efforts 
to increase TER usage, the number of records 
filed totally electronically more than doubled to 

73,261, or nearly 
44% of all death 
records.

State law requires 
that all death re-
cords be filed and 
released to the 
State within ten 
days of the date 
of the death. In 
2007 the aver-
age time needed 

to file a death record was just over 40 days; 

however this number has steadily declined 

during the past three and a half 
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2011 MRC
Graduate
Project

2011 MRC Graduate Proj-

ect: Each year all of the 

Master Registrar Certifica-

tion (MRC) course gradu-

ates come together as a 

group to work on a project. 

It is strictly a volunteer 

effort – but the knowl-

edge and experience of 

these graduates greatly 

enhances the outcome 

of the project.  This year 

the graduated worked on 

researching and propos-

ing a certification course 

for birth registrars. This 

course would be similar to 

the local registrars Mas-

ter Registrar Certification 

(MRC) course; but pertain-

ing to birth registration. 

The results of the project 

will be available at the 

2011 annual conference; 

and the new project will 

be introduced at the con-

ference.

VSU is often asked if 
someone can come and 
take pictures of the birth and 
death certificates that have 
become open records. The 
answer is no. If someone 
wants to obtain an image of 
a record, the person must fill 
out an application for each 
record and pay for a certified 
copy of each record.

In 1992, Senator John 
Whitmire asked the Office 
of Attorney General whether 
the San Antonio Metropolitan 
Health District might limit 
public access to and charge 
a search fee for locating birth 
and death records that are 
public by the Opens Records 
Act.  

In the summary of his opin-
ion, Attorney General Mo-
rales states, “The San Anto-
nio Municipal Health District 
Registrar of Vital Statistics, a 
local registrar under section 
191.022 of the Health and 
Safety Code, cannot allow 

inspection of original birth re-
cords over [75] years old and 
death records over 25 years. 
While such records are not 
excepted from disclosure 
under the Open Records Act, 
the local registrar is required 
to provide copies and to 
charge a fee, by virtue of the 
Health and Safety Code, title 
3, which governs vital statis-
tics records, and regulations 
and instructions pro-
mulgated there un-
der, 25 T.A.C. ch. 
181; Bureau of Vital 
Statistics Manual for 
Local Registrars.”  

Attorney General Morales 
states in this opinion that:

“Pursuant to his authority 
under section 191.004 of 
the Health and Safety Code, 
the state registrar has issued 
the Bureau of Vital Statistics 
Manual for Local Registrars 
(hereinafter “Manual”) which 
governs the accessibility of 
vital statistics records in the 

hands of local registrars. It 
provides in pertinent part:

An individual requesting 
records which fall under the 
open records act must iden-
tify the record requested. No 
reason for the request need 
be presented. However, they 
must give enough informa-
tion in order for the record 
to be properly searched 

and identi-
f ied. Just 
b e c a u s e 
the record 
falls under 
the  open 
r e c o r d s 

act does NOT mean that 
the books themselves are 
open for persons to thumb 
through. The Registrar is 
still responsible for the in-
tegrity and preservation of 
the record. Once the record 
is located, a plain copy or 
certified copy will be made 
and given to the individual 
making the request. . . .

Standard fees shall be 

What you 
need to know about 
Open Records
Requests to take pictures of 
open records are on the rise...
Here are a few things
to remember

“A person who is 
trying to obtain a copy 

of a record would need 
to identify the record 

in writing.” 

2 continued on page 6



Be Prepared
A Quick Checklist 
of Some Things We 
Look For During Site 
Visits

Local registrar training  
manual

Process for records 
preservation

Emergency / disaster 
plan

Transition plan for new 
administration

Schedule of fees charged 
to the public for vital 
records\ services

Procedure to ensure 
the state receives $1.80 
payment to the State 
Comptroller for the sale 
of every birth certificate 
in your office.

