


DISCLAIMER!!!

The Department of State Health Services Vital Statistics Unit does not have
supervisory power over the marriage issuance process. We can only advise you of
what the law states.

In some cases it is clear what the answer will be.

In cases where the law is vague, your office will have to make the decision on how to
proceed.




SAME SEX MARRIAGE

APPLICATION FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE. COUNTY, TEXAS
* June 267 2015 Supreme Thzfurm:.ndmmntofﬂnisayp]icatiunisprzscribaibysecﬁmltﬂufﬁeTmsFam.ilyCodz. '
WARNING: ITIS 4 FELONY TOQ FALSIFY INFORMATION ON THIS DOCUMENT. THE PENALTY FOR ENOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT ON THIS
CO u rt Ober gefel I FORM OR FOR SIGNING A FORM WHICH CONTAINS 4 FALSE STATEMENT IS 2 T0 10 YEARS IMPRISONMENT AND A FINE OF UP T0 §10,000. (HEALTH AND
SAFETY CODE, CHAPTER 195, SEC. 195.003)

decision recognizing v i e G T T
Same-sex ma rrlage aS g Woman's Maiden Name (If Applicable) Telephone Number
well as the July 7, 2015 : , ,

.i Street Address City State Zin
U. S. District Court :

- Date of Birth Place of Birth (including city, county and state) Social Security Number

Deleon decision.

I have not been divorced within the last 30 days. || TRUE [ FALSE Tam not related to the other applicantas: || TRUE [1 FALSE

*  anancestor or descendant, by blood or adoption;

Tam not preseatly married. L TRUE [ FALSE *  abrother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by adoption;
. . . ®  aparent's brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by
* New Application that is 1 ot presently deiquet i tepaymentof ot oudeedcild spport adoptin;
] TRUE [ FALSE *  ason or daughter of a brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or
. by adoption;
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*  ason ordaughter of a parent's brother or sister, of the whole or half
blood or by adoption;

] 1 wish to make a voluntary contribution of $5.00 to promote healhy early childhood by supporting the Texas Home Visitation Program adninistered by the Office of Early
Childhood Coordination of Health and Human Services [Texas Family Code 2.004(13)].

I solemnly swear (or affirm) that the information I have given in this application is correct

Applicant’s Signature and Date Signed
First Name Middle Name Current Last Name Suffix

Woman's Maiden Name (If Applieable) Telephone Number

Streat Address

Date of Rirth Place of Rirth (ineluding rity, connty and statel Sarial Security Number

1 have niot een divorced within the last 30 days. || TRUE [ FALSE Tam not related to the other applicantas: [ | TRUE [1 FALSE

 am ot w1 TRUE [] FALSE *  anancestor or descendant, by blood or adoption;
am married. .




SAME SEX DECLARATION AND REGISTRATION
OF INFORMAL MARRIAGE

You will have to speak to your legal office regarding whether or
not a Declaration and Registration of Informal Marriage can be
backdated prior to the SCOTUS ruling.

VSU Will accept the Declaration.

We cannot speak to the validity of the Declaration. We are just
the record keepers.




MARGINS ON MARRIAGE LICENSE
APPLICATIONS

« VSU is receiving numerous marriage license applications that do not
have the correct margins.

* This makes us unable to properly number the applications for filing

* Title 25 TAC 181.25 (c) When reproduced locally by the county clerk,

the form shall be identical in content, format, and size as prescribed
by the Vital Statistics Unit.

 Asof 01/01/2015, any marriage license applications that are not
identical in format and size will be rejected and sent back to the
county clerk’s office.




MARGINS ON MARRIAGE LICENSE
APPLICATIONS

* From the top: it should have an approx. 3 inch margin from the
top of the page to the first line of the gray box.

