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STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY

Mail Code: MC2003 - PO Box 149347 - Austin, Texas 78714-9347
Phone: (512) 834-6627 - Fax: (512) 834-6677

E-mail: speech@dshs.state.tx.us

 www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech

APPLICATION FORM

All applicants must submit this Application Form.  All questions must be answered.  Be sure to read board rules to determine what documents are required:  Application processing begins after all required documentation is received and accepted by the Board.

	Applicant’s Full Legal Name: (First, Middle, Last):

	

	Name(s) on Transcript(s) if different:
	

	Date of Birth:
	Social Security Number:

	Mailing Address:

	City/State/Zip:

	Home Phone Number:

	E-mail Address:


1.
Mailing address. The Board office is not responsible for lost, misdirected or undelivered forms and fees. The board will mail all documents to the address you provide us above. (Be sure to include the zip code)
Be sure to notify your employer that you will be unable to practice while you wait for your license.

Texas Occupations Code, §401.301, states, “A person may not practice speech-language pathology or audiology or represent that the person is a speech-language pathologist or audiologist in this state unless the person holds a license under this chapter.” Section 401.503 states an offense is a Class B misdemeanor, and upon conviction, punishable by up to six (6) months in jail or up to $1,000 fine or both.

Prior to completing this form, you MUST read the law (Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 401) and the Board Rules, Chapter 741. Do not complete the affidavit on the last page if you have not read the law and Board Rules.

2. To expedite processing, mail to:
Please send all correspondence that contains money/payment to:

Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program, Mail Code: MC2003

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Please send all correspondence that does not contains money/payment to:

Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program, Mail Code: MC1982

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347
3. FEES:  The fee must be mailed with the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. Make checks payable to DSHS/Speech-Audiology Licensing Program.

	CHECK THE LICENSE FOR WHICH YOU ARE APPLYING FOR

	Check One
	License Type
	Requirements per Board Rules
	Fee

	
	Speech-Language Pathology (2 years)
	§741.61
	$163

	
	Audiology (2 years)
	§741.81
	$163

	
	Speech-Language Pathology, applying under ASHA waiver (2 years)
	§741.63
	$163

	
	Audiology, applying under ASHA waiver (2 years)
	§741.83
	$163

	
	Intern in Speech-Language Pathology (1 year)
	§741.62
	$83

	
	Intern in Audiology (1 year)
	§741.82
	$83

	
	Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology (2 years)
	§741.64
	$163

	
	Assistant in Audiology (2 years)
	§741.84
	$163

	
	Temporary Certificate of Registration – Speech-Language Pathology
	§741.65
	$55

	
	Temporary Certificate of Registration – Audiology
	§741.85
	$55


4. Documentation that must accompany your application.

Applications will not be processed until all required documents are received.  To expedite your application, collect all documents and send them with your application.  Having documents sent separately can significantly delay the processing of an application.

Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist

· Application and fee

· Original transcript showing your masters degree conferred and required coursework, per §741.61/741.81 (can not be faxed)
· Coursework & Clinical Experience Form, unless you are a licensed intern and this form is on file

· Report of Completed Internship from each supervisor during your internship

· Statement that your supervisor is continuing to supervise you during the application process

· Original Praxis examination, showing a score of 600 or higher

Speech-Language Pathologist, or Audiologist, applying under ASHA waiver

· Application and fee

· Original transcript showing your masters degree has been conferred and required coursework, per §741.63/741.83 (can not be faxed)
· Original, current (dated within 60 days of application) letter from ASHA confirming your CCC is current and in good standing
Intern in Speech-Language Pathology or Intern in Audiology

· Application and fee

· Original transcript showing your masters degree conferred and required coursework, per §741.62/741.82 (can not be faxed)
· Coursework and Clinical Experience form, completed and signed by university program director

· If all coursework is complete and grades are final, but your transcript does not show your masters degree conferred, you must send, in addition to the transcript, a signed letter from the university program director confirming your masters degree and verifying your final grades. (A transcript showing masters conferred must be sent before or when you apply for full licensure after completing the internship.)

· Intern Plan and Agreement of Supervision

Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology or Assistant in Audiology

· Application and fee

· Original transcript showing that the baccalaureate degree has been conferred and required coursework, per §741.64/741.84 (can not be faxed)
· Clinical Observation and Experience form, completed and signed by university program director, showing a minimum of 25 hours of observation and 25 hours of clinical experience, completed at your university

· Supervisory Responsibility Form

· If your Clinical Observation and Experience form shows that you have not met the requirement for university clinical observation and/or experience, you must include a Clinical Deficiency Plan. This must be pre-approved by the board office and your license must be issued before you begin. Special requirements apply. Be sure to read carefully §741.64 (e) to be sure you understand.