Procedure to ensure 
t h e  s t a t e  r e c e i v e s 
$1.83 Remote Issuance 
payment (if applicable)

Procedure for issuing 
burial transit permits after 
regular business hours.

Procedure for reconciling 
reports of death with 
corresponding death 
certificates.

Procedure for using the 
remote birth system (if 
applicable)

Procedures for signing 
vital records in the local 
registrar’s absence

Procedures for tracking 
funeral home and medical 
certifier activity

As many of you know, the Vital 
Statistics Unit is actively conducting 
site visits with local registrar offices.  
This year alone, we have visited 
over 50 offices across the state of 
Texas.  The site visits are mutually 
beneficial for Field Service Repre-
sentatives and Local Registrars. 
Local Registrars better understand 
their role with vital registration, and 
Field Representatives learn more 
about the challenges Local Regis-
trars face. 

During our site visits, Field Rep-
resentatives have observed sev-
eral best practices that we believe 
might be beneficial to others.  For 
example, the City of Dallas, Bureau 
of Vital Statistics modified their ap-
plication to include a designated 
space on the front of the application 
for a photocopy of the applicant’s 
identification.  A special setting on 
the copier ensures that the copy 
prints in the designated space.  A 
copy of the applicant’s identifica-
tion on the front of the application, 
instead of the back or on a separate 
sheet of paper, helps them reas-
sure they have received the proper 
identification.  

Another best practice we identi-
fied has to do with fees owed to 
The Comptroller. The Health and 

Safety Code 191.022(f) requires 
any local registrar who collects a 
fee for the sale of a certified copy 
of a birth certificate to remit $1.80 
of that fee to the Comptroller. Many 
local registrars do not register births 
on regular basis because they do 
not have a birthing hospital in their 
area.  Therefore, they do not sell 
many certified copies of birth cer-
tificates, and do not submit the Civil 
Fees Quarterly Report form (Form 
#40-141) to the Texas Comptroller.  
During our site visits, we met with 
several local registrars, who submit 
the quarterly report, even though 
they did not sell any birth cer-
tificates, as proof that there are no 
fees to submit to The Comptroller.  
We believe this is a great practice 
and encourage all local registrars to 
do the same.  

During our site visits we may also 
make recommendations for im-
provements. One item we frequently 
recommend is to have a Transition 
Plan in place. To assure that vital 
registration continues during ad-
ministrative changeovers, a written 
procedure will help the next admin-
istration during the changeover.  
This can be as simple as providing 
instructions on who to contact at 
VSU, how to order paper, how to 
get a user ID and password for 

TER, etc.

Another recommendation we fre-
quently make is to have procedures 
written down. Many of you can do 
this job proficiently in your sleep.  
However, what happens if you are 
not available and no one else knows 
the job?  Unexpected events can 
occur, so it is important to have 
a written training and instruction 
manual in place to ensure ongoing 
customer service.  For example, if 
someone comes in to request a cer-
tified copy of a birth record, a new 
worker is able to look up instructions 
in the manual.

Do not worry about having a site 
visit. We are not going to show up 
unannounced. We will contact you 
at least three weeks prior to our 
visit to set up a time and day for 
us to visit.  The site visit will last 
approximately two to three hours, 
depending on the office.  More 
information on the Local Registrar 
Site visits will be available at our 
Vital Statistics Regional Summer 
Conferences.  To register for one of 
the conferences visit our website at 
www.summer2011.texasvsu.org
  

A Word About Site Visits...
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Hosted by the Texas Public Health Association and the Texas Vital Statistics Unit
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By participating you can:

Join Us!

Be in compliance 
with laws relevant 

to Vital 
Registration

Meet 5 Star 
Award 

requirements

Earn CEU/CME 
credit

Network with 
peers

Meet your 
VSU area 

representatives

Obtain AOP 
Re / Certificaton 

Fraud Prevention 
training

Get the latest 
legislative updates

Learn about 
Local Registrar 

Site Visits 

July  11 July  13 July  15 July  18 July  20

“I enjoyed the 

smaller 
classes because we 

had more 

interaction 

with the speakers.”   