* From the left side: an approximate 5/8 inch margin from the edge
of the paper to the border of the applicant information section.
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ABSENT APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS

(c) the clerk may not issue a marriage license for
which both applicants are absent unless the
person applying on behalf of each absent
applicant provides to the clerk an affidavit of the
applicant declaring that the applicant is a
member of the armed forces of the United States
stationed in another country in support of
combat or another military operation




ABSENT APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT REQUIREMENTS

(8) the appointment of any adult, other than the
other applicant, to act as proxy for the purpose
of participating in the ceremony, if the absent
applicant is:

(A) a member of the armed forces of the
United States stationed in another country in
support of combat or another military
operation; and

(B) unable to attend the ceremony.




ABSENT APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT REQUIREMENTS

What does all that mean?
* Anyone can still apply on behalf of an absent applicant.

* Only someone who is in the military stationed overseas can
appoint a proxy to stand in for them during the wedding.

 [f they are an absent applicant and not deployed overseas
military personnel, they have to present for the ceremony.




FILING OF ABSENT APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT

Health and Safety Code 194.001 (a) The county
clerk shall file with the bureau of vital statistics
a copy of each completed marriage license
application and a copy of any affidavit of an
absent applicant submitted with an application.
The clerk shall file the copies not later than the
O0th day after the date of the application. The
clerk may not collect a fee for filing the copies .




WHICH OF THESE IS ACCEPTABLE AS AN ABSENT APPLICANT? ASSUME
THEY HAVE ALL COMPLETED THE ABSENT APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT

1. Groom unable to appear to get the license because of work but will be there for the
ceremony. Bride appears in person to apply for license.

YES

2. Bride unable to appear in person because she is out of state and will not be present
for the ceremony. Groom appears in person to apply for license.

NO

3. Bride and Groom both unable to appear in person to get license but will be present for
the ceremony. Another person applying on their behalf.

NO

4. Groom 1 in prison and cannot appear in person but will be able to be present for the
ceremony. Groom 2 appears in person to apply for license.

YES

5. Bride 1 is deployed in another country in support of combat operations. Bride 2 in
military stationed in another state. Another person applying on their behalf.

NO







DOES THE ABSENT APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT NEED TO
BE NOTARIZED?

The person applying on behalf of an absent applicant shall provide
to the clerk [FC 2.006(b)]:
(1) _notwithstanding Section 132.001, Civil Practice and
Remedies Code, the notarized affidavit of the absent applicant as

provided by this subchapter;

(2) proof of the identity and age of the absent applicant under
Section 2.005(b);




DOES THE ABSENT APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT NEED TO
BE NOTARIZED?

“Notwithstanding Section 132.001, Civil Practice and
Remedies Code” means that the all absent applicant
affidavits must be notarized, regardless of CPR 132.001.

Must also have proof of identity and age of the absent
applicant.




PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT A
MARRIAGE CEREMONY [FC 2.202]

 alicensed or ordained Christian minister or
priest;

e a Jewish rabbi;

e a person who is an officer of a religious
organization and who is authorized by the
organization to conduct a marriage ceremony;
and




PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO CONDUCT A
MARRIAGE CEREMONY [FC 2.202]

Justice of the supreme court,

Judge of the court of criminal appeals,

Justice of the courts of appeals,

Judge of the district, county, and probate courts,

Judge of the county courts at law,

Judge of the courts of domestic relations,

Judge of the juvenile courts, retired justice or judge of those courts,
Justice of the peace, retired justice of the peace,

Judge or retired judge of a municipal court,

Judge or retired judge or magistrate of a federal court of this state.




DO OFFICIATES HAVE TO CHECK WITH THE
STATE BEFORE THEY PERFORM A CEREMONY?

There is no official registration for persons authorized to conduct a
marriage ceremony.

If they review the law and believe they can perform the marriage
ceremony then they can perform the ceremony.

The validity of a marriage is not affected by the lack of authority of
the person conducting the marriage ceremony if [FC 2.302]:

(1) there was a reasonable appearance of authority by that

person;

(2) at least one party to the marriage participated in the
ceremony in good faith and that party treats the marriage as valid




SCENERIO

* Couple purchases a marriage license in your office. They take it on a cruise and
get married at sea with the captain of the ship officiating the marriage. The
county clerk files the marriage license.

