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TEXAS CCP CHAPTER 62, SUBCHAPTER I. EARLY TERMINATION OF CERTAIN PERSONS OBLIGATED TO REGISTER. 

Art. 62.401.  DEFINITION.  In this subchapter, "council" means the Council on Sex Offender Treatment. 
Art. 62.402.  DETERMINATION OF MINIMUM REQUIRED REGISTRATION PERIOD.  (a) The council by rule shall determine 

the minimum required registration period under 42 U.S.C. Section 14071 (***Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually 
Violent Offender Registration Program) for each reportable conviction or adjudication under this chapter, if this state is to receive the 
maximum amount of federal money available to a state as described by that law. 

(b)  After determining the minimum required registration period for each reportable conviction or adjudication under Subsection (a), 
the council shall compile and publish a list of reportable convictions or adjudications for which a person must register under this chapter 
for a period that exceeds the minimum required registration period under federal law. 

(c) To the extent possible, the council shall periodically verify with the Bureau of Justice Assistance or another appropriate federal 
agency the accuracy of the list of reportable convictions or adjudications described by Subsection (b). Reenacted and amended 
by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 1008, Sec. 1.01, eff. September 1, 2005 

*** NOTE: In July 2006 President George Bush signed into law the federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (SORNA) The act is cited 
as the Adam Walsh Protection and Safety Act (AWA) which superseded the 1994 Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent 
Offender Registration Act. 

 
 
 

Texas Offense Length of Duty for Registration 
Under Texas Law 

Length of Duty by Tier Under 
Federal Law, Single Conviction 

§ 43.05(a)(1), Compelling prostitution 10 years post discharge 
Not required. Registration of this 
offense exceeds SORNA’s 
requirements 

§ 21.08, Indecent exposure (two or 
more convictions required for 
registration) 

10 years post discharge Not required. Registration of this 
offense exceeds SORNA’s 
requirements. 

§ 20.02, Unlawful restraint and victim is 
under 17 

10 years post discharge, unless there is 
any other reportable conviction, at 
which time it becomes a lifetime duty. 

Tier I Under SORNA, this is the 
equivalent of non-parental unlawful 
restraint; if committed by a parent, 
SORNA does not require registration. 

§ 21.11(a)(2), Indecency with a child, 
exposure 

10 years post discharge, unless there is 
a prior or subsequent reportable 
conviction at which time it becomes a 
lifetime duty. 

Tier I 

§ 43.26(a), Possession of child 
pornography Lifetime Tier I 

§ 33.021, Online solicitation of a minor 10 years post discharge Tier II 
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Texas Offense Length of Duty for Registration 
Under Texas Law 

Length of Duty and Tier Under 
Federal Law, Single Conviction 

§ 43.05(a)(2), Compelling prostitution 
and victim is under 17 Lifetime Tier II 

§ 43.25, Sexual performance by a child Lifetime Tier II 
§ 43.26(e), Promotion of child 
pornography Lifetime Tier II 

Tier II if victim is 13 or less than17 § 21.11(a)(1), Indecency with a child, 
contact Lifetime Tier III if the victim is under 13 
§ 20.04(a)(4), Aggravated kidnapping 
with intent to violate or abuse victim 
sexually 

Lifetime Tier III 

§ 21.02, Continuous sexual abuse of 
young child or children Lifetime Tier III 

§ 22.011, Sexual assault Lifetime Tier III 
§ 22.021, Aggravated sexual assault Lifetime Tier III 
§ 25.02, Prohibited sexual conduct Lifetime Tier III 
§ 30.02(d), Burglary of a habitation with 
intent to commit a prohibited sex act Lifetime Tier III 

Any attempts, conspiracies, and 
solicitations of any of the above listed 
offenses 

10 years post discharge Treated as if the offense had been 
completed. 

§ 30.02(d), Burglary of a habitation with 
intent to commit a prohibited sex act Lifetime Tier III 

Any attempts, conspiracies, and 
solicitations of any of the above listed 
offenses 

10 years post discharge Treated as if the offense had been 
completed. 

 
***Any questions regarding the Tiering of Texas Offenses can be directed to the following: 

U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Program’s SMART Office. Website:  http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/smart/index.htm 
810 7th Street, NW 

Washington, DC 20531 
Phone: 202-514-4689   Fax: 202-616-2906  

GetSMART@usdoj.gov 
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GLOSSARY 
 
TEXAS CHAPTER 62 
 
Art. 62.403.  INDIVIDUAL RISK ASSESSMENT.  (a) The council by rule shall establish, develop, or adopt an individual risk assessment 
tool or a group of individual risk assessment tools that: 

(1)  evaluates the criminal history of a person required to register under this chapter; and 
(2)  seeks to predict: 

(A)  the likelihood that the person will engage in criminal activity that may result in the person receiving a second or 
subsequent reportable adjudication or conviction; and  

(B)  the continuing danger, if any, that the person poses to the community. 
   (b)  On the written request of a person with a single reportable adjudication or conviction that appears on the list published under 
Article 62.402(b), the council shall: 
           (1)  evaluate the person using the individual risk assessment tool or group of individual risk assessment tools established, 
developed, or adopted under Subsection (a); and 
           (2)  provide to the person a written report detailing the outcome of an evaluation conducted under Subdivision (1). 
(c)  An individual risk assessment provided to a person under this subchapter is confidential and is not subject to disclosure under 
Chapter 552, Government Code. 
 
Art. 62.404.  MOTION FOR EARLY TERMINATION.  (a) A person required to register under this chapter who has requested and 
received an individual risk assessment under Article 62.403 may file with the trial court that sentenced the person for the reportable 
conviction or adjudication a motion for early termination of the person's obligation to register under this chapter. (b)  A motion filed under 
this article must be accompanied by:                
 (1)  a written explanation of how the reportable conviction or adjudication giving rise to the movant's registration under this 
chapter qualifies as a reportable conviction or adjudication that appears on the list published under Article 62.402(b); and 
 (2)  a certified copy of a written report detailing the outcome of an individual risk assessment evaluation conducted under  
Article 62.403(b)(1). 
 