“One day of training 

is easy to manage.”

“The conference was 

very helpful 
and the location 

was good because 

they have cut our 

travel 
expenses...with 

this we can qualify 

for the five star 
award.”

- Past participants

Local Registrars•	
Physicians•	
Justices of the Peace•	

Funeral Homes•	
Birth Registrars•	
Vital Registration•	  

       office / facility staff

Courses meet criteria for compliance of Vital Registration.  
Sessions are available for:

Courses

Continuing Medical 
Education

Texas DSHS 
Midwifery Program

American Health Information 
Management Association

Texas Funeral Service 
Commission

Texas Justice Court 
Training Center 

County & District Clerk’s 
Association of Texas

Continuing Education accreditaton is being submitted for:

Continuing Education

Conferences will begin at 8:30 a.m. and end at 5:00 p.m. Lunch and snacks 
will be provided.

The registration fee for attendees is $100.  Early registration ends one week 
before the conference date.  For payments sent after that date add $20.00.

To register, please go to the Texas Public Health Association website at:  
http://texaspha.org and click on Events.

For information regarding registration contact Terri Pali:    
512-336-2520
txpha(@)aol.com.  

Registration



Birth Registration in Texas: 
What are your responsibilities? 

In this session we will be providing infor-
mation on the importance of timely and 
accurate birth registration.  Birth regis-
trars will also learn their responsibilities 
involving birth registration, en-route 
births, foundlings, gestational agree-
ments, and non-institutional births. 

Electronic Death Registration 
in Texas 

This session will highlight the impor-
tance of death registration and guide at-
tendees through the process of register-
ing a death in TER.  

Request Processing:  What is 
done after the record is filed?  

In this session we will provide instructions 
on how to properly issue certified copies, 
helping customers complete amendment 
forms, open records request for birth and 
death records, Delayed Registration, the 
Paternity and Acknowledgement of Pa-
ternity Registries and more. 

County Clerk Marriage License 
Issuance and Legislative Update

In this session we will be going over the 
basic laws of marriage issuance as well as 
providing an update regarding any new 
legislation that was passed that will have 
an impact on county clerk functions.  
We will also address some of the fre-
quently asked questions that we received 
throughout the past year.

AOP Certification Course

Session will provide Acknowledgement 
of Paternity Certification from the Of-
fice of the Attorney General. Receive 
updates on new legislation. Please bring 
your existing AOP manuals.

Birth Registration Statutes

In the session we will be providing infor-
mation on the statutes and codes relevant 
to birth registration. Unusual birth sce-
narios and information from frequently 
asked questions will be used to develop 
the materials for this session. The stat-
utes will be presented in the form that 
will empower the attendees to use the 
statutes in dealing with birth registration 
situations.  

Electronic Local Registration

In this session we will be providing in-
formation on various local registrar 
functions in the Texas Electronic Reg-
istrar system.  The session content will 
be based on frequently asked questions 
received by the TER Support staff and 
Vital Statistics Unit.  

Death Registration Statutes

This session will focus on statutes and 
codes relevant to death registration in 
Texas. Interactive activities will help at-
tendees become more familiar with this 
information, and how it relates to their 
work activities.  

Local Registration Statutes

This will be an interactive session exam-
ining some of the basic statutes relevant 
to Local Registration issues. The statutes 
will be presented in the form of a guid-
ed discussion from the Local Registrar 
point of view and will empower learners 
to use the statutes in dealing with situ-
ations they regularly face. The scenarios 
described during this session were devel-
oped through frequently asked questions 
received by the Vital Statistics Unit. 

Course Descriptions

T e x a s  D e pa rt m e n t  o f  S tat e  H e a lt h  S e r v i c e s
V i ta l  S tat i s t i c s  U n i t

r e g i o n a l
Summer Conferences
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charged for all services  rendered as published 

by the Board of Health and the Bureau.

