
 
       BUDGET ZZ121 

FUND 105 
DSHS Publication #64-10701 

MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSE APPLICATION 
 

PRINT or TYPE all information on the application.  Please answer all questions completely, do not leave 
any blank.  The application and examination fees may be paid by personal check, cashier’s check, or 
money order. 

APPLICATION CHECK LIST: 
 

BE SURE TO: 
 
___ Read the Massage Therapy Act (Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 455) and the rules relating to 
massage therapy license (25 Texas Administrative Code, (TAC) Chapter 140) before completing the 
application. 
___ Answer all questions on the application completely. 
___ Attach the application fee of $117. 
___ Attach an official transcript or notarized copy of your transcript. 
___ Attach a copy of your social security card. 
___ Attach Examination Form and proof of national or other acceptable exam 
___ Attach proof of jurisprudence exam  
___ Attach required documents for questions 14-15 (if you answered yes). 
 
APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED WITHOUT AN OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT WILL NOT BE 
APPROVED.  PLEASE BE AWARE THAT ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 
 
 
 
 
 
Mail all application materials and fee to the address below (our lockbox for faster processing of new 
applications – not for other mail): 
       Texas Department of State Health Services 
       Massage Therapy Licensing Program 
       P O Box 12197 
       Austin, TX  78711-2197 
 
Please allow 4-6 weeks for the processing of the application.  If you do not receive a response from this 
office after 6 weeks, you may contact us at: 
       512-834-6616  OR   massage@dshs.state.tx.us 
 
Failure to follow the above instructions may cause delays in the processing of your application. 
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FEE SCHEDULE 

 
With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you.  You 
are entitled to receive and review the information upon request.  You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any 
information that is determined to be incorrect.  See http://www.dshs.state.tx.us for more information on Privacy Notification.  
(Reference:  Government Code, Section 522.021, 522.023 and 559.004) 
 
Fees may be paid by personal check, cashier’s check or money order payable to DSHS.  Cash is accepted 
when paid in person at the Texas Department of State Health Services office in Austin, Texas. 
 
Application Fee 
Fee must be submitted with completed application. 

  $117.00  Application Fee 
Examination Fee 
For acceptable national exams, please contact the appropriate organization listed on the Exam Form. 
 
Jurisprudence Exam (for all applications postmarked on or after 6/1/09) 
Fee must be paid online at: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage/mt_jurisprudence.shtm 
    $35.00   Jurisprudence Exam Fee 
 
Replacement License Fee 
Request a duplicate certificate if the license certificate is damaged, lost, or destroyed.  You must return the 
original license or explain in writing if not possible. 
    $20.00  Replacement Certificate 
 
License Renewal Fee 
Your renewal application will be mailed every two years to your last known address approximately six (6) 
weeks prior to the license expiration date.  Failure to timely renew the license will results in late fees (see 
below) or the deletion of the license.  It is the responsibility of each licensee to submit written notice of any 
address or name changes. 
    $106.00  Renewal Fee & Twelve (12) hours of continuing Education 
 
Late Renewal Fees 
$156.00  Renewal postmarked during the first 90 days after license expiration. 
$206.00  Renewal postmarked more than 90 days but less than one year after license expiration. 
 
NOTE:  A license expired for more than one year is not renewable. The person must reapply, meet current licensing 
requirements, and retake the licensure examination in order to receive a license. 
 
  Failure to receive the renewal notice does not excuse the payment of late fees. 
 
This fee schedule lists the current fees charged by the Massage Therapy Licensing Program and is 
subject to change.  It is also not, nor is it intended to be an inclusive listing of all fees that the department 
may statutorily collect.  Fee rates are set by the Texas Department of State Health Services as authorized 
by law in amounts necessary to cover the costs of administering the program and are not mandated by 
the Texas Legislature. 
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MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSE APPLICATION 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
Read the Massage Therapy Act (Occupations Code, Chapter 455) and DSHS Rules (25 TAC, Chapter 140) before 
filling out this application.  Each method lists the documentation that must be submitted with your completed 
application.  Choose one method only and submit appropriate documentation. 
 
Stated below are the three methods under which a person may apply for licensure.   Be sure the application is complete 
and all supporting documentation (transcripts, exam results, etc.) are included.  Incomplete applications will not be approved 
and fees are non-refundable.  You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a license.  
 
Applicants who have completed their education in another state or country must submit an official transcript, a course 
catalog from the program attended, and verification of the program approval by the appropriate education agency of that state 
or country.  
 
Applicants who hold a license in another state must submit the verification of licensure form (page 6 of application) 
completed by the massage therapy licensing authority where the license, registration, or certification is held. 
 
