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Student Notification Form

Required for enrollment in a massage therapy educational program exceeding 500 hours
This form has been designed by the Department of State Health Services Massage Therapy Licensing Program
 to provide you, the student, with notice that this approved massage therapy educational program exceeds the minimum number of hours required by law for licensure as a Massage Therapist in Texas.
______________________________________________________________________________________
(Name of Licensed Massage School - Name of Massage Therapy Educational Program) 

A licensed massage school is required to offer you the choice to enroll in a minimum 500 hour massage therapy educational program. If you voluntarily choose to enroll in this program, you will be required to complete more hours in one or more subject areas than the minimum number of hours required to obtain a license in Texas in order to graduate. 
You should review the educational opportunities provided by this approved program carefully before you choose to enroll. 
The school may benefit financially by enrolling you in this longer program, either by collecting additional tuition or fees, and/or by receiving compensation from clients for any additional internship massages or other massage therapy services you agree to perform while enrolled in an internship which exceeds the 50 hour minimum required for licensure. You too may benefit from the opportunity to complete additional hours of training in core subjects, expanded subject areas or a range of modalities, and/or through additional supervised practice 
providing massage therapy or other massage services to the public during an extended internship. 
	Subject Area
	Number of Hours Required for Licensure in Texas
	Number of Hours Required by This Program

	Massage therapy techniques (may include Swedish) and theory and the practice of manipulation of soft tissue 
	75
	

	Swedish massage therapy techniques
	125
	

	Anatomy
	50
	

	Physiology
	25
	

	Kinesiology
	50
	

	Pathology
	40
	

	Hydrotherapy
	20
	

	Massage therapy laws and rules, business practices and professional ethics
	45
	

	Health, hygiene, first aid, universal precautions, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
	20
	

	Internship
	50
	

	Total Number of Hours
	500
	

	Total Cost of Program 
	$
	$


If you fail to complete the program and request a partial refund and/or partial transcript, the massage school will utilize the total number of hours for the program in which you have enrolled, not the 500 hour minimum, to meet the requirements in the Massage Therapy Licensing Rules related to program length and percentage of program completed for the purpose of refunds and transcripts. By signing this form, you agree that you have voluntarily chosen to enroll in a program which exceeds the minimum number of hours required for licensure as a massage therapist in Texas, and you affirm your complete understanding of the information provided in this form.

_________________________________________

____________________________________


(Signature of Student)




(Date)
_________________________________________



                 


Rev. 12/08

(Printed Name of Student)