Manual, IV. ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIONS, 

D., at U9-10 (emphasis in original).

As noted above, it is the position of the mu-

nicipal health district’s registrar of vital statistics 

that birth records over 75 years old and death 

records over 25 years are not available for 

public inspection in the interest of preservation 

and may be obtained only upon payment of a 

[$20.00] search fee. This position is consistent 

with the foregoing regulations and the Manual 

as they apply to local registrars. Indeed, the 

Manual together with the regulations require 

local registrars to prohibit physical access to 

these records and to charge a fee for searching 

for them. See id.; 25 T.A.C. §§ 181.10(b)(1), 

181.22. Thus, we must determine whether the 

state registrar’s instructions to local registrars 

are inconsistent with the Open Records Act. 

We conclude that they are not.

This office has generally held that statutes 

which govern access to specific information 

prevail over the generally applicable Open 

Records Act. See, e.g., Open Records Deci-

sion Nos. 598 (1991); 478 (1987); 451 (1986). 

While birth records over 75 years old and death 

records over 25 years old are not exempt 

from disclosure under the Open Records Act 

and must be made available to the public, 

title 3 of the Health and Safety Code and the 

regulations promulgated there under govern 

more specifically how these particular records 

are to be made available to the public. Thus, 

we conclude that these requirements prevail 

over the more general Open Records Act 

provisions regarding inspection and copying 

of public records. See V.T.C.S. art. 6252-17a, 

§§ 4, 4A, 5, 9, 13; see also Attorney General 

Opinions MW-163 (1980) (Open Records Act 

cost provisions do not repeal fee schedules for 

copies established by other statutes); H-560 

(1975) (same).”

Even though birth records over 75 years of 

age and death records over 25 years are open 

to public, those records still fall under Vital Sta-

tistics Rules and Regulations.  A person who 

is trying to obtain a copy of a vital record will 

need to identify the record on a completed ap-

plication form [Title 25 TAC 181.1(13)], provide 

identification [Title 25 TAC 181.1 (13)], and pay 

the required fee [Title 25 TAC 181.22]

What you 
need to know 
about 
Open Records 
continued from page 2

TER: 
A Success Story  
continued from cover

years. In 2008, full implemen-

tation of the law began and the 

number of days needed to file 

a death record fell by nine to 

just over 31 days. The sharp-

est decline came in 2009, not 

surprising as efforts to uphold 

the TER usage statutes were 

being implemented. The aver-

age time to file a record fell 

from just over 30 days in 2008 

to just over 13 days in 2009. In 

2010 that number has contin-

ued to decrease to just over 12 

days showing just how effec-

tive TER usage can be.

The numbers through April 

30th of this year offer plenty 

of reason for optimism. So 

far there have been 51,982 

records received by the State 

this year and over 78% of 

them have been filed totally 

electronically, in an average 

time of just over 10 days per 

record, very near the time al-

lowed by statute. 
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New to 
Field Services

Tara Carmean

Tara Carmean started 
with the Vital Statistics 
Unit in March 2011. She 
is currently the Field 
Representative for the 
Panhandle Region. Tara 
has a Bachelor of Arts 
in Sociology from the 
University of Minnesota, 
and a Masters of Social 
Work from the University 
of Texas at Austin. Before 
joining the State, Tara 
worked for several non-
profit organizations. She 
has a range of experi-
ence with direct practice 
and research positions, 
such as working with on-
cology patients and col-
lecting data for a national 
clinical trial on diabetes.

Lloyd Shangreaux

Lloyd Shangreaux joined 
the Vital Statistics Unit 
in January 2011 as the 
Area Representative for 
Regions 5 and 6 (East 
Texas/Houston). Before 
joining the State, Lloyd 
worked as an administra-
tor for a nonprofit organi-
zation providing mental 
health services for youth 
with Severe Emotional 
Disturbance. Lloyd is a 
two time graduate of the 
Montana State Univer-
sity at Billings earning 
a Bachelor of Applied 
Science and a Master of 
Public Administration. He 
has an extensive back-
ground in administration, 
community relations, and 
training.