* Can a captain of a ship officiate a marriage:
* Based on FC 2.202, no.

¢ |s the marriage valid:
* Unless a judge decides otherwise, yes.




MARRIAGE LESS THAN 72 HOURS AFTER
ISSUANCE OF LICENSE [FC §6.110].

(a) The court may grant an annulment of a marriage to a
party to the marriage if the marriage ceremony took
place in violation of Section 2.204 during the 72-hour
period immediately following the issuance of the
marriage license.

(b) A suit may not be brought under this section after the
30th day after the date of the marriage.




MARRIAGE LESS THAN 72 HOURS AFTER
ISSUANCE OF LICENSE [FC §6.110].

If the 72 Hour waiting period has not been properly waived
and the ceremony is conducted anyway, the county clerk
should still file the marriage license.

The person who conducted the marriage ceremony is the
person at fault not the county clerk.

The county clerk shall record a returned marriage license and
mail the license to the address indicated on the application.
[FC §2.208]




WHY CAN'T THE COUNTY CLERK REJECT THE
LICENSE?

There is nothing in state law that allows for a county clerk’s office to reject a marriage license.

Difference between birth and death records and marriage licenses is that the law specifically
allows for a birth or death record to be rejected. There is nothing in the Family code that allows
the same for marriage licenses.

HSC §191.027. REVIEW OF CERTIFICATE BY LOCAL REGISTRAR

(a) The local registrar shall carefully examine each birth or death certificate when
presented for registration to determine if it is completed as required by this title and by the
state registrar's instructions.

(b) If a death certificate is incomplete or unsatisfactory, the local registrar shall call
attention to the defects in the return.

(c) If a birth certificate is incomplete, the local registrar shall immediately notify the
informant and require the informant to supply the missing information if it can be
obtained.




AMENDMENT TO MARRIAGE LICENSE

If one or both parties to a marriage license discover an
error on the recorded marriage license:

= both parties to the marriage shall execute a notarized

affidavit stating the error.

*The county clerk shall file and record the affidavit as an
amendment to the marriage license, and the affidavit is
considered part of the marriage license.

*The clerk shall include a copy of the affidavit with any
future certified copy of the marriage license issued by
the clerk.




CAN THE CEREMONY TAKE PLACE OVER SKYPE?

* There is nothing in state law that indicates where
or how the ceremony is to be conducted.

* The only information about the ceremony is in
regards to the time periods referred to in FC 2.201
(expiration of license), FC 2.202 (person’s
authorized to conduct ceremony) and FC 2.204
(72-hour waiting period).




IS THE MARRIAGE STILL VALID?

FC 1.101 In order to promote the public health and welfare and to
provide the necessary records, this code specifies detailed rules to
be followed in establishing the marriage relationship. However, in
order to provide stability for those entering into the marriage
relationship in good faith and to provide for an orderly determination
of parentage and security for the children of the relationship, it is
the policy of this state to preserve and uphold each marriage
against claims of invalidity unless a strong reason exists for holding

the marriage void or voidable. Therefore, every marriage entered
into in this state is presumed to be valid unless expressly made void

by Chapter 6 or unless expressly made voidable by Chapter 6 and
annulled as provided by that chapter.




CAN THE COUNTY CLERK PROVIDE THEM WITH A CERTIFICATE OF
INFORMAL MARRIAGE?

Certificate of Informal Marriage 2.404 (a-1):

On the proper execution of the declaration, the clerk may:
= prepare a certificate of informal marriage;

= enter on the certificate the names of the persons declaring

their informal marriage and the date the certificate or
declaration is issued; and

= record the time at which the certificate or declaration is
issued.




SCENARIO

Jack was married to Dianne for 10 years. Dianne had an adult
daughter, June, from a previous marriage. Jack and Dianne get
divorced and Jack is now wanting to marry June.