1. Applicant has first enrolled prior to September 1, 2007 and has satisfactorily completed massage therapy studies in a 300 
hour supervised course of instruction (see below for required hours) provided by a licensed massage therapy instructor, or by 
a licensed massage therapy school, or by a state approved educational institution, or by any combination of instructors or 
schools. Proof of course work must be provided by an official transcript from the school and/or instructor.  Applicant must 
have already passed an acceptable national exam (see Exam Form). 
 
2. Applicant has first enrolled after September 1, 2007 and has satisfactorily completed massage therapy studies in a 500 hour 
supervised course of instruction (see below for required hours) provided by a licensed massage therapy school, or by a state 
approved educational institution, or by a combination of schools. Proof of course work must be provided by an official 
transcript from the school.  Applicant must have already passed an acceptable national exam (see Exam Form). 
 
3. Applicant is requesting that the department accept applicant's passing score on a national examination or state (non-
national) examination for registration or licensing as a massage therapist from another state. Applicant has completed a 300 
hour or 500 hour course of instruction (see below for required hours) AND is currently licensed as a massage therapist in 
good standing in another state or country.  Submit a certified copy of the license/registration/certification; official transcript; 
and documentation of successfully passing a national or state exam.  
 
300 hour course of instruction (required for all applicants, including licensees from another state, who first enrolled in 
massage school prior to September 1, 2007) – course may haven longer than 300 hours but must include: 
 

 125 hours of Swedish massage therapy 
techniques;  

 50 hours of anatomy;  
 25 hours of physiology;  
 15 hours of hydrotherapy;  

 15 hours of business practices and professional 
ethics;  

 20 hours of health and hygiene;  
 a 50 hour internship;  

 
500 hour course of instruction (required for all applicants, including licensees from another state, who first enrolled in 
massage school on or after September 1, 2007) – course may have been longer than 500 hours but must include: 
 

 200  hours of massage therapy 
techniques and theory and the practice 
of manipulation of soft tissue, with at 
least 125 hours of Swedish massage 
therapy techniques;  

 50 hours of anatomy;  
 25 hours of physiology;  
 50 hours of kinesiology; 
 
 
 
 

 40 hours of pathology 
 20 hours of hydrotherapy;  
 45 hours of massage therapy laws and rules, 

business practices and professional ethics;  
 20 hours of health and hygiene, first aid, 

universal precautions, and cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR);  

 a 50 hour internship;  
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MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSING PROGRAM 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
 

EXAMINATION FORM 
 

Submission of this form is required of all applicants for a massage therapy license.  
Failure to submit this form will result in a delay in the processing of your application for licensure. 

 
Applicant Name _______________________________________________________________  
 
Applicant SS#   ________________________________________ 
 
Select one (1) choice for the examination required for licensure. Attach the required proof of exam results. 
 
[    ]  I first enrolled in a 300 or 300+ hour course prior to September 1, 2007; I have completed the course; and 
I have taken and passed an acceptable national exam within the last two years. (1022) 
 
[    ]  I first enrolled in a 300 or 300+ hour course prior to September 1, 2007; I have completed the course; I 
am currently licensed in another state in good standing; and I have taken and passed an acceptable national exam or 
another state's (non-national) licensing exam. The exam may have been taken more than two years ago. Name of state 
______________________ *** attach national or state exam results (1030) 
 
[    ]  I have completed a 500 or 500+ hour course; and I have taken and passed an acceptable national exam 
within the last two years. *** attach exam results (1022) 
 
[    ]  I have completed a 500 or 500+ hour course; I am currently licensed in another state in good standing and 
I have taken and passed an acceptable national or another state's (non-national) licensing exam. The exam may have been 
taken more than two years ago. Name of state ______________________ *** attach national or state exam results (1030)  
 
Acceptable National Exams 
 
Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) 
http://www.fsmtb.org  1-888-70-FSMTB 
 

 Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) 
 
 
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) – these exams no longer 
available as of 11/1/14 

 National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM)  
 National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB)  
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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
  MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSING PROGRAM 

P O BOX 12197  
AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711-2197 

 
Type or Print Legibly.  Incomplete applications will not be processed.  Attach the $117.00 (personal check, 
cashier’s check or money order).  Failure to do so may delay processing.  Use N/A for not applicable. 
 
PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 
1. Last Name _______________________________     First Name ____________________________ 
 
2. Middle Name ____________________________      Maiden Name __________________________ 
 
3. Other Names Formerly Used _________________________________________________________ 
 
4. Preferred Mailing Address __________________________________________________________ 
 
City ____________________________  State __________________________  Zip _______________ 
 
Telephone Number (Include Area Code)  __________  -   ____________________________________ 
 
E-mail Address ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Fax Number ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5.  Residence Address (if same as 4 please write “same”) 
 
 
6.   Birth Date (mm/dd/yy) _______________You must be at least 18 years old to obtain a license. 

 
7. Social Security # ______ - _____ - ______ (Disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is 

mandatory under the Family Code, Section 231.302 and the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996, Section 221.   Social Security numbers are confidential and will be used 
for identification and reporting purposes required by law).  

You must submit a copy of your social security card with this application. 
 

OTHER LICENSING INFORMATION 
 
8.  Do you possess a massage therapy license(s), license(s), issued by any other state(s), jurisdiction, or 
territory?           Yes [  ]          No [  ] 
If  YES, give licenses or certificate number(s), title(s), name(s), and address(es) of the jurisdiction(s) 
issuing the license(s) or certification(s) ____________________________________________________ 
 
9. Have you taken a national or state certification or licensing examination for massage therapy? 
                                                        Yes  [  ]                       No  [  ] 
If YES, give the name of the exam, date taken, and the results of the exam. _______________________ 
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10.  Have you ever been denied or have you ever surrendered a professional or occupational license, 
registration, or certificate?              Yes  [  ]                       No  [  ] 
 
 
11.  Have you ever had a professional or occupational license(s), registration(s), or certificate(s) 
revoked, cancelled or suspended?   Yes  [  ]                      No  [  ] 
If YES, briefly state the reason(s) 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
12. Have you ever held a massage therapy license in Texas, including a temporary registration? 

                                                                      Yes  [  ]                      No  [  ] 
 

CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 
 
13. Are you CURRENTLY employed? 
                                                          Yes  [  ]                     No  [  ] 
 
Place of Employment 
 
Address  
 
City                                                          State                                              Zip 
 
Telephone Number (Include area code) 
 
Job Title                                                   Type of Business 
 
Date of Employment (mm/dd/yy) 
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
Submit copies of charging documents (referred to as indictment or information) and judgment or 
other documents showing disposition of the case(s).  If still on parole/probation, submit letter from 
parole or probation officer indicating compliance with all parole or probationary conditions. 
 
NOTE:  Failure to report convictions may result in denial of the application or revocation of 
license. 
 
14.  Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor?    Yes  [  ]     No  [  ] 
 
15.  Have you ever been convicted of a felony?     Yes  [  ]     No  [  ] 
 
16.  Have you ever been convicted of, entered a plea of nolo contendere, or guilty to, or received 
deferred adjudication for an offense involving prostitution or another sexual offense? 

                                                                                                            Yes  [  ]     No  [  ] 
 
If you answered yes to any of the above, provide the following information and documents for all felony and/or 
misdemeanor offenses (not minor traffic violations).  Include any convictions which are currently on appeal.  
Attach additional information/documentation if appropriate. 
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Indicate offense(s) committed ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Date(s) of conviction(s) ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
City, County, and State where offense(s) committed _____________________________________________ 
 
List other names you have used (e.g. married/maiden, etc.) _______________________________________ 
 
Are/were you on probation/parole?     Yes  [  ]     No  [  ]    If YES, discharge date:  ____________________ 
 

 
Academic Record – Massage 
 
17. List all educational and training programs attended relating to the field of massage therapy.  Begin 
with the last program attended.  Attach additional pages if necessary. 
Name of instructional institution: 
 
 
Location:  _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates attended:  From (Mo/Yr)_________________________ To (Mo/Yr) _____________________________  
 
Type of Degree obtained ______________________________ Major (if applicable) _____________________ 
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Please Read Carefully 
 
 

In making application to the Texas Department of State Health Services for licensure as a massage therapist, I 
have read, understood, and agree to comply with the Massage Therapy Act and the rules of the Texas 
Department of State Health Services relating to the licensing of massage therapists.  The disclosure of a social 
security number by an applicant is mandatory under the Family Code, Section 231.302 and the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Section 221.  Social Security numbers are confidential and will be 
used for identification and reporting purposes as required by law.  I also agree to complete all application 
requirements for the processing of my application. 
 
I further understand that the fee submitted with this application is non-refundable and that the materials 
submitted for consideration become the property of the department and are non-returnable.  I am aware of the 
schedule of fees and understand that additional fees must be paid prior to the issuance of a license certificate 
and to keep the license current. 
 
I further agree that if issued a license certificate, upon the revocation, or cancellation of that license, I shall 
return the license certificate and license identification card to the department. 
 