Confidentiality is crucial when 
working with vital records, which is 
why it is something we frequently 
talk about. Birth and death records 
contain personal information that 
identify a person, such as a name 
or social security number, or indi-
rectly, such as parents’ names or 
mailing addresses. This personal 
information requires protection in 
order to prevent identity theft, and 
also because it is the law. Birth 
and death records are considered 
confidential, and exempt under the 
Public Information Act, except that 
1) A birth record is public informa-
tion and available to the public on 
and after the 75th anniversary of 
the date of birth as shown on the 
record filed with VSU or local reg-
istration official; 2) A death record 
is public information and available 
to the public on and after the 25th 
anniversary of the date of death 
as shown on the record filed with 
VSU or local registration official 
[GC Section 552.115(a-1,2)]. This 
means that only properly qualified 
applicants can obtain copies of 
birth and death records until the 
records becomes available to the 

public. Remember that a properly 
qualified applicant is “The regis-
trant, or immediate family member 
either by blood, marriage or adop-
tion, his or her guardian, or his or 
her legal agent or representative.” 
[TAC 181.1(22)]

It is beneficial to periodically re-
view and update processes used 
to protect confidential records.  
Some best practices include: 
1) Keeping confidential records 
locked up and secure, when not 
being used; 2) When confidential 
records are in use, whether by 
themselves or viewed on com-
puter monitors, keep them out of 
the sight of persons not authorized 
to access the record; 3) If you are 
keeping a General Index, or any 
personal information in an elec-
tronic form on a computer, make 
sure access is secured by all avail-
able means (including keyboard 
locks, passwords, office locks, 
etc.) Computers with confidential 
information should never be in an 
open, unsecure space or available 
to the public. 

It is also important to keep up 
with advances in technology and 
to be mindful about how new 
technology impacts our daily 
work. For example, some offices 
are starting to implement office 
policies to limit the use of cam-
eras, including camera phones, 
in designated areas where vital 
records are kept. These policies 
are being developed to prevent 
privacy violations, and any unau-
thorized disclosure of confidential 
information. Although the law does 
not specifically address the use 
of cameras at this time, cameras 
do pose a risk to confidentiality.  
Simply consider how quickly a 
picture can be taken and posted 
on the internet and it is easy to 
see the importance of limiting the 
use of cameras in proximity with 
closed records. If this is something 
your office wants to consider, there 
is a wealth of information on the 
internet addressing camera phone 
policies in the workplace. You can 
also seek advice from your legal 
counsel.

ATTENTION: 
Birth and Local Registrars

In 2009, the Vital Statistics Unit intro-
duced the TER-Death online training 
for local registrars, medical certifiers 
and funeral homes. This training made 
it possible for these participants in the 
TER- Death certification process to 
understand the system much better. We 
are now in the process of developing a 

TER-Birth online training program 
for birth registrars and local reg-
istrars. The training will encom-
pass all aspects of registering 
a birth record in TER. Our goal 
is to assist the birth registrars 
in improving the data collected 

on the birth record and to use 
the training as a tool for new staff 

members. The TER – Birth online 
training should be available in 2012.

Coming Soon!  TER Bir th Onl ine Training

Confidentiality
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Texas Vital Statistics
Department of State Health Services
PO Box 149347
MC1966
Austin, Texas 78714
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Resources

TER Helpdesk•	
      Email:  HELP-TER@TexasVSU.org

      Phone: 888-963-7111 x3490  

TER Online Training•	
      https://TexasVSU-ed.org

Field Services•	
      www.TexasVSU.org

      512.458.7111 Austin

      888.963.7111 Toll Free
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