
INTERN LICENSE – APPLICATION CHECKLIST – MUST USE CURRENT FORMS 
 

SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION / FORMS / FEES TO OBTAIN THE INTERN LICENSE:  (The 
intern license is issued for a two-year period; however, the intern has 30-day after completing the internship to 
apply for full licensure.) 
 

___ Application and fee 
___ Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination 
___ Original transcript showing your masters or doctoral degree has been conferred and required course 

work, per §§741.62/741.82 (cannot be faxed) or  
___ Current, original transcript:  A current, original transcript from the institution that you are graduating from 

must be submitted with your application (even if the degree does not show that the masters or doctoral 
degree was conferred). Once the degree has been conferred, the original transcript showing that the 
masters or doctoral degree has been conferred must be sent before or when you upgrade to a full license 
after completing the Internship (cannot be faxed) 

___ Course Work and Clinical Experience For Speech-Language Pathology Intern Form, completed and 
signed by university program director 

___ Speech-Language Pathology Intern Plan and Agreement of Supervision Form from each supervisor 
 

Individuals who possess a minimum of a masters degree with a major in communicative sciences or disorders from a program 
accredited by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association must be licensed by the State Board of Examiners for 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology in order to pursue the supervised professional experience or internship in Texas. 
If the masters degree has not been officially conferred, the applicant must submit transcripts showing course work completed 
and an original letter signed by the program director stating the applicant met all requirements for the masters degree, 
including dissertation, thesis or comprehensive examination, and give the date the degree will be officially conferred.  
 

It is a criminal offense to practice speech-language pathology or audiology without a valid license punishable by 
law if convicted.  Section 401.503, Occupations Code, relates to a Criminal Offense. 
 

Interns must meet requirements defined at 22 T.A.C., Chapter 741.  Refer to §741.62, relating to Requirements for 
an Intern in Speech-Language Pathology License or §741.82, relating to Requirements for an Intern in Audiology 
License. The intern may not begin the internship until the Board office has issued the applicant a license. If the 
intern and/or supervisor do not follow the internship procedures, he or she shall be subject to disciplinary action. In 
addition, the intern shall be required to repeat the internship. 
 

Effective March 1, 2012, all new applicants are required to submit fingerprints to the 
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). Go to http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech/ and 
select the DPS/FBI Fingerprinting tab. 
 

The intern in audiology may fit and dispense hearing instruments but only under supervision. 
 

The intern may pursue the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Clinical Fellowship Year (ASHA CFY) 
simultaneously; HOWEVER, APPROVAL FROM ASHA TO BEGIN THE CFY IS NOT A LICENSE TO PRACTICE 
IN TEXAS.  The board may deny a license; impose probationary conditions or other actions as deemed appropriate 
to an individual who begins the ASHA CFY prior to receiving an intern license. 
 

Once the 36 weeks of full-time professional supervised experience has been 
completed, the intern has 30-days to submit a new application, application fee, 
and required documentation to upgrade to a full license in Texas under § 741.61 or 
§741.81. If the intern has not passed the Praxis examination, the intern may meet the 
requirements of §741.65 or §741.85. During this process, the intern must remain under 
supervision.  Please understand that holding the ASHA CCC is NOT a license to 
practice in Texas. 
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FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. The application/initial license fee must be mailed with the application.  DO NOT 
SEND CASH. APPLICATION MATERIALS RECEIVED WITHOUT THE APPLICATION FEE WILL NOT BE 
PROCESSED.  
 
Make check payable to DSHS/Speech-Audiology Licensing Program. Mail your forms, 
documentation and fee to the following address:  
 
To expedite the application processing, use the U.S. Post Office Express Mail and mail 
to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program 
Mail Code: MC2003 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 
If you need to submit additional documentation after the application and fee have been 
submitted, please mail to: 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program 
Mail Code: MC1982 
PO Box 149347 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
 
The processing of an application takes approximately 2 - 4 weeks. 
   
 
 
All forms are located on the board’s website: speech@dshs.state.tx.us 
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