PERTUSSIS HEALTH ALERT
Date
Dear Colleague:
Details of situation:  [insert info]
Background: Pertussis can cause serious and potentially life-threatening complications in infants and young children who are not fully vaccinated. In infants younger than 12 months of age who get pertussis, more than half must be hospitalized.  

Pertussis is characterized by a long cough illness, which may be preceded by a cold-like illness. The cough will often occur in paroxysms and may be followed by vomiting or a “whoop” sound. Vaccinated children, adolescents, and adults may not present with the classic “whoop.” Coughing fits may continue for several weeks or even months. Infants with pertussis may not have coughing fits; instead they may have trouble breathing and gag, gasp, turn blue, or vomit. 

Vaccination: All patients should be kept current with pertussis vaccination. Check the vaccination history of all patients and offer vaccine to anyone that is not up to date with the vaccine schedule. Ensuring infants get the DTaP series on time and that pregnant women are vaccinated every pregnancy with Tdap can help prevent infant hospitalization and death. Enclosed is information for when pertussis vaccines should be given for all age groups. 

Lab Confirmation Tests: Culture and PCR assay are the preferred methods of pertussis testing. DFA and serological assays are not considered confirmatory tests for pertussis. PCR assays are quick and widely available at hospital and commercial laboratories and at the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) laboratory. For PCR assays, a nasopharyngeal swab should be done using a synthetic swab. Check with the laboratory to determine what transport media, if any, is needed. More information on PCR testing is available at http://www.cdc.gov/pertussis/clinical/downloads/diagnosis-pcr-bestpractices.pdf.

Disease Reporting Requirements/Statute: Several Texas laws (Health & Safety Code, Chapters 81, 84, and 87) require specific information regarding notifiable conditions be provided to DSHS. Health care providers, hospitals, laboratories, schools, childcare facilities, and others are required to report patients who are suspected of having pertussis (Chapter 97, Title 25, Texas Administrative Code).  
[bookmark: general]
In Texas, pertussis is required to be reported within one work day.
Pertussis reports should be made to (insert LHD/HSR info here)

Treatment and Postexposure Prophylaxis (PEP) Recommendations: 
Azithromycin, erythromycin, clarithromycin, or TMP-SMZ are the antibiotics that are effective for pertussis treatment and prevention.
Clinicians should strongly consider treating prior to test results if clinical history is strongly suggestive or patient is at risk for severe or complicated disease (e.g., infants).
· A reasonable guideline is to treat persons aged >1 year within 3 weeks of cough onset and infants aged <1 year and pregnant women (especially near term) within 6 weeks of cough onset.
· The primary objective of PEP should be to prevent death and serious complications from pertussis in individuals at increased risk of severe disease.
· Provide PEP to all household contacts of a pertussis case. Within families, secondary attack rates have been demonstrated to be high, even when household contacts are current with immunizations. Administration of antimicrobial prophylaxis to asymptomatic household contacts within 21 days of onset of cough in the index patient can prevent symptomatic infection.
· Provide PEP to persons exposed to pertussis who are at high risk of severe illness or who will have close contact with a person at high risk of severe illness.  These include:
· Infants and women in their third trimester of pregnancy -- severe and sometimes fatal pertussis-related complications occur in infants aged <12 months, especially among infants aged <4 months.  Women in their third trimester of pregnancy may be a source of pertussis to their newborn infant.
· All persons with pre-existing health conditions that may be exacerbated by a pertussis infection (such as immunocompromised persons or moderate to severe medically-treated asthma).
· Contacts who themselves have close contact with either infants under 12 months, pregnant women, or individuals with pre-existing health conditions at risk of severe illness or complications.
· All contacts in high risk settings that include infants aged <12 months or women in the third trimester of pregnancy. These include, but are not limited to, neonatal intensive care units, childcare settings, and maternity wards.
Exclusion Guidelines: People suspected of having pertussis should be told to stay home from work, school, daycare, and any public outings (e.g., church, grocery store) until they have completed five days of antibiotic therapy. For patients with a cough onset more than 21 days prior, no exclusion is necessary. School and childcare exclusion are mandated by the Texas Administrative Code. 
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