Can you issue a marriage license to Jack and June?
NO




ISSUANCE OF THE MARRIAGE LICENSE [FC 2.009]

The County Clerk may not issue a license if either applicant
Checks false to “The other applicant is not related to me as:
(A) an ancestor or descendant, by blood or adoption;
(B) a brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by
adoption;
(C) a parent's brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by
adoption;
(D) a son or daughter of a brother or sister, of the whole or half
blood or by adoption;
(E) a current or former stepchild or stepparent; or

(F) ason or daughter of a parent's brother or sister, of the
whole or half blood or by adoption;”




SCENARIO

David and Denise are first cousins. They want to get
married to each other. They come into the County Clerks

office and ask you if first cousins can get married to
each other.

How should you handle the situation?




CAN FIRST COUSINS GET MARRIED?

You would inform them that you cannot answer that
question. You are just the issuer of the license and that
your ability to issue that license is based on how they
answer the questions on the application.




FAMILY CODE SEC. 2.009 (F)

The County Clerk may not issue a license if
either applicant checks false to “the other
applicant is not related to me as a son or
daughter of a parent's brother or sister, of the
whole or half blood or by adoption.”

It is up to each applicant to determine if they fall
into this category.




Applicant

Commonly known
as first cousins

Brother/Sister

Son/
Daughter.




DESTINATION WEDDINGS

e Can | file a marriage license in my office that
was issued in another county, state or
country?

= No. There are no provisions in state law to
allow a county clerk to file a marriage
license in their marriage records that was
not issued from their office.




DESTINATION WEDDINGS

* [flissue a marriage license can the couple
take it to another country and get married
there?

There are no references in state law that states
that the marriage ceremony has to take place
In Texas.




CERTIFIED COPIES VS. PLAIN COPIES

« FC 2.209 (a) On request, the county clerk shall issue a certified
copy of a recorded marriage license.

« Some offices interpret this to mean they can only issue certified
copies.

« Up to your office to determine whether or not you can issue plain
copies.




ISSUANCE OF THE MARRIAGE LICENSE [FC 2.009/FC
6.201]

FC 6.201. CONSANGUINITY. A marriage is void if one
party to the marriage is related to the other as:

(1) an ancestor or descendant, by blood or adoption;

(2) a brother or sister, of the whole or half blood or by
adoption;

(3) a parent's brother or sister, of the whole or half
blood or by adoption; or

(4) a son or daughter of a brother or sister, of the whole or
half blood or by adoption.




FEES: CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE LICENSE
& MARRIAGE VERIFICATION

* A county clerk shall collect the following fees for
services rendered to any person [LGC
118.011(a)(3) & (b)]:

=Certified Papers (Sec. 118.014): for the clerk's
certificate $ 5.00 plus a fee for each page or
part of a page $ 1.00




FEES: CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE LICENSE
& MARRIAGE VERIFICATION

If a county clerk is treating the marriage license
“Certified paper”, a county clerk would be able to
charge up to $6.00 for a certified copy of a 2 page
marriage license (not including the $1.00
preservation fee as listed in Texas Health and
Safety Code 191.0045 (d))




FEES: CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE LICENSE
& MARRIAGE VERIFICATION

* Many of the county clerks say they are issuing a “Marriage
Verification” when issuing a certified copy of a marriage license.

* A county clerk must charge the same fee as the state when
issuing a “Marriage Verification”.

* The fee for a search to verify a marriage record is$20.00 [Title 25
TAC 181.22 (h) & (s)]




FEES: CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE LICENSE
& MARRIAGE VERIFICATION

« VSU does not have an opinion on how you should view
the issuance of certified copies of marriage licenses.

* This fee is left up to the county clerks.

* However, if you a reviewing it as a marriage
verification, you must charge the same fee as the
state.




OUR WEBSITE:

° www.texasvsu.org

* www.dshs.texas.gov
* FAQ Wiki: wiki.texasvsu-ed.org
 Email:

» fieldservices@dshs.texas.gov

» field@texasvsu.org







