Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors - Home Page


Emergency Temporary Provider

In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor has issued a disaster declaration the following counties:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson

To facilitate relief efforts the Governor has suspended portions of the statute and rules governing Professional Counselor practice.  This suspension will allow Professional Counselors licensed in good standing in other U.S. states the opportunity to be registered with Texas for the purpose of providing counseling services to populations in the counties listed above.

If you are interested in this opportunity please complete the form below and email it to LPCHarvey@hhsc.state.tx.us .  Your application will be reviewed and if approved you will receive email confirmation that will allow you to provide counseling services.

Link to form


In accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor temporarily suspended all necessary statutes and rules pertaining to professional and business license or certification renewal applications, including the suspension of any late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

The effects of this suspension are to:

1.    Waive any required late fees related to renewal for a period not to exceed 90 days; and

2.    Extend the term of any professional and business license listed below for a period of not more than 90 days to allow license/certificate holders affected by Hurricane Harvey time to submit the appropriate documentation and renewal fee. 

The Department has extended the expiration date of impacted licensees by 30 days.  In the last week of September, a determination will be made if further extension is warranted.

 

The Declaration is for:

Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson.

This temporary suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the Hurricane Harvey disaster declaration is lifted or expires, whichever comes first.

 



Welcome to the home page of the board that licenses and regulates Licensed Professional Counselors in Texas. This website contains information about Licensed Professional Counselors including license requirements, how to file a complaint, how to contact our office, and more.


 

The Sunset Review of the 
Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors


The Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors (“LPC board”) is currently under Sunset review.  The LPC board underwent Sunset review in the 2016–2017 biennium, but the agency’s Sunset legislation, which contained the Sunset Commission’s statutory recommendations for the board, did not pass during the 85th Regular Session.  Instead, during the 85th Legislature, First Called Session, the Legislature simply continued the LPC board for two years, and placed the agency under Sunset review again. 

Through the Sunset review, every Texan has the opportunity to provide input on the mission and operations of the LPC board.  The current Sunset review of the LPC board will focus on the issues and recommendations identified during the previous review.  If you would like to share any concerns or ideas about those issues and recommendations, please send an email to the address below, use the comment form on the Sunset Commission website, or contact Robert Romig of the Sunset staff.  Comments are preferred by October 27, 2017, so they can be fully considered by the Commission staff.

  

Sunset Advisory Commission
P.O. Box 13066
Austin, Texas  78711
512/463-1300
Fax: 512/463-0705
Email: sunset@sunset.texas.gov

  

Information about the Sunset process, Sunset Commission meetings, and how to receive
Sunset Commission email updates is available at:  www.sunset.texas.gov.

 

 


Special Message for Military Personnel, Spouses, and Veterans



Customer Survey Request
We value your feedback. Please take our online customer service survey at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/PLUsurvey  Thank you.

Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 611
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.611.htm

Sign Up for Email Updates

Sign up for e-mail updates

NEW LAW PERTAINING TO LPC APPLICANTS

Senate Bill 913 was signed by the governor on Monday, June 17 2013 changing the amount of times an applicant can fail the test before having to meet other requirements. As of this date an applicant can test 3 times before being required to take nine graduate hours in their weakest area or wait two years to retest. This is more in line with the NBCC and national standards. Please see the link “Apply for Licensure” for more information on scheduling the exam.

Last updated September 27, 2017