ASSISTANT LICENSE - APPLICATION PROCESS ~ MUST USE CURRENT FORMS

Individuals who possess a baccalaureate degree with emphasis in communicative sciences and disorders may be licensed as an Assistant in the state of Texas. 
§741.64 (a) An applicant for an assistant in speech-language pathology license shall meet the requirements set out in the Act, and this section. The applicant for the assistant license must: 


(1) possess a baccalaureate degree with an emphasis in communicative sciences and disorders; 


(2) have acquired the following: 



(A) at least 24 semester hours in speech-language pathology and/or audiology; 



(B) and at least 18 semester hours of the 24 hours must be in speech-language pathology; 



(C) at least three semester hours in language disorders; 



(D) at least three semester hours in speech disorders; and 



(E) excludes clinical experience and course work such as special education, deaf education, or sign language
Also an applicant who possesses a baccalaureate degree with a major that is not in communicative sciences and disorders and satisfactorily completed 24 semester credit hours in communicative sciences and disorders, which may include some leveling hours may with the Board’s Designee’s approval be licensed as an Assistant in the State of Texas. [§741.64(c)]
It is a criminal offense to practice speech-language pathology or audiology without a valid license punishable by law if convicted.  Section 401.503, Occupations Code, relates to a Criminal Offense.

Assistants must meet requirements defined at 22 T.A.C., Chapter 741.  Refer to §741.64, relating to Requirements for an Assistant in Speech-Language Pathology License or §741.84, relating to Requirements for an Assistant in Audiology License. The assistant may not begin the supervised practicing until the Board office has issued the assistant a license.

SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION / FORMS / FEES TO OBTAIN THE ASSISTANT LICENSE:  (The assistant license is issued for two-years; expiring on the last day of the assistant’s birth month and is renewable.)

(1) Completed, and signed Application Form;

(2) License fee of $163.00;

(3) Proof of successfully completing the jurisprudence examination;
(4) Original or certified copy of transcript(s) showing baccalaureate degree(s) conferred (can not be faxed);
(5) Supervisory Responsibility Statement (SRS) for Assistants Form completed by applicant and each proposed supervisor; and

(6) Clinical Observation and Experience for Assistants Form completed by the program director or designee of the university/college you attended.

a. Clinical Deficiency Plan Form (If the applicant has not met the required 25 clinical observation hours and/or 25 clinical experience hours, a Clinical Deficiency Plan Form must be submitted with the Supervisory Responsibility Statement (SRS) for Assistants Form) (The Clinical Deficiency Plan must be pre-approved by the Board office and your license must be issued before you begin these hours.)
FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. The application/initial license fee must be mailed with the application.  DO NOT SEND CASH. APPLICATION MATERIALS RECEIVED WITHOUT THE APPLICATION FEE WILL NOT BE PROCESSED. Processing of an application takes approximately 2 - 4 weeks. 
Please send all correspondence that contains money/payment to:

Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program 

Mail Code: MC 2003

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Please send all correspondence that does not contains money/payment to:

Texas Department of State Health Services

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Program

Mail Code: MC1982

PO Box 149347

Austin, Texas 78714-9347


































ALL FORMS ARE LOCATED ON THE WEBSITE – www.dshs.state.tx.us/speech
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