Temporary Certificate of Registration – Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology

· application and fee

· original transcript showing your masters degree conferred and required coursework, per §741.6/741.81 (can not be faxed)
· Report of Completed Internship from each supervisor during your internship

· Statement that your supervisor is continuing to supervise you, or new Intern Plan & Agreement of Supervision

Be sure to read §741.65/741.85 to be sure you understand the special requirements. This certificate allows you to continue to practice while you take the Praxis examination one time, and the certificate will expire 8 weeks later. This certificate is NOT RENEWABLE, there is no extension or grace period, and you may not apply for another Temporary Certificate. If you pass the Praxis, you must apply immediately under §741.61/741.81. If you do not pass the Praxis, you must apply for an Assistant license and you must be supervised according to the supervision requirements of an Assistant.

5.
CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

	Name of employer, agency or practice:

	

	Mailing Address:

	City/State/Zip:

	Phone Number:

	Fax Number::

	E-mail Address:


6.  Employer’s Type of Practice: 

□ Private Practice  □ School  □ Government Agency  □ Community Agency  □ University

□ Other (specify): __________________________________________________________________________

7. DATE EMPLOYMENT BEGAN (MM/DD/YYYY) __________________________________________________

8. Have you ever held any type of speech-language pathology or audiology license issued by Texas?

□ Yes  □ No  (If answer is yes, give dates when held and reason license is no longer valid:)

___________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________

9.
Do you possess any other professional license(s) or certificate(s) issued by any state?  □ Yes  □ No

If yes, give license or certificate number(s), title(s), and states issuing license(s) or certificates(s):

____________________________________________________________________________________________

10.
Do you currently hold the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Certificate of Clinical Competence?        □ Yes   □ No

11.
Have you been denied a professional license and/or certificate, or have you ever had any license and/or certificate revoked, canceled, or suspended?   □ Yes  □ No

If answer is yes, briefly state the type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that issued the license or certificate and the reason:

____________________________________________________________________________________________
12.
Have disciplinary proceedings been initiated against you in Texas or any other jurisdiction?  □ Yes  □ No

If answer is yes, please provide the following information: 

Date of proceedings: __________________________________________________________________________

Where proceedings held: _______________________________________________________________________

13.
Have you ever been convicted, plead guilty, or plead nolo contendere to any misdemeanor or felony?  (Do not include juvenile offenses or any misdemeanor traffic violations. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is not a minor traffic offense.)   □ Yes  □ No

If yes, please provide the following information: 

Date of conviction:   ________________________________________________________________________

Where convicted: __________________________________________________________________________

Charge:  _________________________________________________________________________________

If conviction was set aside, give date and explain, using additional pages if necessary

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

(NOTE:  The Texas Department of State Health Services performs a Criminal Background Check on all applicants.) 

14.
Have you ever voluntarily surrendered any professional license or certificate?   □ Yes  □ No

If answer is yes, briefly state the type of license or certificate, the name and address of the agency that issued the license certificate and the reasons:

____________________________________________________________________________________________

15.
ACADEMIC TRAINING (List all colleges/universities attended and attach additional pages if necessary) 

	Name & Location of School
	Inclusive Dates
	Degree Granted (field of study)
	Date Degree Granted (mm/dd/yy)

	
	From 

(mm/yy)
	To (mm/yy)
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	


PLEASE READ VERY CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU SIGN

With my signature on this application for licensure with the State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, I certify that:

· I have read the Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology licensing law and the Rules of the Board. I agree to abide by state law and all current and subsequent rules of the Board.

· All information provided in this application is truthful. I understand that giving false information of any kind will result in denial of licensure.

· I understand that the processing of my application will not begin until all required documents are received by the board.

· I understand that the fee submitted with this application is non-refundable.

· I agree to hold the State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, its members, officers, agents, and examiners free from any damage or claim for damage or complaint by the reason of any action they or any one of them take in connection with this application, the attendant examination, and/or failure of the board to issue me a license. 
· I hereby grant permission to the board to seek any information or references it deems fit in securing my credentials pertinent to this application.

· I understand that the name, license number, and mailing address of all holders of a Texas-issued professional license is subject to the Texas Open Records Act. This information will be provided in response to information requests for licensee lists from organizations and individuals. This information will be provided on the Board’s website.

· I understand that the disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under the rules of the Board, 22 TAC, §741.112 and Family Code, §231.302. Social security numbers will be used for identification purposes.

· I understand that the Texas Department of State Health Services performs a Criminal Background Check on all applicants.

· I agree that if issued a license, upon revocation, suspension, or cancellation of that license, I shall return the said license to the Board.

______________________________________________________
__________________________

Applicant’s Signature
Date

PLEASE REVIEW BEFORE SUBMISSION.  ALL QUESTIONS MUST BE CORRECTLY COMPLETED.  INCOMPLETE AND/OR INACCURATE FORMS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED AND MAY SIGNIFICANTLY DELAY YOUR LICENSE APPROVAL.  FAXED DOCUMENTS ARE NOT ACCEPTED.

We can be contacted at:

By emailed at: Speech@dshs.state.tx.us 

Or by phone at: (512) 834-6627

Or by faxed at: (512) 834-6677, Attention: SPEECH
Please send all correspondence that contains money/payment to:

Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program 
Mail Code: MC 2003

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347
Please send all correspondence that does not contains money/payment to:

Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program
Mail Code: MC1982
PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347
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