 
 
____________________________________________               ____________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                                                   Date 
 
 
 
 
I hereby certify that this application and any attachments contain no willing or negligent misrepresentation or 
falsification and that the information given by me is true and complete.  I understand that should an 
investigation disclose any such misrepresentation or falsification, my application will be rejected.  I will allow 
the department to verify any information contained in these application materials. 
 
 
____________________________________________            _____________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                                               Date 
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Information on how to apply for a Texas license as a Massage Therapist 
if you are currently licensed in another state 

 
This information applies only if you hold a state-level license which is current and in good standing. This 

information is not designed for persons who are registered or licensed only at the city or county level, or who 
are moving from a state where state-level licensure is not available, or who are nationally certified by 

NCBTMB but do not hold a current state license. A certification is not a license. 
 

1. Licensure is required in Texas to advertise or practice massage therapy. The licensure process generally takes 
3-6 weeks, so you should apply prior to moving to Texas if possible. 
 
2. Complete and submit the application for licensure, the required $117 fee, and a copy of your social security 
card. 
 
3. With the application, submit an original transcript showing your massage therapy training. We will review 
the number of hours in each subject to determine if you have taken the minimum number of hours in each 
subject as required by Texas law. If your transcript does not list all the required subjects, but you took them as 
part of your coursework, please also submit a school catalog or course description to assist our staff in giving 
you credit for the number of hours you completed. 
 
4. With the application, submit proof of your current license in another state (copy of license). 
 
5. With the application, submit proof of passing either (1) a state exam which you took to receive your current 
state license or (2) an acceptable national examination. 
 
6. Submit the completed Out of State License Verification Form. You complete the top part of the form, and 
your state licensing board or program completes the bottom part of the form. You may mail the form to us with 
your application, or the board/program may mail it directly to us. It may also be faxed to our office at: 512-834-
6677 
 
 
Once your application has been approved and you have been issued a license number, you may print an online 
verification and begin working as a massage therapist in Texas prior to receiving your wall certificate and 
wallet card by mail. Here is the link for online verification: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/massage/mt_search.shtm 
 
Once licensed, you will renew your license every two years (your first licensure term will be less than two 
years, as your license expires in your birth month). Completion of 12 hours of continuing education is required 
for each renewal. 
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MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSING PROGRAM 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
P.O. Box 149347,  Mail Code 1982 

Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
OUT OF STATE LICENSE VERIFICATION 

 
The application for licensure as a Massage Therapist in the State of Texas requires this form to be completed by all State 
Boards where I hold or have ever held a license.  My signature below is your authorization to release all information in 
your files, favorable or otherwise, regarding myself.   
Section I to be completed by applicant.  Please type or print clearly. 
 
Applicant Name ___________________________________________ License Number __________________ 
 
Applicant’s Signature _______________________________________ Date ___________________________ 
 
Address __________________________________________________________________________________ 
                            P O Box or Street No.                          City                             State                      Zip 
 
Telephone Number (include area code) ______________________________  Date of Birth ________________ 
 
Section II.  (Completed by out-of-state licensing authority) 
 
State of ___________________________________________. 
 
This certifies that ____________________________________ is: 
                                 (Applicant’s Name) 
 
Registered [  ]          Certified [  ]          Licensed [  ]  as a ___________________________________________ 
 
Current status of this license/license/certification is: 
Active [  ]          Lapsed [  ]         Inactive [  ]          Denied ** [  ]          Suspended** [  ]          Revoked** [  ] 
 
Effective date of License/Registration/Certification________________________________________________ 
**Please attach a copy of the Findings of Fact and Decision and Order. 
License/Registration/Certification issued based on: 
[  ]  Education Requirements   [  ]  Endorsement/Reciprocity 
[  ]  State Examination    [  ]  Grandfather Requirements 
[  ]  National Examination 
Qualifications for licensure in this state are: 

a. Total hours of education ________ 
b. Number of hours required in Swedish Massage ________ 
c. Number of hours required in Anatomy & physiology ________ 
d. Written examination required?   Yes [  ]       No  [  ] 
e. Practical examination required? Yes [  ]       No  [  ] 

 
Please attach a copy of the current massage therapy requirements (rules) for your state.  (If current rules have 
been sent to this office within the last 12 months, please disregard this request.) 
 
I certify that the above information is correct and true.  I have enclosed a copy of the requirements for this state. 
Name of Agency __________________________________ Address  _________________________________ 
 
Signature  ___________________________________  Typed Name __________________________ 
 
Title  _______________________________________  Date  ________________________________ 
              (STATE SEAL) 


